Panasonic Lumix DMC-G5 Mirrorless Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Key Features

  • 16.1MP Live MOS Micro Four Thirds sensor
  • 6 frames per second continuous shooting
  • 23-area contrast AF with touch focus
  • ISO 160-12,800
  • 1080 HD video
  • Articulated 3.0 inch touchscreen LCD with 920,000 dots
  • Electronic viewfinder with 1,440,000 dots
  • Raw and Raw + JPEG shooting
  • Pop-up flash with hot shoe
  • SD/SDHC/SDXC card slot

Product Description

The 16MP Panasonic Lumix DMC-G5 adheres to a traditional SLR styling, even though its viewfinder is electronic. It is equipped with a 16.1MP Micro Four Thirds sensor, and offers 1080p HD video, and a fully articulated 3.0-inch LCD with 920k dots. Burst shooting is available at 6 frames per second in single AF mode, and up to 3.7 fps with continuous AF. The G5 provides a wide selection of in-camera filter modes including new Cross Process and Soft Focus effects. A customizable function lever has been added to the camera's top panel, offering control over power zoom on compatible lenses. The G5 is equipped with a pop-up built in flash and a hotshoe for compatible flash units, as well as a pair of stereo microphones.

Specs

Body type
Body type SLR-style mirrorless
Sensor
Max resolution 4608 x 3456
Other resolutions 4608x3456, 3264x2448, 2336x1752, 4608x3072, 3264x2176, 2336x1560, 4608x2592, 3264x1840, 1920x1080, 3456x3456, 2448x2448, 1744x1744, 1712x1712
Image ratio w:h 1:1, 4:3, 3:2, 16:9
Effective pixels 16 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 18 megapixels
Sensor size Four Thirds (17.3 x 13 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
Processor Venus Engine VII FHD
Image
ISO Auto, 160, 200, 400, 800, 1600, 3200, 6400, 12800
White balance presets 5
Custom white balance Yes (2)
Image stabilization Optical
Uncompressed format RAW
JPEG quality levels Fine, Standard
Optics & Focus
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Multi-area
  • Selective single-point
  • Tracking
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Touch
  • Face Detection
  • Live View
Digital zoom Yes (2x, 4x)
Manual focus Yes
Number of focus points 23
Lens mount Micro 4/3 Lens Mount
Focal length multiplier 2×
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fully articulated
Screen size 3
Screen dots 920,000
Touch screen Yes
Screen type TFT Color LCD with wide-viewing angle
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type Electronic
Viewfinder coverage 100%
Viewfinder magnification 1.4×
Viewfinder resolution 1,440,000
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 60 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/4000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes (Pop-up)
Flash range 10.50 m
External flash Yes (Hot-shoe)
Flash modes Auto, On, Off, Red-Eye, Slow Sync
Continuous drive 6 fps
Self-timer Yes (2 or 10 sec, 10 sec (3 images))
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Spot
Exposure compensation ±5 (at 1/3 EV steps)
AE Bracketing ±3 (3, 5, 7 frames at 1/3 EV, 2/3 EV, 1 EV steps)
WB Bracketing Yes (3 frames in either blue/amber or magenta/green axis)
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (60, 50, 30, 25fps) 1280 x 720 (60, 50, 30, 25fps), 640 x 480 (30, 25fps
Format MPEG-4, AVCHD
Videography notes 1920 x 1080, 60p, 50p (sensor output is 60p, 50p) (PSH: 28Mbps) ; 1920 × 1080, 60i,50i (sensor output is 60p, 50p) (FSH: 17Mbps) ; 1920 x 1080, 30p,25p (sensor output is 60p, 25p) (FPH: 17Mbps) ; 1280 x 720, 60p, 50p (sensor output is 60p, 25p) (SH: 17Mbps)
Microphone Stereo
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC
Storage included None
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (Mini HDMI Type C)
Remote control Yes (Optional DMW-RSL1)
Physical
Environmentally sealed No
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description Lithium-Ion rechargeable battery & charger
Battery Life (CIPA) 320
Weight (inc. batteries) 396 g (0.87 lb / 13.97 oz)
Dimensions 120 x 83 x 71 mm (4.72 x 3.27 x 2.8)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
Timelapse recording No
GPS None

Reviews

User Reviews

3.67143 out of 5 stars
  • minktoast, Feb 11, 2013 GMT:
    My favourite camera so far...

