Nikon 1 V3 Mirrorless Camera Kit with 1 Nikkor VR 10-30mm f/3.5-5.6 PD-Zoom Lens, Electronic Viewfinder and Grip

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

76%
For users who place a strong value on using small, light cameras, the V3 should be considered for its continuous AF at high frame rates (20 fps) and DSLR-like handling.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 18.4 MP CMOS CX-format sensor with no optical low pass filter
  • Includes Nikkor VR 10-30mm f/3.5-5.6 PD-Zoom Lens
  • ISO 160-12800
  • Hybrid AF system
  • Continuous shooting up to 60 FPS or 20 FPS with full-time autofocus
  • 3-inch tilting touch-LCD with 1,037,000 dots
  • Includes removable electronic viewfinder with 2,359,000 dots
  • 1080 (60p, 30p), 720 (60p, 30p) HD video
  • Raw/JPEG/ Raw+JPEG shooting
  • Electronic VR for filming video
  • Built- in Wi-Fi
  • microSD/microSDHC/microSDXC memory

Product Description

Nikon's 1 V3 is the newest model in the company's enthusiast mirrorless interchangeable lens camera system. The body features external controls and programmable custom buttons for easy manual adjustments, and is kitted with a removable hand grip (GR-N1010) and electronic viewfinder (DF-N1000). The V3 is built around an 18.4 MP CX-format sensor, and uses a hybrid contrast (171 points) and phase detect (105 points) AF system. The V3 boasts a continuous shooting speed that outpaces DSLRs at 20 fps with full autofocus. The camera is also capable of 1080/60p Full HD video, includes built-in Wi-Fi connectivity, and a new touch-panel tilting LCD display.

Specs

Body type
Body type Rangefinder-style mirrorless
Sensor
Max resolution 5232 x 3488
Other resolutions 3920 x 2616, 2608 x 1744
Image ratio w:h 3:2
Effective pixels 18 megapixels
Sensor size 1″ (13.2 x 8.8 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
Processor Expeed 4A
Image
ISO Auto, ISO 160-12800
White balance presets 6
Custom white balance Yes
Image stabilization No
Uncompressed format RAW
JPEG quality levels Fine, normal
Optics & Focus
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Phase Detect
  • Multi-area
  • Center
  • Selective single-point
  • Tracking
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Touch
  • Face Detection
  • Live View
Number of focus points 171
Lens mount Nikon 1
Focal length multiplier 2.7×
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Tilting
Screen size 3
Screen dots 1,037,000
Touch screen Yes (Touch focus, shutter)
Screen type TFT-LCD
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type Electronic (optional)
Viewfinder resolution 2,359,000
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 30 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/16000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes
Flash range 5.00 m (ISO 100)
External flash Yes (via proprietary accessory shoe)
Flash modes Fill-flash, fill-flash w/slow sync, rear curtain sync, rear curtain w/slow sync, redeye reduction, redeye reduction w/slow sync, off
Continuous drive 60 fps
Self-timer Yes (2 or 10 secs)
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Spot
Exposure compensation ±3 (at 1/3 EV steps)
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (60p, 30p), 1280 x 720 (60p, 30p)
Format MPEG-4, H.264
Videography notes High speed: 1280 x 720 (120 fps), 768 x 288 (400 fps), 416 x 144 (1200 fps); Motion Snapshot: 1920 x 1080 (24 fps); Fast-motion, jump-cut, 4 second movies (24 fps)
Microphone Stereo
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types microSD/SDHC/SDXC
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (mini-HDMI)
Microphone port Yes
Headphone port No
Wireless Built-In
Wireless notes smartphone app allows for photo sharing
Remote control Yes (Wireless)
Physical
Environmentally sealed No
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description EN-EL20a lithium-ion battery and charger
Battery Life (CIPA) 310
Weight (inc. batteries) 381 g (0.84 lb / 13.44 oz)
Dimensions 111 x 65 x 33 mm (4.37 x 2.56 x 1.3)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
Timelapse recording Yes
GPS None

First Impressions

The Nikon 1 V2 was a rather awkward-looking camera, with an angular body and pronounced 'hump' on the top for the built-in EVF. The V3 has a much more traditional rangefinder-style design and is not as tall as the V2 - but it's larger in every other dimension (and heavier, too) The reason it's not as tall is obvious: there's no longer a built-in EVF.

While the V2 had a fixed LCD, the V3 has a tilting, 3" touchscreen with 1.04 million dots. As you'd expect, you can use the touchscreen to focus and take photos, and flip through photos in playback mode. The buttons on the left of the display tilt as well, as does the hidden infrared port for an optional wireless remote.

The V3 uses a new 18.4 megapixel CX-format (1"-type) CMOS sensor - up from 14.2MP on the V2. The sensor has no anti-aliasing (low-pass) filter, which promises higher resolution. But there's more to the new sensor than higher resolution. Both sensors have Hybrid Autofocus, which combines contrast and phase detection. The V3 has a large advantage over its predecessor, not only having more contrast detect areas (171 vs. 135), but more phase detect points as well (171 vs. 73).

