Panasonic GX7 Mirrorless Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

79% Silver Award
The GX7 holds its own against both mirrorless and mid-range DSLRs in terms of both performance and photo quality.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 16MP CMOS Four Thirds sensor
  • ISO 200-25600 (extendable ISO 125)
  • Up to 5 FPS continuous shooting (40 FPS with electronic shutter)
  • 3 inch tiltable touch LCD with 1,040,000 dots
  • Flip-up electronic viewfinder with 2,764,800 dots and eye sensor
  • 1080/60p/30p/24p HD video (AVCHD/MPEG-4) with PASM control
  • Creative Control mode with 22 filter effects + PSAM
  • In-body image stabilization
  • Manual focus peaking
  • Magnesium alloy frame
  • Built-in pop-up flash
  • 1/8000 second max shutter speed, 1/320th flash sync speed
  • Built-in WiFi and NFC

Product Description

The Panasonic Lumix DMC-GX7 is the long-awaited successor to the DMC-GX1 mirrorless interchangeable lens camera. New features include sensor-shift image stabilization - a first for a Lumix ILC - plus a high resolution electronic viewfinder that can tilt upward by as much as 90 degrees. The 3-inch LCD also has the ability to tilt up or down. Other additions include a faster maximum shutter speed (1/8000 sec), focus peaking, tone curve adjustment, and improved photo and video quality. Panasonic has also added Wi-Fi to the GX7, complete with NFC for easy photo sharing with mobile devices.

Specs

Body type
Body type Rangefinder-style mirrorless
Sensor
Max resolution 4592 x 3448
Other resolutions 4592 x 3064, 4592 x 3064, 4592 x 2584, 3424 x 3424, 3232 x 2424, 3232 x 2160, 3232 x 1824, 2416 x 2416, 2272 x 1704, 2272 x 1520, 1920 x 1080, 1712 x 1712
Image ratio w:h 1:1, 4:3, 3:2, 16:9
Effective pixels 16 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 17 megapixels
Sensor size Four Thirds (17.3 x 13 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
Processor Venus Engine
Image
ISO Auto, 125, 200, 400, 800, 1600, 3200, 6400, 12800, 25600
White balance presets 6
Custom white balance Yes (2)
Image stabilization Sensor-shift
Uncompressed format RAW
JPEG quality levels Fine, Standard
Optics & Focus
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Multi-area
  • Center
  • Selective single-point
  • Tracking
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Touch
  • Face Detection
  • Live View
Digital zoom Yes (2X, 4X)
Manual focus Yes
Number of focus points 23
Lens mount Micro Four Thirds
Focal length multiplier 2×
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Tilting
Screen size 3
Screen dots 1,040,000
Touch screen Yes
Screen type LCD
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type Electronic
Viewfinder coverage 100%
Viewfinder magnification 1.39×
Viewfinder resolution 2,764,800
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 60 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/8000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes (Pop-up)
Flash range 7.00 m (at ISO 200)
External flash Yes (via hot-shoe)
Flash modes Auto, Auto & Red-eye reduction, Fill-in flash, Slow sync, Slow sync w/red-eye reduction, off
Continuous drive 5.0 fps
Self-timer Yes (2 or 10 secs, 10 secs w/ 3 shots)
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Spot
Exposure compensation ±5 (at 1/3 EV steps)
AE Bracketing ±3 (3, 5, 7 frames at 1/3 EV, 2/3 EV, 1 EV steps)
WB Bracketing Yes (3 exposures in blue/amber or magneta/green axis)
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (60p, 60i, 50p, 50i, 30p, 24p), 1280 x 720 (60p, 30p), 640 x 480 (30p)
Format MPEG-4, AVCHD
Microphone Stereo
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC card
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (miniHDMI)
Wireless Built-In
Wireless notes 802.11b/g/n with NFC
Remote control Yes
Physical
Environmentally sealed No
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description Lithium-ion rechargeable
Battery Life (CIPA) 350
Weight (inc. batteries) 402 g (0.89 lb / 14.18 oz)
Dimensions 123 x 71 x 55 mm (4.83 x 2.78 x 2.15)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
GPS None

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other cameras in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Build quality
Ergonomics & handling
Features
Metering & focus accuracy
Image quality (raw)
Image quality (jpeg)
Low light / high ISO performance
Viewfinder / screen rating
Performance
Movie / video mode
Connectivity
Value
Silver Award
Silver Award
79 %
Overall Score

The Panasonic GX7 is a full-featured mirrorless camera that offers very good photo and video quality, a highly customizable interface, plenty of useful features, and robust performance. It's marred by a so-so viewfinder, lack of in-camera raw conversion, and a disappointing in-body IS system.

