Nikon Df DSLR Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

81% Tried & Tested
If you like the way it looks, have some Pre-AI lenses you want to use, or hanker for the chance to use traditional dedicated control dials, then it's a camera you should seriously look at.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 16MP full frame CMOS sensor
  • 5.5 frames per second continuous shooting
  • 39-point autofocus system with 9 cross-type points
  • ISO100 - 12800
  • 3 inch LCD with 921,000 dots
  • 0.7x viewfinder with 100% coverage
  • Raw and Raw + JPEG shooting
  • Optional external flash via hot shoe or PC sync
  • SD/SDHC/SDXC
  • Wi-Fi compatible via WU-1a mobile adapter (sold separately)
  • Collapsible coupling lever makes it compatible with all Nikon F-mount lenses, even non-AI
  • Magnesium Alloy body with mechanical exposure dials

Product Description

The Nikon Df is a unique, advanced- DSLR that harmonizes Nikon heritage and modern performance in a lightweight and very capable FX-format camera. The new Df pays homage to the enduring style and controls of Nikon’s distinguished "F" series of 35mm film cameras, yet features technology similar to Nikon’s professional flagship D4 D-SLR. Due to it's simple design and focus on "pure photography," the Df does not offer any video recording capabilities.

Reviews

User Reviews

  • Rex Li NZ, Nov 7, 2013 GMT:
    NIKON DF VS D610 – WHICH ONE IS RIGHT FOR YOU?

    Here is a very interesting article in comparing the Nikon Df with Nikon D610 http://finophotography.co.nz/2013/11/07/nikon-df-vs-d610-which-one-is-right-for-you/

    Continue Reading

  • SergeyMS, Dec 6, 2013 GMT:
    Not for everybody

    Very nice camera! I bought in black color, it looks in reality better than silver. This camera for old generation, like me, who remember instant photography with Leica and Zenit. I expected to feel old camera - but probably this camera was designed by new generation of designers who never worked a lot with old cameras. Probably. But still DF is exclusive - as a tool, as a gift, as one of last cameras of DSLR epoch. IQ is excellent even with kit lenses, and I think now about Otus lenses. The ...

    Continue Reading

  • Biggs23, Dec 6, 2013 GMT:
    A great addition to the Nikon lineup.

    I've now had the Df for several days and have used and handled it enough to give some feedback about it. I'll start off by saying that this is certainly not a camera for everyone; it has several areas where it would fall short for many users and understandably so. However, I don't believe this camera was intended as a camera that would sell based on mass market appeal. This is not meant to be a comprehensive review but rather a brief review commenting on what I believe to be some of the most ...

    Continue Reading

  • InTheMist, Dec 9, 2013 GMT:
    Dƒ Review (plus DSC_0001, sample images, favourite lenses and more)

    I'm that guy. I always have a camera with me. I want a full frame, fast, low light, low weight camera in my bag all the time. I don't want to wait for the little computer and monitor to boot up. I want the camera to get out of the way. First, the Formalities It's been a tradition of mine to post my DSC_0001 for new cameras that I get, even when I screw it up and face the wrath of the internet jackals. OOC JPEG, slightly brightened. 50 f1.8 SE (Kit) As you're pixel peeping these images, keep ...

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

DF : Poor AF performance in low-light different opinions

Steve Huff wrote about the DP review of the poor low-light AF of the DF : "... Well in my use I say otherwise. Funny because I have witnessed first hand on three occasions where dp review guys were testing and shooting cameras to review – I shot with them On three occasions. On two of those I had to explain a couple if things. Dp review is not the final word, trust me on that. The Df does fantastic in low light with the kit lens. I had no issues at all... ." So, the DF does a "good-normal" job in low light or it's really a problem ? How can exist so different reports ?? regards Alberto

Alberto 1290 asked
3 months ago

ANSWERS

I don't understand the faith many put in Steve Huff's opinion and their skepticism of DPR's. The DPR review presents some pretty hard evidence about the capability of the DF. Other than some pretty pictures, proving the already proven capability of the sensor, Huff doesn't do much else. His video is nothing more than a preview of the camera. DPR did that and much more. Do I agree with everything DPR says about the Df? No. But I believe it is a fair and unbiased review. Continue Reading