    I'm surprised there aren't more thoughtful reviews of the G5 on dpreview. In my experience it's everything a modern mid-range mirrorless camera should be. For context my previous cameras were: Nikon D50, Nikon D80, Canon 40D and a Pentax K-x. You'll notice that these are all DSLR's. In 2013 I decided it was time to move away from a camera with a mirror. But I wanted a good quality screen and EVF to take advantage of a mirrorless system. I considered the NEX-6 and OM-D E-M5 but they were both ...

    Continue Reading

  • minktoast, Feb 11, 2013 GMT:
    My favourite camera so far...

    I'm surprised there aren't more thoughtful reviews of the G5 on dpreview. In my experience it's everything a modern mid-range mirrorless camera should be. For context my previous cameras were: Nikon D50, Nikon D80, Canon 40D and a Pentax K-x. You'll notice that these are all DSLR's. In 2013 I decided it was time to move away from a camera with a mirror. But I wanted a good quality screen and EVF to take advantage of a mirrorless system. I considered the NEX-6 and OM-D E-M5 but they were both ...

    Continue Reading

  • Christian Grevstad, May 23, 2013 GMT:
    Panasonic G5

    + Very good dynamic range (11.8 stops according to DXO, I believe.). Enough for my use. Wonderful, rubberized grip. Much larger than the one on G3. Very good jpegs. (improved over earlier Pana) Low price (especially now in 2013). - Loose hinges on the articulating screen. Flimsy rubber eye piece on viewfinder. Only reasonably good high ISO (aaceptable up to about 3200 for my use) Conclusion: Probably the best value of any mirrorless camera.

    Continue Reading

  • snegron2, Nov 29, 2013 GMT:
    G5 Not What It Should Be

    I have owned the G5 for several months now. Overall I'm not impressed. The menu system is way too complicated cramming a ton of useless features into a complex search system. White balance is unpredictable at best. I have yet to get a sharp image using available light/bright sunlight. It appears that the camera sets itself to some high level of noise reduction whenever I shoot outdoors making detail capture near impossible. This does not seem to occur when I use the pop up flash. No amount ...

    Continue Reading

Videos

Loading the player ...

Panasonic Lumix DMC-G5 by DPReview

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Keep G5 or get Stylus 1 ?

One of the hardest decisions I have regarding camera equipment. To start, I'm an active octogenarian and have been an amateur photographer for over 64 years, But now due to my wife's ill health I am unable to travel far, my main excursions are to local shopping center for food supplies. With the result that my G5 seldom is used. I can't imagine being without a camera, but my present one is now really overkill for the use it gets. So my thoughts are to get a bridge type as a replacement, and looking around the forum I am thinking of the new yet to be released Olympus Stylus 1. The specification seems to cover 99% of my requirements. The only item I am dubious about, is the unprotected 3" LCD. Are these items now made so that are resistant to surface damage, etc.? Any thoughts on this welcome.

Ken Yull asked
5 months ago

ANSWERS

Overkill the G5 may be, but if it means paying one penny extra for a bridge camera I wouldn't bother. Unless you really need the zoom, I fail to see any advantage to you. If however you just feel the need for something new to keep you interested, by all means go for it. It's your life and if this floats your boat, go with it. Continue Reading

