Nikon D800E DSLR Camera, Body Only

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

84% Gold Award
The D800 offers a level of fine detail that ranks it among the best performers we've subjected to our studio testing, and the D800E actually improves upon it.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 36.3MP full-frame CMOS sensor
  • 51-point AF system (15 cross-type)
  • ISO 100-6400 expandable to 25,600
  • 3.2 inch LCD with 921,000 dots
  • 1080p HD video recording
  • 4 frames per second continuous shooting
  • 100% viewfinder
  • 91,000 pixel metering system
  • Built-in flash with wireless control
  • Dual-axis level (viewfinder and live view)
  • Uncompressed video output via HDMI
  • Weather-sealed and shock-proof
  • 15.3MP DX-format crop mode

Product Description

The Nikon D800E is a variant of the 36.3MP full frame Nikon D800, sharing an identical feature set in every way except for the D800E's "canceling out" of the optical low-pass filter. Without the anti-aliasing filter in place, the D800E picks up some additional sharpness and effectively, an even higher sensor resolution. It also increases the risk of introducing moiré patterning to images, though our studio and field testing didn't show this to be a significant problem in normal use. Like the D800, the D800E is equipped with a 51-point AF system with 15 cross-type points, full 1080p HD video recording and an ISO range of 100-6400 expandable up to a 25,600 equivalent. You'll only really see the benefit over the 'stock' D800 within a narrow range of apertures, but JPEG rendition is very different. Ironically, the D800E delivers sharper, crisper JPEGs than the D800.

Specs

Body type
Body type Mid-size SLR
Sensor
Max resolution 7360 x 4912
Other resolutions 6144 x 4912, 6144 x 4080, 5520 x 3680, 4800 x 3200, 4608 x 3680, 4608 x 3056, 3680 x 2456, 3600 x 2400, 3072 x 2456, 3072 x 2040, 2400 x 1600
Image ratio w:h 5:4, 3:2
Effective pixels 36 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 37 megapixels
Sensor size Full frame (35.9 x 24 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
Processor Expeed 3
Image
ISO 100 - 6400 in 1, 1/2 or 1/3 EV steps (50 - 25600 with boost)
White balance presets 12
Custom white balance Yes (5)
Image stabilization No
Uncompressed format RAW
JPEG quality levels Fine, Normal, Basic
Optics & Focus
Autofocus
  • Phase Detect
  • Multi-area
  • Selective single-point
  • Tracking
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Face Detection
  • Live View
Digital zoom No
Manual focus Yes
Number of focus points 51
Lens mount Nikon F
Focal length multiplier 1×
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fixed
Screen size 3.2
Screen dots 921,000
Touch screen No
Screen type TFT Color LCD with 170 degrees wide-viewing angle
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type Optical (pentaprism)
Viewfinder coverage 100%
Viewfinder magnification 0.7×
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 30 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/8000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes No
Built-in flash Yes (pop-up)
Flash range 12.00 m (at ISO 100)
External flash Yes (Hot-shoe, Wireless plus sync connector)
Flash modes Auto, On, Off, Red-eye, Slow sync, Rear curtain, High-speed sync
Continuous drive 4.0 fps
Self-timer Yes (2 to 20 sec, 1 to 9 exposures at intervals of 0.5, 1, 2 or 3 sec)
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Average
  • Spot
Exposure compensation ±5 (at 1/3 EV, 1/2 EV, 1 EV steps)
AE Bracketing (2, 3, 5, 7 frames at 1/3 EV, 1/2 EV, 2/3 EV, 1 EV steps)
WB Bracketing Yes (2 to 9 frames in steps of 1, 2 or 3)
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (30, 25, 24 fps), 1280 x 720 (60, 50, 30, 25 fps), 640 x 424 (24 fps)
Format MPEG-4, H.264
Microphone Mono
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types Compact Flash (Type I), SD/SDHC/SDXC UHS-I compliant
Storage included None
Connectivity
USB USB 3.0 (5 GBit/sec)
HDMI Yes (Mini Type C)
Remote control Yes (Optional, wired or wireless )
Physical
Environmentally sealed Yes (Water and dust resistant)
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description Lithium-Ion EN-EL15 rechargeable battery & charger
Weight (inc. batteries) 1000 g (2.20 lb / 35.27 oz)
Dimensions 146 x 123 x 82 mm (5.75 x 4.84 x 3.23)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
Timelapse recording Yes
GPS Optional
GPS notes GP-1

