Panasonic Lumix G X Vario 12-35mm f/2.8 ASPH Power OIS Lens (Micro Four Thirds)

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Tried & Tested

Key Features

  • 12-35mm focal length
  • 24-70mm equivalent focal length on Micro Four Thirds cameras
  • F2.8 constant maximum aperture; F22 minimum
  • Image stabilization, Power O.I.S
  • 58mm filters
  • 0.25m/9.84" minimum focus
  • Micro Four Thirds mount for Micro Four Thirds interchangeable lens cameras

Product Description

The Lumix G X Vario 12-35mm F2.8 ASPH OIS is a premium image-stabilized zoom for Micro Four Thirds cameras, offering a classic 24-70mm equivalent focal length range. It’s tiny for an F2.8 zoom, and features weather-sealed metal-barreled construction. The 12-35mm is designed for both stills and movie use, with a near-silent stepper focus motor for silent, fast autofocus.

Specs

Principal specifications
Lens type Zoom lens
Max Format size FourThirds
Focal length 12–35 mm
Image stabilisation Yes (Power O.I.S)
Lens mount Micro Four Thirds
Aperture
Maximum aperture F2.8
Minimum aperture F22.0
Aperture ring No
Number of diaphragm blades 7
Aperture notes Circular aperture diaphragm
Optics
Elements 14
Groups 9
Special elements / coatings 4 aspherical lenses , 1 UED lens, 1 UHR lens
Focus
Minimum focus 0.25 m (9.84)
Maximum magnification 0.17×
Autofocus Yes
Full time manual Yes
Focus method Internal
Distance scale No
DoF scale No
Physical
Weight 305 g (0.67 lb)
Diameter 68 mm (2.66)
Length 74 mm (2.91)
Zoom method Rotary (extending)
Power zoom No
Zoom lock No
Filter thread 58 mm
Hood supplied Yes
Tripod collar No

Reviews

User Reviews

3.90816 out of 5 stars
  • Alan Ernst, Feb 9, 2013 GMT:
    False advertising from Panasonic yet again

    I barely took this lens off my GX1 since I got it because it is fast, with a very useful wider angle and overall excellent optical quality. As such, it is far better than most Lumix lenses to-date. See my earlier review. Problems: If you are thinking of buying this lens because of the purported dust/splash proofing, don't waste your money. Whatever sealing there is is not working and I ended up with dust inside the lens within less than three months of regular use (regular being mostly ...

    Continue Reading

  • chadnchady, Sep 25, 2012 GMT:
    Good lens but limited by format.

    To start, I just wanted to point out I am a casual enthusiast using the e-m5. Before this lens I have only used prime lens only, 20mm f1.7, 25mm f1.4, 45 f1.8 and 75mm f1.8. I have found the above lens to be excellent and produce similar results to my friend who uses a Nikon D800 setup. We often go casual street shooting where I would have a go at him telling him that my pictures don't look any less than his Nikon setup that cost like more than twice as much and twice as big in size. The ...

    Continue Reading

  • Alan Ernst, Aug 28, 2012 GMT:
    A very good lens - but still some issues

    Definitely the best zoom lens to-date from Lumix but I would not call it “professional grade”. Lumix’s new flagship lens is excellent at many settings, yet has some weaknesses. Panasonic have again opted to give priority to small size, rather than optimising optical quality and they seem to have problems with producing consistently good optics! The advantages of this lens are clearly a wider aperture (1-2 stops do make a big difference in low light or when looking for shallow depth of ...

    Continue Reading

  • Anthony Curcione, May 18, 2013 GMT:
    Love this lens

    I sold my other lenses after getting and using this lens. It works great on my OMD and I love that its weather resistant. I've actually used it while it was snowing and when it was raining. No issues. It has good contrast and sharpness throughout the frame. Focuses fast as well. Not much to complain about if you ask me.

    Continue Reading

Videos

Panasonic Lumix G X Vario 12-35mm f/2.8 ASPH Power OIS Lens by DPReview

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Which is more important? Flash or a very fast lens??

I understand both have their pros and cons depending on the situation and i have used both setups before when i was using a DSLR but i need to budget what i want to get first then subsequently the other. i currently have a 12-35mm F2.8 lens. As i do shoot indoors in not so fantastic lighting i have to use ISO6400 and above to try to freeze motion of children but the success rate is not high. So i need to choose between a Olympus FL600 flash, or a 25mm F1.4 lens. Which is more advisable to get first? Thanks in advance!!

