Nikon D90 DSLR Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Tried & Tested
The D90 is a highly competitive piece of kit, but it's the way the features have been chosen and put together that make it the 'photographer's camera'.”

Key Features

  • 12.9MP DX-format CMOS sensor
  • 11-point AF system with 3D tracking
  • ISO 200-3200 expandable up to 6400
  • 3.0 inch LCD with 920,000 dots
  • 720p HD video recording
  • 4.5 frames per second continuous shooting
  • 420-pixel RGB metering system
  • SD/SDHC card slot

Product Description

The 12.9MP DX-format Nikon D90 is the crop-frame DSLR that brought HD video recording to masses of still photographers. Equipped with 720p video, an 11-point AF system and a fixed 3.0 inch LCD, the D90 is well suited for enthusiast shooters. It offers a high level of customizability and useful in-camera Raw processing options. The D90's dynamic range is good as-is, and with Active D-Lighting enabled users can get a little more range out of the camera as they see fit. Since its 2008 introduction, it has enjoyed a long life in the market thanks to its popularity among amateur and working photographers who prize its reliability and consistently good image quality.

Specs

Body type
Body type Mid-size SLR
Sensor
Max resolution 4288 x 2848
Other resolutions 3216 x 2136, 2144 x 1424
Image ratio w:h 3:2
Effective pixels 12 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 13 megapixels
Sensor size APS-C (23.6 x 15.8 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
Image
ISO Auto, 200 - 3200 (plus 6400 with boost)
White balance presets 12
Custom white balance Yes (5)
Image stabilization No
Uncompressed format RAW
JPEG quality levels Fine, Normal, Basic
Optics & Focus
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Phase Detect
  • Multi-area
  • Selective single-point
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Face Detection
  • Live View
Digital zoom No
Manual focus Yes
Number of focus points 11
Lens mount Nikon F
Focal length multiplier 1.5×
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fixed
Screen size 3
Screen dots 920,000
Touch screen No
Screen type Super Density TFT color LCD with wide-viewing angle
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type Optical (pentaprism)
Viewfinder coverage 96%
Viewfinder magnification 0.96×
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 30 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/4000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes (pop-up)
Flash range 17.00 m (at ISO 100)
External flash Yes (Hot-shoe, Wireless)
Flash modes Auto, On, Off, Front curtain, Rear curtain, Red-Eye, Slow Sync
Continuous drive 5 fps
Self-timer Yes (2, 5, 10 or 20 sec)
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Spot
Exposure compensation ±5 (at 1/3 EV, 1/2 EV steps)
AE Bracketing (2, 3 frames at 1/3 EV, 1/2 EV, 2/3 EV, 1 EV steps)
WB Bracketing Yes (2 or 3 frames in either blue/amber or magenta/green axis)
Videography features
Resolutions 1280 x 720 (24 fps), 640 x 424 (24 fps), 320 x 216 (24 fps)
Format Motion JPEG
Microphone Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC
Storage included None
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (Mini Type C)
Wireless Eye-Fi Connected
Remote control Yes (Optional ML-L3 or MC-DC2)
Physical
Environmentally sealed No
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description Lithium-Ion EN-EL3e rechargeable battery & charger
Battery Life (CIPA) 850
Weight (inc. batteries) 703 g (1.55 lb / 24.80 oz)
Dimensions 132 x 103 x 77 mm (5.2 x 4.06 x 3.03)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
Timelapse recording Yes (by USB cable and PC)
GPS Optional
GPS notes GP-1

Reviews

User Reviews

4.42909 out of 5 stars
  • kokuwana, Sep 7, 2012 GMT:
    Nikon D90

    Always used Nikon cameras. Nikon F 65, Nikon D 40 and upgraded to Nikon D 90. Very pleased with the camera and results. Joined nikonistas club from Spain and found many real positive opinions about features, specs, IQ...Concerning the video, can´t expect much from the world's first DSLR too shoot video!!Globally rate the camera with 5* after shooting in several conditions and locations.Still look to Nikon D 90 as a photo camera...that´s all for now thanks DP! Problems: Never found one.

    Continue Reading

  • squajackyl, Jun 18, 2012 GMT:
    Good for start!

    Ottimo corpo macchina soprattutto per iniziare ad avere a che fare con le Reflex. Ha tutto quello che serve e con un po' di pratica si possono fare foto anche a livello di professionista. Certamente però serve tempo e pazienza. Corpo macchina robusto e di dimensioni ottime, tutti i comandi al posto giusto, carica batteria fenomenale! Unica pecca è l'incompatibilità con i vecchi obiettivi, ovvero se si montano obiettivi senza autofocus questi non comunicano nemmeno l'apertura del diaframma. ...

    Continue Reading

  • lmtfa, Apr 7, 2012 GMT:
    Very nice camera.

    I get to use my DX lenses

    Continue Reading

  • Rolo King, Mar 20, 2012 GMT:
    Worth the wait

    I eyed the D90 as soon as it came out. But I already had Canon and Pentax gear. After having left Canon for good, waiting for Pentax to come out with something like the K-7 but with the same sensor, and trying out my friend's D90, it was about the right time to go back to a dual system. Pictures from this camera still hold up well when compared to current offerings. Despite having waited two years after its release (can you believe this model will soon be four years old?), it still felt like ...

