Olympus Stylus XZ-2 Compact Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Tried & Tested
The XZ-2 marries a fast lens with a useful zoom range and a degree of customization that makes it quick and enjoyable to use. Add its good image quality and excellent JPEG engine to the equation and the whole package looks extremely tempting.”

Key Features

  • 12MP 1/1.7"-type CMOS sensor
  • 5 frames per second continuous shooting
  • 4x F1.8-2.5 optical zoom lens (28-112mm equivalent)
  • ISO 100-12,800
  • 1080 HD video
  • Articulated 3.0 inch touchscreen LCD with 920,000 dots
  • Removable front hand grip
  • 12-bit Raw and Raw + JPEG shooting
  • Pop-up flash with hotshoe
  • Sensor-shift image stabilization
  • SD/SDHC/SDXC card slot

Product Description

At first glance, The Olympus XZ-2's most appealing feature might just be its 4x optical zoom lens. With a maximum aperture range of F1.8-2.5 it remains bright throughout the zoom range, reducing the need to boost ISO in low light situations. The XZ-2 is also equipped with a 12MP BSI CMOS sensor capable of full 1080p HD video and 5 frames per second burst shooting. A tilting 3.0 inch LCD is provided, as is compatible with Olympus' optional electronic viewfinder. Unlike its predecessor, the XZ-2 offers a sizable front hand grip that can be removed to make the camera pocket-friendlier.

Reviews

User Reviews

4.55 out of 5 stars
  • thomasbricker1, Jan 6, 2013 GMT:
    Excellent Choice

    I bought the Olympus XZ-2 after an exhaustive comparison between 4 cameras. The XZ-2, Canon G15, Sony XR100, Nikon P7700. I chose the XZ-2 because it has excellent color rendition. More accurate than any of the others I tested. The resolution and lens sharpness is excellent for a point and shoot. The menu system is well thought out. The build quality is great. The Nikon P7700 and the Sony RX100 were close contenders. But ultimately I felt the quality of images (flesh tones in particular) were ...

    Continue Reading

  • imrryr38, Jun 16, 2013 GMT:
    a pure "expert" ....

    i'm a XZ Olympus lover.... So, after 19 months of happiness with the "old man" XZ-1, the brand new "2" was a natural choice for me. same excellent features like: Optic quality/ colours output/ flash with RC mode and you can put an EVF IN THE SAME TIME not like an EPL / Very well made and good macro modes, and ice on the cake: ND filter and 100 iso minimum (great for harsh light condition, or waterfall shoot). improve features: flip screen of course ;) with a better resolution and colours ...

    Continue Reading

  • Robert Melnyk, Dec 13, 2013 GMT:
    A great camera

    The Olympus XZ-2 iHS is my carry around camera.  Fast bright lens, fast focus.  I have had this camera since it was introduced and is an excellent backup to my Olympus E-5 and E-3 cameras.

    Continue Reading

  • ludwik123, Feb 28, 2014 GMT:
    Review

    Best compact I've owned so far. At first I was disappointed because I expected better but the more I use it the better it gets. I love the touchscreen,  it fits easily into a jacket pocket, the flash is powerful and is very flexible. The focus is fast and accurate,   only minor problems in low light, other cameras have bigger focusing problems! The image quality is good although I was hoping for better. At high iso it has a rather harsh needle pattern spoiling the image a bit.  Other cameras ...

    Continue Reading

Videos

Olympus XZ-2 by DPReview

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

XZ-2 in A and P modes: cannot get shutter speed to more than 4 sec.

I tried some long exposure night shoots with my XZ-2 on a tripod. I found out that in P and A modes the camera won't set the shutter speed slower than a certain value. For example with f1.8 it'l go to max 1/2 sec. With f8.0 the max is 4 sec. I read and re-read the manual and found no mention of this limitation... In M and S modes shutter speed can be set up to 60 seconds and value I expected it could go to that value in other modes also. Why is that? Am I doing something wrong?

arnof asked
2 months ago

ANSWERS

I believe nothing wrong. They are "priority modes". Most likely trying to apply the best setting for handheld (somehow) so even 4 sec is very long. Have a mini tripod and use S & M modes. Ben Continue Reading