Read the entire First Impressions Review on dpreview.com.

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other cameras in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Build quality
Ergonomics & handling
Features
Metering & focus accuracy
Image quality (raw)
Image quality (jpeg)
Low light / high ISO performance
Viewfinder / screen rating
Performance
Movie / video mode
Connectivity
Value
76 %
Overall Score

The Nikon 1 V3 is one of the few mirrorless cameras we'd recommend for shooting sports or quickly moving kids. It brings high autofocus performance, interchangeable-lens versatility, and DSLR-like handling in a portable size. However, when factoring in price, there are many other good, less expensive alternatives with better image quality and all-around value.

Good For

Fast action such as wildlife and sports. Street photographers will find the the V3's silent mode useful.

Not So Good For

Low-light or landscape photography where absolute image quality or dynamic range is needed.

Videos

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Anyone Try a V3 + FT1 + AF-S Lens?

Has anybody tried the FT1 on a V3 - with an AF-S lens?  With a 105 AF-S VR Micro, 70-200 f2.8 VRII, 80-400 AF-S G, or 500 f4 VR.  What kind of results are you seeing? Did you upgrade the "L" firmware in your V3 (for the FT-1) to 1.20? Thanks.

Roy Kikuta asked
4 months ago

ANSWERS

http://www.nikoncafe.com/xenf/index.php?threads/photos-with-the-nikon-1-v3.278802/ If you are not a member of Nikon Café registration is easy and free.  The results are positive, with a 600mm + 1.4, on Terns in flight.  Also read the comments in the thread by Creative Edge ( Michael Fullana ), very encouraging.  I am just waiting for mine to arrive, impatiently. Continue Reading

Bill Dewey answered
4 months ago

Bill, Thanks for your reply. I did check out the NikonCafe link, and it looks like positive results are being obtained with the V3+FT1+AF-S(lens) combination. Unfortunately, my results so far don't look nearly as good. My initial testing was with the AF-S/G 80-400 - and results were disappointing in terms of image sharpness. I believe I read in another post that you were expecting a V3 delivery - have you received yours, yet? Aloha, Roy Continue Reading

Roy Kikuta answered
4 months ago

Hey, Roy. No, I have not yet received mine.  I have, however, used my 80-400 on my V1 with the FT1 with decent results.  The issue, for me, is one of stability.  Hand holding the combination is difficult, without a doubt, but I have had good results on tripod.  I did test, using my 80-400, at our local store last week and my results were quite good, as long as I kept the shutter speed up.  Those were all shooting hand held. The folks in that Nikon Café thread are very good photographers, don't hesitate to ask them questions. Think about this: 600mm + 1.4 TC = 840mm * 2.7 .....  That is some reach at f5.6. Continue Reading

Bill Dewey answered
4 months ago

QUESTION

Considering the purchase of a V3

I am considering the purchase of a Nikon 1 V3. I have a Nikon 610 and although I don't expect the IQ to be equal to the 610, I would like to know from those who also use a DSLR whether you have been satisfied with the IQ of the V3. The main reason for considering this camera is that I am finding it more difficult to use telephoto lenses i.e., 80-400 because of their weight. I also like the fact that I can use my other Nikon lenses on this body. I would appreciate your advise.

AZ_Sunset asked
13 days ago

ANSWERS

I'll have a go at this, as I have been going through a "testing" period. I have no direct comparisons, but none the less found out a lot of things relevant to your question. Firstly there is no easy answer, but a good clue comes from the number of people on this forum and elsewhere, who seem to actively use a Nikon D800/D600 plus Nikon 1 combination. Secondly, I have found that the lens quality and the post processing has as much, if not more, influence on image quality as sensor size. In my fuji x100s vs Nikon D600 tests, I alternated between which one I thought was better, as I moved through different stages in the tests.  All things being equal of course, a bigger sensor will always beat a smaller sensor, but I suspect in the real world this rarely occurs. Thirdly, lots of things influenced the comparisons,  a "very slight" change in cloud cover, would make noticeable chages in dynamic range and apparent sharpness. Fourthly, apparently "massive" differences at 100%, or larger ... Continue Reading

myotisone answered
13 days ago

I have the V3 and before that the V1/V2. I also have RX100III and Sony RX10 both of which are also 1" sensors. I also have D800, A7s for FF comparison and Fuji XT1, a6000 for APS-C comparison. The V3 is really fun to shoot with of all my cameras I like its control setup best and I love its shutter sound ;) Having said that while I'm able to get good results with the V3 the IQ doesn't measure up to the other cams I use. I still have a lot of keepers and shots I couldn't have gotten with the other cams but from an IQ standpoint the V3's Aptina sensor just isn't as good as Sony's 1" sensor, and is certainly no match for the larger sensor cameras. That said the AF is wicked fast and extremely accurate. I now use the V3 primarily with the 70-300mm which is astonishingly good and very useful. The 18.1mm and 32mm lenses are also excellent. I consider the 10-30mm disappointing and the 30-110mm mediocre, but that's just my take on these lenses. I've found that the Aptina sensor produces very ... Continue Reading

