Olympus OM-D E-M10 Mirrorless Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

80% Gold Award
It holds its own against entry-level DSLRs in terms of image quality and handling, and beats them all in terms of direct control.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 16 MP Four Thirds CMOS sensor with 3-axis sensor shift image stabilization
  • Up to 8 FPS continuous shooting
  • ISO 200-25600
  • 1080/30 fps HD video (H.264/Motion JPEG)
  • Tiltable 3 inch touchscreen LCD with 1,037,000 dots
  • Electronic viewfinder with 100% coverage and 1,044,000 dots
  • Raw and Raw + JPEG shooting
  • Built-in flash compatible with Olympus Wireless RC Flash system
  • Built-in Wi-Fi
  • SD/SDHC/SDXC card slot

Product Description

The Olympus OM-D E-M10 is a more affordable option in the O-MD lineup. The camera includes the same processor as its big brother, the E-M1, plus a 16MP four thirds sensor, built-in wi-fi, electronic viewfinder, and a 3-axis in-camera image stabilization system (the E-M5 and E-M1 have 5-axis stabilization). The E-M10 can shoot 8 fps for up to 20 RAW images, or 3.5 fps with continuous auto focus with tracking. The camera has the familiar look and feel of OM-D cameras, with a metal build and two metal control dials. The E-M10 is the first OM-D to include a built-in flash, with a sync speed up to 1/250.

Specs

Body type
Body type SLR-style mirrorless
Sensor
Max resolution 4608 x 3456
Other resolutions 3200 x 2400, 1280 x 960
Image ratio w:h 1:1, 4:3, 3:2, 16:9
Effective pixels 16 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 17 megapixels
Sensor size Four Thirds (17.3 x 13 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
Processor TruePic VII
Image
ISO Auto, 200 - 25600
White balance presets 7
Custom white balance Yes (4 slots)
Image stabilization Sensor-shift
Image stabilization notes 3-axis image stabilization (yaw/pitch/roll)
Uncompressed format RAW
JPEG quality levels Super fine, fine, normal, basic
Optics & Focus
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Multi-area
  • Center
  • Selective single-point
  • Tracking
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Touch
  • Face Detection
  • Live View
Manual focus Yes
Number of focus points 81
Lens mount Micro Four Thirds
Focal length multiplier 2×
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Tilting
Screen size 3
Screen dots 1,037,000
Touch screen Yes (Shutter release, Enlargement, Live Guide, AF area selection, AF area enlargement and decrease, Frame forward/backward, Enlargement playback, Super Control Panel, Art Filter selection, Scene mode selection, Wi-Fi connection)
Screen type TFT LCD
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type Electronic
Viewfinder coverage 100%
Viewfinder magnification 1.15×
Viewfinder resolution 1,440,000
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 60 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/4000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes (Olympus Wireless RC Flash system compatible)
Flash range 5.80 m (ISO100)
External flash Yes (FL-50R, FL-36R, FL-20, FL-14, FL-300R, FL-600R)
Flash modes Flash Auto, Redeye, Fill-in, Flash Off, Red-eye Slow sync.(1st curtain), Slow sync.(1st curtain), Slow sync.(2nd curtain), Manual(1/1(FULL)~1/64)
Continuous drive 8 fps
Self-timer Yes (12 sec., 2 sec.,custom (Waiting time 1-30sec.,Shooting interval 0.5/1/2/3sec.,Number of shots 1-10))
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Spot
Exposure compensation ±5 (at 1/3 EV, 1/2 EV, 1 EV steps)
AE Bracketing ±5 (2, 3, 5, 7 frames at 1/3 EV, 2/3 EV, 1 EV steps)
WB Bracketing Yes
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (30p), 1280 x 720 (30p), 640 x 480 (30 fps)
Format H.264, Motion JPEG
Microphone Stereo
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (micro HDMI)
Wireless Built-In
Wireless notes Live View, Rec View, Wireless Touch AF shutter, Wireless Release, Power Off
Remote control Yes (Optional Remote cable RM-UC1)
Physical
Environmentally sealed No
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description BLS-5 Li-ion battery and charger
Battery Life (CIPA) 320
Weight (inc. batteries) 396 g (0.87 lb / 13.97 oz)
Dimensions 119 x 82 x 46 mm (4.69 x 3.24 x 1.81)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
Timelapse recording Yes (Interval Time 1 sec. - 24 Hours, Max 999 frames. Available on making Time-lapse movie automatically)
GPS Optional
GPS notes uses Smartphone GPS data

