Nikon Df DSLR Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

81% Tried & Tested
If you like the way it looks, have some Pre-AI lenses you want to use, or hanker for the chance to use traditional dedicated control dials, then it's a camera you should seriously look at.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 16MP full frame CMOS sensor
  • 5.5 frames per second continuous shooting
  • 39-point autofocus system with 9 cross-type points
  • ISO100 - 12800
  • 3 inch LCD with 921,000 dots
  • 0.7x viewfinder with 100% coverage
  • Raw and Raw + JPEG shooting
  • Optional external flash via hot shoe or PC sync
  • SD/SDHC/SDXC
  • Wi-Fi compatible via WU-1a mobile adapter (sold separately)
  • Collapsible coupling lever makes it compatible with all Nikon F-mount lenses, even non-AI
  • Magnesium Alloy body with mechanical exposure dials

Product Description

The Nikon Df is a unique, advanced- DSLR that harmonizes Nikon heritage and modern performance in a lightweight and very capable FX-format camera. The new Df pays homage to the enduring style and controls of Nikon’s distinguished "F" series of 35mm film cameras, yet features technology similar to Nikon’s professional flagship D4 D-SLR. Due to it's simple design and focus on "pure photography," the Df does not offer any video recording capabilities.

Specs

Body type
Body type Mid-size SLR
Sensor
Max resolution 4928 x 3280
Other resolutions FX: 3696 x 2456, 2464 x 1640; DX crop: 3200 x 2128, 2400 x 1592, 1600 x 1064
Image ratio w:h 3:2
Effective pixels 16 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 17 megapixels
Sensor size Full frame (36 x 23.9 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
Processor Expeed 3
Image
ISO Auto, 100 - 12800
White balance presets 12
Custom white balance Yes (4 spots)
Image stabilization No
Uncompressed format RAW + TIFF
JPEG quality levels Fine, normal, basic
Optics & Focus
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Phase Detect
  • Multi-area
  • Center
  • Selective single-point
  • Tracking
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Face Detection
  • Live View
Number of focus points 39
Lens mount Nikon F
Focal length multiplier 1×
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fixed
Screen size 3.2
Screen dots 921,000
Touch screen No
Screen type TFT-LCD
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type Optical (pentaprism)
Viewfinder coverage 100%
Viewfinder magnification 0.7×
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 30 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/4000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes No
Built-in flash No
External flash Yes (via hot shoe or PC sync)
Flash modes Auto FP High-speed sync, front-curtain sync, rear-curtain sync, redeye reduction,
Continuous drive 5.5 fps
Self-timer Yes (2, 5, 10, or 20 secs)
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Spot
Exposure compensation ±3 (at 1/3 EV steps)
AE Bracketing ±3 (2, 3, 5 frames at 1/3 EV, 2/3 EV, 1 EV, 2 EV steps)
WB Bracketing Yes (2 or 3 shots in 1/3 or 1/2-stop intervals)
Videography features
Microphone None
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC card
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (mini-HDMI)
Wireless Optional
Wireless notes via WU-1a wireless mobile adapter
Remote control Yes (Cable release, wireless remote)
Physical
Environmentally sealed Yes
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description EN-EL14/EN-EL14a lithium-ion battery and charger
Battery Life (CIPA) 1400
Weight (inc. batteries) 760 g (1.68 lb / 26.81 oz)
Dimensions 144 x 110 x 67 mm (5.67 x 4.33 x 2.64)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
Timelapse recording No
GPS None
GPS notes via GP-1 or GP-1A adapter

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other cameras in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Build quality
Ergonomics & handling
Features
Metering & focus accuracy
Image quality (raw)
Image quality (jpeg)
Low light / high ISO performance
Viewfinder / screen rating
Performance
Connectivity
Value
Tried & Tested
Tried & Tested
81 %
Overall Score

The Nikon Df is a product that's as much about invoking nostalgia as it is about capturing the moment. Its control setup, though slower than a modern DSLR layout, will appeal to anyone who wants a camera that feels more like a camera than an electronic device. However, despite an excellent imaging sensor, we think too many compromises were made on such an expensive camera.