Dabbler answered
11 days ago

On vacation with v3 and d600 right now so this is the big test.   Will report at end.  V3 is very fast a pleasure  to walk around with. So far iq is very good but not at a full frame level. It  does take some getting used to and you must work within its limitations but you can achieve very good results.     I try to keep my ISO  800 and not using auto  ISO much.  Also helps to get exposure right as it is less tolerant to editing than the dslr due to the limits in DR   So far very pleased with the little one Continue Reading

Jerry Fisher answered
13 days ago

QUESTION

Breaktrough in technology: Nikon's First Touchscreen Camera is here V3

If I am not mistaken, V3 is the first Nikon camera sporting a touchscreen, and immediately a tilting touchscreen (hooray). I know, micro 4/3 cameras have them for "decades", but I am talking about Nikon. I hope this is the first big step to eventually get a full-frame (Nikon) interchangeable camera with articulated or tilting touchscreen. I know, if tilting touchscreen was so important to me, I could have bought an m4/3 or 70D, but I am talking about Nikon, and at that time I was not aware that tilting/articulated touchscreen were that important to the fisheye and stealth street style of photography I love so much. I have an A7, full-frame, tilting screen, awesome camera; but the maker omitted the touch-sensitiveness :-( . If only the V3 were not that expensive, I'd upgrade from V1 (the V3 costs nearly four times more than the amount I paid for my V1) immediately. I am again on the market for a new camera (since my daughter definitively has grabbed my A7, too). This time I am for a ...

Miki Nemeth asked
4 months ago

ANSWERS

I wish you luck and hope Nikon bring something out to suit. Bare in mind the V3 still doesn't have focus peaking, such an intelligent and usefull thing for manual focus not to mention creative photography. Personally I sometimes use my screen to focus with a Hoodman dioptre on my D800E and I don't know that I want to have to wipe finger marks off it all the time like I do on my tablet. I would rather have external knobs and buttons, so I can keep heads up on the scene and not push through menus to adjust things. Continue Reading

VertigonA380 answered
4 months ago

How well does the touchscreen work in the winter when wearing gloves? Continue Reading

kayaker353 answered
2 months ago

Thank You for the wishes, and sharing your thoughts. I appreciate a lot. You are right with focus peaking; I absolutely love it (my daughter even more); it's shame V3 has no state-of-the-art focus peaking in a huge high quality EVF :-( in 2014. I love external knobs too (A7 is brilliantly equipped with external knobs and dials) along with a touch screen. For menus I do not mind touch screen; it's touch magnification, touch focus-rack, touch autofocus, touch shooting that I'd love from a camera of 2014 or '15. I am not in a rush at all, I am deprived of my A7, but still have a decent V1 with bunch of gorgeous lenses. My next camera must be a perfect one and must meet my minimal requirements: full-frame, touch-sensitive tilting/articulated screen, enough external knobs and dials, focus peaking, touch magnification, touch focusing, touch shooting, smooth focus rack in video, 1080/60p video, GPS, tethered or wifi shooting (video included), time-lapse, mic-in, headset out, and so on and ... Continue Reading

Miki Nemeth answered
4 months ago

WHAT'S IN THE BOX?

  • Nikon 1 V3 Camera Body
  • Nikon 1 Nikkor VR 10-30mm f/3.5-5.6 PD-Zoom Lens
  • GR-N1010 Camera Grip
  • DF-N1000 Electronic Viewfinder
  • AN-N1000 Black Neck Strap
  • UC-E20 Micro USB Cable
  • EN-EL20a Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
  • MH-29 Battery Charger
  • BF-N1000 Body Cap
  • BS-N4000 Multi Accessory Port Cover
  • ViewNX 2

Warranty Information

"No registration or "warranty" card is included or needed with a Nikon D-SLR or Coolpix camera. Keep your original, dated proof of purchase from the Authorized Nikon Inc. dealer in case warranty service is ever needed. These products do include either a mail-in form or a paper with a web link to our registration page:
https://support.nikonusa.com/app/product_registration
It's advised to register your product with Nikon so that we can send you information about future updates or service issues that may arise.


Nikkor lenses come with a standard one year warranty and Nikon Inc. lenses sold by authorized Nikon Inc. dealers will have a Nikon Inc. Five Year Extension. To register for the five year extension, one copy of the included form must be mailed in as indicated. Keep the Customer copy of the form as well as the original proof of purchase (sales receipt)."


Read the full warranty.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Nikon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.