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other cameras in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Build quality
Ergonomics & handling
Features
Metering & focus accuracy
Image quality (raw)
Image quality (jpeg)
Low light / high ISO performance
Viewfinder / screen rating
Performance
Movie / video mode
Value
Gold Award
Gold Award
84 %
Overall Score

The Nikon D800E, at low ISOs and optimum lens apertures, offers slightly higher resolution than its less expensive sibling, the D800. Its raw files respond impressively to a moderately aggressive sharpening routine, while avoiding visible artifacts. As with the D800, it offers the (somewhat clunky) option to output uncompressed video, but is noticeably susceptible to color moiré in video mode.

Good For

Photographers with medium format experience and expectations who place a premium on obtaining the highest resolution currently available in a 35mm form factor camera. Videographers who can make use of uncompressed video.

Not So Good For

Professional sports shooters who demand faster frame rates. Videographers for whom moiré removal in post is not a viable option.

User Reviews

4.69048 out of 5 stars
  • Arsen, May 2, 2012 GMT:
    Truly an Amazing Camera

    I am just blown away with the resolution and sharpness of this camera. It is really that good. I would have given it 5 Stars if it had 6fps & larger buffer.

    Continue Reading

  • omri keren, Feb 15, 2012 GMT:
    If your photos are'nt good enogh

    you'er not close enough. (Robert Capa)

    Continue Reading

  • skmadapatu, Apr 5, 2013 GMT:
    My bad luck with latest D800E’s

    I am having unfortunate experience with latest D800E’s. I had left autofocus issue with the D800E I bought on late March 2013 from Amazon (30124xx). Thanks to Amazon I got the replacement yesterday (301279x). Sadly both left & right autofocus (24mm 2.8 & 50mm 1.8) worse than the one before. I am followed the test procedure - http://blog.mingthein.com/2012/07/03/how-to-tell-if-your-d800-d800e-d4-has-the-left-focusing-problem/ So I thought I will give a chance by updating the firmware ...

    Continue Reading

  • Don Paluh, Apr 20, 2013 GMT:
    Nikon D800E: incredible quality photos and a reliable package

    I have been shooting as a full-time professional or as part of my other full-time work (brochures, websites, etc.) for over 20 years. Almost all of my photography was, and still is, used in magazines, brochures or websites, so my chromes all had to be digitized: rarely did I hand of prints to a client. Mostly I used a Howtek drum scanner to scan medium and large-format chromes, so I was dealing with the high end of the quality equation. When digital first came out, I saw the potential, but ...

    Continue Reading

Videos

Nikon D800E by DPReview

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

confused between Nikon D800 and D800E...

I wanna upgrade from my Nikon D3000 to full frame but im so confused between which1 should i go...D800 or D800E....please help me guys.... My Photostream: http://www.flickr.com/photos/nimitnigam

Nimit Nigam asked
6 months ago

ANSWERS

I completely agree. Nikon should put a D800e in that man's hands as quickly as possible. Continue Reading

Leonard Migliore answered
6 months ago

Your welcome! All of us who have looked at your flickr pics, are all anxious to see the beautiful images you'll capture with your full frame! Continue Reading

Serickmetz answered
6 months ago

That has not been my experience, and I have both a D800 & D800E. Continue Reading

brianric answered
6 months ago

QUESTION

Brand New D800E Autofocus Problem...What's Your Opinion?

I just received a brand new D800E in the mail from B&H this morning. SN: 3014xxx.  According to the camera's clock it left the factory 14 days ago. I wanted to make sure it is not suffering from the autofocus issue that people have been reporting, so I did a couple of tests to make sure. It appears that the left AF sensor is miscalibrated!  The left viewfinder af point is consistently less sharp than the left live view focus point, and the left viewfinder af point is also consistently less sharp than the right viewfinder af point. Should I exchange this body for another one?  Please take a look at these photos and let me know what you think.  I'm not confident that this camera is calibrated correctly... FYI, here's the test setup:

Algorhythm asked
1 year ago

ANSWERS

wow, a new camera and you didn't even take any photos, but opted for some elaborate test. I'm speechless. Continue Reading

