Panasonic Lumix 14mm f/2.5 G Aspherical Lens (Micro Four Thirds Mount)

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Tried & Tested

Key Features

  • 14mm focal length
  • 28mm equivalent focal length on Micro Four Thirds cameras
  • F2.5 maximum aperture; F22 minimum
  • 46mm filters
  • 0.18m/7.09" minimum focus
  • Micro Four Thirds mount for Micro Four Thirds interchangeable lens cameras

Product Description

The Panasonic LUMIX G 14mm / F2.5 ASPH. features a 14mm (35 mm camera equivalent: 28mm) wide angle and a maximum aperture of F2.5. Comprising six elements in five groups including three aspherical lenses, the lens system offers high optical quality while being highly compact. The inclusion of stepping motor and inner focus drive system means silent, high speed AF - something that is also useful for video capture.

Specs

Principal specifications
Lens type Prime lens
Max Format size FourThirds
Focal length 14 mm
Image stabilisation No
Lens mount Micro Four Thirds
Aperture
Maximum aperture F2.5
Minimum aperture F22.0
Aperture ring No
Number of diaphragm blades 7
Aperture notes rounded diaphragm
Optics
Elements 6
Groups 5
Special elements / coatings 3 aspherical elements
Focus
Minimum focus 0.18 m (7.09)
Maximum magnification 0.1×
Autofocus Yes
Motor type Micromotor
Full time manual Yes
Focus method Internal
Distance scale No
DoF scale No
Physical
Weight 55 g (0.12 lb)
Diameter 56 mm (2.19)
Length 21 mm (0.81)
Filter thread 46 mm
Filter notes does not rotate on focusing
Hood supplied No
Hood product code n/a
Tripod collar No

Reviews

User Reviews

4.13333 out of 5 stars
  • holzmcgyver, Dec 27, 2012 GMT:
    A brilliant lens

    Im more convienced about using this lens, as i thought. The luminosity allows you to shoot photos inside rooms without a Flash, but thats clear. The Point is the brilliant kind of optic, if you take Pictures inside a room, you will see more facets of light, as you believe. Areas of light are not just bright, you will see more increments like in product photos of e.g. a techincal product. So i think you know the lens, cause it makes his Kind of Pictures, which allows you to get conclusion ...

    Continue Reading

  • linux99, Sep 26, 2012 GMT:
    Fast Focus - walkaround lens

    Get a lot of use from is as my "everyday" walk around lens. It's wide field of view lends itself to quick "snapshot" style photos of family, freinds and general small event photography. It's super fast to focus and relatively fast, so it's great for bars, clubs etc.

    Continue Reading

  • Makinations, Mar 24, 2013 GMT:
    Panasonic Lumix G 14mm f2.5 ASPH Review

    Need a tiny lens that is no better than the kit (any kit) lens and is marginally faster? Then this is your lens. Pros: (1) Size. (2) Focuses faster than the 20mm. (Oh, wait, did I suggest that the 20mm was somehow slower than any other lens on the planet? I'm sure I didn't mean that.) (3) I can make it roll the length of my desk.

    Continue Reading

  • jennajenna, Mar 25, 2013 GMT:
    excellent

    best value m43 lens. period.

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Zoom or 2 bodies?

Hi, I have D700 and several primes range from 20mm to 180mm but no zoom. I have a habit in using primes since film's day. I used to own some mid-range zooms and sold them because of an inconsistent in quality through out the zoom range (and focus range). After my son started to walk I've been having a hard time using a set of fix lens to snap the moments. I still love primes so I experiment with D700 paired with 105mm f2 DC and my wife's GF2 paired with 14mm f2.5 and the result is great! I have both wide angle and tele choices without having to change lens but I really don't like how GF2 render skin tone and a small raw headroom so I'm looking for other options. I saw many people here happy about 24-70mm f2.8 so I think I'm going to give it a try. Fast focus and high contrast render are indeed very interesting features. But then when I see a test from Nikon Coolpix A the image quality is so good that I can't stop thinking about it! So which setup is better in your opinion? D700 + ...

xteapot asked
7 months ago

ANSWERS

Really hard to say not knowing what you like to shoot. But if these are the only choices, I personally, would choose the D700+24-70/2.8. Of course there's LOTS more options you could consider and I'm sure you'll hear about them. :) Continue Reading

leighton w answered
7 months ago

leighton w wrote: Really hard to say not knowing what you like to shoot. But if these are the only choices, I personally, would choose the D700+24-70/2.8. Of course there's LOTS more options you could consider and I'm sure you'll hear about them. :) 90% of the time I shoot my family portrait so it 105mm f2 almost all the time. But for everything else I need another lens like 24mm f2.8 or 35mm f2. For a trip I usually bring most of my lenses with me so there's no problem there. Only for a daily family snap that I need a wide+tele solution. Thanks! Continue Reading

xteapot answered
7 months ago

xteapot wrote: leighton w wrote: Really hard to say not knowing what you like to shoot. But if these are the only choices, I personally, would choose the D700+24-70/2.8. Of course there's LOTS more options you could consider and I'm sure you'll hear about them. :) 90% of the time I shoot my family portrait so it 105mm f2 almost all the time. But for everything else I need another lens like 24mm f2.8 or 35mm f2. For a trip I usually bring most of my lenses with me so there's no problem there. Only for a daily family snap that I need a wide+tele solution. Thanks! If that's the case, I think I would consider the 24-120 f4. Continue Reading

