Panasonic GX7 Mirrorless Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

79% Silver Award
The GX7 holds its own against both mirrorless and mid-range DSLRs in terms of both performance and photo quality.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 16MP CMOS Four Thirds sensor
  • ISO 200-25600 (extendable ISO 125)
  • Up to 5 FPS continuous shooting (40 FPS with electronic shutter)
  • 3 inch tiltable touch LCD with 1,040,000 dots
  • Flip-up electronic viewfinder with 2,764,800 dots and eye sensor
  • 1080/60p/30p/24p HD video (AVCHD/MPEG-4) with PASM control
  • Creative Control mode with 22 filter effects + PSAM
  • In-body image stabilization
  • Manual focus peaking
  • Magnesium alloy frame
  • Built-in pop-up flash
  • 1/8000 second max shutter speed, 1/320th flash sync speed
  • Built-in WiFi and NFC

Product Description

The Panasonic Lumix DMC-GX7 is the long-awaited successor to the DMC-GX1 mirrorless interchangeable lens camera. New features include sensor-shift image stabilization - a first for a Lumix ILC - plus a high resolution electronic viewfinder that can tilt upward by as much as 90 degrees. The 3-inch LCD also has the ability to tilt up or down. Other additions include a faster maximum shutter speed (1/8000 sec), focus peaking, tone curve adjustment, and improved photo and video quality. Panasonic has also added Wi-Fi to the GX7, complete with NFC for easy photo sharing with mobile devices.

Specs

Body type
Body type Rangefinder-style mirrorless
Sensor
Max resolution 4592 x 3448
Other resolutions 4592 x 3064, 4592 x 3064, 4592 x 2584, 3424 x 3424, 3232 x 2424, 3232 x 2160, 3232 x 1824, 2416 x 2416, 2272 x 1704, 2272 x 1520, 1920 x 1080, 1712 x 1712
Image ratio w:h 1:1, 4:3, 3:2, 16:9
Effective pixels 16 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 17 megapixels
Sensor size Four Thirds (17.3 x 13 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
Processor Venus Engine
Image
ISO Auto, 125, 200, 400, 800, 1600, 3200, 6400, 12800, 25600
White balance presets 6
Custom white balance Yes (2)
Image stabilization Sensor-shift
Uncompressed format RAW
JPEG quality levels Fine, Standard
Optics & Focus
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Multi-area
  • Center
  • Selective single-point
  • Tracking
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Touch
  • Face Detection
  • Live View
Digital zoom Yes (2X, 4X)
Manual focus Yes
Number of focus points 23
Lens mount Micro Four Thirds
Focal length multiplier 2×
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Tilting
Screen size 3
Screen dots 1,040,000
Touch screen Yes
Screen type LCD
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type Electronic
Viewfinder coverage 100%
Viewfinder magnification 1.39×
Viewfinder resolution 2,764,800
Photography features
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes (Pop-up)
Flash range 7.00 m (at ISO 200)
External flash Yes (via hot-shoe)
Flash modes Auto, Auto & Red-eye reduction, Fill-in flash, Slow sync, Slow sync w/red-eye reduction, off
Continuous drive 5 fps
Self-timer Yes (2 or 10 secs, 10 secs w/ 3 shots)
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Spot
Exposure compensation ±5 (at 1/3 EV steps)
AE Bracketing ±3 (3, 5, 7 frames at 1/3 EV, 2/3 EV, 1 EV steps)
WB Bracketing Yes (3 exposures in blue/amber or magneta/green axis)
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (60p, 60i, 50p, 50i, 30p, 24p), 1280 x 720 (60p, 30p), 640 x 480 (30p)
Format MPEG-4, AVCHD
Microphone Stereo
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC card
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (miniHDMI)
Wireless Built-In
Wireless notes 802.11b/g/n with NFC
Remote control Yes
Physical
Environmentally sealed No
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description Lithium-ion rechargeable
Battery Life (CIPA) 350
Weight (inc. batteries) 402 g (0.89 lb / 14.18 oz)
Dimensions 123 x 71 x 55 mm (4.83 x 2.78 x 2.15)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
GPS None

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other cameras in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Build quality
Ergonomics & handling
Features
Metering & focus accuracy
Image quality (raw)
Image quality (jpeg)
Low light / high ISO performance
Viewfinder / screen rating
Performance
Movie / video mode
Connectivity
Value
Silver Award
Silver Award
79 %
Overall Score

The Panasonic GX7 is a full-featured mirrorless camera that offers very good photo and video quality, a highly customizable interface, plenty of useful features, and robust performance. It's marred by a so-so viewfinder, lack of in-camera Raw conversion, and a disappointing in-body IS system.

