Panasonic Lumix DMC-TS5 Waterproof Compact Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

72% Tried & Tested
While GPS, Wi-Fi and NFC are nice add-ons, performance and photo quality remain the most important 'features' a camera can have. In that regard, the DMC-TS5 rarely disappoints.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 16.1 MP 1/2.33" CMOS sensor
  • 28-128mm equivalent f/3.3-5.9 lens (4.6x optical zoom)
  • 5-axis optical image stabilizer
  • Up to 10 FPS continuous shooting (7 images max./full resolution) plus 40 FPS high-speed burst
  • ISO 100-3200 (expandable to 6400)
  • 1080/60p HD video (AVCHD/MPEG-4)
  • 3" TFT LCD with 460,000 dots
  • Built-in GPS, WiFi and Altimeter
  • Pressure resistance of 200 lbf/100 kgf
  • Waterproof to 43'/13m
  • Shockproof from 6.6'/2m
  • Freezeproof to 14°F/-10°C

Product Description

The LUMIX TS5 is rugged -- waterproof to 43 feet, shockproof from 6.5 feet, freezeproof from 14 degrees Fahrenheit, and pressure resistant to 220 lbs. New on offer is Near Field Communication (NFC), a close-proximity radio connection that the camera can use to initiate a Wi-Fi connection with a compatible device simply by tapping the two together, allowing remote shooting and sharing from a smartphone or tablet. It also has a Leica 28-128mm f/3.3-5.9 lens, 1080 HD video, and plenty of creative and automatic modes.

Specs

Body type
Body type Compact
Sensor
Max resolution 4608 x 3456
Other resolutions 4608 x 3072, 4608 x 2592, 3648 x 2736, 3456 x 3456, 2560 x 1920, 2560 x 1920, 2048 x 1536, 2048 x 1536, 2048 x 1536, 2048 x 1536, 640 x 480
Image ratio w:h 1:1, 4:3, 3:2, 16:9
Effective pixels 16 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 18 megapixels
Sensor size 1/2.33" (6.08 x 4.56 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
Image
ISO Auto, Hi Auto (1600-6400), 100, 200, 400, 800, 1600, 3200
White balance presets 4
Custom white balance Yes (1)
Image stabilization Optical
Uncompressed format No
JPEG quality levels Fine, Standard
Optics & Focus
Focal length (equiv.) 28–128 mm
Optical zoom 4.6×
Maximum aperture F3.3 - F5.9
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Multi-area
  • Center
  • Tracking
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Live View
Digital zoom Yes (4.6x)
Manual focus No
Normal focus range 30 cm (11.81)
Macro focus range 5 cm (1.97)
Number of focus points 23
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fixed
Screen size 3
Screen dots 460,000
Touch screen No
Screen type TFT LCD
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type None
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 60 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/1300 sec
Aperture priority No
Shutter priority No
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes
Flash range 5.60 m
External flash No
Flash modes Auto, On, Off, Red-eye, Slow Syncro
Continuous drive 10 fps
Self-timer Yes (2 or 10 sec)
Metering modes
  • Multi
Exposure compensation ±2
WB Bracketing No
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (60, 30 fps), 1280 x 720 (60, 30 fps), 640 x 480 (30 fps)
Format MPEG-4, AVCHD
Microphone Stereo
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC, Internal
Storage included 15 MB Internal
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes
Wireless Built-In
Wireless notes with NFC (Near Field Communication) capabilities
Remote control No
Physical
Environmentally sealed Yes (Waterproof, Shockproof, Freezeproof, Dustproof)
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description DMW-BCM13 Lithium-Ion rechargeable battery & charger
Battery Life (CIPA) 370
Weight (inc. batteries) 214 g (0.47 lb / 7.55 oz)
Dimensions 110 x 67 x 29 mm (4.33 x 2.64 x 1.14)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
Timelapse recording Yes
GPS BuiltIn

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other cameras in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Build quality
Ergonomics & handling
Features
Exposure and focus accuracy
Image quality (jpeg)
Flash performance
Low light / high ISO performance
Optics
Performance (speed)
Movie / video mode
Connectivity
Value
Tried & Tested
Tried & Tested
72 %
Overall Score

The Lumix DMC-TS5 is a good choice for those seeking a rugged camera with a robust feature set that includes a well-implemented GPS, plus Wi-Fi. The camera takes good quality photos for its class, has a great LCD, and offers a top-notch movie mode. However, its lens is on the slow side, and the flash is very weak. The Wi-Fi system could also be a lot more user-friendly.

