Nikon Df DSLR Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

81% Tried & Tested
If you like the way it looks, have some Pre-AI lenses you want to use, or hanker for the chance to use traditional dedicated control dials, then it's a camera you should seriously look at.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 16MP full frame CMOS sensor
  • 5.5 frames per second continuous shooting
  • 39-point autofocus system with 9 cross-type points
  • ISO100 - 12800
  • 3 inch LCD with 921,000 dots
  • 0.7x viewfinder with 100% coverage
  • Raw and Raw + JPEG shooting
  • Optional external flash via hot shoe or PC sync
  • SD/SDHC/SDXC
  • Wi-Fi compatible via WU-1a mobile adapter (sold separately)
  • Collapsible coupling lever makes it compatible with all Nikon F-mount lenses, even non-AI
  • Magnesium Alloy body with mechanical exposure dials

Product Description

The Nikon Df is a unique, advanced- DSLR that harmonizes Nikon heritage and modern performance in a lightweight and very capable FX-format camera. The new Df pays homage to the enduring style and controls of Nikon’s distinguished "F" series of 35mm film cameras, yet features technology similar to Nikon’s professional flagship D4 D-SLR. Due to it's simple design and focus on "pure photography," the Df does not offer any video recording capabilities.

Specs

Body type
Body type Mid-size SLR
Sensor
Max resolution 4928 x 3280
Other resolutions FX: 3696 x 2456, 2464 x 1640; DX crop: 3200 x 2128, 2400 x 1592, 1600 x 1064
Image ratio w:h 3:2
Effective pixels 16 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 17 megapixels
Sensor size Full frame (36 x 23.9 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
Processor Expeed 3
Image
ISO Auto, 100 - 12800
White balance presets 12
Custom white balance Yes (4 spots)
Image stabilization No
Uncompressed format RAW + TIFF
JPEG quality levels Fine, normal, basic
Optics & Focus
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Phase Detect
  • Multi-area
  • Center
  • Selective single-point
  • Tracking
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Face Detection
  • Live View
Number of focus points 39
Lens mount Nikon F
Focal length multiplier 1×
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fixed
Screen size 3.2
Screen dots 921,000
Touch screen No
Screen type TFT-LCD
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type Optical (pentaprism)
Viewfinder coverage 100%
Viewfinder magnification 0.7×
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 30 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/4000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes No
Built-in flash No
External flash Yes (via hot shoe or PC sync)
Flash modes Auto FP High-speed sync, front-curtain sync, rear-curtain sync, redeye reduction,
Continuous drive 6 fps
Self-timer Yes (2, 5, 10, or 20 secs)
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Spot
Exposure compensation ±3 (at 1/3 EV steps)
AE Bracketing ±3 (2, 3, 5 frames at 1/3 EV, 2/3 EV, 1 EV, 2 EV steps)
WB Bracketing Yes (2 or 3 shots in 1/3 or 1/2-stop intervals)
Videography features
Microphone None
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC card
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (mini-HDMI)
Wireless Optional
Wireless notes via WU-1a wireless mobile adapter
Remote control Yes (Cable release, wireless remote)
Physical
Environmentally sealed Yes
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description EN-EL14/EN-EL14a lithium-ion battery and charger
Battery Life (CIPA) 1400
Weight (inc. batteries) 760 g (1.68 lb / 26.81 oz)
Dimensions 144 x 110 x 67 mm (5.67 x 4.33 x 2.64)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
Timelapse recording No
GPS None
GPS notes via GP-1 or GP-1A adapter

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other cameras in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Build quality
Ergonomics & handling
Features
Metering & focus accuracy
Image quality (raw)
Image quality (jpeg)
Low light / high ISO performance
Viewfinder / screen rating
Performance
Connectivity
Value
Tried & Tested
Tried & Tested
81 %
Overall Score

The Nikon Df is a product that's as much about invoking nostalgia as it is about capturing the moment. Its control setup, though slower than a modern DSLR layout, will appeal to anyone who wants a camera that feels more like a camera than an electronic device. However, despite an excellent imaging sensor, we think too many compromises were made on such an expensive camera.

