Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ70 Compact Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Key Features

  • 16 MP 1/2.3-inch CMOS sensor
  • 20-1200mm F2.8-F5.9 equivalent lens with Power OIS stabilization (60x optical zoom)
  • ISO 100-3200 (expandable to 6400)
  • 1080 60i and 25/30 fps HD video (MPEG-4/AVCHD)
  • 3-inch fixed LCD with 460,000 dots
  • Electronic viewfinder with 202,000 dots
  • PSAM modes plus auto and scene modes
  • Creative Panorama, Creative Control, and Creative Retouch modes
  • Built-in zoomable microphone with built-in wind shield
  • Pop-up flash and hot shoe
  • RAW/RAW+JPEG
  • SD/SDHC/SDXC memory

Product Description

The Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ70 is a 16.1MP compact superzoom with a 60x optical zoom, spanning the equivalent of 20-1200mm. The FZ70's zoom lens has a maximum aperture range of F2.8-5.9, and the camera introduces a new 1/2.3-inch CMOS sensor capable of 1080 HD 60i video. A wind shield built into the camera's stereo microphone is designed to improve sound quality on windy days (Panasonic claims a 70% improvement in signal-to-noise ratio), and the microphone itself is designed to 'zoom' with the lens.

Specs

Body type
Body type SLR-like (bridge)
Sensor
Max resolution 4608 x 3456
Other resolutions 4608 x 3072, 4608 x 2592, 3648 x 2736, 3648 x 2432, 3072 x 2048, 3072 x 2304, 3072 x 1728, 2736 x 2736, 2560 x 1920, 2560 x 1712, 2560 x 1440, 2304 x 2304 , 2048 x 1536, 2048 x 1360, 1920 x 1920 , 1920 x 1080, 1536 x 1536, 640 x 480, 640 x 424, 640 x 360, 480 x 480
Image ratio w:h 1:1, 4:3, 3:2, 16:9
Effective pixels 16 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 17 megapixels
Sensor size 1/2.3" (6.17 x 4.55 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
Processor Venus Engine
Image
ISO Auto, 100, 200, 400, 800, 1600, 3200, (6400 with boost)
White balance presets 5
Custom white balance Yes (2)
Image stabilization Optical
Image stabilization notes Power O.I.S
Uncompressed format RAW
JPEG quality levels Fine, Standard
Optics & Focus
Focal length (equiv.) 20–1200 mm
Optical zoom 60×
Maximum aperture F2.8 - F5.9
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Multi-area
  • Center
  • Tracking
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Face Detection
Digital zoom Yes (2x)
Manual focus Yes
Normal focus range 30 cm (11.81)
Macro focus range 1 cm (0.39)
Number of focus points 23
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fixed
Screen size 3
Screen dots 460,000
Touch screen No
Screen type TFT Screen LCD Display
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type Electronic
Viewfinder coverage 100%
Viewfinder resolution 202,000
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 8 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/2000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes (Pop-up)
Flash range 13.50 m
External flash Yes
Flash modes Auto, On, Off, Red-eye, Slow Sync
Continuous drive 9 fps
Self-timer Yes (2 or 10 secs)
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Spot
Exposure compensation ±3 (at 1/3 EV steps)
AE Bracketing ±3 (3 frames at 1/3 EV steps)
WB Bracketing No
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (50i/60i, 25p/30p), 1280 x 720p (50p/60p or 25p/30p), 640 x 480 (25p/30p)
Format MPEG-4, AVCHD
Videography notes 1920 x 1080 pixels, 60i and 50i (FSH: 17Mbps / AVCHD) (Sensor Output is 25/30fps) ; 1280 x 720 pixels 50p/60p (SH: 17Mbps / AVCHD) (Sensor Output is 25/30fps) ; 1920 x 1080 pixels, 25/30 fps (FHD: 20Mbps / MP4) (Sensor Output is 25/30fps), 1280 x 720 pixels, 25/30 fps (HD: 10Mbps / MP4) (Sensor Output is 25/30fps)
Microphone Stereo
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC, Internal
Storage included 200 MB internal
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (mini )
Remote control Yes (Optional DMW-RSL1)
Physical
Environmentally sealed No
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description Lithium-Ion rechargeable battery & charger
Battery Life (CIPA) 400
Weight (inc. batteries) 606 g (1.34 lb / 21.38 oz)
Dimensions 130 x 97 x 118 mm (5.12 x 3.82 x 4.65)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
Timelapse recording No
GPS None

Reviews

User Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
  • pbrandt3, Sep 2, 2013 GMT:
    Low light noise

    has anyone done a low light noise test ? all the sample gallery pix were taken with good light so theres no clue in the gallery !

    Continue Reading

  • John Miles, Oct 17, 2013 GMT:
    DMC FZ70 - rated FZ50 (-3)

    http://www.dpreview.com/forums/post/52339583 To employ a manual lens would create speed and accuracy in composition, as would a front wheel under the shutter dedicated to the instant EV adjustment small sensors demand; that retains the thumb for camera grip and steadying duties.

