Olympus Stylus XZ-2 Compact Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Tried & Tested
The XZ-2 marries a fast lens with a useful zoom range and a degree of customization that makes it quick and enjoyable to use. Add its good image quality and excellent JPEG engine to the equation and the whole package looks extremely tempting.”

Key Features

  • 12MP 1/1.7"-type CMOS sensor
  • 5 frames per second continuous shooting
  • 4x F1.8-2.5 optical zoom lens (28-112mm equivalent)
  • ISO 100-12,800
  • 1080 HD video
  • Articulated 3.0 inch touchscreen LCD with 920,000 dots
  • Removable front hand grip
  • 12-bit Raw and Raw + JPEG shooting
  • Pop-up flash with hotshoe
  • Sensor-shift image stabilization
  • SD/SDHC/SDXC card slot

Product Description

At first glance, The Olympus XZ-2's most appealing feature might just be its 4x optical zoom lens. With a maximum aperture range of F1.8-2.5 it remains bright throughout the zoom range, reducing the need to boost ISO in low light situations. The XZ-2 is also equipped with a 12MP BSI CMOS sensor capable of full 1080p HD video and 5 frames per second burst shooting. A tilting 3.0 inch LCD is provided, as is compatible with Olympus' optional electronic viewfinder. Unlike its predecessor, the XZ-2 offers a sizable front hand grip that can be removed to make the camera pocket-friendlier.

Specs

Body type
Body type Compact
Sensor
Max resolution 3968 x 2976
Other resolutions 2560 x 1920, 1280 x 960
Image ratio w:h 4:3
Effective pixels 12 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 13 megapixels
Sensor size 1/1.7" (7.44 x 5.58 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
Image
ISO Auto (100 -1600), 100, 200, 400, 800, 1600, 3200, 6400, 12800
White balance presets 7
Custom white balance Yes (2)
Image stabilization Sensor-shift
Uncompressed format RAW
Optics & Focus
Focal length (equiv.) 28–112 mm
Optical zoom 4×
Maximum aperture F1.8 - F2.5
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Tracking
  • Single
  • Face Detection
  • Live View
Digital zoom Yes (4x)
Manual focus Yes
Normal focus range 60 cm (23.62)
Macro focus range 1 cm (0.39)
Number of focus points 35
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Tilting
Screen size 3
Screen dots 920,000
Touch screen Yes
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type Electronic (optional)
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 60 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/2000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes (Pop-up)
Flash range 8.60 m (ISO 800)
External flash Yes (via hot-shoe, wireless)
Flash modes Auto, On, Off, Red-Eye, Fill-in, Wireless
Self-timer Yes (2 or 12 sec)
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Spot
Exposure compensation ±3 (at 1/3 EV steps)
AE Bracketing (2 frames at 1/3 EV, 1/2 EV, 1 EV steps)
WB Bracketing Yes (-/+ 7 steps in A-B/G-M axis)
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (30 fps), 1280 x 720 (30 fps), 640 x 480 (30 fps)
Format MPEG-4, H.264
Microphone Stereo
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC
Storage included 55 MB
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (Mini HDMI type-D)
Wireless Eye-Fi Connected
Remote control Yes (Optional RM-UC1)
Physical
Environmentally sealed No
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description Lithium-Ion Li-90B rechargeable battery & charger
Battery Life (CIPA) 340
Weight (inc. batteries) 346 g (0.76 lb / 12.20 oz)
Dimensions 113 x 65 x 48 mm (4.45 x 2.56 x 1.89)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
GPS None

Reviews

User Reviews

4.26923 out of 5 stars
  • thomasbricker1, Jan 6, 2013 GMT:
    Excellent Choice

    I bought the Olympus XZ-2 after an exhaustive comparison between 4 cameras. The XZ-2, Canon G15, Sony XR100, Nikon P7700. I chose the XZ-2 because it has excellent color rendition. More accurate than any of the others I tested. The resolution and lens sharpness is excellent for a point and shoot. The menu system is well thought out. The build quality is great. The Nikon P7700 and the Sony RX100 were close contenders. But ultimately I felt the quality of images (flesh tones in particular) were ...

    Continue Reading

  • imrryr38, Jun 16, 2013 GMT:
    a pure "expert" ....

    i'm a XZ Olympus lover.... So, after 19 months of happiness with the "old man" XZ-1, the brand new "2" was a natural choice for me. same excellent features like: Optic quality/ colours output/ flash with RC mode and you can put an EVF IN THE SAME TIME not like an EPL / Very well made and good macro modes, and ice on the cake: ND filter and 100 iso minimum (great for harsh light condition, or waterfall shoot). improve features: flip screen of course ;) with a better resolution and colours ...