Good For

Anyone longing to shoot using traditional control dials. Owners of Pre-AI Nikon lenses.

Not So Good For

Users of autofocus wishing to work in low light. Photographers looking for the best available technology for their money.

User Reviews

4.1049 out of 5 stars
  • Rex Li NZ, Nov 7, 2013 GMT:
    NIKON DF VS D610 – WHICH ONE IS RIGHT FOR YOU?

    Here is a very interesting article in comparing the Nikon Df with Nikon D610 http://finophotography.co.nz/2013/11/07/nikon-df-vs-d610-which-one-is-right-for-you/

    Continue Reading

  • SergeyMS, Dec 6, 2013 GMT:
    Not for everybody

    Very nice camera! I bought in black color, it looks in reality better than silver. This camera for old generation, like me, who remember instant photography with Leica and Zenit. I expected to feel old camera - but probably this camera was designed by new generation of designers who never worked a lot with old cameras. Probably. But still DF is exclusive - as a tool, as a gift, as one of last cameras of DSLR epoch. IQ is excellent even with kit lenses, and I think now about Otus lenses. The ...

    Continue Reading

  • Biggs23, Dec 6, 2013 GMT:
    A great addition to the Nikon lineup.

    I've now had the Df for several days and have used and handled it enough to give some feedback about it. I'll start off by saying that this is certainly not a camera for everyone; it has several areas where it would fall short for many users and understandably so. However, I don't believe this camera was intended as a camera that would sell based on mass market appeal. This is not meant to be a comprehensive review but rather a brief review commenting on what I believe to be some of the most ...

    Continue Reading

  • InTheMist, Dec 9, 2013 GMT:
    Dƒ Review (plus DSC_0001, sample images, favourite lenses and more)

    I'm that guy. I always have a camera with me. I want a full frame, fast, low light, low weight camera in my bag all the time. I don't want to wait for the little computer and monitor to boot up. I want the camera to get out of the way. First, the Formalities It's been a tradition of mine to post my DSC_0001 for new cameras that I get, even when I screw it up and face the wrath of the internet jackals. OOC JPEG, slightly brightened. 50 f1.8 SE (Kit) As you're pixel peeping these images, keep ...

    Continue Reading

Videos

A Conversation with Bob Krist by Nikon

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Rookie question about AF tracking...

I recently picked up a D610, my first SLR since the film days before the time of AF, let alone tracking AF! I liked the Df a lot, but I think the D610 is a better fit for me despite slightly preferring the sensor in the Df. I tend to shoot wider primes with single point S-AF or manually focus for zone focussing. Tracking AF has never been part of my arsenal, but I have a couple of longer lenses where this technique may come in handy, so I figured I should know how to do it now that I have a tool with the capability. My setup for this type of shooting so far is to set up the AEL button for AF-ON and set the AF to AF-C - so far so good. The thing I haven't managed to figure out with my limited experience so far is whether to use (1) a single AF point and try to keep the subject in the small focus box as it moves around, (2) set it to automatic and let the focus point change automatically as the subject ...

Ray Sachs asked
20 days ago

ANSWERS

The comprehensive answer to that question can be summarized as: It depends :) To elaborate somewhat, it really does. Take three fairly common examples: a) You shoot someone running towards you at for example a track and field event. The person will run straight towards you, in a single lane, not moving about very much. Here single point focusing make a lot of sense since it is very fast (less calculations for the AF system the fewer focus points you use), and it is reasonably simple to keep the focus point on the subject. Also by using a single focus point you reduce the risk of the AF getting distracted by the other runners on each side and you can make sure it points at the head, and do not grab the arms or hands. b) You run in front of a running dog, with the camera held close to the ground and a wide angle to capture things from the dogs perspective. There is no way you will be able to keep any specific focus points on your subject. Here the automatic mode makes a lot of sense ... Continue Reading

