Olympus Tough TG-2 iHS Waterproof Compact Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

72% Silver Award
It's very solidly built, performs well, has lots of bells-and-whistles, and produces satisfying images for nearly all purposes.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 12 MP 1/2.3" BSI-CMOS sensor
  • 25–100 mm equivalent F2.0 - F4.9 lens
  • Sensor-shift image stabilization
  • 5 FPS at 12M, up to 60 FPS at 3MP
  • ISO 100-6400
  • 1080p HD video
  • 3.0" 610,000 Dot OLED display
  • Shockproof to 7ft/2.1m
  • Waterproof to 50ft/15m
  • Freezeproof to 14°F/-10°C
  • Crushproof 220 lbf./100 kgf.
  • Built-in GPS and elevation recording

Product Description

The Olympus Stylus Tough TG-2 iHS is the flagship of Olympus's Tough-series of waterproof compact cameras. This update to the TG-1 model is now waterproof down to 15m (50 feet), has a 12MP CMOS sensor and a 4x (25-100mm) optical zoom lens with a bright f/2.0 maximum aperture (at the widest-angle 25mm lens setting). Further rounding out the specifications are a 3.0" OLED rear display, built-in GPS and elevation recording, and 1920 x 1080 video output. An optional housing allows you to take it even deeper underwater - up to 45m equivalent water pressure. Additional accessories include a fisheye converter lens and a telephoto converter lens, both of which are still rugged enough to go for a dive.

Specs

Body type
Body type Compact
Sensor
Max resolution 3968 x 2976
Other resolutions 3968 x 2232, 3264 x 2448, 2560 x 1920, 2048 x 1536, 1920 x 1080, 1600 x 1200, 1280 x 960, 640 x 480
Image ratio w:h 4:3, 16:9
Effective pixels 12 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 13 megapixels
Sensor size 1/2.3" (6.17 x 4.55 mm)
Sensor type BSI-CMOS
Image
ISO Auto, ISO 100, 200, 400, 800, 1600, 3200, 6400
White balance presets 4
Custom white balance Yes
Image stabilization Sensor-shift
Uncompressed format No
Optics & Focus
Focal length (equiv.) 25–100 mm
Optical zoom 4×
Maximum aperture F2.0 - F4.9
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Multi-area
  • Center
  • Selective single-point
  • Tracking
  • Face Detection
Digital zoom Yes (4x)
Normal focus range 60 cm (23.62)
Macro focus range 1 cm (0.39)
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fixed
Screen size 3
Screen dots 610,000
Touch screen No
Screen type OLED
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type None
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 4 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/2000 sec
Aperture priority No
Shutter priority No
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes
Continuous drive 5 fps
Self-timer Yes (2 and 12 sec, Pet Auto Shutter)
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Spot
Exposure compensation ±2 (at 1/3 EV steps)
Videography features
Format MPEG-4, H.264
Microphone Stereo
Speaker Stereo
Storage
Storage included 22 MB
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (Type D)
Physical
Environmentally sealed Yes
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description Lithium-Ion LI90B rechargeable battery and charger
Battery Life (CIPA) 350
Weight (inc. batteries) 230 g (0.51 lb / 8.11 oz)
Dimensions 111 x 67 x 29 mm (4.37 x 2.64 x 1.14)
Other features
GPS BuiltIn

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other cameras in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Build quality
Ergonomics & handling
Features
Exposure and focus accuracy
Image quality (jpeg)
Flash performance
Low light / high ISO performance
Optics
Performance (speed)
Movie / video mode
Value
Silver Award
Silver Award
72 %
Overall Score

The Olympus TG-2 offers a very rugged body combined with good image quality, a fast lens, superb performance, a full-featured GPS system and plenty of fun extras. Downsides are few, which include issues with panning in movies, highlight clipping and chromatic aberrations in photos, and difficulty seeing the display outdoors.

Good For

Outdoorsy people who want a camera that can take good photos underwater or in the mountains.

Not So Good For

Those who take low light flash photos or shoot frequently in bright sunlight.

User Reviews

3.21429 out of 5 stars
  • gertblankers, Mar 30, 2013 GMT:
    first impression

    Really great camera. Very useful in all kind of circumstances. Oled display is very sharp. Very solid also.

    Continue Reading

  • DHJen, Apr 6, 2013 GMT:
    Olympus TG-2

    Mirror effect Program Super Macro

    Continue Reading

  • Boofhead, May 5, 2013 GMT:
    TG-2 Review

    The TG-2 is my 9thwaterproof camera. I bought it 3 weeks ago to take on an overseas holiday, it was to replace my Olympus 820 which I bought October 2012. I used it on land for a few days on my holiday before taking it no more than 2 metres into. We were in Thailand and as the weather and the water was hot I carried out my usual precaution of making sure the body temperature of the camera was close to the water temp. On the first water plunge the inside of the lens fogged up a little but ...

    Continue Reading

  • asaph, Jul 4, 2013 GMT:
    A worry-free & excellent camera

    I have had the TG-2 for 4 months and have thoroughly enjoyed using it. The reasons that prompted me to get this camera were - 1. the adage that "the best camera is the one you have with you". My TG-2 goes everywhere with me, rain or shine, day or night. It serves as my journal/diary, for a picture paints a thousand words. This camera is small and light enough to carry around, but so are the myriads of other cameras. However, with the TG-2, I do so with the peace of mind that if it gets ...

