Panasonic Lumix DMC-GH3 Mirrorless Camera, Body Only

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

79% Gold Award
The GH3 isn't simply a stills camera and, if you have any interest in shooting video at all, its quality and feature set help it stand apart from the competition.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 16MP Micro Four Thirds-format CMOS sensor
  • Contrast-detection AF system with claimed 0.07-second speed
  • ISO 100-12800, extendable to ISO 25600
  • 6 frames per second continuous shooting
  • 1080/60p video with maximum bit rate of 72Mbps
  • 3" OLED display with 614,000 dots
  • Built-in 1.7m-dot OLED viewfinder

Product Description

The Lumix DMC-GH3 is Panasonic's largest and most enthusiast-friendly Micro Four Thirds camera yet, and features a weather-sealed (dust/splash proof) magnesium alloy body, include 6 fps shooting (or 4fps with live view) and five customizable function buttons. Video professionals will be pleased to see that the GH3 offers timecode-supported broadcast quality video capable of bit rates as high as 72Mbps.

The GH3 has a new (not multi-aspect) Live MOS sensor, three-core Venus 7 FHD processing engine and a new low pass filter. Panasonic claims improvements in high ISO shadow detail, color reproduction and white balance over its predecessor. The GH3 also offers in-camera HDR and multiple exposure image modes, as well as Wi-Fi connectivity.

Specs

Body type
Body type SLR-style mirrorless
Sensor
Max resolution 4608 x 3456
Other resolutions 4608x3072, 3264x2448, 2336x1752, 4608x3072, 3264x2176, 2336x1560, 4608x2592, 3264x1840, 1920x1080, 3456x3456, 2448x2448, 1744x1744, 1712x1712
Image ratio w:h 1:1, 4:3, 3:2, 16:9
Effective pixels 16 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 17 megapixels
Sensor size Four Thirds (17.3 x 13 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
Processor Venus Engine VII FHD
Image
ISO Auto, 200, 400, 800, 1600, 3200, 6400, 12800
White balance presets 5
Custom white balance Yes (2)
Image stabilization Optical
Uncompressed format RAW
JPEG quality levels Fine, Standard
Optics & Focus
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Multi-area
  • Selective single-point
  • Tracking
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Touch
  • Face Detection
  • Live View
Digital zoom Yes (2x, 4x)
Manual focus Yes
Number of focus points 23
Lens mount Micro Four Thirds
Focal length multiplier 2×
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fully articulated
Screen size 3
Screen dots 614,000
Touch screen Yes
Screen type OLED Monitor with static touch control
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type Electronic
Viewfinder coverage 100%
Viewfinder magnification 1.34×
Viewfinder resolution 1,744,000
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 60 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/4000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes (Pop-up)
Flash range 12.00 m
External flash Yes (Hot-shoe)
Flash modes Auto, On, Off, Red-Eye, Slow Sync
Continuous drive 20.0 fps
Self-timer Yes (2 or 10 sec, 10 sec (3 images))
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Spot
Exposure compensation ±5 (at 1/3 EV steps)
AE Bracketing ±1 (3, 5, 7 frames at 1/3 EV, 2/3 EV, 1 EV steps)
WB Bracketing Yes (3 frames in either blue/amber or magenta/green axis)
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (60, 50, 30, 25 24 fps) 1280 x 720 (60, 50, 30, 25fps), 640 x 480 (30, 25fps
Format MPEG-4, AVCHD, H.264
Microphone Stereo
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC
Storage included None
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (Mini HDMI Type C)
Wireless Built-In
Wireless notes IEEE 802.11b/g/n, 2412MHz - 2462MHz (11ch), Wi-Fi / WPA / WPA2, Infrastructure mode
Remote control Yes (Optional DMW-RSL1)
Physical
Environmentally sealed Yes
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description Lithium-Ion rechargeable battery & charger
Battery Life (CIPA) 540
Weight (inc. batteries) 550 g (1.21 lb / 19.40 oz)
Dimensions 133 x 93 x 82 mm (5.24 x 3.66 x 3.23)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
Timelapse recording Yes
GPS None

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other cameras in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Build quality
Ergonomics & handling
Features
Metering & focus accuracy
Image quality (raw)
Image quality (jpeg)
Low light / high ISO performance
Viewfinder / screen rating
Performance
Movie / video mode
Connectivity
Value
Gold Award
Gold Award
79 %
Overall Score

The GH3 offers the best video quality of any camera we've ever seen and does a pretty good job of making it available to a wide range of users. This footage is available without external recorders, making it ideal for in-the-field shooting as well as more formal rigged-up setups. It's also a pretty handy stills camera with plenty of external controls, making it an impressively flexible package, overall.