Good For

Those seeking excellent photo and video quality with a very customizable interface; street photographers

Not So Good For

User Reviews

4.14912 out of 5 stars
  • cgarrard, Sep 22, 2013 GMT:
    Panasonic gave me a weekened with one

    Smaller than I thought, and lighter. Built great, lots to use in this package. I dare say its almost too loaded considering its classic design- almost wish it had a more minimalist design personally. That said, I think its probably the best m4/3 Panasonic has made yet and I suspect  many others will think so too.  I didn't get a chance to eval the image quality yet because I don't have ACR set up to support it at this time- will get into that when I get more time with it with an extended ...

    Continue Reading

  • SergeyMS, Oct 26, 2013 GMT:
    Not for these money. / Violating rule #6. Locked.

    Bought GX-7 + 12-35/2,8 lenses, for about 2,000 euro. After day of testing: for such money you can buy much better camera. Focus fast enough, but sometimes have delays, colors good, design inconvenient, IQ is not perfect. Touchscreen changes focus point unexpectedly. Nothing groundbreaking. Right for this camera is twice less. Moderator Edit : Everyone knows that this camera is very good like other Olympus and Panasonic cameras, in fact not even the less better Micro 4/3 camera deserves ...

    Continue Reading

  • larsbc, Oct 28, 2013 GMT:
    GX7 review (my first review!)

    I've had the GX7 for over a month now. My camera experience includes long term use of a Nikon D300, D60, D200, D90, D70, Sony RX100 II, Panasonic LX3, LX5, Canon G11, and Panasonic G1 and GH2. I've been a photography enthusiast since the late '70's. Some cameras really thrilled me when I first got them; Nikon D70, D200, D300, Panasonic LX3, Panasonic GH2, Sony RX100 II. The first day I got my GX7, I wasn't exactly overwhelmed. Functionally, it was very similar to my GH2, but arranged ...

    Continue Reading

  • Ger Horgan, Dec 17, 2013 GMT:
    The GX7 is a winner

    Great camera.. (but not perfect ) I have the camera now for two months now and I am falling more and more in love with it.. It takes good sports photos (in low light) It takes great video and oh yeah it takes great general photos Sports Photo Sunset Photo Video: The Dingle Peninsula & the Atlantic Ocean  -http://youtu.be/dII_x6KCf2M

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

GX7 with 14-42mm H-FS1442A lens PROBLEM

Please, have anyone experienced this problem? (see photos bellow) I bought a GX7 that came with the 14-45mm lens (H-FS1442A) and yesterday taking long exposure night pictures it produced strong flare in a way I had never seen to the point that the photo became useless. I had never seen such strong internal reflections... I had a Lumix G2 before, with its standard lens (H-FS014042E) and I had never experienced this problem in 99% of my photos. The very few times that happened, the problem was very soft. Can someone help me? 14mm, ISO 125, f/13, 13sec. 14mm, ISO 200, f/3-5, 0.6sec.

7 days ago

ANSWERS

I think that technically speaking, what has caused your problem here is not flaring, but ghosting. There are actually three effects happening here Diffraction flaring is what occurs when the image of small lamp which should be a point source is no longer a point, and no longer round, and it acquires rays like a star. The shape of the flare is related to the design of the aperture diaphragm. I see many clear examples of this in the first shot, note all the lamps mounted on a pole. Flaring due to overexposure occurs when the light from a lamp exceeds the headroom of the sensor, resulting in a big round blob obscuring the lamp and things close to it. I see more of this in the second shot affecting most lights. Ghosting occurs when internal reflections of point light sources inside the lens or camera produces blobs or rays, often in a different color than the light sources, in places where there was no light source. These are the blue blobs in the first and second image. I note alcelc's ... Continue Reading

Eric Nepean answered
6 days ago

Dear Leonardo, sorry to see those strong flares had ruined your shooting opportunity. First of all we M43 users should always note that diffraction would start to be seen from f/10 onward for most M43 lenses. It is very difference from Dslrs. As per your 2 samples, shooting in dark and facing strong incoming light indeed would be very difficult for long exposure. Specially picture #1 using f/13 just might have amplified the diffraction. In picture #2, using f/3.5 had already saw a significant reduction in flaring. I suspect pumping up the ISO like 800, kept wide open and a fast S might further reduce the degree of flaring (or also a lens hood?). For Maxster's picture, exif said it was shot at fl of 13mm? Were we talking about the same lens 14-42 MII? As a matter of fact, if we shot with any lenses facing bright incoming light as per your condition, yours should have already done a reasonable good job. Don't forget it is a 28mm eq wide angle which is more sensitive to flare than ... Continue Reading

alcelc answered
7 days ago

Could we start by sorting out what lens you have? You mention you have the 14-45 lens (H-FS1442A) - but those are two different lenses. (1) the 14-45 lens is H-FS014045 (2) the H-FS1442A is the 14-42 II lens Which of these two did you use for the photos with the annoying flares? Continue Reading

Eric Nepean answered
7 days ago

QUESTION

Why is it such an exuberance about GX7?