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other cameras in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Build quality
Ergonomics & handling
Features
Metering & focus accuracy
Image quality (raw)
Image quality (jpeg)
Low light / high ISO performance
Viewfinder / screen rating
Performance
Movie / video mode
Connectivity
Value
Gold Award
Gold Award
80 %
Overall Score

The Olympus OM-D E-M10 is positioned as the entry-level OM-D camera, though it's just as capable in most ways as its more advanced siblings. It borrows the E-M5's impressive imaging capabilities, without the weatherproofing, and adds built-in Wi-Fi. The E-M10 offers an impressive level of direct control in a camera body that's light and compact.

Good For

Street photographers, students, those who want lots of customization or want a camera they can grow into.

Not So Good For

Dedicated videographers, sports shooters

User Reviews

4.69643 out of 5 stars
  • imperialdrive, Mar 2, 2014 GMT:
    Perfect upgrade for me, from PEN PL1

    Just walked over to Samy's in SF, newer store, first time there, good times. Brought my PEN PL1 over with laptop to do some testing... very happy and purchased body only. Only 30 mins into the shooting, but so far so very very good. Using Sigma 19mm and 30mm 2.8's and the old kit 14-42 with raynox adapter, and 40-150... really brings the quality out of all of these lenses. Focus is sooo much faster - spot on, can't imagine it any faster. Quality tested at 1600 is fantastic as I had guessed. T ...

    Continue Reading

  • dv312, Mar 6, 2014 GMT:
    EM10 after a month

    After more than a month of ownership and extensive shooting in Vietnam, here're my findings on this little big gem The LCD is quite sharp and color accurate ; I don't use it often, only when I have the camera on tripod The EVF refreshes quickly and is a delight to use at night I love the 2 dials config: it allows me to change shooting parameters quickly, especially the aperture and ISO; I find the left wheel near the prism a bit harder to reach when you have your eye to the EVF; both are a ...

    Continue Reading

  • uh18spw, Mar 9, 2014 GMT:
    Little wonderful omd em-10

    Little wonderful ome ed-10 ,I carry it me me since I purchased it a month ago. perfect picture and fun to play with ART mode of the camera.been waiting for long time to get ,but worth-ed .best camera ever had.

    Continue Reading

  • Bhima78, Mar 17, 2014 GMT:
    Great handling, speed and image quality with some high quality lenses available

    As someone who has shot DSLRs exclusively for over the past decade, I decided to make the switch to Mirrorless for various reasons: 1) portability 2) A usable live-view (unlike any DSLR I've used) that greatly increases the flexibility and creativity of your shot's perspective 3) in-body image stabilization is far superior to lens-only stabilization and 4) a good selection of excellent glass that performs equal to their Canon Nikon equivalents while being 1/2 the weight, size and some are ...

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Micro four thirds for amateur?

Hi. Was a lurker on that forum for some time, then decided to register to ask question about camera. Short (or not) story: I can say that i'm a something between newb-amateur. My primary work is nothing to do with photo (sysadmin), and usually i just take occasional photos on trips or walk... I do, however, know about aperture, exposure, ISO, Histograms, ETTR and other basic things. Usually i carry Fuji X10, but ATM i feel like this is not enough anymore. Min exposure is just 1/4 and lenses is not interchangeable (i had 400D and later 5D shared with father, was great fun, but damn, all that stuff with 3x Lenses, huge tripod and etc was heavy). I'm mostly interested in travel/nature/industrial photo. ( I also often meet squirrels ), as well as HDR and aerial photo (however latter is surely out of budget right now due to quadcopter prices :D). Most of stuff i shoot happens in low-light conditions. Actual question: So now i'm looking for some compact, mirrorless, and looks like 4/3 ...

