Panasonic Lumix DMC-GM1 Mirrorless Camera Kit with 12-32mm F3.5-5.6 Lens

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

78% Gold Award
If you're happy using a touch screen, and if fewer dials and controls aren't a deal-breaker, then you should take a good look at this camera. It's a good (and convenient) companion to have at your side.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 16MP CMOS Four Thirds sensor
  • ISO 200-25600 (extendable ISO 125)
  • Up to 5 FPS continuous shooting (40 FPS with electronic shutter)
  • 3-inch touch LCD with 1,036,000 dots
  • 1080/60i/30p/24p HD video (AVCHD/MPEG-4) with PASM control
  • Creative Control mode with 22 filter effects + PSAM
  • Silent shutter mode
  • Built-in pop-up flash
  • Built-in WiFi
  • Raw and Raw+JPEG
  • SD/SDHC/SDXC memory

Product Description

The Panasonic Lumix DMC-GM1 is a tiny Micro Four Thirds camera that can literally fit in the palm of your hand. It features the same 16 megapixel Live MOS sensor as the much larger GX7, and a high resolution 3-inch touchscreen LCD. The GM1 offers full manual controls, automatic and creative modes, 22 filter effects, time lapse, and stop motion modes. The shutter can be made nearly silent when you need to shoot discreetly. Additionally, built-in Wi-Fi allows you to control the camera and share photos quickly and easily by connecting to a smart phone or tablet.

Reviews

User Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
  • Alan Ernst, Dec 25, 2013 GMT:
    Great Little Camera

    Took this mini marvel on vacation to Hawaii where I used it extensively. Very pleased with handling and performance. I agree with much of DP Review’s findings with a few exceptions. It certainly deserves the gold award... Mostly a GX1 user for the past two years, my comparisons are in relation to GX1. I rarely use video, have not done any RAW conversions so far (which are covered by DP), so won’t comment on any of these. Pro’s: very small size / weight; feature rich; fast and very quiet to ...

    Continue Reading

  • Hen3ry, Jan 10, 2014 GMT:
    Just a couple of preliminary remarks on the GM1

    I will try to do a more detailed review later. My first impressions are: (1) This camera is a tiny delight. It makes me smile just to see it sitting on the table waiting to be taken for a walk! (2) In use, the camera is just as small and compact as I imagined it would be and as it looked in the store.

    Continue Reading

  • Haim Hadar, Jan 27, 2014 GMT:
    What I expected

    After a week of using this camera, I'm mostly pleased with it. IQ is great even with the kit lens, it feels quite solid despite its diminutive size, it does not lack at all in features an customizations. It also looks great IMO. My only qualms is that it does not allow USB charging - instead, you have to carry a bulky external charger, the menus are a bit fiddly (though the Q. menu mostly makes up for it), and the Wi-fi photo transfer for PC is bordering on useless.

    Continue Reading

  • LifeIsMyLens, Feb 14, 2014 GMT:
    Off camera flash test Panasonic GM1 with kitlens 12-32 f3.5-f5.6

    The smallest MFT camera today is the Panasonic GM1. With a flash sync speed of 1/50 and no hotshoe it doesn't seem that good for off camera flash. Because I like this little cameras versatility and IQ and like a challenge I tested it to do exactly this. All images were shot with the kitlens 12-32 mm f3.5-f5.6, pop up flash and (except no 1 & 2 ) a Lumopro LP120 manual flash set to optical slave. No 1-6 are JPG's straight out of camera with Landscape photo style. NO 1 First I took a picture in ...

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

key differences between GX7 and GM1

Hi all! Apart from size, viewfinder and other obvious things, could you please tell me what are the differences between both ? regarding IQ, ans also reactivity (touch screen shutter especially) And what about Olympus OM-D E-M10 ? I want to buy a second camera (own a D800) that would not cost me an arm, to use with a moderate wide angle such as Oly 17. Thank you!

kribee2 asked
8 hours ago

ANSWERS

The GX7 and GM1 have the same sensor, processor, autofocus so should produce identical image quality if the same lens is used. They differ in features such as the EVF, external buttons and the kit lens. If you can live without an EVF and dont mind small buttons then the GM1 is an ideal choice as a backup camera because it is so small. I have the GX7 because for me an EVF is essential. The GM1 ships with the 12-32mm kit lens which gets very good reports and is also used by many GX7 owners. There could be a problem when using larger lenses with the GM1 because it would be a bit like having a lens with a camera attached rather than the other way around. There is an excellent book that has just been released entitled "Pansonic Lumix GX7 and GM1 (From snapshots to Great shots ) which deals with both cameras since they are so similar in functionality. AT £13 it would be worth purchasing if you are considering either of these cameras. Continue Reading

