Olympus ED 14-150mm f/4.0-5.6 Lens (Micro Four Thirds Mount)

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

73% Tried & Tested
In combination with a Pen-series camera it makes a highly flexible general-purpose package with image quality to match an SLR but without the associated bulk.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 14-150mm focal length
  • 28-300mm equivalent focal length on Micro Four Thirds cameras
  • F4-5.6 maximum aperture; F22-22 minimum
  • 58mm filters
  • 0.50m/19.69" minimum focus
  • Micro Four Thirds mount for Micro Four Thirds interchangeable lens cameras

Product Description

Olympus's M.Zuiko Digital ED 14-150mm 1:4-5.6 for Micro Four Thirds uses a complex optical formula, with 15 elements in 11 groups including 3 aspheric elements (one of which is made from ED glass) to correct aberrations. But unlike other superzoom lenses it's fairly lightweight, tipping the scales at less than 10 ounces. This makes it the smallest lens in in its class, and one that offers respectable image quality too. It's a fine general purpose and travel lens, although Panasonic camera owners should take note of the lack of optical image stabilization.

Specs

Principal specifications
Lens type Zoom lens
Max Format size FourThirds
Focal length 14–150 mm
Image stabilisation No
Lens mount Micro Four Thirds
Aperture
Maximum aperture F4.0 - F5.6
Minimum aperture F22.0
Aperture ring No
Number of diaphragm blades 7
Aperture notes rounded blades
Optics
Elements 15
Groups 11
Special elements / coatings 2 ED glass elements 3 aspherical elements (1 ED glass)
Focus
Minimum focus 0.50 m (19.69)
Maximum magnification 0.24×
Autofocus Yes
Motor type Micromotor
Full time manual Yes
Focus method Internal
Distance scale No
DoF scale No
Physical
Weight 280 g (0.62 lb)
Diameter 64 mm (2.5)
Length 83 mm (3.27)
Colour Black
Zoom method Rotary (extending)
Filter thread 58 mm
Filter notes Does not rotate on focus
Hood supplied No
Hood product code LH-61C
Tripod collar No

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other lenses in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Optical Quality
Build Quality
Autofocus
Ergonomics and Handling
Value
Tried & Tested
Tried & Tested
73 %
Overall Score

Olympus's Micro Four Thirds superzoom is, typically, the smallest in its class, and has respectable image quality too. It's a fine general purpose and travel lens, although Panasonic camera owners should take note of the lack of optical image stabilisation

Good For

Micro Four Thirds owners looking for a lightweight zoom lens for general-purpose / travel use.

Not So Good For

Sharpness fanatics and pixel-peepers, Panasonic Lumix G-series owners (due to the lack of OIS)

User Reviews

4.25 out of 5 stars
  • Sheldon Cwinn, Dec 18, 2012 GMT:
    Truly Excellent

    The lens is a fun edition to a micro four thirds kit allowing the zoom range of a small bridge camera with even a smaller size and weight. I love the lens and use it for landscape, wildlife, and travel photography. The images are stunning. Barrel distortion is well controlled as is chromatic aboration. Images are sharp in the center but a little soft at the edges. The zoom is a bit stiff. This lens is a good choice and a great value. Well done Olympus. Problems: None to date.

    Continue Reading

  • IvanQ, Sep 10, 2012 GMT:
    Nice Lens

    Using it more than a year, I like it for outdoors and travellings, for indors it it not hte best. AF is quick enough for most situations. Construction is fine. It is a "all in one" lens so size is big, like most of them. I recommend it. Problems: Get some dust inside in one year (like many lens of its kind).

    Continue Reading

  • stageshadow, Jan 17, 2012 GMT:
    Good Travel Zoom

    I used it for my last travel in the UK, and i have to admit it works pretty well for All but low light shooting situations. Pro: Fast AF (used it on my EP-1) Good Range Quick to use (no need for a first extending, like the 14-42) Cons: Size (Not really pocketable) Not for Low light shooting! (used the 17 2.8 for that) With that Lens i never missed a Shot, so it gets 4 stars for this! (instead of 3,5)

    Continue Reading

  • VinceC, Sep 26, 2013 GMT:
    Light, flexible, surprisingly good optical quality

    This lens compares favourably with a Nikon 18-200 I have owned and is MUCH better than the Canon 18-200.  Light, flexible, focus speed good enough for me, really good balance on my E-M5.  Super M4/3 lens.