Imaginethis answered
1 year ago

AND I NEVER WILL. I really could care less. The thing is going to be worth a mere $200 or so in a decade anyway. Why should I care when my future-self doesn't even look in the D800E folders anymore, because he's so much more involved with the new camera he has in the future instead of this one. And anyway, it's mostly on the Left AF point, and frankly I don't even care. I would say that only 5-10% of the people who own a D800E even use the camera to its full potential. The rest of the people shoot the camera like it's a D700, and therefore removing the years of resolution progress that has been made from then until now. If you aren't printing large, buy a D700 or a D3 or D3s. The D800E is meant for resolution, it is the #1 reason for its existence. If you aren't using that by printing large or cropping hard, then you might as well have a D3s or D3 or D700. It really makes no sense for most D800E owners to even have the camera at all. The D800e is meant for live-view or otherwise ... Continue Reading

1 year ago

I'm tired of looking at test photos. Continue Reading

digital ed answered
1 year ago

QUESTION

D810 with Nikkor fast (f/1.4) primes (24, 35 & 85mm)

Hello all. I and a number of other experienced photographers have been plagued with AF issues when pairing the three f/1.4 high end primes with our D800(E) cameras. The issue being a gross unrepeatability of the AF system where even with good AF targets, the camera will focus unreliably with these three lenses, scattering results in front of and (perhaps more commonly) behind the intended point with complete abandon. Not everyone seems to suffer from this, but those that do will know what I am talking about. It is interesting that I do not see any such issues with the f/1.8 primes and have the 28, 35 and 85 f/1.8 lenses, all of which focus much more reliably on both of our D800Es. Also interesting is the fact that all three f/1.4 primes focus very well indeed on our D700s. Our D800Es are both equally affected by this. They are both "early" units from the first shipments into the UK but I have been able to repeat the behaviour on two recent D800s. I am a member of NPS and Nikon have ...

MisterHairy asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

This is interesting. Now that the D810 is released, and potentially improves the AF, more people are starting to confess that their D800 AF wasn't a bag of chips. Prior to the D810 release any user with the courage to mention D800 AF issues would be attacked and promptly referred to pg. 100 of the user guide. �Now that's it's D810 pride week I guess it's safe to come out of the closet. Continue Reading

vincent__l answered
1 month ago

I had the same inconsistent focusing issues with my D800E.  I ended-up selling all my fast  glass since it was unusable wide-open - the very reason I purchased the glass in the first place (Nikon 85mm f1.4, Nikon 85mm f1.8, Nikon 50mm f1.4, Nikon 50mm f1.8 and Sigma ART 35mm f1.4)!  A trip to Nikon repair for the D800E did nothing to correct the problem.  I felt a little pain selling the Sigma 35mm ART and the Nikon 85mm f1.4 lenses, since, when they did focus properly, they had amazing IQ.  As a note, I tested a friend's D800E and it had the same problem, albeit a bit improved from my camera. My solution was to purchase the Sony A7R to use with fast glass and retain the 36MP.  The results with the Zeiss lenses shot wide-open have been stellar, but it meant I needed to carry two cameras, since the mirror-less is not good for action photography. I just sold my D800E and acquired the D810, which I am very pleased with.  I no longer have any fast glass to test, but I still had ... Continue Reading

Jeff2013 answered
1 month ago

You say that, but can you offer any proof that the 810 offers more reliable AF with these lenses? Your message reads more like someone with an axe to grind than someone with some useful information to share. Continue Reading

MisterHairy answered
1 month ago

WHAT'S IN THE BOX?

  • D800E Camera Body
  • AN-DC6 Strap
  • EN-EL15 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
  • MH-25 Battery Charger
  • UC-E14 USB Cable
  • BM-12 LCD Monitor Cover
  • BF-1B Body Cap
  • BS-1 Accessory Shoe Cap
  • DK-17 Viewfinder Eyepiece
  • NikonView NX2 CD ROM

Warranty Information

"No registration or "warranty" card is included or needed with a Nikon D-SLR or Coolpix camera. Keep your original, dated proof of purchase from the Authorized Nikon Inc. dealer in case warranty service is ever needed. These products do include either a mail-in form or a paper with a web link to our registration page:
https://support.nikonusa.com/app/product_registration
It's advised to register your product with Nikon so that we can send you information about future updates or service issues that may arise.


Nikkor lenses come with a standard one year warranty and Nikon Inc. lenses sold by authorized Nikon Inc. dealers will have a Nikon Inc. Five Year Extension. To register for the five year extension, one copy of the included form must be mailed in as indicated. Keep the Customer copy of the form as well as the original proof of purchase (sales receipt)."


Read the full warranty.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Nikon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.