Good For

Anyone looking for top-quality video as well as stills.

Not So Good For

User Reviews

4.39324 out of 5 stars
  • Ribo, Feb 20, 2013 GMT:
    Excellent video

    Excellent camera for video recording with all the variable parameters. Real images with low-noise, high-speed camera with a full spectrum of colors. It has all the functions of profi appliances, excellent ergometry. Completely satisfied with this purchase camere! Problems: Insufficient pixsel and 8bit converter!

    Continue Reading

  • Esa Tuunanen, Dec 30, 2012 GMT:
    Excellent ergonomics overhaul

    Instead of fashionable image quality comparison I'll concentrate on aspect which has been badly neglected in mirrorless systems and literally treated as sacrificial lamb on altar of fashion: Ergonomics as utilitarian tool. While preceeding models GH1 and GH2 were well below even the worst entry level DSLRs Panasonic has clearly this time listened serious photographers instead of fashion magazines. Grip housing now also much needed front wheel is vastly improved and in size almost equal to ...

    Continue Reading

  • mortyski, Mar 21, 2013 GMT:
    Panasonic GH3 Review from a Sports Photographer

    In my opinion the Panasonic GH3 is the best m4/3 camera on the market to date.  It is a joy to carry, takes great photos, and has the added bonus of a formidable video camera.  I don't find the size an issue, in fact I like the solid feel in my hands and particularly like being able to use gloves to work the camera. I have tried and tried and cannot see an EVF issue so I wonder what that was all about. I take a lot of sports skiing photos and if you use S-AF the percentage of keepers is as ...

    Continue Reading

  • Aleo Veuliah, Mar 22, 2013 GMT:
    Panasonic Lumix GH3. My first impressions.

    I said before that I was going to try the GH3 with my friend at Panasonic Portugal, he said it is a later prototype. The finish was already the same as on the final camera. I don't know where to start but maybe the ergonomics is a good place to start writing my first impressions. I went to Park of the Nations here in Lisbon, it is near to the river and have modern buildings surrounding and nice bars and coffee shops to be there looking at the camera, then I went to his office again to look ...

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

12-35mm F2.8 lens or LX100 fixed lens camera?

I have the GH4 and the 35-100mm F2.8 already. I also have the 25mm F1.4 lens and the 14mm F2.5 lens. However, I shoot mostly video and so I really need image stabilization even with the wider angles. I had considered buying the 12-35mm F2.8 lens but now the LX100 is giving me pause. Its multi-aspect ratio sensor will give me a wider field of view in the 16:9 video mode. It will also give me a more compact wide to medium solution. In fact I could fit the GH4, 35-100mm, 25mm F1.4, and the LX100 in a small camera bag. If the LX100 is about $1000 then it will be close to the price of the 12-35mm F2.8 lens. So what do you all think? Will the LX100 be a good alternative to buying a new wide angle zoom lens?

mpgxsvcd asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

Whatever the LX100 will mean to anyone is yet to be seen.   I wouldn't make any plans just yet, either way. Continue Reading

Bob Tullis answered
1 month ago

Continue Reading

mpgxsvcd answered
1 month ago

The latest rumor shows 4k video is time limited due to heat.  Does the LX100 have a mic input?  Let's wait to see how flexible the video is.  I suspect the GH4 will still be more video capable. Continue Reading

SHood answered
1 month ago

QUESTION

GH3 or OM-D, that is the question...

I am a GH1 owner and I have been waiting for GH3 to be announced. I was disappointed with the fact that GH3 is much larger than GH1. Now, I am not sure if I should get the OM-D or the GH3. Any advice? I am an amateur photographer and a videographer. I own the following lenses (1) Voigtlander 25mm (2) Panasonic 20mm (3) Oly 45mm (4) Panasonic 7-14mm (5) Panasonic 14-140mm (6) Voigtlander 40mm (1) I mainly take photos of food, family and landscape. (2) I love GH1's swivel screen. It is very useful. (3) As I use manual lenses, OM-D's image stabilization sounds very attractive (I hear that the new firmware will add IS to legacy lenses). (4) Compactness of camera is important.

yotes asked
2 years ago

ANSWERS

While I think the OM-D is the best thing since the EOS-1 (and 20D, 30D, 40D, 5D, 5D2. . . ), I think you'd be more satisfied in the long run sticking with Panasonic.  Those seeped in Panasonic µ4/3 and having bonded with them often find Oly's way's confounding.   As I found Panasonic to be, never could enjoy using the GH2 as fine a camera as it is. Just one thought to consider. Continue Reading