    Continue Reading

Videos

Olympus Tough TG-2 iHS Waterproof Compact Camera by DPReview

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Best camera for video? ( out of this list )

Hi. I'm thinking of buying a "tough" camera for video recording. I can't figure out which one of these cameras are the best, I'm not too good with cameras. The only things that matter to me are the video quality and the audio. PLEASE HELP ME! I'm a dumb guy, I can't figure this stuff out and could really use some help from some experts. The only things that matter to me are the video quality and the audio. Price doesn't matter. The only things that matter to me are the video quality and the audio. GPS features don't matter. The only things that matter to me are the video quality and the audio. Customizability doesn't matter. The only things that matter to me are the video quality and the audio. Please help me, thanks! The cameras are... Sony Cyber-Shot DSC-TX30 Canon PowerShot D20 Nikon Coolpix AW100 Olympus Tough TG-2 iHS Olympus Tough TG-830 iHS Thank you sooooo sooooo much for your help. It really means a lot to me.

Exoquatic asked
10 months ago

ANSWERS

Tough cameras are not notable for image quality, though the interchangwable lens dAW100 is quite decent and in a very different class from the rest.   I have a related V1 and the video is quite pleasing, if not up with the very best mirrorless models.  It's far better than most point & shoots, which is what other tough models are based on.   I would expect the AW100 to be quite decent, though without the mic input so audio not so good.   Unfortunately, audio is a weak point of just about all cameras that don't have mic inputs.   Tiny stereo mics pick up wind noise and lens noise, as well as just not sounding very good. There was a recent dpr comparison of cameras in this class.   I'm sure they touched on video, though maybe not in much detail. Continue Reading

MarkInSF answered
10 months ago

I think you mean the Nikon 1 AW1.  And yes, that would be my choice too. I have used the Panasonic TS/FT series in the past, and while good cameras, they would never be my first choice if video quality is important. The Nikon 1 AW1 has so many plusses over the rest.  Not the least of which are: - Larger sensor - Shoots RAW (for stills, that is :-D ) - Interchangeable lenses Continue Reading

GodSpeaks answered
10 months ago

There are beasts in video, but should you not look at video camcorder instead? For good price and good size, I´d recommend Canon Powershot G16. Continue Reading

crashpc answered
10 months ago

QUESTION

TG-2 taking dark pictures?

Hi, I've just purchased TG-2 few days ago and 95% of indoor pictures are way too dark, really unusable. I've tried various settings and stuff but the result seems to be the same. Outdoor seems fine. Any ideas? Thanks

ephik asked
1 year ago

ANSWERS

What is your metering set on (ESP or spot)? Are you shooting toward bright windows with ESP? That can cause underexposure of the non-lighted parts of the image. In that situation, using the P modes with fill flash usually works, or set the metering to spot metering on the darker parts of the picture. How does the backlight HDR scene setting work for you? The HDR scene setting is very useful for tough lighting conditions. I have a TG-1 and find that the iAuto does a very respectable job overall. I don't care for it when it selects the candlelight scene setting, but overall it makes good decisions. The above is how I deal with it when it isn't doing what I want. Continue Reading

Mittskitts answered
1 year ago

Hi, Thanks for answers. I haven't actually touched the metering settings so it was using iESP in the semi manual modes (not sure what it uses in iAuto). The indoor composition was various but usually no light source in the picture (actually when there was a light source it was better). But I did some more testing and looks like the problem actually is when lower aperture numbers are used F2.0, F2.8. When something bigger is used F5.6+ it ok. Also sometimes it's fine for a while and then it decides that's enough and it's all wrong again for days :(. No idea what's wrong with it... Continue Reading

ephik answered
1 year ago

There is a reset command to restore the shooting functions to default settings (first option in the Camera Menu 1). I'd do a reset and see what that does. Something may have gotten changed in your explorations, and that would at least give you a fresh start in examining what is going on. Continue Reading

Mittskitts answered
1 year ago

QUESTION

Trying to decide between 3 waterproof point and shoots

I need a weatherproof, dirtproof camera that takes excellent shots (yeah, a pipe dream, I know) especially excellent action shots. I am trying to decide between the Panasonic Lumix DMC-TS5, Pentax WG-3, and Olympus Tough TG-2. Does anyone have any experience with any of these cameras in regards to picture quality, action/motion shots, etc.? Or have a different camera to recommend? I don't really need to take the camera underwater, but it will be in situations where it will get wet and dirty, so I want something that is somewhat weatherproof.

CoolRabbit asked
11 months ago

ANSWERS

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/2013-waterproof-roundup?utm_campaign=internal-link&utm_source=featured-image&utm_medium=image&ref=featured-image Continue Reading

PenPix answered
11 months ago

My Panasonic TS/FT (mostly) underwater photos & movies: http://www.flickr.com/photos/primozp/sets/ http://www.youtube.com/user/PrimozP/videos?flow=list&view=1 Continue Reading

primozp answered
11 months ago

Thank you so much. Your pictures are all great. My computer monitor stinks so I don't see much difference in photo quality between the cameras. Since you have a lot of experience with these, which camera works best in low light, and for action shots? In your opinion, which camera is your favorite? I am ready to buy, but really torn between the three cameras because they all seem so similar. Continue Reading

CoolRabbit answered
11 months ago

Warranty Information

View Olympus USA warranty and repair procedures. Register your Olympus purchases here.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Olympus dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.