Panasonic Lumix DMC-GM1 Mirrorless Camera Kit with 12-32mm F3.5-5.6 Lens

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

78% Gold Award
If you're happy using a touch screen, and if fewer dials and controls aren't a deal-breaker, then you should take a good look at this camera. It's a good (and convenient) companion to have at your side.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 16MP CMOS Four Thirds sensor
  • ISO 200-25600 (extendable ISO 125)
  • Up to 5 FPS continuous shooting (40 FPS with electronic shutter)
  • 3-inch touch LCD with 1,036,000 dots
  • 1080/60i/30p/24p HD video (AVCHD/MPEG-4) with PASM control
  • Creative Control mode with 22 filter effects + PSAM
  • Silent shutter mode
  • Built-in pop-up flash
  • Built-in WiFi
  • Raw and Raw+JPEG
  • SD/SDHC/SDXC memory

Product Description

The Panasonic Lumix DMC-GM1 is a tiny Micro Four Thirds camera that can literally fit in the palm of your hand. It features the same 16 megapixel Live MOS sensor as the much larger GX7, and a high resolution 3-inch touchscreen LCD. The GM1 offers full manual controls, automatic and creative modes, 22 filter effects, time lapse, and stop motion modes. The shutter can be made nearly silent when you need to shoot discreetly. Additionally, built-in Wi-Fi allows you to control the camera and share photos quickly and easily by connecting to a smart phone or tablet.

Specs

Body type
Body type Rangefinder-style mirrorless
Sensor
Max resolution 4592 x 3448
Image ratio w:h 1:1, 4:3, 3:2, 16:9
Effective pixels 16 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 17 megapixels
Sensor size Four Thirds (17.3 x 13 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
Image
ISO Auto, 200-25600
White balance presets 5
Custom white balance Yes (2)
Image stabilization Unknown
Uncompressed format RAW
JPEG quality levels Fine, Standard
Optics & Focus
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Multi-area
  • Center
  • Selective single-point
  • Tracking
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Touch
  • Face Detection
  • Live View
Manual focus Yes
Number of focus points 23
Lens mount Micro Four Thirds
Focal length multiplier 2×
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fixed
Screen size 3
Screen dots 1,036,000
Touch screen Yes
Screen type TFT Color LCD with wide-viewing angle
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type None
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 60 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/16000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes (Pop-up)
Flash range 4.00 m
External flash No
Flash modes Auto, On, Off, Red-Eye, Slow Sync
Continuous drive 5 fps
Self-timer Yes (2 or 10 sec, 10 sec (3 images))
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Spot
Exposure compensation ±5 (at 1/3 EV steps)
AE Bracketing ±3 (3, 5, 7 frames at 1/3 EV, 2/3 EV, 1 EV steps)
WB Bracketing Yes (3 frames in either blue/amber or magenta/green axis)
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (60i, 50i, 24p), 1280 x 720p (60p, 50p), 640 x 480 (30p, 25p)
Format MPEG-4, AVCHD
Microphone Stereo
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (micro HDMI Type D)
Wireless Built-In
Remote control No
Physical
Environmentally sealed No
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description Lithium-Ion rechargeable battery & charger
Battery Life (CIPA) 230
Weight (inc. batteries) 204 g (0.45 lb / 7.20 oz)
Dimensions 99 x 55 x 30 mm (3.88 x 2.16 x 1.2)
Other features
GPS None

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other cameras in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Build quality
Ergonomics & handling
Features
Metering & focus accuracy
Image quality (raw)
Image quality (jpeg)
Low light / high ISO performance
Viewfinder / screen rating
Performance
Movie / video mode
Connectivity
Value
Gold Award
Gold Award
78 %
Overall Score

The GM1 offers much of the features and image quality of its Lumix GX7 sibling in a much smaller, lighter package. A few concessions have been made to reduce the size so drastically, namely a lower-capacity battery, but it's an excellent option for casual shooting.

Good For

Street shooting, casual portraits, moderately low light.

Not So Good For

Fast action, telephoto shooting, very low light.

User Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
  • Alan Ernst, Dec 25, 2013 GMT:
    Great Little Camera

    Took this mini marvel on vacation to Hawaii where I used it extensively. Very pleased with handling and performance. I agree with much of DP Review’s findings with a few exceptions. It certainly deserves the gold award... Mostly a GX1 user for the past two years, my comparisons are in relation to GX1. I rarely use video, have not done any RAW conversions so far (which are covered by DP), so won’t comment on any of these. Pro’s: very small size / weight; feature rich; fast and very quiet to ...

    Continue Reading

  • Hen3ry, Jan 10, 2014 GMT:
    Just a couple of preliminary remarks on the GM1

    I will try to do a more detailed review later. My first impressions are: (1) This camera is a tiny delight. It makes me smile just to see it sitting on the table waiting to be taken for a walk! (2) In use, the camera is just as small and compact as I imagined it would be and as it looked in the store.

    Continue Reading

  • Haim Hadar, Jan 27, 2014 GMT:
    What I expected

    After a week of using this camera, I'm mostly pleased with it. IQ is great even with the kit lens, it feels quite solid despite its diminutive size, it does not lack at all in features an customizations. It also looks great IMO. My only qualms is that it does not allow USB charging - instead, you have to carry a bulky external charger, the menus are a bit fiddly (though the Q. menu mostly makes up for it), and the Wi-fi photo transfer for PC is bordering on useless.