Good For

Those seeking excellent photo and video quality with a very customizable interface; street photographers

Not So Good For

Frequent viewfinder users, video enthusiasts, those who want to process Raw images in-camera

User Reviews

4.01202 out of 5 stars
  • cgarrard, Sep 22, 2013 GMT:
    Panasonic gave me a weekened with one

    Smaller than I thought, and lighter. Built great, lots to use in this package. I dare say its almost too loaded considering its classic design- almost wish it had a more minimalist design personally. That said, I think its probably the best m4/3 Panasonic has made yet and I suspect  many others will think so too.  I didn't get a chance to eval the image quality yet because I don't have ACR set up to support it at this time- will get into that when I get more time with it with an extended ...

    Continue Reading

  • SergeyMS, Oct 26, 2013 GMT:
    Not for these money. / Violating rule #6. Locked.

    Bought GX-7 + 12-35/2,8 lenses, for about 2,000 euro. After day of testing: for such money you can buy much better camera. Focus fast enough, but sometimes have delays, colors good, design inconvenient, IQ is not perfect. Touchscreen changes focus point unexpectedly. Nothing groundbreaking. Right for this camera is twice less. Moderator Edit : Everyone knows that this camera is very good like other Olympus and Panasonic cameras, in fact not even the less better Micro 4/3 camera deserves ...

    Continue Reading

  • larsbc, Oct 28, 2013 GMT:
    GX7 review (my first review!)

    I've had the GX7 for over a month now. My camera experience includes long term use of a Nikon D300, D60, D200, D90, D70, Sony RX100 II, Panasonic LX3, LX5, Canon G11, and Panasonic G1 and GH2. I've been a photography enthusiast since the late '70's. Some cameras really thrilled me when I first got them; Nikon D70, D200, D300, Panasonic LX3, Panasonic GH2, Sony RX100 II. The first day I got my GX7, I wasn't exactly overwhelmed. Functionally, it was very similar to my GH2, but arranged ...

    Continue Reading

  • Ger Horgan, Dec 17, 2013 GMT:
    The GX7 is a winner

    Great camera.. (but not perfect ) I have the camera now for two months now and I am falling more and more in love with it.. It takes good sports photos (in low light) It takes great video and oh yeah it takes great general photos Sports Photo Sunset Photo Video: The Dingle Peninsula & the Atlantic Ocean  -http://youtu.be/dII_x6KCf2M

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Why is it such an exuberance about GX7?

I mean people already placing pre-orders, declaring it the best m43 ever,  predicting death to NEX-7, etc. I'mnot saying ithat will be a failure but at this point nobody really knows about IQ, IBIS, performance,  etc.  Even putting those unknown aspects aside what's so exciting about GX7 compared to OMD,  E-P5 with VF4 or Nex-6/7 except for tilting EVF?

klopus asked
11 months ago

ANSWERS

Its new. Continue Reading

thk0 answered
11 months ago

built in EVF, articulated LCD, silent shooting mode (who else other than leaf shutter cameras are having that around?), excellent video, built in flash *and* flash socket (you can use the EVF + an external flash at the same time- what a concept no? :-) ) - and the price being significantly cheaper than the Pen5 + EVF attachment (and it's not an attachment). OH yeah, the design, design, design. Continue Reading

Raist3d answered
11 months ago

Every time Olympus or Panasonic released a rangefinder shaped camera there were a lot of people asking for a rangefinder styled camera with a top corner EVF, tilting screen and IBIS in a compact body. I guess now that Panasonic has delivered all those people are getting pretty excited about it (apart from the ones who now thing it's too big or too expensive ;-) ) Continue Reading

Andy Crowe answered
11 months ago

QUESTION

Help me decide: GX7 vs. E-M10 / Oly 25 1.8 vs. Pana 20 1.7 II / wide-angle + tele

Good Day to everybody on the forums, I just signed up, because I'm seriously looking into buying into the micro four thirds system. My main reason is - as probably for most users - the size / weight advantage. So far I'm using a Nikon D7000 on which my favorite (most used) lenses are the 35 1.8 and the 85 1.4 . I use those lenses mainly for taking pictures of my two kids (1 and 3 yr. old). Besides those I have a Tokina 11-16 2.8, the 105 2.8 macro (mostly used for portraits) and Nikon 70-300 VR. Also I own an Olympus XZ-2 which is used primarily for hiking. The Nikon system burdens me with it's weight. On the other hand, I often miss longer and shorter focal lengths and the possibility of shallow DOF on my Olympus XZ-2 . Plus I just like the ergonomics / handling on my Nikon as I have rather large hands. So I'm looking for something "in the middle" / to replace my Nikon. To make sure, I'd take the camera (and lenses!) with me, I was thinking of putting up a maximum weight ...

