Nikon Df DSLR Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

81% Tried & Tested
If you like the way it looks, have some Pre-AI lenses you want to use, or hanker for the chance to use traditional dedicated control dials, then it's a camera you should seriously look at.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 16MP full frame CMOS sensor
  • 5.5 frames per second continuous shooting
  • 39-point autofocus system with 9 cross-type points
  • ISO100 - 12800
  • 3 inch LCD with 921,000 dots
  • 0.7x viewfinder with 100% coverage
  • Raw and Raw + JPEG shooting
  • Optional external flash via hot shoe or PC sync
  • SD/SDHC/SDXC
  • Wi-Fi compatible via WU-1a mobile adapter (sold separately)
  • Collapsible coupling lever makes it compatible with all Nikon F-mount lenses, even non-AI
  • Magnesium Alloy body with mechanical exposure dials

Product Description

The Nikon Df is a unique, advanced- DSLR that harmonizes Nikon heritage and modern performance in a lightweight and very capable FX-format camera. The new Df pays homage to the enduring style and controls of Nikon’s distinguished "F" series of 35mm film cameras, yet features technology similar to Nikon’s professional flagship D4 D-SLR. Due to it's simple design and focus on "pure photography," the Df does not offer any video recording capabilities.

Specs

Body type
Body type Mid-size SLR
Sensor
Max resolution 4928 x 3280
Other resolutions FX: 3696 x 2456, 2464 x 1640; DX crop: 3200 x 2128, 2400 x 1592, 1600 x 1064
Image ratio w:h 3:2
Effective pixels 16 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 17 megapixels
Sensor size Full frame (36 x 23.9 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
Processor Expeed 3
Image
ISO Auto, 100 - 12800
White balance presets 12
Custom white balance Yes (4 spots)
Image stabilization No
Uncompressed format RAW + TIFF
JPEG quality levels Fine, normal, basic
Optics & Focus
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Phase Detect
  • Multi-area
  • Center
  • Selective single-point
  • Tracking
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Face Detection
  • Live View
Number of focus points 39
Lens mount Nikon F
Focal length multiplier 1×
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fixed
Screen size 3.2
Screen dots 921,000
Touch screen No
Screen type TFT-LCD
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type Optical (pentaprism)
Viewfinder coverage 100%
Viewfinder magnification 0.7×
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 30 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/4000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes No
Built-in flash No
External flash Yes (via hot shoe or PC sync)
Flash modes Auto FP High-speed sync, front-curtain sync, rear-curtain sync, redeye reduction,
Continuous drive 6 fps
Self-timer Yes (2, 5, 10, or 20 secs)
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Spot
Exposure compensation ±3 (at 1/3 EV steps)
AE Bracketing ±3 (2, 3, 5 frames at 1/3 EV, 2/3 EV, 1 EV, 2 EV steps)
WB Bracketing Yes (2 or 3 shots in 1/3 or 1/2-stop intervals)
Videography features
Microphone None
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC card
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (mini-HDMI)
Wireless Optional
Wireless notes via WU-1a wireless mobile adapter
Remote control Yes (Cable release, wireless remote)
Physical
Environmentally sealed Yes
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description EN-EL14/EN-EL14a lithium-ion battery and charger
Battery Life (CIPA) 1400
Weight (inc. batteries) 760 g (1.68 lb / 26.81 oz)
Dimensions 144 x 110 x 67 mm (5.67 x 4.33 x 2.64)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
Timelapse recording No
GPS None
GPS notes via GP-1 or GP-1A adapter

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other cameras in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Build quality
Ergonomics & handling
Features
Metering & focus accuracy
Image quality (raw)
Image quality (jpeg)
Low light / high ISO performance
Viewfinder / screen rating
Performance
Connectivity
Value
Tried & Tested
Tried & Tested
81 %
Overall Score

The Nikon Df is a product that's as much about invoking nostalgia as it is about capturing the moment. Its control setup, though slower than a modern DSLR layout, will appeal to anyone who wants a camera that feels more like a camera than an electronic device. However, despite an excellent imaging sensor, we think too many compromises were made on such an expensive camera.

Good For

Anyone longing to shoot using traditional control dials. Owners of Pre-AI Nikon lenses.

Not So Good For

Users of autofocus wishing to work in low light. Photographers looking for the best available technology for their money.