leighton w answered
7 months ago

QUESTION

A little loss on the Panasonic Leica 14mm

Hi all, my birthday is near and i wanted to buy a new lens for my E-M5 camera, a wide angle one and i wanted to go with the Panasonic Leica 14mm f/2.5 and also the Samyang 7,5mm fish-eye lens. For the Samyang i don't have a problem with it, however i'm a little loss here with the Panasonic because i did find a two versions of it, one that have the version H-H014 and is about 150 euro, and the other has the version H-H014E and is about 390 euro, much twice the price!! I didn't find difference between them in the web, tough i did find that the H-H014 is only present in the product menu of the european version of the Panasonic site and the H-H014E is only present in the australian version of it??? Can anyone explain to me the difference? Can i go with the H-H014 without problem?? Thank you.

3 months ago

ANSWERS

Panasonic does not apply the Leica brand name to the 14/2.5, it is reserved for the 25/1.4, 45 macro, 42.5/1.2 and the forthcoming 15/1.7. The 14/2.5 is a 'Lumix G' lens. As far as I know there is really only one version of the 14mm lens. I bought mine off of ebay for 169 USD a few years ago, and they are still available. I'm assuming your 150 euro example is from the same pool of de-kitted examples. I know of no reason to prefer any other version, should it exist. The 7.5 Samyang is also a great lens. I'm sure you'll like both of them. Continue Reading

Steve_ answered
3 months ago

Not sure on the differences, but I do know that it is not a Panasonic Leica, but a Panasonic Lumix. Allegedly there are two versions of this lens regularly for sale, the retail version that comes with the storage pouch, and kit version, typically sold on eBay for low prices, because they are split out from kits. Often, the early GF2, GF3 cameras came with a 14 mm as a standard lens, and typically, but not always, they have a black body, as opposed to dark grey body of many individual retail Panasonic lenses. In it's US website, Panasonic lists it as an H-H014, whereas many non-US sites list the lens as a H-H014E. Probably some marketing designation, but I really don't know. EDIT:  BTW I have a black body kit lens that I got on eBay for about $150, and it is a great little lens, small, light, sharp, and fast focusing, though it does have vignetting as noted in most test reports. Continue Reading

Chas2 answered
3 months ago

Both lenses are exactly the same. The ones sold in kits with, e.g., GF3, had a black lens barrel, while the non-kit versions have a grey band around the base. They are otherwise the same. I have one of each version, and can confirm that they are identical. http://m43photo.blogspot.com/2011/01/comparison-lumix-14mm-vs-lumix-20mm.html Continue Reading

Fredrik Glckner answered
3 months ago

QUESTION

Vignetting when using a 52mm filter on a 46mm lens

Hi everybody, I'd just like to ask if anybody has experienced vignetting when using a step down (or is it up?) ring? I'm planning to use a 52mm filter on a 46mm lens. Planning to stick a 52mm Hoya HD CPL filter into a Pany 14mm f/2.5 lens. Thanks! Also: What are good step down/up rings brands? I was checking out the specs of different brands - B+W has "anti-reflective matt finish on the inside (which is important to avoid reflections between the front face of the ring and the back side of the filter); some of the generic ones have a much shinier paint job all over. B+W rings also feature a chamfer on the inner edge which helps avoid vignetting in cases where the field of view of the lens is very wide" do those things hold water or are they just marketing ploys? Thanks again!

alan092177 asked
3 months ago

ANSWERS

A 52mm on a 46mm lens should be O.K. Definitely buy the best step up ring(s) you can find. The cheap aluminum rings are a misery. They tend to jam on either the lens or camera, they have a crummy finish on the threads that tends to seriously abrade any threads they come in contact with, and they wear badly, depositing a fine dust of aluminum particles on the optics that can even work its way into your camera! Look for brass (bronze?) rings if you can find them. B+W makes good stuff. Continue Reading

hotdog321 answered
3 months ago

thanks for the answer. quite enlightening regarding the aluminum vs brass filter thread. i've experience this firsthand - the filter got stuck on the lens head i was trying out. it was actually left there and i left the store without knowing it. good thing i took a few pictures near the store and noticed it. otherwise some lucky individual would have gotten a free filter LOL Continue Reading

alan092177 answered
3 months ago

Warranty Information

"If your product does not work properly because of a defect in materials or workmanship, Panasonic Consumer Electronics Company or Panasonic Puerto Rico, Inc. (collectively referred to as “the warrantor”) will, for the length of the period indicated on the chart below, which starts with the date of original purchase (“warranty period”), at its option either (a) repair your product with new or refurbished parts, or (b) replace it with a new or refurbished product. The decision to repair or replace will be made by the warrantor."

PRODUCT OR PART NAME PARTS LABOR
DIGITAL STILL CAMERA 1 (ONE) YEAR 1 (ONE) YEAR
CCD 6 (SIX) MONTHS 90 (NINETY) DAYS
RECHARGEABLE BATTERY PACK (IN EXCHANGE FOR DEFECTIVE BATTERY PACK) 90 (NINETY) DAYS NOT APPLICABLE


Go to Panasonic's warranty page for more information or register your product here. DPReview GearShop is an authorized Panasonic dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.