Aberaeron answered
5 months ago

It is probably a little pricier than you are looking for, but what a compact form factor! I think it can be has in the US for $750 vs. $699 for the S1, according to Amazon. From what I understand, it is the first truly pocketable M43 camera with zoom lens. Image quality is fantastic and you'd be able to keep your lenses. Or you could just use the kit 12-32mm and sell the rest. Just a thought. Good luck with your search! Continue Reading

agray88 answered
5 months ago

I recommend separately.  I've seen many bundles just sit there.  I think it's because most buyers are looking for one thing (lens, camera).  Good luck. Continue Reading

jack Hoggard answered
4 months ago

QUESTION

Difference in colours between M43 and Fuji-X

Last year I bought a X-E1 after been shooting with a Lumix G1 for a couple of years. An I loooved the colours the fuji produced. Alas the viewfinder and I didn't get along so I went back to a G5. Now I miss those fuji colours and can't seem to achieve them any witch way I try with my G5. My question is; How does the last generation m43 sensors compare to fuji when it comes to colours? And yes, if ever a matter was personal, this one is. So I'd like to hear your personal opinions. Thanks Kjell

belcanto asked
3 months ago

ANSWERS

The whole "color" issue is more or less a non-issue because you can get just about any set of colors you want from a RAW image. Even in the current LR there are four color presets for the E-M1, and all of them are different. You can also get a virtually unlimited color presets from any number of places, including VSCO, which I think has some very nice ones. I think there are presets for Fuji Scala, Astia, Fortia, Provia, and Velvia. You can more or less get a RAW file from any manufacturer to look like an image from any other manufacturer, at least as far as colors are concerned. If you don't shoot RAW then you have fewer options. You can alter the color of a JPEG but that is not so well packaged. Continue Reading

DonSC answered
3 months ago

Olympus colors are a myth almost, they are more saturated and more warm, people like this that's why they speak so much about Olympus colors. I like better the more neutral Panasonic Lumix rendering, if I need to change this I will edit the JPG using the HSL on Lightroom or other good program that have it. (1) Some colors from my Panasonics. (OOC JPG edited to my taste) . 12 megapixels sensor. Continue Reading

Aleo Veuliah answered
3 months ago

From a rather subjective, probably biased source (Fujirumors.com), it is apparent there is such a thing as 'fuji colours', and having seen the images from their cameras, against my own G5, and a friend's D7100, I'd definitely agree that they are more gorgeous, and rich in chroma! There's definitely something special about those Fujis... unfortunately I can't afford any of their mirrorless on top of my desire for an X-100 to really compare. And, I'm sort of afraid of what I might see if I ever do own one - I might not want to go back to my G5 haha! Source: The site link is banned (??) but you can probably guess where. ;) Continue Reading

0MitchAG answered
3 months ago

QUESTION

How do you like my post processing? --> C&C

Took a few pictures of a spider today. Shot with the G5, MMF2, EX25 and the Sigma 105mm Macro at full magnification. Then applied some PP. I like the comic-style look and the way it brings out the eyes. The first one is a 100% crop. What do you think about it? Cheers, Hans

Hans-Helmut asked
1 year ago

ANSWERS

Wow, I didn't expect this wave of positive responses :-O But thanks for posting your views, I appreciate it. Here are the originals: Continue Reading

Hans-Helmut answered
1 year ago

Excellent !!. The focus point is bang on vs the DOF, bang on the eyes where it should be. Very nice. All the best and good work, I do like these far better :-) Danny. Continue Reading

nzmacro answered
1 year ago

Well you did ask.  I think it ruins what may have been a very good spider picture.  Perhaps you can show us the original Continue Reading

Trevor Carpenter answered
1 year ago

Warranty Information

"If your product does not work properly because of a defect in materials or workmanship, Panasonic Consumer Electronics Company or Panasonic Puerto Rico, Inc. (collectively referred to as “the warrantor”) will, for the length of the period indicated on the chart below, which starts with the date of original purchase (“warranty period”), at its option either (a) repair your product with new or refurbished parts, or (b) replace it with a new or refurbished product. The decision to repair or replace will be made by the warrantor."

PRODUCT OR PART NAME PARTS LABOR
DIGITAL STILL CAMERA 1 (ONE) YEAR 1 (ONE) YEAR
CCD 6 (SIX) MONTHS 90 (NINETY) DAYS
RECHARGEABLE BATTERY PACK (IN EXCHANGE FOR DEFECTIVE BATTERY PACK) 90 (NINETY) DAYS NOT APPLICABLE


Go to Panasonic's warranty page for more information or register your product here. DPReview GearShop is an authorized Panasonic dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.