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Fujifilm X-E1 or Sony A6000

Hi guys ... I'm new on the field and I would highly appreciate everybody opinions. I'm about to buy a mirror less camera and my doubt is between the Fujifilm X-E1 vs. Sony A6000. I use to have a Nikon D90. Now I'm looking for something easy to career as I do travel quite often and also good image quality in which I'm able to do some professional work. Thanks a lot everybody.

rafalima asked
2 months ago

ANSWERS

Depends a lot on your experience level, your needs and what you want, in general. The Sony has a much better video function and is probably better when it comes to auto focus tracking of a moving subject. The Sony has more features geared towards the average consumer (face detection, scene modes, etc.) Both cameras will produce an outstanding image and both are good at higher ISO settings. The Fuji is a great camera with a much better menu system, better white balance, beautiful JPEG images and lenses that are hard to beat. It's really a matter of personal preference when deciding which camera is best for you. Right now, the price of an X-E1 along with the unusually good 18-55mm lens is unbelievably low so it would be very tempting, but it may not be the right camera for you. Just the same, I don't think you could go too far wrong with either camera. Continue Reading

Ed B answered
2 months ago

QUESTION

Tamron 70-300 VC- is it a safe buy?

Hello all, new to DP Review here.  Want to thank anyone in advance for any insight or responses regarding my questions- Backstory:  My father and I want to buy a new lens to share.  We are torn between the Nikkor 70-300 VR lens, and the Tamron 70-300 VC.  My dad is from the old school and does not want to put anything on his camera (D90) that is not a Nikkor lens.  I'm a very open to trying a 3rd party lens because I have put in the research in to it and see that a handful of lenses have gotten excellent reviews (this Tamron too, mostly). My father is shooting a D90 and I'm shooting a D7000. From all the reviews we've read and videos we've seen, my father can't believe it.  The reviews for the Tamron 70-300VC seem to generally be better across the board than its similarly priced Nikkor counterpart. They seem to be basically equal from 70-200, but the Tamron seems to be better from 200-300, which is important to us because we shoot a lot of birds. My questions: 1.)  Has anyone here ...

King Gooner asked
3 months ago

ANSWERS

Hi, Here is lot of samples: http://www.littlebigtravelingcamera.com/?p=4598 A truly great lens. Can't comment on the Nikon. I compared it with the Canon and beside a slightly slower AF the lens is much better. Continue Reading

Joachim Gerstl answered
3 months ago

I used the Tamron VC for a few years, from D90 to D7000 and now D7100. I have excellent keeper rate using this lens. Definitely a cheaper alternative, with at least as good AF and IQ. Go for it, my friend. Continue Reading

Lawrence W answered
3 months ago

I got the Tamron version over three years ago and have been happily shooting it on my D90 ever since. I went in the store to get the Nikon version having never heard of this at the time brand new Tamron lens. I came out with the vc. Lots of examples in my gallery here and on my stream linked below. The stabilization is excellent and the six year warranty is nothing to sneeze at. Good luck. -- http://www.flickr.com/photos/brev00 Continue Reading

Brev00 answered
3 months ago

QUESTION

What do you miss moving from a DSLR to CSC?

I am about to pull the trigger on purchasing an Olympus OMD-EM10, moving from a Nikon D90 and am curious as to the experience of others who have made a similar transition. I am an advanced amateur, initially moving from a P&S to Nikon D40x then to the D90. While I have been very pleased with the D90, I have never been completely happy with the low light performance despite having a few prime lenses and also find that I take it with me less often due to weight and bulk. Hence, the thought of moving into a CSC and after much review, the EM10. So, what do you miss if you have made a similar transition? Do you feel the image quality is similar, better, worse? Obviously, the size is a great advantage, but are their other, perhaps less expected, advantages that you have noted? Have any of you turned back to DSLR's? I appreciate your response and opinions.

aemari asked
5 months ago

ANSWERS

First, I have an Olympus OMD EM1 and Nikon D800/800E. I use them all, a lot. The Olympus gives light weight, small size, generally lower cost.  I like it and use it for walkabouts, museums, steep and long hikes.  Image quality is good and good enough for almost any purpose. I mostly use the Nikons. What I get from a DLSR is: camera turns on fast and is ready to go; no waiting. excellent battery life (3000 shots per battery typically) first rate autofocus, excellent tracking AF (CSC cameras fall down a bit here) bird in flight photography:  D800 is excellent, EM1 is mediocre (parts the AF partly the lenses) mirror lock up a wealth of lenses and accessories, including 500, 600 and 800 mm lenses, macro flash, L brackets etc. the best image quality (short of a view camera or medium format digital) optical view finder is always on manual focus is always available two card slots, CF cards, SD cards, olay! camera is easy to use and adjust; I can change almost anything I need to, including ... Continue Reading

5 months ago

Hi, I moved from APS-C to an EM-5 and miss the maturity of the Canon and Nikon cameras, they are big but they are well thought out and really well worked through - my canon is a good work-horse even if it isn't the latest and greatest. I now have an EM-5 and the menu system is plain crazy, no tethered shooting, no invalometer - it sometimes feels like they don't work hard enough on the software side even though the hardware is stunning. So for me it is lack of maturity - the canons and nikons target the professions and a lot of the high end stuff trickles down to the lower end so you get a product that is fully shaken down and works. Scott. Continue Reading

BlueStarfish answered
5 months ago

Continue Reading

lester11 answered
5 months ago

Warranty Information

"No registration or "warranty" card is included or needed with a Nikon D-SLR or Coolpix camera. Keep your original, dated proof of purchase from the Authorized Nikon Inc. dealer in case warranty service is ever needed. These products do include either a mail-in form or a paper with a web link to our registration page:
https://support.nikonusa.com/app/product_registration
It's advised to register your product with Nikon so that we can send you information about future updates or service issues that may arise.


Nikkor lenses come with a standard one year warranty and Nikon Inc. lenses sold by authorized Nikon Inc. dealers will have a Nikon Inc. Five Year Extension. To register for the five year extension, one copy of the included form must be mailed in as indicated. Keep the Customer copy of the form as well as the original proof of purchase (sales receipt)."


Read the full warranty.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Nikon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.