Ben O Connor answered
2 months ago

QUESTION

need help buying a compact camera

need help finding a new camera what i would like is something like the hx50v but without the zoom because of the small censor.i want the best image quality possible. my budget is about $300.i like all the features in the hx50v (wifi,panoramas,hdr,1080p 60fps since ill be doing videos) besides the image quality and also theres something about the popup flash that i love lol so i want that on the camera as well.would like RAW and a decent zoom but if not then thats ok too looked at the lf1,lx7,olympus XZ2,x10,nikon p330,pentax mx1 nex3n fuji xf1 but i think thats to big for my liking. i just dont know just want some thoughts and opinons thanks (ps. going on a cruise soon so i need a new camera, i also do alot of videos) its time to upgrade from just using my galaxy s4 :)

jon121 asked
2 months ago

ANSWERS

Wrong forum. "Beginners Questions" or "Open talk" may get you some get responses. Good Luck Continue Reading

Mako2011 answered
2 months ago

If you really like the HX50v and fel that this is just the sort of camera that you would be happy with AND it would cope with all the kind of pics you really feel you are most likely to want to take.. then GO FOR IT... you will not be as happy with any substitute and it could probably be your camera for a long long time... ...AND.. if you look at this site..you can get right now a super low cost "AS new"...not Refurb..model for the $300 you are happy to pay.. Premier Outlet as a Seller for Amazon (so it should have the usual Amazon backup to rely on) .. it's just what you want..GO FOR IT..the chance may not be there again... http://www.amazon.com/gp/offer-listing/B00CDIK48U/ref=dp_olp_used?ie=UTF8&condition=used It doesn't do RAW of course but frankly in a camera of this type I doubt if that has any importance at all. I hardly ever shoot RAW ad use cameras a lot upscale...a GOOD camera these days will almost always get you a really good quality JPG and some will even equal any RAW ... Continue Reading

ericN2 answered
2 months ago

From that "Outlet" brand new camera as offered on Amazon site it seems to me that you get a very good value camera ... if that one is your choice then I certainly feel you should consider this offer seriously... From what is my favourite of all Review sites.. http://www.photographyblog.com/reviews/sony_cybershot_dsc_hx50v_review/ Continue Reading

ericN2 answered
2 months ago

QUESTION

need help buying a compact camera

need help finding a new camera what i would like is something like the hx50v but without the zoom because of the small censor.i want the best image quality possible. my budget is about $300.i like all the features in the hx50v (wifi,panoramas,hdr,1080p 60fps since ill be doing videos) besides the image quality and also theres something about the popup flash that i love lol so i want that on the camera as well.would like RAW and a decent zoom but if not then thats ok too looked at the lf1,lx7,olympus XZ2,nikon p330,pentax mx1 nex3n fuji xf1 but i think thats to big for my liking. i just dont know just want some thoughts and opinons thanks (ps. going on a cruise soon so i need a new camera, i also do alot of videos) its time to upgrade from just using my galaxy s4

jon121 asked
2 months ago

ANSWERS

You can pick up a good condition GX1 and a 14-42 kit lens for about $300 total. $90 or so for the lens and a hair over $200 for the camera. This gives you extremely good video IQ with a stabilized lens, a small zoom to work with that covers WA to portraits, and decent stills IQ. You won't really find much better than this for the price in any format or brand. If video is of great interest to you, HERE is a sample of the GX1. Continue Reading

Ontario Gone answered
2 months ago

look at the sony nex3 for 289 dollars including lens\case\sd card,in wallmart, amazon and other stores, its a bargain price, and it have the biggest sensor in the cameras of that list similar to those in dlsrs but with less buttons \ features. Continue Reading

pew pew answered
2 months ago

Hell no. Sony video is well known to be soft, and it appears the NEX3 can only do 720, at least that's all i can find on it. AF is poor as well and there is less room to grow with lenses within the system. The GX1 also allows bounce flash with the bending of the flash unit. If i ended up with a NEX3 instead of a GX1 i'd cry myself to sleep that night. Continue Reading

Ontario Gone answered
2 months ago

Have your own question?

Warranty Information

View Olympus USA warranty and repair procedures. Register your Olympus purchases here.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Olympus dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.