User Reviews

  • Rex Li NZ, Nov 7, 2013 GMT:
    NIKON DF VS D610 – WHICH ONE IS RIGHT FOR YOU?

    Here is a very interesting article in comparing the Nikon Df with Nikon D610 http://finophotography.co.nz/2013/11/07/nikon-df-vs-d610-which-one-is-right-for-you/

    Continue Reading

  • SergeyMS, Dec 6, 2013 GMT:
    Not for everybody

    Very nice camera! I bought in black color, it looks in reality better than silver. This camera for old generation, like me, who remember instant photography with Leica and Zenit. I expected to feel old camera - but probably this camera was designed by new generation of designers who never worked a lot with old cameras. Probably. But still DF is exclusive - as a tool, as a gift, as one of last cameras of DSLR epoch. IQ is excellent even with kit lenses, and I think now about Otus lenses. The ...

    Continue Reading

  • Biggs23, Dec 6, 2013 GMT:
    A great addition to the Nikon lineup.

    I've now had the Df for several days and have used and handled it enough to give some feedback about it. I'll start off by saying that this is certainly not a camera for everyone; it has several areas where it would fall short for many users and understandably so. However, I don't believe this camera was intended as a camera that would sell based on mass market appeal. This is not meant to be a comprehensive review but rather a brief review commenting on what I believe to be some of the most ...

    Continue Reading

  • InTheMist, Dec 9, 2013 GMT:
    Dƒ Review (plus DSC_0001, sample images, favourite lenses and more)

    I'm that guy. I always have a camera with me. I want a full frame, fast, low light, low weight camera in my bag all the time. I don't want to wait for the little computer and monitor to boot up. I want the camera to get out of the way. First, the Formalities It's been a tradition of mine to post my DSC_0001 for new cameras that I get, even when I screw it up and face the wrath of the internet jackals. OOC JPEG, slightly brightened. 50 f1.8 SE (Kit) As you're pixel peeping these images, keep ...

    Continue Reading

Videos

A Conversation with Bob Krist by Nikon

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

DF : Poor AF performance in low-light different opinions

Steve Huff wrote about the DP review of the poor low-light AF of the DF : "... Well in my use I say otherwise. Funny because I have witnessed first hand on three occasions where dp review guys were testing and shooting cameras to review – I shot with them On three occasions. On two of those I had to explain a couple if things. Dp review is not the final word, trust me on that. The Df does fantastic in low light with the kit lens. I had no issues at all... ." So, the DF does a "good-normal" job in low light or it's really a problem ? How can exist so different reports ?? regards Alberto

Alberto 1290 asked
3 months ago

ANSWERS

I don't understand the faith many put in Steve Huff's opinion and their skepticism of DPR's. The DPR review presents some pretty hard evidence about the capability of the DF. Other than some pretty pictures, proving the already proven capability of the sensor, Huff doesn't do much else. His video is nothing more than a preview of the camera. DPR did that and much more. Do I agree with everything DPR says about the Df? No. But I believe it is a fair and unbiased review. Continue Reading

Rich Rosen answered
3 months ago

Steve Huff exaggerated the AF performance. His review is not methodical and critical as reviews from other sources. In the Digital Camera World review Angela Nicholson mentioned AF performance has some minor issues. I agree with her, as I have shot my Df several times in low light and found it has occasional difficulty focusing with using its Special Edition 50mm kit lens. This is a minor concern, but you should not expect high-performance AF that is available with other cameras. Continue Reading

Alpha Tech answered
3 months ago

So, I have been a Nikon shooter since 1976, have owned the FM, FM2, D100, D70s, D200 and D700.  The Df IS the camera this D700 owner was crying out for. I have a Masters Degree in Aerospace Engineering and have worked at NASA for 32 years. Yet I am a’fool' in your estimation. You are certainly entitled to your opinion of the camera.  I resent your opinion of people who decide they would like to own it. YOU don't know what their needs or wants are, so it might be best if you don't judge them. Continue Reading

Kent J answered
3 months ago

QUESTION

D610/DF AA filter ??

