Panasonic Lumix DMC-GM1 Mirrorless Camera Kit with 12-32mm F3.5-5.6 Lens

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

78% Gold Award
If you're happy using a touch screen, and if fewer dials and controls aren't a deal-breaker, then you should take a good look at this camera. It's a good (and convenient) companion to have at your side.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 16MP CMOS Four Thirds sensor
  • ISO 200-25600 (extendable ISO 125)
  • Up to 5 FPS continuous shooting (40 FPS with electronic shutter)
  • 3-inch touch LCD with 1,036,000 dots
  • 1080/60i/30p/24p HD video (AVCHD/MPEG-4) with PASM control
  • Creative Control mode with 22 filter effects + PSAM
  • Silent shutter mode
  • Built-in pop-up flash
  • Built-in WiFi
  • Raw and Raw+JPEG
  • SD/SDHC/SDXC memory

Product Description

The Panasonic Lumix DMC-GM1 is a tiny Micro Four Thirds camera that can literally fit in the palm of your hand. It features the same 16 megapixel Live MOS sensor as the much larger GX7, and a high resolution 3-inch touchscreen LCD. The GM1 offers full manual controls, automatic and creative modes, 22 filter effects, time lapse, and stop motion modes. The shutter can be made nearly silent when you need to shoot discreetly. Additionally, built-in Wi-Fi allows you to control the camera and share photos quickly and easily by connecting to a smart phone or tablet.

Specs

Body type
Body type Rangefinder-style mirrorless
Sensor
Max resolution 4592 x 3448
Image ratio w:h 1:1, 4:3, 3:2, 16:9
Effective pixels 16 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 17 megapixels
Sensor size Four Thirds (17.3 x 13 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
Image
ISO Auto, 200-25600
White balance presets 5
Custom white balance Yes (2)
Image stabilization Unknown
Uncompressed format RAW
JPEG quality levels Fine, Standard
Optics & Focus
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Multi-area
  • Center
  • Selective single-point
  • Tracking
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Touch
  • Face Detection
  • Live View
Manual focus Yes
Number of focus points 23
Lens mount Micro Four Thirds
Focal length multiplier 2×
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fixed
Screen size 3
Screen dots 1,036,000
Touch screen Yes
Screen type TFT Color LCD with wide-viewing angle
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type None
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 60 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/16000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes (Pop-up)
Flash range 4.00 m
External flash No
Flash modes Auto, On, Off, Red-Eye, Slow Sync
Continuous drive 5 fps
Self-timer Yes (2 or 10 sec, 10 sec (3 images))
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Spot
Exposure compensation ±5 (at 1/3 EV steps)
AE Bracketing ±3 (3, 5, 7 frames at 1/3 EV, 2/3 EV, 1 EV steps)
WB Bracketing Yes (3 frames in either blue/amber or magenta/green axis)
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (60i, 50i, 24p), 1280 x 720p (60p, 50p), 640 x 480 (30p, 25p)
Format MPEG-4, AVCHD
Microphone Stereo
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (micro HDMI Type D)
Wireless Built-In
Remote control No
Physical
Environmentally sealed No
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description Lithium-Ion rechargeable battery & charger
Battery Life (CIPA) 230
Weight (inc. batteries) 204 g (0.45 lb / 7.20 oz)
Dimensions 99 x 55 x 30 mm (3.88 x 2.16 x 1.2)
Other features
GPS None

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other cameras in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Build quality
Ergonomics & handling
Features
Metering & focus accuracy
Image quality (raw)
Image quality (jpeg)
Low light / high ISO performance
Viewfinder / screen rating
Performance
Movie / video mode
Connectivity
Value
Gold Award
Gold Award
78 %
Overall Score

The GM1 offers much of the features and image quality of its Lumix GX7 sibling in a much smaller, lighter package. A few concessions have been made to reduce the size so drastically, namely a lower-capacity battery, but it's an excellent option for casual shooting.

Good For

Street shooting, casual portraits, moderately low light.

Not So Good For

Fast action, telephoto shooting, very low light.

User Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
  • Alan Ernst, Dec 25, 2013 GMT:
    Great Little Camera

    Took this mini marvel on vacation to Hawaii where I used it extensively. Very pleased with handling and performance. I agree with much of DP Review’s findings with a few exceptions. It certainly deserves the gold award... Mostly a GX1 user for the past two years, my comparisons are in relation to GX1. I rarely use video, have not done any RAW conversions so far (which are covered by DP), so won’t comment on any of these. Pro’s: very small size / weight; feature rich; fast and very quiet to ...

    Continue Reading

  • Hen3ry, Jan 10, 2014 GMT:
    Just a couple of preliminary remarks on the GM1

    I will try to do a more detailed review later. My first impressions are: (1) This camera is a tiny delight. It makes me smile just to see it sitting on the table waiting to be taken for a walk! (2) In use, the camera is just as small and compact as I imagined it would be and as it looked in the store.

    Continue Reading

  • Haim Hadar, Jan 27, 2014 GMT:
    What I expected

    After a week of using this camera, I'm mostly pleased with it. IQ is great even with the kit lens, it feels quite solid despite its diminutive size, it does not lack at all in features an customizations. It also looks great IMO. My only qualms is that it does not allow USB charging - instead, you have to carry a bulky external charger, the menus are a bit fiddly (though the Q. menu mostly makes up for it), and the Wi-fi photo transfer for PC is bordering on useless.