pheaps asked
5 months ago

ANSWERS

My thoughts, for what they are worth: You won't regret the 25mm f1.8- it is a very good lens. The 20mm pancake is good too, but some users complain that the slower AF occasionally costs them shots of their kids or other moving subjects. In my opinion the size difference between the two lenses is small enough that I would choose the 25mm f1.8 over the slower focusing 20mm f1.7. If you might like to do some macro photography consider the Oly 60mm f2.8 macro as your portrait lens as well. It would be a closer match to the perspective of the 85 f1.4, but the max aperture of 2.8 won't give as shallow DOF as faster lenses. Still, I have been happy with it's performance for all three of your use cases, and although it looks long it comes in at under 200g. Otherwise, the 45mm f1.8 is compact and performs very well, and would be my choice for a compact/lightweight kit. Continue Reading

Wesley Byrne answered
5 months ago

Are you comfortable that these two choices would suit your needs around handling?  I have GX7 and like the handling, but my hands are small-medium.  I used to have GH3 and it had much better handling to me. Continue Reading

Tim200 answered
5 months ago

I may be a bit biased toward Olympus as I've had more of their gear, but if I were starting from scratch and in your shoes, I'd probably get E-M10 9-18 25 1.8 45 1.8 Oly 40-150 I think the toughest decision here is the choice of a standard prime. I have the 20 1.7, and it's a great lens, sharp, and small. It is a little slow, which had me considering switching to the 17 1.8 or 25 1.8. Honestly though, the biggest factor for me is the banding. I get pretty nasty banding at high ISOs with my e-pm2, and the E-M10 shares a similar, if not identical, sensor. I would not recommend the 20mm 1.7 for that reason. 25mm 1.8 would probably be the way to go, as the 9-18 covers 17mm, and the 25 will give you enough DOF control to give you some pleasing background separation. Hope that helps! Continue Reading

rpm40 answered
5 months ago

QUESTION

How to get focus peaking highlights to show on GX7?

I'm trying to explain how to use a GX7 to family on the other side of the world when I don't have a GX7 myself! I've gotten them to attach an old manual lens to the GX7 via adapter, enable shoot w/o lens and flip the MF switch. The focus peaking shows when they spin the focus ring on an auto-focus lens, but they don't see it with the manual lens. Do they have to activate the magnified view? Is there a button or something that needs to be pressed to activate focus peaking? Does the AF/MF switch have to be in the MF position? Thanks for putting up with the rather silly questions! I've Googled and browsed forums to no avail on this one.

ycul asked
7 months ago

ANSWERS

On my GX7 focus peaking shows whenever it is on, not just when you turn the focus ring. I use it on my voightlander all the time without an electrical connection. Continue Reading

MrWalrusGumboot answered
7 months ago

I believe the AF/MF switch needs to be in MF position. Continue Reading

jhinkey answered
7 months ago

They also need to make sure that focus peaking is turned on. To check, go to the Custom Set Menu (icon is a spanner/wrench with a C) On page 4 there is the option of 'Peaking' Go to set, choose the detect level as 'Low' (this will provide more of a peak to get him/her started) Then choose the preferred display colour. Press Fn2 to return, and ensure Peaking is selected as on. You should be good to go! Continue Reading

MrWalrusGumboot answered
7 months ago

Compatible Products

Warranty Information

"If your product does not work properly because of a defect in materials or workmanship, Panasonic Consumer Electronics Company or Panasonic Puerto Rico, Inc. (collectively referred to as “the warrantor”) will, for the length of the period indicated on the chart below, which starts with the date of original purchase (“warranty period”), at its option either (a) repair your product with new or refurbished parts, or (b) replace it with a new or refurbished product. The decision to repair or replace will be made by the warrantor."

PRODUCT OR PART NAME PARTS LABOR
DIGITAL STILL CAMERA 1 (ONE) YEAR 1 (ONE) YEAR
CCD 6 (SIX) MONTHS 90 (NINETY) DAYS
RECHARGEABLE BATTERY PACK (IN EXCHANGE FOR DEFECTIVE BATTERY PACK) 90 (NINETY) DAYS NOT APPLICABLE


Go to Panasonic's warranty page for more information or register your product here. DPReview GearShop is an authorized Panasonic dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.