Nikon D90 DSLR Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Tried & Tested
The D90 is a highly competitive piece of kit, but it's the way the features have been chosen and put together that make it the 'photographer's camera'.”

Key Features

  • 12.9MP DX-format CMOS sensor
  • 11-point AF system with 3D tracking
  • ISO 200-3200 expandable up to 6400
  • 3.0 inch LCD with 920,000 dots
  • 720p HD video recording
  • 4.5 frames per second continuous shooting
  • 420-pixel RGB metering system
  • SD/SDHC card slot

Product Description

The 12.9MP DX-format Nikon D90 is the crop-frame DSLR that brought HD video recording to masses of still photographers. Equipped with 720p video, an 11-point AF system and a fixed 3.0 inch LCD, the D90 is well suited for enthusiast shooters. It offers a high level of customizability and useful in-camera Raw processing options. The D90's dynamic range is good as-is, and with Active D-Lighting enabled users can get a little more range out of the camera as they see fit. Since its 2008 introduction, it has enjoyed a long life in the market thanks to its popularity among amateur and working photographers who prize its reliability and consistently good image quality.

Specs

Body type
Body type Mid-size SLR
Sensor
Max resolution 4288 x 2848
Other resolutions 3216 x 2136, 2144 x 1424
Image ratio w:h 3:2
Effective pixels 12 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 13 megapixels
Sensor size APS-C (23.6 x 15.8 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
Image
ISO Auto, 200 - 3200 (plus 6400 with boost)
White balance presets 12
Custom white balance Yes (5)
Image stabilization No
Uncompressed format RAW
JPEG quality levels Fine, Normal, Basic
Optics & Focus
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Phase Detect
  • Multi-area
  • Selective single-point
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Face Detection
  • Live View
Digital zoom No
Manual focus Yes
Number of focus points 11
Lens mount Nikon F
Focal length multiplier 1.5×
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fixed
Screen size 3
Screen dots 920,000
Touch screen No
Screen type Super Density TFT color LCD with wide-viewing angle
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type Optical (pentaprism)
Viewfinder coverage 96%
Viewfinder magnification 0.96×
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 30 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/4000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes (pop-up)
Flash range 17.00 m (at ISO 100)
External flash Yes (Hot-shoe, Wireless)
Flash modes Auto, On, Off, Front curtain, Rear curtain, Red-Eye, Slow Sync
Continuous drive 4.5 fps
Self-timer Yes (2, 5, 10 or 20 sec)
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Spot
Exposure compensation ±5 (at 1/3 EV, 1/2 EV steps)
AE Bracketing (2, 3 frames at 1/3 EV, 1/2 EV, 2/3 EV, 1 EV steps)
WB Bracketing Yes (2 or 3 frames in either blue/amber or magenta/green axis)
Videography features
Resolutions 1280 x 720 (24 fps), 640 x 424 (24 fps), 320 x 216 (24 fps)
Format Motion JPEG
Microphone Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC
Storage included None
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (Mini Type C)
Wireless Eye-Fi Connected
Remote control Yes (Optional ML-L3 or MC-DC2)
Physical
Environmentally sealed No
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description Lithium-Ion EN-EL3e rechargeable battery & charger
Battery Life (CIPA) 850
Weight (inc. batteries) 703 g (1.55 lb / 24.80 oz)
Dimensions 132 x 103 x 77 mm (5.2 x 4.06 x 3.03)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
Timelapse recording Yes (by USB cable and PC)
GPS Optional
GPS notes GP-1

Reviews

User Reviews

4.42909 out of 5 stars
  • kokuwana, Sep 7, 2012 GMT:
    Nikon D90

    Always used Nikon cameras. Nikon F 65, Nikon D 40 and upgraded to Nikon D 90. Very pleased with the camera and results. Joined nikonistas club from Spain and found many real positive opinions about features, specs, IQ...Concerning the video, can´t expect much from the world's first DSLR too shoot video!!Globally rate the camera with 5* after shooting in several conditions and locations.Still look to Nikon D 90 as a photo camera...that´s all for now thanks DP! Problems: Never found one.

    Continue Reading

  • squajackyl, Jun 18, 2012 GMT:
    Good for start!

    Ottimo corpo macchina soprattutto per iniziare ad avere a che fare con le Reflex. Ha tutto quello che serve e con un po' di pratica si possono fare foto anche a livello di professionista. Certamente però serve tempo e pazienza. Corpo macchina robusto e di dimensioni ottime, tutti i comandi al posto giusto, carica batteria fenomenale! Unica pecca è l'incompatibilità con i vecchi obiettivi, ovvero se si montano obiettivi senza autofocus questi non comunicano nemmeno l'apertura del diaframma. ...

    Continue Reading

  • lmtfa, Apr 7, 2012 GMT:
    Very nice camera.

    I get to use my DX lenses

    Continue Reading

  • Rolo King, Mar 20, 2012 GMT:
    Worth the wait

    I eyed the D90 as soon as it came out. But I already had Canon and Pentax gear. After having left Canon for good, waiting for Pentax to come out with something like the K-7 but with the same sensor, and trying out my friend's D90, it was about the right time to go back to a dual system. Pictures from this camera still hold up well when compared to current offerings. Despite having waited two years after its release (can you believe this model will soon be four years old?), it still felt like ...