    Continue Reading

  • LifeIsMyLens, Feb 14, 2014 GMT:
    Off camera flash test Panasonic GM1 with kitlens 12-32 f3.5-f5.6

    The smallest MFT camera today is the Panasonic GM1. With a flash sync speed of 1/50 and no hotshoe it doesn't seem that good for off camera flash. Because I like this little cameras versatility and IQ and like a challenge I tested it to do exactly this. All images were shot with the kitlens 12-32 mm f3.5-f5.6, pop up flash and (except no 1 & 2 ) a Lumopro LP120 manual flash set to optical slave. No 1-6 are JPG's straight out of camera with Landscape photo style. NO 1 First I took a picture in ...

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

GM1 battery life: does anyone know how many shots is par for the course

Cheers, geoff

Hen3ry asked
10 days ago

ANSWERS

Sorry Geoff, I don't few count shots, but it is on the low side of normal. Does not worry me particularly as it lasts a days shooting and I always carry a spare battery or three as a long-standing habit no matter which camera I am using. Continue Reading

Tom Caldwell answered
9 days ago

Thanks, Tom. I am getting the impression that it is the very low side of normal. I will need to order an extra battery or two when I visit Australia next so I was just looking for an indication or whether that should be a battery or three! :) Oh well, nothing for it but to test it. Cheers, geoff Continue Reading

Hen3ry answered
9 days ago

Walking around sightseeing and just occasionally taking shots, my batter lasted 3 hours with maybe 125 shots. I consider that pretty dismal but that was with the 650mah standard battery. The 1000mah generics seem to do much better as well as switching the camera off when not actively using it. But I'd say an extra battery or two is a necessity particularly if you are traveling. Continue Reading

Virtual Photon answered
9 days ago

QUESTION

Workflow to get files off SDXC card inside GM-1?

What is the most efficient way to move the files off the SDXC card inside a Panasonic GM-1? Previously, my workflow for getting files off an SD card was to connect the camera to some USB host and move (cut/paste) everything on the card onto the USB host. That had the effect of (indirectly) emptying the card at the very same time. Now, with the GM-1, I notice that everything seems to be write-protected (the directories are read-only), so moving is no longer possible. This means that after having copied the files to the USB host, I will have to go into the camera's playback menu and then there delete all the content. Is there any way to simplify and improve this process? (Note that when I say USB host, this might be a computer or, as I plan for it to be the case, a smartphone in USB-OTG mode - and from there onto cloud storage. For extremely light travelling I do not plan on having even an ultrabook-class laptop with me)

shoffmeister asked
21 days ago

ANSWERS

You should be copying the files to your computer instead of cutting. Once you have them on your computer and backed up (burned to optical media is a great way to back up stuff), then you can FORMAT the card in camera to erase all data on the card. Continue Reading

TheSquid answered
21 days ago

I have a number of methods but when I travel I like to use my iPad with the camera connect kit.  Insert the SD card, upload to,the iPad and it's takes care of moving them to iCloud.  It's also a great backup on the road then and you can view them on the larger screen.  When I get back they are already on my Mac via iCloud! Continue Reading

Laminar answered
21 days ago

Huh, are you sure you didn't flip the little write protect switch by mistake? Sounds odd... Continue Reading

Impulses answered
21 days ago

QUESTION

GM1 - Is the time lapse useful with that small battery?

Since the Panasonic DMC-GM1 has been "gifted" with a relatively small and weak battery, how useful is the time lapse feature really? Can I for instance record a sequence that stretches over an entire day, or at least several hours? Does the camera power down between frames? Is there any way to connect an external power source for even longer sequences?

laban77 asked
3 months ago

ANSWERS

I'm surprised you didn't consider checking the online manual.  It's really quite informative: * During recording standby, the power will turn off automatically if no operation is performed for a certain period. The Time Lapse Shot is continued even with the power turned off. When the recording start time arrives, the power turns on automatically. * During [Time Lapse Shot], you can replace the battery and the card, and then restart by turning on this unit. * We recommend that you use a sufficiently charged battery or an AC adaptor (optional) and a DC coupler (optional). Continue Reading

Demon Cleaner answered
3 months ago

Good questions.  I wonder how much using the electronic shutter helps...if at all.  There is an economy mode and you can turn the brightness on the LCD down which should help too. Continue Reading

Lab D answered
3 months ago

I am surprised that nobody answered this simple question. As I am also interested, I bumped it in hope of getting an answer. Continue Reading

Pedagydusz answered
3 months ago

Warranty Information

"If your product does not work properly because of a defect in materials or workmanship, Panasonic Consumer Electronics Company or Panasonic Puerto Rico, Inc. (collectively referred to as “the warrantor”) will, for the length of the period indicated on the chart below, which starts with the date of original purchase (“warranty period”), at its option either (a) repair your product with new or refurbished parts, or (b) replace it with a new or refurbished product. The decision to repair or replace will be made by the warrantor."

PRODUCT OR PART NAME PARTS LABOR
DIGITAL STILL CAMERA 1 (ONE) YEAR 1 (ONE) YEAR
CCD 6 (SIX) MONTHS 90 (NINETY) DAYS
RECHARGEABLE BATTERY PACK (IN EXCHANGE FOR DEFECTIVE BATTERY PACK) 90 (NINETY) DAYS NOT APPLICABLE


Go to Panasonic's warranty page for more information or register your product here. DPReview GearShop is an authorized Panasonic dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.