Panasonic Leica DG Macro-Elmarit 45mm F2.8 ASPH OIS Lens (Micro Four Thirds Mount)

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Silver Award
It's a very appealing little lens, and its diminutive size captures the gestalt of the format perfectly. Optically it is, if not quite top of the class, still very competent indeed”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 45mm focal length
  • 90mm equivalent focal length on Micro Four Thirds cameras
  • F2.8 maximum aperture; F22 minimum
  • Image stabilization, OIS
  • 46mm filters
  • 0.15m/5.91" minimum focus
  • Micro Four Thirds mount for Micro Four Thirds interchangeable lens cameras

Product Description

Panasonic's first Leica-branded lens for Micro Four Thirds is a tiny internal focusing macro capable of true 1:1 magnification. Like its sibling it fits a lot into a very small space; the 45mm measures just 2.5" in each dimension, yet manages to to incorporate optical image stabilization. This lens can focus to just 0.15m without changing in length - a feat made possible by a complex internal focusing system which uses three groups in a floating arrangement. Optically it's very good indeed, but the image stabilisation system isn't the most effective especially at macro distances.

Specs

Principal specifications
Lens type Prime lens
Max Format size FourThirds
Focal length 45 mm
Image stabilisation Yes (OIS)
Lens mount Micro Four Thirds
Aperture
Maximum aperture F2.8
Minimum aperture F22.0
Aperture ring No
Number of diaphragm blades 7
Aperture notes rounded blades
Optics
Elements 14
Groups 10
Special elements / coatings 1 Aspherical element 1 ED element
Focus
Minimum focus 0.15 m (5.91)
Maximum magnification 1×
Autofocus Yes
Motor type Micromotor
Full time manual Yes
Focus method Internal
Focus notes 'focus by wire' manual focus
Distance scale No
DoF scale No
Physical
Weight 225 g (0.50 lb)
Diameter 63 mm (2.48)
Length 63 mm (2.46)
Materials metal mount
Colour Black
Filter thread 46 mm
Filter notes Does not rotate on focus
Hood supplied Yes
Tripod collar No

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other lenses in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Build Quality
Ergonomics and Handling
Features
Image Quality
Value
Silver Award
Silver Award

In many regards the Leica DG Macro-Elmarit 45mm F2.8 ASPH is a very appealing little lens, and its diminutive size captures the gestalt of the format perfectly. Optically it is, if not quite top of the class, still very competent indeed - and the 1:1 magnification offers intriguing creative possibilities.

Good For

True 1:1 macro work, where this lens's strengths really shine.

Not So Good For

Everyday photography, where the somewhat ineffective O.I.S. stabilization and relatively slow maximum aperture are limiting.

User Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
  • cameraclips, Oct 17, 2013 GMT:
    Panasonic Leica DG Macro-Elmarit 45mm F2.8 ASPH OIS

    I think this is one of the best lenses I have ever owned. I use it with my Olympus EN5 and it provides me with amazing results. My preference is for taking very close flower macro's and this lens certainly delivers. I almost never have a dud shot, which makes it hard to choose which might be the best out of several of the same subject. It also takes very good, more distant shots, plus it's small and light. I'd give it 10 out of 10.  :-)

    Continue Reading

  • Alan Ernst, Mar 4, 2014 GMT:
    Good but overpriced

    A very good lens, but maximum aperture of 2.8 is disappointing. The Olympus FT macro opens to f2.0, is't much larger, costs far less money while offering optical performance at least as good if not better. Clearly the Leica name alone is not worth the extra money...

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Does it fit inside a Domke F-5XA?

Hello, I have just sold my Canon T2i, and I'm waiting for my Lumix GF6 with 14-42mm PZ lens kit to be delivered. I am looking for the smallest possible bag that would fit this kit, a 45-175mm PZ, a 45mm f2.8 (if possible), one extra battery, wallet, passport, and most importantly an iPad mini in a Apple Smart Case. I am especially looking for something that doesn't look like a camera bag, as I will carry this thing with me all the time. Would the F-5XA be able to fit these things (most worried about the iPad mini)? If not, would the F-5XB be a better choice? Thanks a lot.

iamariei asked
1 year ago

ANSWERS

QUESTION

Advice needed for next purchase

I am about to come into some money that I want to invest in improving the quality of my images. My budget will be about $1000, and maybe $1200 maximum.  I'm not a pro, just an enthusiast that likes to take pictures. I currently have the following equipment: Panasonic G5 camera 14-45mm f/3.5-5.6 standard zoom 45-175mm f/4-5.6 power zoom 100-300mm f/4-5.6 long tele zoom 25mm f/1.4 PanaLeica fast prime 45mm f/2.8 PanaLeica macro (which I also use for some portraits and as a short tele). I shoot sometimes in jpeg, sometimes in RAW, depending on how much time I want to dedicate to post-processing with Silkypix (I've never tried Lightroom).  Shooting in jpeg does require more time in preparation/camera settings/pre-processing, but less time in post.  The G5 allows me to preset 4 custom modes to save time, and I'm not above using some of the "scene modes" or "creative modes" that come with the camera.  You can look at my gallery to see the kinds of things I shoot, but it's a bit of ...