Good For

Anyone longing to shoot using traditional control dials. Owners of Pre-AI Nikon lenses.

Not So Good For

User Reviews

4.06874 out of 5 stars
  • Rex Li NZ, Nov 7, 2013 GMT:
    NIKON DF VS D610 – WHICH ONE IS RIGHT FOR YOU?

    Here is a very interesting article in comparing the Nikon Df with Nikon D610 http://finophotography.co.nz/2013/11/07/nikon-df-vs-d610-which-one-is-right-for-you/

    Continue Reading

  • SergeyMS, Dec 6, 2013 GMT:
    Not for everybody

    Very nice camera! I bought in black color, it looks in reality better than silver. This camera for old generation, like me, who remember instant photography with Leica and Zenit. I expected to feel old camera - but probably this camera was designed by new generation of designers who never worked a lot with old cameras. Probably. But still DF is exclusive - as a tool, as a gift, as one of last cameras of DSLR epoch. IQ is excellent even with kit lenses, and I think now about Otus lenses. The ...

    Continue Reading

  • Biggs23, Dec 6, 2013 GMT:
    A great addition to the Nikon lineup.

    I've now had the Df for several days and have used and handled it enough to give some feedback about it. I'll start off by saying that this is certainly not a camera for everyone; it has several areas where it would fall short for many users and understandably so. However, I don't believe this camera was intended as a camera that would sell based on mass market appeal. This is not meant to be a comprehensive review but rather a brief review commenting on what I believe to be some of the most ...

    Continue Reading

  • InTheMist, Dec 9, 2013 GMT:
    Dƒ Review (plus DSC_0001, sample images, favourite lenses and more)

    I'm that guy. I always have a camera with me. I want a full frame, fast, low light, low weight camera in my bag all the time. I don't want to wait for the little computer and monitor to boot up. I want the camera to get out of the way. First, the Formalities It's been a tradition of mine to post my DSC_0001 for new cameras that I get, even when I screw it up and face the wrath of the internet jackals. OOC JPEG, slightly brightened. 50 f1.8 SE (Kit) As you're pixel peeping these images, keep ...

    Continue Reading

Videos

A Conversation with Bob Krist by Nikon

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Help with Df Auto ISO

I have a Df on the way. I read (somewhere) that auto ISO limits are set by the external manual controls, ie, the shutter speed low limit is that selected on the shutter speed dial and the ISO high limit is set by the ISO dial. In reading the manual on the computer, it doesn't mention the external controls and describes how to set auto ISO all by menu selections. If this is correct, then the external controls are not a factor in auto ISO. Can someone set me straight?

11 days ago

ANSWERS

Auto ISO is selected as any other camera, through the menu ! Auto ISO is very well thought out and works superbly. Stick a flash on top and it will go to 400 ISO when in auto. I find this superb too. You can also use the Fn as a shortcut to ISO for those times you have reason to manually select your ISO. Auto ISO will override any ISO setting you have set on the dial !  :) Continue Reading

Westmill answered
11 days ago

Not sure about Df, but on most others you can toggle AUTO ISO on and off with holding ISO button down and rotating front dial. Continue Reading

Tharaphita answered
11 days ago

Exactly the information I was after. Thank you! Continue Reading

Richard Thornton answered
11 days ago

QUESTION

DF : Poor AF performance in low-light different opinions

Steve Huff wrote about the DP review of the poor low-light AF of the DF : "... Well in my use I say otherwise. Funny because I have witnessed first hand on three occasions where dp review guys were testing and shooting cameras to review – I shot with them On three occasions. On two of those I had to explain a couple if things. Dp review is not the final word, trust me on that. The Df does fantastic in low light with the kit lens. I had no issues at all... ." So, the DF does a "good-normal" job in low light or it's really a problem ? How can exist so different reports ?? regards Alberto