Mole101 asked
3 months ago

ANSWERS

A lot of people think that flash is always going to create an artificial look to photos, so they insist they need fast lenses and shoot available light. Sometimes the results are good, but other times they are pretty bad (but, it was available light!) Properly used (such as off camera/remote and/or with a flash modifier) flash can augment available light in a way that improves the quality of the photo considerably yet still looks like available light. Pros do this all the time (though some people mistakenly think they are using available light, fast lenses wide open and high ISO). Continue Reading

CharlesB58 answered
3 months ago

in case of a tight budget you can try cheap manual flash (easy to get GN5* flash and that will be 1 stop more powerful than FL600R, minus TTL of course) + PL25/1.4 (if you have an itch to have it) Continue Reading

exdeejjjaaaa answered
3 months ago

QUESTION

Seeking field experience with Panasonic 12-35mm f/2.8 in dusty environments

I love my current m4/3 equipment. I use an all-prime setup and for my current shooting needs I love it. I also have a few potential projects in the near future that are making me consider the Panasonic 12-35mm f/2.8 zoom. Primarily, I would love to hear field reports of how well the lens handles extremely dusty environments.  I am planning on attending Burning Man in 2015 and everything I've heard about the environment is sand, dust, and heat.  I'll likely be using my GH3 my main camera and I'm a little reluctant to use my usual prime kit because i) most of the lenses are not sealed and ii) I don't expect to have a clean environment in which to do sensor cleanings. As such, I am considering saving up for the 12-35 and essentially leaving it on the camera for the desert experience. If you have first-hand experience with the 12-35mm f/2.8 in extremely dusty/sandy environments, I would love to hear a little about how the setup survived.  Thanks in advance!

1 month ago

ANSWERS

The lens is weather sealed, but I am not sure that I would take any decent camera body and lens, sealed or otherwise, into an environment which could potentially do damage.  Having the front element sanded is much different than having some drops of water strike it.  If you do take a sealed body and this lens into a dust/sand environment, invest in a 58mm clear or UV filter and keep it on.  It would be  very unwise to change lenses while in a dust storm. Continue Reading

LMNCT answered
1 month ago

Those are my concerns, hence me looking for first-hand accounts from people who have taken that lens into harsh environments. Have you personally put the 12-35 through its paces with regards to sealing? -- A photograph is a creative interpretation of reality. Continue Reading

1 month ago

I don't have the lens but a coworker of mine here in Afghanistan have the Pana 12-35/2.8 and the 35-100/2.8 on a Oly E-M5. He has taken numerous pictures here during sandstorm, around dust devils and windy days where dust, sands and other minute particles are in the air all the time and also during rain and snow. As far as I know, he hasn't had any trouble nor problems at all and we've been here 18 months. I also had the chance and to handle the E-M5 + 12-35/2.8 on several occasions and the combo are made for this type of environment. Not once did the camera/lens combo malfunctioned. I wanted to get the same set up but it's out of my budget at this time. Maybe I will treat myself with this combo this coming holiday as the E-M5 is getting cheaper :) The 12-35/2.8 with your GH3 will be the perfect combo for what you're planning on doing. Hope this helps. Continue Reading

One_Oldman_4U answered
1 month ago

QUESTION

58mm Lens attachments question (fisheye, wide angle and macro attachments)

I’m a current owner of the “Panasonic 12-35mm f/2.8” and planning on getting the “Voigtlander f/0.95 17.5mm” both with 58mm attachments where you can screw in filters and other things (Not sure of the term). Currently I’m focusing my efforts on getting a fisheye lens to extend from my 58mm threaded lens. The reason I’m not going straight for the 7.5mm Samyang Fisheye is because I like to film in low light and f/3.5 isn’t quite suitable. In the long run I’m hoping to screw a fisheye attachment onto the Voigtlander f/0.95 and get fisheye in incredible low light. I know it’s not an ideal way of doing things adding extra glass onto another lens reduces the quality but I believe the result would be beyond passable. Some of my ideal attachments include: $240 – Polaroid Studio Series 52/58mm 0.3x HD Ultra Super Fisheye Lens (it says it’s for professional camcorders and makes note of SLR’s only on the Amazon listing more official companies like bhphotovideo only mention camcorders) http://w ...

IFM asked
2 months ago

ANSWERS

You may find this interesting. I was able to find a working 0.66x converter for my 12-35 which works well at f8. (Sadly, they no longer make it.) http://www.dpreview.com/forums/post/52386433 I was unable to go any wider than that (without seeing totally dark corners at 12mm). Continue Reading

Robiro answered
2 months ago

Warranty Information

"If your product does not work properly because of a defect in materials or workmanship, Panasonic Consumer Electronics Company or Panasonic Puerto Rico, Inc. (collectively referred to as “the warrantor”) will, for the length of the period indicated on the chart below, which starts with the date of original purchase (“warranty period”), at its option either (a) repair your product with new or refurbished parts, or (b) replace it with a new or refurbished product. The decision to repair or replace will be made by the warrantor."

PRODUCT OR PART NAME PARTS LABOR
DIGITAL STILL CAMERA 1 (ONE) YEAR 1 (ONE) YEAR
CCD 6 (SIX) MONTHS 90 (NINETY) DAYS
RECHARGEABLE BATTERY PACK (IN EXCHANGE FOR DEFECTIVE BATTERY PACK) 90 (NINETY) DAYS NOT APPLICABLE


Go to Panasonic's warranty page for more information or register your product here. DPReview GearShop is an authorized Panasonic dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.