Panasonic Lumix G 20mm f/1.7 II ASPH Lens (Micro Four Thirds)

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Key Features

  • 20mm focal length
  • 40mm equivalent focal length on Micro Four Thirds cameras
  • F1.7 maximum aperture; F16 minimum
  • 46mm filters
  • 0.20m/7.87" minimum focus
  • Micro Four Thirds mount for Micro Four Thirds interchangeable lens cameras
  • New metal construction
  • Lighter and smaller than previous version

Product Description

The Lumix G 20mm F1.7 II ASPH is an updated version of Panasonic's much loved pancake lens for its Micro Four Thirds cameras, featuring a new metallic barrel design in either black or silver. Optically it's the same as its predecessor, which is to say excellent. With its 40mm equivalent angle of view and 20cm minimum focus distance, it's an excellent choice for general-purpose use.

Specs

Principal specifications
Lens type Prime lens
Max Format size FourThirds
Focal length 20 mm
Image stabilisation No
Lens mount Micro Four Thirds
Aperture
Maximum aperture F1.7
Minimum aperture F16.0
Aperture ring No
Number of diaphragm blades 7
Aperture notes Circular aperture diaphragm
Optics
Elements 7
Groups 5
Special elements / coatings 2 aspherical elements
Focus
Minimum focus 0.20 m (7.87)
Maximum magnification 0.13×
Autofocus Yes
Motor type Micromotor
Full time manual Yes
Physical
Weight 87 g (0.19 lb)
Diameter 63 mm (2.48)
Length 26 mm (1)
Materials Metal barrel, metal mount
Colour Silver or Black
Filter thread 46 mm
Filter notes does not rotate on focus
Hood supplied No

Reviews

User Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
  • Alan Ernst, Mar 22, 2014 GMT:
    A good lens, but pricey

    Just purchased this lens to replace my old one which was lost/stolen. Whereas I was not convinced with the quality of the old model, I am satisfied with the new version. Interestingly, DxO gives this new lens a slightly lower sharpness rating than the old one, which would confirm that my old lens was a dud... Here are my findings for my 20mm f1.7 II: Sharpness in the centre is mostly very good from wide open to f8; ok at f11 but rapidly decreasing at smaller apertures. Edge and corner ...

    Continue Reading

  • GeorgeZZ, Apr 14, 2014 GMT:
    Finally got the new 20mm for my epl5.

    I upgraded from a P&S to the epl5 half a year ago. Being a student, I don't want to spend too much on fancy lenses without the skill to make the most out of them. So I started with the kit lense and Oly40-150R. Now that I've learned the basics I decided it's time to own my first prime. I bought a de-kitted 20mm II for 1800RMB, or 290USD. It's not the cheapest prime or pancake, but it serve the most purposes. It's going to be my walk-around pancake, my low-light lens and my environmental ...

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Panasonic GM1 compared to NEX-5R. Should I consider switch?

New Panasonic Lumix GM1 seems very interesting. I am thinking if I should switch from NEX to GM1... I have Sony NEX-5R with SEL 35mm f1.8 and SEL 18-200LE. 35mm is what I normally use. However, I would like something more wide and better for close-ups. Zeiss 24 mm would be ideal, except the price and size. Small size is important to me: I want to take camera with me for my business trips here in Europe. These are usually short trips, 1-2 days. I need to travel light with hand baggage only. During business trips I am able to take photos only in evenings. So good low light performance is a must. Because Zeiss 24mm is so expensive, I was thinking other options. Then I noticed GM1. I am most interested in GM1 kit having both 12-32 and 20mm + handgrip. How would the image quality be compared to my NEX, I suppose no big difference? Is GM1 with 20mm on par with NEX-5R+SEL35F18 in low light? Size. I haven't been able to see GM1 live yet. But based on what I have read and seen on web, camera ...

oorraine asked
3 months ago

ANSWERS

Hi I so not have the NEX, but I have the GM1 and EM-5 so can make some observations. Honestly, I think sticking with what you have and getting the lens you want and need is the better option for you. The GM1 with the kit lens and the 20mm and 45mm for low light is great, but it is a 2nd body for me and I can step up to the EM5 when I need to. If you were using something a lot bigger and wanted something a lot smaller for travel then yes, but that is not the case for you. I also think it would be nice if the GM1 could use usb to charge. Continue Reading

berni29 answered
3 months ago

Thank you, it is good to hear this from owner of GM1. I start to hunt second hand Zeiss 24mm. And maybe I still find a store having GM1 available, just to check its size myself. Of course more opinions are still welcome. Continue Reading

oorraine answered
3 months ago

A lot of people (including myself) absolutely fall in love with the GM1 when they see it and first use it.  It is not a stripped down camera and does so many amazing things...and can fit in many people's pockets. The silent shutter is what really got me.   In perfectly quiet setting no one knows you are taking a picture and no one is distracted. Either way, enjoy your choice! Continue Reading

Lab D answered
3 months ago

QUESTION

Does anyone have the Voigtlander 21mm f/1.8 Ultron?

How well does it perform (sharpness, corners, purple fringing)? AF aside, how well does it fare against the native Panasonic 20/1.7? Thanks in advance!

Adrian Tung asked
3 months ago

ANSWERS

I haven't used the 21mm Ultron, but have had my eye on it. From what I've read, the 28mm f2 Ultron is also very good. Here's a review: http://lavidaleica.com/content/voigtl%C3%A4nder-21mm-f18-ultron The Voigtländers I've adapted are the Nokton Classic 35mm f 1.4 and 75mm f2.5 Color Heliar. I tend not to agonize too much over sharpness and such, but both lenses perform beautifully on my GH2 and GX7. I use them for their excellent rendering and sharpness, even wide open. You should be very pleased with it. Beware, Voigtländer addiction is real! ;-) Continue Reading

jeffharris answered
3 months ago

Thanks. I was actually hoping for a direct comparison between the 21/1.8 and 20/1.7, because their focal lengths are very similar enough and since I have several legacy lenses along with a single native 20/1.7, it would be more convenient to completely go fully legacy and leaving the M-to-m4/3 adapter on my GX7 than keep swapping it around depending on what focal length I want mounted. Continue Reading

Adrian Tung answered
3 months ago

Warranty Information

"If your product does not work properly because of a defect in materials or workmanship, Panasonic Consumer Electronics Company or Panasonic Puerto Rico, Inc. (collectively referred to as “the warrantor”) will, for the length of the period indicated on the chart below, which starts with the date of original purchase (“warranty period”), at its option either (a) repair your product with new or refurbished parts, or (b) replace it with a new or refurbished product. The decision to repair or replace will be made by the warrantor."

PRODUCT OR PART NAME PARTS LABOR
DIGITAL STILL CAMERA 1 (ONE) YEAR 1 (ONE) YEAR
CCD 6 (SIX) MONTHS 90 (NINETY) DAYS
RECHARGEABLE BATTERY PACK (IN EXCHANGE FOR DEFECTIVE BATTERY PACK) 90 (NINETY) DAYS NOT APPLICABLE


Go to Panasonic's warranty page for more information or register your product here. DPReview GearShop is an authorized Panasonic dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.