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Fujifilm X-E1 or Sony A6000

Hi guys ... I'm new on the field and I would highly appreciate everybody opinions. I'm about to buy a mirror less camera and my doubt is between the Fujifilm X-E1 vs. Sony A6000. I use to have a Nikon D90. Now I'm looking for something easy to career as I do travel quite often and also good image quality in which I'm able to do some professional work. Thanks a lot everybody.

rafalima asked
7 months ago

ANSWERS

Depends a lot on your experience level, your needs and what you want, in general. The Sony has a much better video function and is probably better when it comes to auto focus tracking of a moving subject. The Sony has more features geared towards the average consumer (face detection, scene modes, etc.) Both cameras will produce an outstanding image and both are good at higher ISO settings. The Fuji is a great camera with a much better menu system, better white balance, beautiful JPEG images and lenses that are hard to beat. It's really a matter of personal preference when deciding which camera is best for you. Right now, the price of an X-E1 along with the unusually good 18-55mm lens is unbelievably low so it would be very tempting, but it may not be the right camera for you. Just the same, I don't think you could go too far wrong with either camera. Continue Reading

Ed B answered
7 months ago

QUESTION

Any Advantage to Full Frame?

I use a D90 and am considering a D7100 or D5300 or D610. If I understand things correctly, there is no advantage at all, for my use (noise in low light is not a concern to me), of a D610 over the two DX choices. The disadvantages of the D610 include a narrower depth of field (all things being equal), higher cost for camera, higher cost for lenses, more weight and larger size. Surely, I must be overlooking or wrong about something given the increasing popularity of full frame. Where am I wrong in my thinking?

5th street asked
3 months ago

ANSWERS

You may not be wrong at all. Much of the drive toward 'upgrading to full frame' is marketing driven, as if it is an upgrade at all.   It's more a 'sidegrade'.   You give up some things (cost, weight, lighter wide angle lenses) for other things (mainly 1 stop better high ISO). But the ability of a full frame camera to give better results in low light than DX is real.  And that opens up more shooting opportunities. Continue Reading

PHXAZCRAIG answered
3 months ago

The blur disk may be the same size on the sensor but it takes up a larger portion of the image (more pixels) in the smaller format. Smaller format lenses need to be relatively better to make up for their sensor's size penalty. In DX vs FX they typically aren't because they are often the same lens design repackaged (in mFT vs DX they sometime are because mFT designers, aware of the problem, redesigned their lenses from the ground up). And the larger format's pixels are larger, resulting in better noise performance. That's why the larger format will normally be measurably and perceivably better than the smaller one in terms of IQ in most typical situations when viewed at the same output size, as you can easily confirm at DxOmark.com: a quick glance at the top ten lenses on the D610 show an average of 21.3MP while the same top ten on the D7100 average out at 17.4MP, despite its lack of an AA filter (which is a bit of a mixed bag). Similar benefits in noise and DR. Of course this ... Continue Reading

Jack Hogan answered
3 months ago

and as I noted higher up in the thread, they are basically the same as with film. Digital has blurred the lines of comparison for some people, and in some cases. Some have pointed out that you have to look at the blur circles produced by lenses at common apertures to understand why 24MP on one format may not be exactly the same as 24MP on another. There's a good tutorial here http://www.cambridgeincolour.com/tutorials/diffraction-photography.htm Surface area matters because a lens can only focus a point down to a certain diameter for any given aperture. The optical limits of the system come into play.* There is another side to this too. A smaller sensor can use a wider focal length lens to achieve the same field of view, and this will allow it to use a larger aperture to achieve the same depth of field. So, in theory, you could use a 1.3 stop faster aperture on DX, with a lens of equivalent field of view, to get the same depth in a scene while using a lower sensitivity, all else ... Continue Reading

Matsu answered
3 months ago

QUESTION

Seeking feedback on Nikon 180mm F/2.8 P AI

I have been using the D90 for past few years and recently got my 35mm 1.8 prime. After seeing what its capable of doing, I am getting the itch to buy a fixed length zoom lens and can by 18-105 kit lens for good. My pockets are not that deep and I was trying to check into this old horse. I understand that it has manual focus only but I really want to know if this P (Penta) lens is better or should I spring the extra 100 bucks or so to get the ED version? Any sample images and feedback will be much appreciated. Regards

aubie96 asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

Thanks for the feedback. I will keep looking around. Having D90 and lack of metering is something I am a bit concerned about but I do like what the lens is capable of. FWIW, I did get the prime bug now. :-) Regards. Continue Reading

aubie96 answered
1 month ago

You can modify the lens to meter - you can add a Dandelion chip to it and then you'll have metering also with your D90. I've done it to my 180 ED lens and it worked perfectly. It's about 25$ for chip plus some manual work from your side (filing, gluing and programming the chip). Maybe sounds difficult but it's quite easy really. Regards, Continue Reading

colombiano answered
1 month ago

So, I finally ended up getting a non-ED AI lens from Ebay a couple of days later.  Here are a couple of ooc jpegs from my D90. Its a humbling experience to shoot with a lens that does not meter on this camera. I have renewed respect for the folks who make these manual lens sing. Continue Reading

aubie96 answered
25 days ago

Warranty Information

"No registration or "warranty" card is included or needed with a Nikon D-SLR or Coolpix camera. Keep your original, dated proof of purchase from the Authorized Nikon Inc. dealer in case warranty service is ever needed. These products do include either a mail-in form or a paper with a web link to our registration page:
https://support.nikonusa.com/app/product_registration
It's advised to register your product with Nikon so that we can send you information about future updates or service issues that may arise.


Nikkor lenses come with a standard one year warranty and Nikon Inc. lenses sold by authorized Nikon Inc. dealers will have a Nikon Inc. Five Year Extension. To register for the five year extension, one copy of the included form must be mailed in as indicated. Keep the Customer copy of the form as well as the original proof of purchase (sales receipt)."


Read the full warranty.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Nikon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.