rlex asked
2 months ago

ANSWERS

They are selling now for only $200. The lens alone is worth $100, so it's like getting the body for only an extra $100. It will allow you to learn more about the Olympus Way before buying a more expensive camera, and you will still have the E-PM2 as a backup body. Continue Reading

sigala1 answered
2 months ago

Instead of an E-M10 with $300 worth of lenses, have you considered an E-PM2 with $700 worth of lenses? If I had your budget, my choice would be the E-PM2 with Olly 14-150 f/8(*) for daytime shooting and the Panny 20/1.7 Pancake for night/indoors & the occasional background blur. My needs may be different from yours so, YMMV. (*) the Olly 14-150 is nominally f/4-5.6, but needs to be shot at f/8 to match the sharpness of more expensive lenses. Continue Reading

Alex Notpro answered
2 months ago

if you're an amateur, don't even consider buying an mFT camera.  You can find mFT is the hands of men who can sit for hours, cross legged and not suffer from gonadal strangulation.  They have four arms so that they can sip espresso from a real cup, smoke a cigarette, read Proust (in French), and snap a decisive moment with an mFT. Continue Reading

dennis tennis answered
2 months ago

QUESTION

Olympus E-M10 IBIS not locked after poweroff

Hello, I'm a new owner of an Olympus E-M10 (BTW my first M4/3), and I'm wondering if there is a defect with the IBIS. When the camera if powered off, I can feel spomething moving inside during transport. Without the lens, I can clearly see the sensor moving when I slighty bump the camera. So I'm wondering if the sensor + IBIS is supposed to be locked after poweroff, or could it be normal to have this sensor moving inside ? I had other cameras with stabilization (like XZ1), and clearly not the same behavior. So should I return it ? Thanks in advance for you advice.

OlivierT asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

To be fair to the OP, as a first poster, they may not have spotted the search facility, may not know that the E-M5 behaves similarly, and so on.  When someone's panicking about their brand new, expensive purchase perhaps being faulty, it's understandable that they just ask.  At least we're able to quickly put their mind at rest. Continue Reading

Helen answered
1 month ago

"As such I NEVER had to ask those questions myself because I took the time to research the camera I had planned to buy." Well, aren't you the clever little boy? Continue Reading

Palimpsest answered
1 month ago

No, it's normal with this type of IBIS, which effectively magnetically suspends the sensor in the camera when it's powered up, even if the IBIS is deactivated. The muffled clunk you feel as the sensor moves when the camera is powered off does vary a tiny bit between individual examples, but you can generally feel it and see it one way or another. This also applies to the other Olympus models with the other, 5-axis version of this type of IBIS too (E-M5, E-M1, E-P5) - exactly how apparent it is, is also affected by the heftiness of the build of the particular model. Pentax DSLRs and their K-01 mirrorless have a rather similar system and theirs slides and clunks around far more disconcertingly, actually. I agree that it's a bit surprising that they don't have a way of locking it down, but presumably it's in some way impractical to do with this sort of system.  Similarly, many a lens with OIS elements suspended in use is pretty clunky as they float around when powered off - plenty of ... Continue Reading

Helen answered
1 month ago

QUESTION

Can the 60mm macro do better?

EM 10 14-42EZ raynox 250 The main sundew flesh-eater is about 35 mm long. I like this extremely versatile combo that is dirt cheap. Would the 60mm macro do better? ;) (Almost) full ooc jpeg. Regards Perry

perry rhodan asked
3 months ago

ANSWERS

Great shot! I can give a couple of reasons I like the 60mm. First, with it's easy 1:1, it makes it easy to determine the scale of an image. Second, it's just a really, really nice lens to use. A few with the 60mm Continue Reading

Martin.au answered
3 months ago

Looking at your shot at original size, I'd say it probably can. Whether better enough to justify the price is a matter for you. But there's alot more to a good macro lens than just sharpness. I've just done a review of the 60mm here Continue Reading

bluelemmy answered
2 months ago

I've seem some incredible pictures come from the 60mm. Do a search on flicker. -- http://www.flickr.com/photos/90891174@N04/ Continue Reading

Tony8232 answered
3 months ago

WHAT'S IN THE BOX?

  • E-M10 Camera body
  • Lens kit includes 14-42mm F3.5-5.6 II R
  • Li-ion battery BLS-5
  • Li-ion battery charger BCS-5
  • USB cable
  • Shoulder strap
  • OLYMPUS Viewer 3 (CD-ROM)
  • Instruction manual
  • Warranty card

Warranty Information

View Olympus USA warranty and repair procedures. Register your Olympus purchases here.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Olympus dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.