Grevture answered
20 days ago

In AF-C the camera continually tracks the point of focus and based on this information it estimates where it will be if you happen to press the shutter at a certain time considering the shutter and mirror lag. It focuses the lens a bit ahead of the last measurement based on the speed and direction of the focus change. Continue Reading

Kaj E answered
20 days ago

Grevture gave you the correct long answer. As I hate fiddling around with settings, I always focus with AF-On and AF-C 9 points. It has worked well for me. Consider this the short answer. Continue Reading

Kaj E answered
20 days ago

QUESTION

DF : Poor AF performance in low-light different opinions

Steve Huff wrote about the DP review of the poor low-light AF of the DF : "... Well in my use I say otherwise. Funny because I have witnessed first hand on three occasions where dp review guys were testing and shooting cameras to review – I shot with them On three occasions. On two of those I had to explain a couple if things. Dp review is not the final word, trust me on that. The Df does fantastic in low light with the kit lens. I had no issues at all... ." So, the DF does a "good-normal" job in low light or it's really a problem ? How can exist so different reports ?? regards Alberto

Alberto 1290 asked
6 months ago

ANSWERS

I don't understand the faith many put in Steve Huff's opinion and their skepticism of DPR's. The DPR review presents some pretty hard evidence about the capability of the DF. Other than some pretty pictures, proving the already proven capability of the sensor, Huff doesn't do much else. His video is nothing more than a preview of the camera. DPR did that and much more. Do I agree with everything DPR says about the Df? No. But I believe it is a fair and unbiased review. Continue Reading

Rich Rosen answered
6 months ago

Steve Huff exaggerated the AF performance. His review is not methodical and critical as reviews from other sources. In the Digital Camera World review Angela Nicholson mentioned AF performance has some minor issues. I agree with her, as I have shot my Df several times in low light and found it has occasional difficulty focusing with using its Special Edition 50mm kit lens. This is a minor concern, but you should not expect high-performance AF that is available with other cameras. Continue Reading

Alpha Tech answered
6 months ago

So, I have been a Nikon shooter since 1976, have owned the FM, FM2, D100, D70s, D200 and D700.  The Df IS the camera this D700 owner was crying out for. I have a Masters Degree in Aerospace Engineering and have worked at NASA for 32 years. Yet I am a’fool' in your estimation. You are certainly entitled to your opinion of the camera.  I resent your opinion of people who decide they would like to own it. YOU don't know what their needs or wants are, so it might be best if you don't judge them. Continue Reading

Kent J answered
6 months ago

QUESTION

Sunpak DF3000S - good fit for an A6000?

I was considering a Sony HVL-F20M for around $150.  The Sunpak DF3000S appears to be considerably less money, higher guide number and still has is TTL compatible.  The only advantage to the Sony appears to be size. Any thoughts on the Sunpak on a A6000?  Any technical advantages on the Sony HVL-F20?

20 hours ago

ANSWERS

WHAT'S IN THE BOX?

  • Nikon Df Camera Body
  • (Kit also includes Nikon AF-S 50mm F1.8G Special Edition Lens)
  • DK-26 Eyepiece Cap
  • String for eyepiece cap
  • UC-E6 USB Cable
  • AN-DC9 Camera Strap
  • BF-1B Body Cap
  • BS-1 Accessory Shoe Cover
  • ViewNX 2 CD-ROM

Warranty Information

"No registration or "warranty" card is included or needed with a Nikon D-SLR or Coolpix camera. Keep your original, dated proof of purchase from the Authorized Nikon Inc. dealer in case warranty service is ever needed. These products do include either a mail-in form or a paper with a web link to our registration page:
https://support.nikonusa.com/app/product_registration
It's advised to register your product with Nikon so that we can send you information about future updates or service issues that may arise.


Nikkor lenses come with a standard one year warranty and Nikon Inc. lenses sold by authorized Nikon Inc. dealers will have a Nikon Inc. Five Year Extension. To register for the five year extension, one copy of the included form must be mailed in as indicated. Keep the Customer copy of the form as well as the original proof of purchase (sales receipt)."


Read the full warranty.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Nikon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.