    Continue Reading

Videos

What is the advantage of using a mirrorless camera? by DPReview GearShop

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

OM-D E- M10 which lens to buy for an all inclusive photography

Hi Folks, I have decided to upgrade from a point and shoot to omd M10. I am definitely novice and hoping this camera will inspire me to be good at photography. However, I am very confused as to which lens/lenses to buy & kick off the adventure. I have the following solid reasons to be so messed up: 1) so many options - every lens seems to be doing a particular job or being "fit" for a range. Am looking at the ones compatible and built for omd (link below) Olympus omd compatible lenses 2) I want everything photographed - I am looking to cover indoors, street, portraits, live music shows, city skyline, mountains/nature and even moon!! 3) I want to limit to 2 lenses max - so that I can play around the camera and figure out specifically which kind of photography I want to explore further. Clearly, I am getting a little overboard and lost. Hence, am hoping that you all can help me figure out a "ALL rounder lens" package. I understand its hard to achieve that with only 2 lenses, but will ...

Laavanya asked
7 months ago

ANSWERS

The 12-50mm is generally considered a bit of a dog. It's certainly usable, but if you don't need the weather sealing or electronic zoom* (for video/remote controlled), I think you'll be better off with the 14-42 or if you have the cash the Panasonic 12-32 from the GM1 (with no ability to manual focus). The 40-150 is a good value, check eBay for "used" copies from people who are splitting brand new lenses out of the E-PM2 kit. *-someone may mention macro, but you're probably better off buying a macro converter for the 40-150. -- Believe The Pictures Continue Reading

EGenius007 answered
7 months ago

Widely considered one of the very best all purpose zooms is the Panny 14-45.  It was the kit lens with their first m43 body and is still available and very popular.  I have one and it's my default lens for most of my work.  If I'm indoors in a low-light situation I'll go to one of the fast primes.  I've also used the Oly 14-42 II and it's not even close in IQ to the 14-45.   The 14-45 is small and light and does a terrific job.  I'd recommend this and one of the fast primes as a good general purpose outfit.  If you want longer, the Panny 45-150 is an excellent companion to the 14-45.  It's much better than the Oly 40-150, not even in the same class, IMO (I speak from experience as I have both).  The more expensive zooms in that range give you weather sealing and faster apertures and are in the same IQ ballpark as the 14-45, but they're much more expensive.  The 14-45 is a lot of bang for the buck and IMO is the best lens in that focal length/price range. Be sure to buy from a vendor ... Continue Reading

Clayton Jones answered
7 months ago

With an E-M10, 1) a Panasonic 1.7/20mm, plus 2) an Oly 40-140mm F4..5.6 form a smart, affordable and creative combo with pleasing optical characteristics. More easy and comfortable, but less creative is the Oly 14-150mm Zoom as a one-lens solution. This lens is small and powerful and, with the increased ISO-range and software corrections of the E-M10, has become even more powerful and versatile. Herbert Continue Reading

LaMesa answered
7 months ago

QUESTION

Round the World trip booked, now what gear to take?

I have booked a trip consisting of India, China, Thailand, Cambodia, Laos, Malaysia, Sri Lanka and Singapore starting in January for a total of 7 months, lucky me!  But what I wanted to ask was the opinions of what gear to take along.  I am interested in buying an OM-D E-M5 to replace my E-PL3 and I am going to limit myself to 3 or 4 lenses to keep weight down.  I will be taking a variety of shots both indoors and out and at night, and want to have a range of focal lengths including a relatively long tele lens for close ups, as well as a wide angle. I am also moderately limited on price, obviously I want the best for my money but I do have a budget. I currently own the Oly 14-42mm f3.6-5.6, Oly 17mm f2.8, Oly (Four Thirds) 40-150mm f4-5.6 and some legacy lenses but I will almost definitely be leaving those at home. I have been thinking about taking the following: Olympus 14-150mm f4-5.6, Olympus 12-50mm f3.5-6.3, Olympus 17mm f2.8 and Sigma 30mm f2.8 What does everyone think? Thanks!

ajmoore7 asked
1 year ago

ANSWERS

Hello Sorry, but I do not understand your reply. You already have the 40-150mm which is a decent performer ( I have one too because it is such a light and small long zoom) why would you need ANOTHER telezoom. . if I were you and based on what you wrote . I would get the 12-50mm , take the 40-150mm and get one of the fixed primes in my first message based on what Focal length you use most Harold Continue Reading

Harold66 answered
1 year ago

Skip the 17mm and 30 and get the Panasonic 25mm instead. It should be around the same price. The 12-50mm makes sense for uncertain weather conditions, plus it has macro capabilities. So, skip the 14-42mm. Forget the 14-150mm since you already have a 40-150mm. An ultra-wide might be a good thing. The 7-14mm is best, but might break your budget. The 9-18mm is an adequate compromise. Take: 12-50mm, 25mm, 40-150mm and possible ultra-wide. Keep it simple. Continue Reading

jeffharris answered
1 year ago

If I were you I'll not take any interchangeable lenses cameras to South East Asia during spring and summer. Travel as light as you can with either a large sensor compact like RX100II or superzoom SX50HS will be more enjoyable. :-) Continue Reading

Donald Chin answered
1 year ago

Warranty Information

View Olympus USA warranty and repair procedures. Register your Olympus purchases here.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Olympus dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.