Bob Tullis answered
2 years ago

Seems like you have already summarized things pretty well based on your requirements. The E-M5 has the advantage of being smaller/lighter and having IBIS. One might add that it is less expensive. The GH3 has the advantage of a built-in flash and fully articulated screen. You might want to add that its video specs are better (IBIS aside). Your call when it comes to weighing these pros and cons against each other. Noone else can do that for you. Regardless of how you end up weighing them, my advice would be to wait just a little bit. The GH3 hasn't really been put through the paces of the review machinery yet and so we have less of an idea of what it is actually good for, e.g., when it comes to sensor performance (which might be just the same as the E-M5 but, again, might not). Continue Reading

Anders W answered
2 years ago

Talk about fanboyism: tjuster1 wrote: That's nice. I own a GH2 and an OM-D, and have shot extensively with both. My wife has a G3, and I've previously used a G2. I have some basis for comparison. Says you. The few controlled tests I've seen show little difference between OIS and IBIS. One showed IBIS perhaps a tiny bit better at short FLs, and another showed OIS better when using the 100-300. I've never missed IS on my 7-14; at FLs that short it's simply not needed very often. I suppose if you frequently shoot non-moving subjects in really dim light, it's a big advantage. Not all of us do. Um, first, learn to read. We're not talking about the GH2, we're talking about the GH3. How will it perform?  We don't know yet, but using a 2+ year old camera as a comparison point is a red herring. Something I would expect from a fan boy.  Second, learn to read. If you actually look at DXO tests in detail, rather than comparing the meaningless "overall" score, you'll see that at most ISOs the ... Continue Reading

Bob Meyer answered
2 years ago

QUESTION

Canon LX100? Panasonic G7X?

What if Canon had produced the LX100? Let’s pretend for a moment that Canon had announced a camera with the LX100’s exact specs and Panasonic had announced a camera with the G7X’s specs. Would you still buy the Canon LX100 or would you have stuck with the Panasonic G7X? How much does brand loyalty play into your decision for cameras that don’t use interchangeable lenses? I wonder if things would be different if Canon and Nikon suddenly started producing cameras that had the same specifications as the Panasonic, Olympus, and Sony offerings. Would people here switch over to Canon and Nikon? A lot of criticism towards Canon and Nikon lately has revolved around them not being imaginative and just churning out incremental upgrades. So what if they suddenly started producing cameras that matched Panasonic, Olympus, and Sony’s offerings? Would that be enough or would there need to be more to make you switch?

mpgxsvcd asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

None. Never has, never will.  Results are the only things that matter. I've owned Nikon, Canon, Sony, and now Olympus DSLR/ILCs, I've owned Canon, Fuji, and Sony Compacts.  I've shot Olympus and Pentax Film cameras.  Camera brand doesn't matter to me, the only thing that matters is does the camera have the features I need, does it produce great results for my purposes, and is it in my budget. I'm sure there are Brand-fans that out there, I'm just not one of them. Continue Reading

NowHearThis answered
1 month ago

No brand loyalty here. Just got tired of waiting for Canon to lead. They will release an LX100 -- in about 3 years. Enjoy! Continue Reading

WT21 answered
1 month ago

In theory, it's zero. But if "brand loyalty" also means being attached to quality control and services, at least where I am, Canon has a better track record than Panasonic or pretty much the rest of the industry for the last few years, and that's something I'm ready to put extra value on. Continue Reading

MayaTlab0 answered
1 month ago

Warranty Information

"If your product does not work properly because of a defect in materials or workmanship, Panasonic Consumer Electronics Company or Panasonic Puerto Rico, Inc. (collectively referred to as “the warrantor”) will, for the length of the period indicated on the chart below, which starts with the date of original purchase (“warranty period”), at its option either (a) repair your product with new or refurbished parts, or (b) replace it with a new or refurbished product. The decision to repair or replace will be made by the warrantor."

PRODUCT OR PART NAME PARTS LABOR
DIGITAL STILL CAMERA 1 (ONE) YEAR 1 (ONE) YEAR
CCD 6 (SIX) MONTHS 90 (NINETY) DAYS
RECHARGEABLE BATTERY PACK (IN EXCHANGE FOR DEFECTIVE BATTERY PACK) 90 (NINETY) DAYS NOT APPLICABLE


Go to Panasonic's warranty page for more information or register your product here. DPReview GearShop is an authorized Panasonic dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.