Hi, I read an old thread on Nikonians where someone said the D610 has no AA filter. I seem to recall reading that in one other place in a forum. But I've not seen anything about that in any of the product literature. Does it or doesn't it ? How about the DF, would that be the same ? Thanks !

fwellers asked
4 days ago

ANSWERS

Awww, Floyd! Please don't bring up AA filters on a weekend... can't a man have a drink without having to worry about "Alcoholics Anonymous?" :-D Rest assured that the D610 does have an AA filter but that doesn't stop it rendering brilliant IQ. Cheers Andrew Continue Reading

TQGroup answered
4 days ago

Thanks Andrew. And sorry to ruin your buzz. You can always take a meeting next week and jump back on that wagon. :-)) Thanks ! Continue Reading

fwellers answered
4 days ago

Appreciate your GSOH... but how did you know I photograph bees? :-D Continue Reading

TQGroup answered
4 days ago

QUESTION

Compact & lightweight 3 LENSES KIT for Nikon FX

Thinking about the Nikon DF, but coming from micro43, I’m really worried about lens size and weight. The 50mm f1.8 G is going to be a perfect walkaround and low light prime, and probably the 70-200 f4 plus a TC 1.7x is going to cover my telephoto needs with very good IQ. But, for an standard zoom (looking for an only 3 lenses kit), Nikon 24-85 f3.5-4.5 VR is the best balanced option I’ve found (between Nikon 24-70 f2.8, 24-120 f4 and Sigma 24-105 as the other options I've considered). It’s compact and light, but mixed reviews about quality in the web. I don't want the big guns f2.8 route, and ready to sacrifice some IQ in order to reduce weight. Another option to keep size down is to get a 24mm f2.8D.......but I'll prefer the flexibility of a zoom. What do you think? Thanks!

FranLopez asked
7 days ago

ANSWERS

It really depends on what shooting you want to do and where you want to do most of it. For travel using a D600, my compact and lightweight travel kit includes two lenses you have nominated; the 50 F1.8G and the 70-200 F4. My third and indispensable lens for travel is the 16-35 VR. In cities, interior and exterior, UWA is absolutely necessary IMHO and this lens often takes 70% of all shots taken on an extensive trip. The VR is extremely useful as flash and / or tripods are sometimes inconvenient and, increasingly are banned from public places, especially crowded ones. This lens takes many shots in poor / low light that a non-VR lens simply could not capture. Continue Reading

TQGroup answered
7 days ago

Edit:  Sorry, responded to wrong poster I think for what you intend to spend you got it right with the 24-85mm VR, 70-200 f4, and maybe the Rokinon 14mm Ultra Wide-Angle f/2.8 for around $350. I don't think any Nikon TC will work well with the lens you are considering. Continue Reading

wasserball answered
6 days ago

I know you don't want the 24mm f2.8D :P The corners are totally useless until f8 and don't look decent till f11-f16. There is an old sigma 24mm f2.8 that is better (and MUCH sharper in the center wide open) but still has mushy corners until f5.6-f8. I'm also not a big fan of the 50mm f1.8G, the bokeh and overall rendering is pretty "meh" IMHO. I own the lens and rarely use it because the results just don't inspire me. The problem I find with it is sometimes the bokeh is "OK" and then out of the blue it's a mess of double line nastiness, which ruins the whole shallow DOF, subject isolation I carry the lens to get. I'd skip the 50 to get a sigma 35 (or the zeiss 35mm f2, which is what I bought instead of the sigma) and the 70-200f4 and make it a 2 lens kit instead. Continue Reading

Stacey_K answered
7 days ago

WHAT'S IN THE BOX?

  • Nikon Df Camera Body
  • (Kit also includes Nikon AF-S 50mm F1.8G Special Edition Lens)
  • DK-26 Eyepiece Cap
  • String for eyepiece cap
  • UC-E6 USB Cable
  • AN-DC9 Camera Strap
  • BF-1B Body Cap
  • BS-1 Accessory Shoe Cover
  • ViewNX 2 CD-ROM

Warranty Information

"No registration or "warranty" card is included or needed with a Nikon D-SLR or Coolpix camera. Keep your original, dated proof of purchase from the Authorized Nikon Inc. dealer in case warranty service is ever needed. These products do include either a mail-in form or a paper with a web link to our registration page:
https://support.nikonusa.com/app/product_registration
It's advised to register your product with Nikon so that we can send you information about future updates or service issues that may arise.


Nikkor lenses come with a standard one year warranty and Nikon Inc. lenses sold by authorized Nikon Inc. dealers will have a Nikon Inc. Five Year Extension. To register for the five year extension, one copy of the included form must be mailed in as indicated. Keep the Customer copy of the form as well as the original proof of purchase (sales receipt)."


Read the full warranty.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Nikon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.