I mean people already placing pre-orders, declaring it the best m43 ever,  predicting death to NEX-7, etc. I'mnot saying ithat will be a failure but at this point nobody really knows about IQ, IBIS, performance,  etc.  Even putting those unknown aspects aside what's so exciting about GX7 compared to OMD,  E-P5 with VF4 or Nex-6/7 except for tilting EVF?

klopus asked
1 year ago

ANSWERS

Its new. Continue Reading

thk0 answered
1 year ago

built in EVF, articulated LCD, silent shooting mode (who else other than leaf shutter cameras are having that around?), excellent video, built in flash *and* flash socket (you can use the EVF + an external flash at the same time- what a concept no? :-) ) - and the price being significantly cheaper than the Pen5 + EVF attachment (and it's not an attachment). OH yeah, the design, design, design. Continue Reading

Raist3d answered
1 year ago

Every time Olympus or Panasonic released a rangefinder shaped camera there were a lot of people asking for a rangefinder styled camera with a top corner EVF, tilting screen and IBIS in a compact body. I guess now that Panasonic has delivered all those people are getting pretty excited about it (apart from the ones who now thing it's too big or too expensive ;-) ) Continue Reading

Andy Crowe answered
1 year ago

QUESTION

GX7 Dying

After a successful shoot yesterday, this morning my GX7 was dead (would not come alive at all). Tried fully charged batteries, different cards. After an hour of trying this and that, it fired up, but without any response at the menu button. Can't get into menus, so can't do a reset. Anyone have suggestions for a reset, or where is the best out-of-warranty repair?

Fred Bauer asked
8 days ago

ANSWERS

My Olympus E510 did this when the IBIS was failing.  At first it would just intermittently not come on or occasionally lock up in use.  It got worse over a couple of months.  Finally I decided to turn off the IBIS and had no further problem.  I returned it to Olympus (just before the extended warranty expired) and they replaced IBIS and the camera still works 4 years after the repair. Continue Reading

drj3 answered
8 days ago

Sounds like you've done most of this, so this might not be much help, but... Remove the battery and card and let camera sit for at least 30 seconds. Make sure the battery is charged. Replace the fully charged battery but leave the card out, and try turning it on. Next try deleting everything on the card (after extracting all the photos and video!) from the computer. Don't format, just delete. Then put the card in and try turning on. If neither work, it could be the batteries. Do you have the AC adapter? Also check the camera and see if any of the buttons are stuck pressed down. Try with a different lens (or none). Continue Reading

uRebel Rob answered
8 days ago

Thanks Rob. Looks like the Disp button brought back menus. I had done all that you suggested plus putting a volt meter on the batteries (five of them). So, it's a mystery why it locked up. I'll carry my backup GX1 now, but it's no match for the GX7. Should pickup a GH4 for these gallery and political doc shoots, but it would be too big for the hiking-climbing I do. Continue Reading

Fred Bauer answered
8 days ago

Compatible Products

Warranty Information

"If your product does not work properly because of a defect in materials or workmanship, Panasonic Consumer Electronics Company or Panasonic Puerto Rico, Inc. (collectively referred to as “the warrantor”) will, for the length of the period indicated on the chart below, which starts with the date of original purchase (“warranty period”), at its option either (a) repair your product with new or refurbished parts, or (b) replace it with a new or refurbished product. The decision to repair or replace will be made by the warrantor."

PRODUCT OR PART NAME PARTS LABOR
DIGITAL STILL CAMERA 1 (ONE) YEAR 1 (ONE) YEAR
CCD 6 (SIX) MONTHS 90 (NINETY) DAYS
RECHARGEABLE BATTERY PACK (IN EXCHANGE FOR DEFECTIVE BATTERY PACK) 90 (NINETY) DAYS NOT APPLICABLE


Go to Panasonic's warranty page for more information or register your product here. DPReview GearShop is an authorized Panasonic dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.