Alberto 1290 asked
11 months ago

ANSWERS

I don't understand the faith many put in Steve Huff's opinion and their skepticism of DPR's. The DPR review presents some pretty hard evidence about the capability of the DF. Other than some pretty pictures, proving the already proven capability of the sensor, Huff doesn't do much else. His video is nothing more than a preview of the camera. DPR did that and much more. Do I agree with everything DPR says about the Df? No. But I believe it is a fair and unbiased review. Continue Reading

Rich Rosen answered
11 months ago

Steve Huff exaggerated the AF performance. His review is not methodical and critical as reviews from other sources. In the Digital Camera World review Angela Nicholson mentioned AF performance has some minor issues. I agree with her, as I have shot my Df several times in low light and found it has occasional difficulty focusing with using its Special Edition 50mm kit lens. This is a minor concern, but you should not expect high-performance AF that is available with other cameras. Continue Reading

Alpha Tech answered
11 months ago

So, I have been a Nikon shooter since 1976, have owned the FM, FM2, D100, D70s, D200 and D700.  The Df IS the camera this D700 owner was crying out for. I have a Masters Degree in Aerospace Engineering and have worked at NASA for 32 years. Yet I am a’fool' in your estimation. You are certainly entitled to your opinion of the camera.  I resent your opinion of people who decide they would like to own it. YOU don't know what their needs or wants are, so it might be best if you don't judge them. Continue Reading

Kent J answered
11 months ago

QUESTION

How an AF body meets an AF-S lens? (and misc questions)

First of all, let me state some of my understandings. Please DO correct me if I am wrong ;) I have did a bit studies over wiki , nikon , and dpreview . (1) All AF lenses have the AF screw hole? (2) All AF bodies have the AF screw driver? (3) All non-AF bodies have no AF screw driver? (4) No matter in what combinations, AF detection and calculations must be done in camera. (i am quite sure on this.) (5) Differences between AF and AF-S lens is, AF lens cannot turn itself mechanically (need to depend on the body's screw driver), while AF-S can. (i am quite sure on this too.) We have AF body ...

midnite asked
13 days ago

ANSWERS

Interesting question, I'm thinking the screw doesn't play a part in AF-S lenses, just the motor built into it using the data received from the camera. Continue Reading

Gerick14 answered
13 days ago

no no no yes yes yes yes yes there is no screwdriver on AFS lenses so they turn themselves Continue Reading

David314 answered
13 days ago

Oh I see. AF-S lenses have no screw holes so they must receive focusing information by electronic connectors. For here, AF bodies mean DSLR cameras with AF motors, which can do AF on AF lenses. Why "no" and "no"? Continue Reading

midnite answered
13 days ago

WHAT'S IN THE BOX?

  • Nikon Df Camera Body
  • (Kit also includes Nikon AF-S 50mm F1.8G Special Edition Lens)
  • DK-26 Eyepiece Cap
  • String for eyepiece cap
  • UC-E6 USB Cable
  • AN-DC9 Camera Strap
  • BF-1B Body Cap
  • BS-1 Accessory Shoe Cover
  • ViewNX 2 CD-ROM

Warranty Information

"No registration or "warranty" card is included or needed with a Nikon D-SLR or Coolpix camera. Keep your original, dated proof of purchase from the Authorized Nikon Inc. dealer in case warranty service is ever needed. These products do include either a mail-in form or a paper with a web link to our registration page:
https://support.nikonusa.com/app/product_registration
It's advised to register your product with Nikon so that we can send you information about future updates or service issues that may arise.


Nikkor lenses come with a standard one year warranty and Nikon Inc. lenses sold by authorized Nikon Inc. dealers will have a Nikon Inc. Five Year Extension. To register for the five year extension, one copy of the included form must be mailed in as indicated. Keep the Customer copy of the form as well as the original proof of purchase (sales receipt)."


Read the full warranty.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Nikon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.