    Continue Reading

  • LifeIsMyLens, Feb 14, 2014 GMT:
    Off camera flash test Panasonic GM1 with kitlens 12-32 f3.5-f5.6

    The smallest MFT camera today is the Panasonic GM1. With a flash sync speed of 1/50 and no hotshoe it doesn't seem that good for off camera flash. Because I like this little cameras versatility and IQ and like a challenge I tested it to do exactly this. All images were shot with the kitlens 12-32 mm f3.5-f5.6, pop up flash and (except no 1 & 2 ) a Lumopro LP120 manual flash set to optical slave. No 1-6 are JPG's straight out of camera with Landscape photo style. NO 1 First I took a picture in ...

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Need help with GM1 video (other users may help too).

No matter how hard I try to find the answer to my question in the manual, I can't seem to find it. I need your help :p So here is it: I live in Europe and I'm using the GM1 set to Europe GMT+1. However, in the video settings, I cannot get the 30FPS setting, and instead I have 25FPS and 50FPS (and 24FPS, but that's normal I guess). If I remember correctly, I should have the 30FPS as well as 60FPS settings here in Europe. But no matter what I change (like the output settings or the language), I cannot get those settings. Anyone has an idea on how to change this? I bought the camera second hand about a month ago, and I guess the first user already set some settings. Many thanks in advance! Photofan

photofan1986 asked
14 hours ago

ANSWERS

Can you think of any other area in the world where French is spoken and uses 60Hz power frequency ? Just my guess: you could be reading the Quebec version of the manual. Continue Reading

ernstbk answered
13 hours ago

Which is really dumb...you can change between PAL and NTSC (set up menu under output) but you get the same frame rates.   At least with my PAL Australian version. Continue Reading

neil holmes answered
10 hours ago

The frame rates are tied to the firmware, not the time zone. The only Panasonic camera that has both 25 fps and 30 fps available is the new GH4. So just stick to 24. Continue Reading

honeyiscool answered
14 hours ago

QUESTION

What are the entry level cameras right now?

Canon has the 1200D, Nikon has the D3300, Olympus has the E-PM2, Panasonic has the GM1 and Fujifilm has the X-M1 (w/ x-trans color filter array) and X-A1 (w/ bayer). What are the offerings from Pentax, Sony and Samsung. Is there a brand I forgot? What's the lowest priced one among them? What do you think has the best bang for the buck? Which would you choose for a back-up can and why? Thanks in advance.

1 hour ago

ANSWERS

I will only talk about sony because I don´t really know much about pentax or samsung entry level cameras. sony a3000 for 260$ with kit lens, apsc looks like dlsr but its mirrorless with very good sensor but poor built quality and low res evf. sony nex3n for 300$ with kit lens, apsc, really great small camera for its price, I ordered one from amazon : D the a58 for 400$ with kit lens is more like a tradition dlsr great camera for its price. Continue Reading

pew pew answered
1 hour ago

You already have Canon lenses so a Canon 50D, 60D, or 600D would be a lot of bang for the buck for you. Kelly Cook Continue Reading

KCook answered
53 minutes ago

QUESTION

GM1 - Is the time lapse useful with that small battery?

Since the Panasonic DMC-GM1 has been "gifted" with a relatively small and weak battery, how useful is the time lapse feature really? Can I for instance record a sequence that stretches over an entire day, or at least several hours? Does the camera power down between frames? Is there any way to connect an external power source for even longer sequences?

laban77 asked
3 months ago

ANSWERS

I'm surprised you didn't consider checking the online manual.  It's really quite informative: * During recording standby, the power will turn off automatically if no operation is performed for a certain period. The Time Lapse Shot is continued even with the power turned off. When the recording start time arrives, the power turns on automatically. * During [Time Lapse Shot], you can replace the battery and the card, and then restart by turning on this unit. * We recommend that you use a sufficiently charged battery or an AC adaptor (optional) and a DC coupler (optional). Continue Reading

Demon Cleaner answered
3 months ago

Good questions.  I wonder how much using the electronic shutter helps...if at all.  There is an economy mode and you can turn the brightness on the LCD down which should help too. Continue Reading

Lab D answered
3 months ago

I am surprised that nobody answered this simple question. As I am also interested, I bumped it in hope of getting an answer. Continue Reading

Pedagydusz answered
3 months ago

Warranty Information

"If your product does not work properly because of a defect in materials or workmanship, Panasonic Consumer Electronics Company or Panasonic Puerto Rico, Inc. (collectively referred to as “the warrantor”) will, for the length of the period indicated on the chart below, which starts with the date of original purchase (“warranty period”), at its option either (a) repair your product with new or refurbished parts, or (b) replace it with a new or refurbished product. The decision to repair or replace will be made by the warrantor."

PRODUCT OR PART NAME PARTS LABOR
DIGITAL STILL CAMERA 1 (ONE) YEAR 1 (ONE) YEAR
CCD 6 (SIX) MONTHS 90 (NINETY) DAYS
RECHARGEABLE BATTERY PACK (IN EXCHANGE FOR DEFECTIVE BATTERY PACK) 90 (NINETY) DAYS NOT APPLICABLE


Go to Panasonic's warranty page for more information or register your product here. DPReview GearShop is an authorized Panasonic dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.