Torogoz asked
1 year ago

ANSWERS

You have a nice kit of gear there. Before you spend more money on MORE gear, you may want to do an assessment of what you are looking for that your current gear does not give you? Unless you know what you are looking for, and why, then you are just going to be spending money without necessarily optimizing your returns.... Given that, I would ask yourself: (1) What are my most frequent shooting situations (low light, night, portrait, wide angle, scenery...)? (2) With the gear I have now, what do I find I can't do that I want to? (3) Do I find I am always looking for a particular lens, or focal length that I don't have now? (4) What are the most consistent problems I am having (blur, focus, noise) Continue Reading

jalywol answered
1 year ago

You have a nice kit. If you can't decide what you want, perhaps the best suggestion is to sit on the money until you can. Or don't buy any new gear? Buy a ticket somewhere, $1000 will get you pretty far. Continue Reading

Ulric answered
1 year ago

[snip equipment] What do you mean "improve the quality of my images"? What size prints do you require?  Because with that range of equipment, I would suspect that there is something wrong with your technique rather than the equipment. I have used (and still use) a Panasonic G1 and recently a OMD E-M5, and I have had no difficulty getting prints up to 24" x 20" - from a good image - and good means noc camera shake and proper exposure. I got the OMD for low light stuff where the noise on the G1 obtruded. So please explain your technique and types of images rather than going on about how much to spend!! :-( Mike Continue Reading

Michael J Davis answered
1 year ago

QUESTION

Macro Lens for Table Top Videos?

Sup fellas, I'm in the market for a macro lens so that I can take table top video reviews like this . That video was recorded with a omd + pana 12-35 f2.8 , which is the only lens I have now, but I find that it's a little awkward because of the minimal focal distance, so I'm looking for a proper macro lens. Concerns.. - That video was recorded at 12mm, which is doable, but I fine that the widest proper macro lens on the m43 is the olympus 35mm, which...is absent from shopatolympus.com? - Not sure about the macro performance on the 12-50 kit lens @ 12mm, most of the reviews I see are always taking their shots at the longer focal lengths. I also saw the description saying 'macro at 7 inches', which is like further than my 12-35 ...so what's going on? I was assuming macro mode meant that you could bring it real close... I thought of getting a handycam which does macro really well, no doubt, but I thought that if the same amount of money could be used on a useful macro, why not? Oly's ...

1 year ago

ANSWERS

This hasn't been answered yet, so I'll give it a try. First, a macro lens technically means the image on the sensor is at least as big as real life. When it's the same size, it's a 1:1 macro. The 1:1 ratio is the actual size : the the size on the sensor. It also can be expressed as a 1x magnification factor. If the image on the sensor is bigger than real life, then it's a 2:1 or 4:1 (2x or 4x, respectively) lens. And some lenses call themselves macro, but don't meet the definition, such as Olympus' 50mm macro, with a 1:2 (0.5x) magnification. Note that the macro definition ignores crop factors, so the Olympus' 50mm 1:2 macro results in a picture much the same final size as a FF 1:1 macro lens (on a FF camera with the same resolution). Now, there are two factors in how large the image on the sensor is: how close you can get, and the lens's focal length. A 12mm macro has to get about 4x closer than a 50mm macro would to get the same 1:1 ratio. And the opposite is true too: a wide ... Continue Reading

uRebel Rob answered
1 year ago

Thanks for the extremely informative reply! I guess I was thinking too much about the macro's ability to focus on very near objects. Yeap, a wide angle with a nearer focusing distance would be what I need. I recently upgraded to the em1 and its corresponding oly 12-40, which has a shorter focusing distance than my previous pany 12-35. Still can get as close as I want, but for my intended purpose, I think it does its job reasonably well. Thanks again =) Continue Reading

shadowoflight answered
10 months ago

There are some native M4/3 manual lenses that have short focus distances. It seems you need close-up ability, not true macro, based on the video. The SLR Magic Hyperprime CINE 12mm T1.6 and Voigtländer 25mm f0.95 both have a minimum focus distance of about 6". A longer focal length may be problematic and of course, manual focus presents a different set of challenges while shooting video Of the sort you show. Continue Reading

jeffharris answered
10 months ago

Warranty Information

"If your product does not work properly because of a defect in materials or workmanship, Panasonic Consumer Electronics Company or Panasonic Puerto Rico, Inc. (collectively referred to as “the warrantor”) will, for the length of the period indicated on the chart below, which starts with the date of original purchase (“warranty period”), at its option either (a) repair your product with new or refurbished parts, or (b) replace it with a new or refurbished product. The decision to repair or replace will be made by the warrantor."

PRODUCT OR PART NAME PARTS LABOR
DIGITAL STILL CAMERA 1 (ONE) YEAR 1 (ONE) YEAR
CCD 6 (SIX) MONTHS 90 (NINETY) DAYS
RECHARGEABLE BATTERY PACK (IN EXCHANGE FOR DEFECTIVE BATTERY PACK) 90 (NINETY) DAYS NOT APPLICABLE


Go to Panasonic's warranty page for more information or register your product here. DPReview GearShop is an authorized Panasonic dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.