    Continue Reading

  • Pranay Verma, Dec 22, 2013 GMT:
    FZ70 has Good Images but moving subject Video gets out of focus

    The camera FZ70 is good and easy to use. 60X Zoom, Aperture Priority, Panasonic FZ70. This was shot in the night using a tripod and a timer of 10 seconds and without a flash. The subject was about 250 metres away. The camera is easy to use. Good for travel photos. 30X zoom, Aperture Priority, Panasonic FZ70. This was shot in the night using a tripod and a timer of 10 secs and no flash. The subject was 100 metres away

    Continue Reading

  • Pranay Verma, Dec 24, 2013 GMT:
    Video Zoom Tests for Panasonic DMC-FZ70 during lights and in the dark

    I have done two zoom tests at 60X and less during the day and in the dark. The day zoom is fantastic with no complaints. In the dark, at 60X zoom, the auto focus tracking is an issue. The noise of wind is reduced drastically. See the links to check for your self. Panasonic DMC FZ70 zoom test at 60X during the day Panasonic DMC-FZ70 Zoom test at 60X in the dark I hope it helps in you making a choice. It is a fantastic equipment for travel photography.

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

How to shoot fireworks.

I'll be at the Cherry Blossom Festival Saturday. Set. night there are fireworks. Any suggestion for FZ70 settings for fireworks photos? My fallback is to use the Starry Night scene mode.

Briansdad1 asked
19 days ago

ANSWERS

FWIW: The links below are to Galleries set in Slideshow view.. Upon your arrival, I recommend immediately moving your cursor to the bottom & setting duration to 1sec instead of the 3 sec duration it will be in... My 1st Attempt (Olympus c2100uz) P mode, from a R/R bridge somewhere around a 1/2 mile to a mile away..... Camera more or less on the bridge rail for stabilization... I forget how I set focus or if it was just AF. I was very ignorant in the ways of editing so all exif was lost but I'll assume the exif was similar to this: My 2nd Attempt (Olympus e100rs): ( These two cameras are nearly identical in much the same way as the Fz30 & 50 are ) This set I set exp. manually although mostly just the time with aperture pretty much wide open. Focus was set on a tower roughly a similar distance away, this time probably a half-mile or less away which probably boiled down to infinity. This time Camera for the most part braced on a rock & rather than trying to time each individual shot ... Continue Reading

Rossuziers answered
18 days ago

Last time I shot fireworks, I used a shutter speed of 1/10 second for stills, and just used the best video settings for videos. The real trick is timing, especially on stills. Burst mode helps. Edit: Many experts recommend longer exposures to get those long trails, but to me that cliche wears thin after awhile. Continue Reading

dale thorn answered
19 days ago

Thanks for the comeback. Does aperture matter? Continue Reading

Briansdad1 answered
19 days ago

QUESTION

DxO compatibility?

I downloaded a trial version of DxO (not a big fan of Silkypix, though I use it). It doesn't interpret the RW2 files from my FZ70. seems it requires some sort of specialliezed target to shot  in order to build a profile of my camera. Can anyone enlighten me? Bill

Briansdad1 asked
3 days ago

ANSWERS

Update to the latest version via Help/Check for update You can see your version via Help/About 9.1.4 build 1829 (64 bit) does support FZ70 Continue Reading

sherman_levine answered
3 days ago

Thanks, Sherm. Continue Reading

Briansdad1 answered
3 days ago

QUESTION

Extended Exposer Time, 8+

The FZ70 will take up to an 8 sec. exposure. Is there a way to "stack" multiple images, multiplying exposures, to simulate longer exposure times, in effect, create a "Bulb" functionality? (My gut says "No" but maybe someone knows a way.)

Briansdad1 asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

http://www.dpreview.com/forums/thread/3381787 Sherm Continue Reading

sherman_levine answered
1 month ago

Sherman, that thread is about cleaning up digital noise. I've actually implemented that on some moon photos that I'm going to post later. What I'm looking for is increase exposure time, to simulate having a, say, 2 minute exposure buy combining images. I probably should be asking this question in a forum that specializes in my the software I'm using - Corel PaintShop Pro X6. Continue Reading

Briansdad1 answered
1 month ago

What are you trying to accomplish with the very long exposure? Sherm Continue Reading

sherman_levine answered
1 month ago

Warranty Information

"If your product does not work properly because of a defect in materials or workmanship, Panasonic Consumer Electronics Company or Panasonic Puerto Rico, Inc. (collectively referred to as “the warrantor”) will, for the length of the period indicated on the chart below, which starts with the date of original purchase (“warranty period”), at its option either (a) repair your product with new or refurbished parts, or (b) replace it with a new or refurbished product. The decision to repair or replace will be made by the warrantor."

PRODUCT OR PART NAME PARTS LABOR
DIGITAL STILL CAMERA 1 (ONE) YEAR 1 (ONE) YEAR
CCD 6 (SIX) MONTHS 90 (NINETY) DAYS
RECHARGEABLE BATTERY PACK (IN EXCHANGE FOR DEFECTIVE BATTERY PACK) 90 (NINETY) DAYS NOT APPLICABLE


Go to Panasonic's warranty page for more information or register your product here. DPReview GearShop is an authorized Panasonic dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.