    Continue Reading

  • Robert Melnyk, Dec 13, 2013 GMT:
    A great camera

    The Olympus XZ-2 iHS is my carry around camera.  Fast bright lens, fast focus.  I have had this camera since it was introduced and is an excellent backup to my Olympus E-5 and E-3 cameras.

    Continue Reading

  • ludwik123, Feb 28, 2014 GMT:
    Review

    Best compact I've owned so far. At first I was disappointed because I expected better but the more I use it the better it gets. I love the touchscreen,  it fits easily into a jacket pocket, the flash is powerful and is very flexible. The focus is fast and accurate,   only minor problems in low light, other cameras have bigger focusing problems! The image quality is good although I was hoping for better. At high iso it has a rather harsh needle pattern spoiling the image a bit.  Other cameras ...

    Continue Reading

Videos

Olympus XZ-2 by DPReview

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

XZ-2 beginners guide

Hi all, I'm new into what you might call auto-off shooting, and would like to set up my XZ-2 in order to have most important controls easily available when shooting on Manual. However; I find the user manual a bit messy her. Hence I was wondering; do some of you know about any "get started on advanced settings" guide on the XZ-2 or any other Olympus with similar menu system? I know this sounds a bit contradictionary - hoping still that someone could guide me to some goodies. Thank you in advance. Best regards, Lars

Lindholm67 asked
17 days ago

ANSWERS

Yes you are missing something. If you want SF [Super Fine] go to: menu/4th down to custom menul/accroos and down to G/ok/down to set/ok Now you see 4 sets of pairs of settings. Each represents a size in pixels, and a compression level. If you want super fine just go to the second figure in each pair, and using up and down buttons just cycle through B[basic], N[Normal], F[Fine] and SF, SF being Super Fine. Press menu to confirm. Sorry if this sounds complex but you will get used to it. The images below trace the sequence through the menu. Hope this helps. Enjoy Ken C Continue Reading

Ken Croft answered
4 days ago

6 Posts, welcome aboard. Hopefully someone with an XZ-2 will answer you. I put a setup/settings thread together for the Stylus 1. Perhaps XZ-2 menus/settings are similar, if so, you may get a clue of something on the XZ-2 here http://www.dpreview.com/forums/thread/3729814 Continue Reading

elliottnewcomb answered
16 days ago

This thread should help: http://www.dpreview.com/forums/post/52634514 Continue Reading

Paul T. answered
15 days ago

QUESTION

Color Space to Black and White or Convert in Post From Color

Do most cameras take better pics (maybe better tonal range) when set to black and white than you would see if you converted a color pic to black and white in post using something easy like Google's Picasa or Flickr's editor?  This would be for jpegs, I know RAW its a non issue.

ChiJeff5 asked
10 days ago

ANSWERS

I prefer to shoot in colour then convert to B+W in PP.  The reason for this is so I can adjust individual colours to influence the shade of grey it becomes. e.g.  Red turns out very dark to black when converted to B+W.  Before conversation, I can change the hue and/or brightness of a red rose to make a more pleasing print.  (A bride shouldn't be holding black flowers!) Continue Reading

PenPix answered
8 days ago

I find FastStone Image Viewer useful for this..one can simply convert to greyscale then choose "Adjust Colors"  which allows one to adjust colour balance, brightness, contrast etc. by using slider controls. FastStone has some other very good functions too, and it's Freeware! Continue Reading

Alleg1 answered
8 days ago

It depends, My Nikon’s black and white conversion is pretty good, better than what I was getting at first on my computer. I haven’t looked at Picasa’s or Flickr’s conversion, so I don’t know if they are better or not. A good black and white converter, in my opinion, has these properties: (1) The converted image has a full range of tones from pure black to pure white. (2) There is good shadow and highlight detail. (3) There is good texture and local contrast. Continue Reading

Mark Scott Abeln answered
10 days ago

QUESTION

XZ-2 Customs (User settings)

Am I missing something? If I saved some settings in C-mode, I should be able to add some tweaks without erase the settings and start over? I read the manual but I can`t find any answers. Or is it impossible? It is very annoying to restart everything. It is a nice camera when you know the flaws Peter

Eskilsson asked
18 days ago

ANSWERS

Same issue on my XZ-10, cannot tweak inside C mode and then save it from the menu, a major irritant. Continue Reading

KirillQPR answered
18 days ago

Warranty Information

View Olympus USA warranty and repair procedures. Register your Olympus purchases here.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Olympus dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.