Good For

Adventurous photographers looking for a rugged cameras with a great LCD, well-implemented GPS, and photo sharing via Wi-Fi. Video lovers will also appreciate the 1080/60p movie mode.

Not So Good For

Photographers planning on taking a lot of flash and low light photos.

User Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
  • Shahzack, Jun 25, 2013 GMT:
    Tough camera

    Best in line-up of rugged cameras with excellent features

    Continue Reading

  • markusbi, Jul 11, 2013 GMT:
    FT5 Wifi Review

    This review doesn't cover the Lumix FT5's photo quality (which is of course very important and I think, from a first impression point of view, is very good). Its design for rough situations (waterproof, shock resistant etc.) is convincing and seems well done. This is not covered here either. BUT Panasonic seems to know how to make cameras, not Wifi devices... If you buy this camera with great expectations on a sleek Wifi setup, try again. The speed of user menus is slow. While for normal ...

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

SD Card Error

Red Card Error Message I keep getting this error message when I use my camera,  the camera will take upto 16 shots then stops working.  It will also take video for a limited amount of time. When I remove the card and insert it into my card reader the images & video are on the SD card, it downloads fine, I put the card back into the camera and format it.  It still gives me this error. I have checked that the right protect slider is in the correct position.  I don't know what else to try except to purchase a new SD card? Your help would be much appreciated!!

OzClick asked
2 months ago

ANSWERS

Is this a new card? If so, check the size when you format it to see that it  is as big as the label on the card. there are scams where small capacity cards are labelled as much bigger, sometimes with a hacked size reading that would look OK if checked with Windows > Properties. Stuart Also at http://www.flickr.com/photos/dieselgolfer/ Mr Ichiro Kitao, please upgrade the FZ50 Continue Reading

windmillgolfer answered
2 months ago

No it is not new, I have been using it with this camera for months now, this problem is new however :) Continue Reading

OzClick answered
2 months ago

I had this same thing going on, until I did a full default block size (unchecked quick) format of the card in my Win7 laptop, and then formatted the card in my camera (FZ200).  I didn't try formatting the card on my Mac because I was suspicious that using iPhoto deletes after import was perhaps a cause. Continue Reading

alanmcdonley answered
2 months ago

QUESTION

Panasonic Lumix TS5 fogged inner lens

Hello! After using my camera in the pool, I left it to dry in a sealed box with silica gel. But the camera lens is still fogged after a day, and it's the inner lens that is fogged. I will try to leave it for a few more days with the silica gel. Anybody else have faced the same problem? Should I try to change it's surrounding temperature again to let the water condense and dry up in the lens for a second time?

letable asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

QUESTION

Best camera between 4 options

Hey guys, I would like your expert opinion. I was only checking the reviews, but I would like to hear from an expert that knows every number in the specs or have experience with these cameras. Basically, looking for a gps enabled waterproof camera. I found the following ones: - Canon PowerShot D30 - Olympus TG-3 - Panasonic Lumix DMC-TS5 - Nikon COOLPIX AW120 Which one is the best option based on specs/experience and why? Other suggestions (newer models, better, etc.) are welcome too, however I believe these above are the only ones that fit my criteria. Thank you!

igorjrr asked
18 days ago

ANSWERS

IIRC, DPReview has had an ongoing series on waterproof cameras. They update with newer cameras periodically. Continue Reading

l_d_allan answered
18 days ago

Thanks! I'll take a look but I appreciate with you and others could elect the best one over these 4 options. Continue Reading

igorjrr answered
18 days ago

Just to help others, link: http://www.dpreview.com/articles/2491269399/2014-waterproof-camera-roundup/14 Continue Reading

igorjrr answered
18 days ago

Warranty Information

"If your product does not work properly because of a defect in materials or workmanship, Panasonic Consumer Electronics Company or Panasonic Puerto Rico, Inc. (collectively referred to as “the warrantor”) will, for the length of the period indicated on the chart below, which starts with the date of original purchase (“warranty period”), at its option either (a) repair your product with new or refurbished parts, or (b) replace it with a new or refurbished product. The decision to repair or replace will be made by the warrantor."

PRODUCT OR PART NAME PARTS LABOR
DIGITAL STILL CAMERA 1 (ONE) YEAR 1 (ONE) YEAR
CCD 6 (SIX) MONTHS 90 (NINETY) DAYS
RECHARGEABLE BATTERY PACK (IN EXCHANGE FOR DEFECTIVE BATTERY PACK) 90 (NINETY) DAYS NOT APPLICABLE


Go to Panasonic's warranty page for more information or register your product here. DPReview GearShop is an authorized Panasonic dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.