MikeInRomsey answered
8 hours ago

1. gx7 can use mechanical shutter op to 1/8000th. no "rolling shutter" so no rolling shotter effect when taking picures of fast moving subjects 2. gx7 has a hotshoe, great for mouting powerful flashes or triggers. 3.gx7 can be mouted on a tripod and still have access to battery and sd slot. 4.gx7 has a bigger battery 5. did i mention a viewfinder for the gx7? the gm1 has none. 6. gx7 can record video in 60P the gm1 can not due overheatign issues orso 7. albeit a small one, the gx7 has stabilisation to some degree. not the best, but certainly useful its not that the gm1 is a bad camera, its just that concessions where made to make the gm1 so small. it has the same sensor ar the gx7, perforcance is just as good. ow sorry i didnt read your post good enough many point were already made Continue Reading

mrc4nl answered
8 hours ago

Also Flash sync GM1 1/50 vs 1/250 for the GX7 With electronic shutter Gm1 does do 1/16000 (1/500 max with mechanical) though while the GX7 does 1/8000 with both. Continue Reading

neil holmes answered
7 hours ago

QUESTION

What are the entry level cameras right now?

Canon has the 1200D, Nikon has the D3300, Olympus has the E-PM2, Panasonic has the GM1 and Fujifilm has the X-M1 (w/ x-trans color filter array) and X-A1 (w/ bayer). What are the offerings from Pentax, Sony and Samsung. Is there a brand I forgot? What's the lowest priced one among them? What do you think has the best bang for the buck? Which would you choose for a back-up can and why? Thanks in advance.

1 day ago

ANSWERS

We bought the camera at Bedford's in NLR, Ar. on the way to the Hot Rod Power Tour stopover in Little Rock last June. These were among the very first shots he took with the camera. Straight out of the camera jpegs, very bright day, Sony default in camera processing. Considering the dynamic range challenge I was impressed. Lens distorts quite a bit at the wide end but is easily corrected (these are not corrected). 1 of 2 S.C. 427s. '37 Buick from Louisiana, on a pickup frame. Yours truly with D800/24-70. Ol' Fuzz Farms out of Ash Grove Missouri Continue Reading

ormdig answered
1 day ago

I will only talk about sony because I don´t really know much about pentax or samsung entry level cameras. sony a3000 for 260$ with kit lens, apsc looks like dlsr but its mirrorless with very good sensor but poor built quality and low res evf. sony nex3n for 300$ with kit lens, apsc, really great small camera for its price, I ordered one from amazon : D the a58 for 400$ with kit lens is more like a tradition dlsr great camera for its price. Continue Reading

pew pew answered
1 day ago

You have the Pentax K50 if you want a weather sealed camera in that price range, or the Olympus PEN E-PL5, which is an Olympus OMD E-M5 in anything but name... Then there is the Samsung NX300. I don't understand the loathsome response every time someone recommends a Pentax DSLR? They have an equally decent lens lineup to Sony. Continue Reading

Lumixdude answered
1 day ago

QUESTION

GM1 - Is the time lapse useful with that small battery?

Since the Panasonic DMC-GM1 has been "gifted" with a relatively small and weak battery, how useful is the time lapse feature really? Can I for instance record a sequence that stretches over an entire day, or at least several hours? Does the camera power down between frames? Is there any way to connect an external power source for even longer sequences?

laban77 asked
3 months ago

ANSWERS

I'm surprised you didn't consider checking the online manual.  It's really quite informative: * During recording standby, the power will turn off automatically if no operation is performed for a certain period. The Time Lapse Shot is continued even with the power turned off. When the recording start time arrives, the power turns on automatically. * During [Time Lapse Shot], you can replace the battery and the card, and then restart by turning on this unit. * We recommend that you use a sufficiently charged battery or an AC adaptor (optional) and a DC coupler (optional). Continue Reading

Demon Cleaner answered
3 months ago

Good questions.  I wonder how much using the electronic shutter helps...if at all.  There is an economy mode and you can turn the brightness on the LCD down which should help too. Continue Reading

Lab D answered
3 months ago

I am surprised that nobody answered this simple question. As I am also interested, I bumped it in hope of getting an answer. Continue Reading

Pedagydusz answered
3 months ago

Have your own question?

Warranty Information

"If your product does not work properly because of a defect in materials or workmanship, Panasonic Consumer Electronics Company or Panasonic Puerto Rico, Inc. (collectively referred to as “the warrantor”) will, for the length of the period indicated on the chart below, which starts with the date of original purchase (“warranty period”), at its option either (a) repair your product with new or refurbished parts, or (b) replace it with a new or refurbished product. The decision to repair or replace will be made by the warrantor."

PRODUCT OR PART NAME PARTS LABOR
DIGITAL STILL CAMERA 1 (ONE) YEAR 1 (ONE) YEAR
CCD 6 (SIX) MONTHS 90 (NINETY) DAYS
RECHARGEABLE BATTERY PACK (IN EXCHANGE FOR DEFECTIVE BATTERY PACK) 90 (NINETY) DAYS NOT APPLICABLE


Go to Panasonic's warranty page for more information or register your product here. DPReview GearShop is an authorized Panasonic dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.