Rich Rosen answered
3 months ago

Steve Huff exaggerated the AF performance. His review is not methodical and critical as reviews from other sources. In the Digital Camera World review Angela Nicholson mentioned AF performance has some minor issues. I agree with her, as I have shot my Df several times in low light and found it has occasional difficulty focusing with using its Special Edition 50mm kit lens. This is a minor concern, but you should not expect high-performance AF that is available with other cameras. Continue Reading

Alpha Tech answered
3 months ago

So, I have been a Nikon shooter since 1976, have owned the FM, FM2, D100, D70s, D200 and D700.  The Df IS the camera this D700 owner was crying out for. I have a Masters Degree in Aerospace Engineering and have worked at NASA for 32 years. Yet I am a’fool' in your estimation. You are certainly entitled to your opinion of the camera.  I resent your opinion of people who decide they would like to own it. YOU don't know what their needs or wants are, so it might be best if you don't judge them. Continue Reading

Kent J answered
3 months ago

QUESTION

Df or D610 for Kenya travel

I am planning to go to Kenya in late July for the great migration. I am struggling between Df and D610.

cbsphoto123 asked
2 days ago

ANSWERS

If you have Df money, then you have D800 money. IMHO, that's the one you want. If the only choices you're considering are Df and D610, I'd prefer the D610 by a small margin. Consider that the AF module is the same, and the Mpx is not that much different, much depends on how difficult the light conditions are where you're shooting. If at any time you need to substantially increase ISO to get acceptable shutter speed, the the Df is a lot more than slightly better than D610. Still, D610 is probably going to be more rugged and adaptable to many situations, in ways the Df may come up short. Continue Reading

Hugo First answered
2 days ago

I have a D3S and Df, and I consider the Df about a stop better than the D3S. I consider a stop a game changer. Continue Reading

brianric answered
2 days ago

Given that you appear to own both, it seems pretty obvious that you should take both. Were you really considering not taking two bodies on a safari? Continue Reading

Apollo18 answered
2 days ago

QUESTION

Renting FX camera as a trial run: D4s vs D800E vs Df?

As a hobbyist photographer my normal D5200 suits me just fine for 90% of what I like to shoot. I've had a couple recent opportunities to shoot some concerts and have realized that my D5200, while it does a passable job in low light (twilight etc.), it's sensor just isn't up to the task of holding the level of detail I'm looking for in the dynamic and often poor lighting conditions present at indoor concerts. My question if I'm going to rent a FX camera for a weekend of concerts, which out of these three would be the best performance for the $$$, D4s (~$200), D800E (~$110), or Df (~$100)? I realize the D4s is a powerhouse, but is the extra $100 worth it? Any and all input would be greatly appreciated.

tlrfoto asked
6 days ago

ANSWERS

The d4s is the best for your particulate problem, high speed and very high ISO usability. 11 fps is nice to get the right facial expression.  The 800 is great for iso noise . But no where near the d4s, and the 4 fps will limit  your amount of useable  shots. The dr will do the job better than the d800 but not as well as the  d4s. roger Continue Reading

Rogerlange answered
6 days ago

Without question, D4s! Continue Reading

George Payne Jr answered
6 days ago

Are you renting with the possibility of buying, or just renting to shoot a few concerts? Continue Reading

chuhsi answered
4 days ago

Have your own question?

WHAT'S IN THE BOX?

  • Nikon Df Camera Body
  • (Kit also includes Nikon AF-S 50mm F1.8G Special Edition Lens)
  • DK-26 Eyepiece Cap
  • String for eyepiece cap
  • UC-E6 USB Cable
  • AN-DC9 Camera Strap
  • BF-1B Body Cap
  • BS-1 Accessory Shoe Cover
  • ViewNX 2 CD-ROM

Warranty Information

"No registration or "warranty" card is included or needed with a Nikon D-SLR or Coolpix camera. Keep your original, dated proof of purchase from the Authorized Nikon Inc. dealer in case warranty service is ever needed. These products do include either a mail-in form or a paper with a web link to our registration page:
https://support.nikonusa.com/app/product_registration
It's advised to register your product with Nikon so that we can send you information about future updates or service issues that may arise.


Nikkor lenses come with a standard one year warranty and Nikon Inc. lenses sold by authorized Nikon Inc. dealers will have a Nikon Inc. Five Year Extension. To register for the five year extension, one copy of the included form must be mailed in as indicated. Keep the Customer copy of the form as well as the original proof of purchase (sales receipt)."


Read the full warranty.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Nikon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.