Panasonic Lumix G Vario 7-14mm F4 ASPH Lens (Micro Four Thirds Mount)

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

78% Silver Award
For a lens that's so wide and so small, its image quality is very impressive indeed.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 7-14mm focal length
  • 14-28mm equivalent focal length on Micro Four Thirds cameras
  • F4.0 constant maximum aperture; F22 minimum
  • Image stabilization, via camera body where available
  • 0.25m/9.84" minimum focus
  • Micro Four Thirds mount for Micro Four Thirds interchangeable lens cameras

Product Description

The 7-14mm F4 ASPH is an ultra-wideangle zoom for the Micro Four Thirds system, and offers a compelling combination of small size and extreme angle of view. Image quality is very good indeed, and autofocus is fast and silent. However the bulbous front element means that the lens doesn’t accept filters. The Olympus M.Zuiko Digital ED 9-18mm 1:4.0-5.6 offers a cheaper – but less wide – alternative with broadly similar image quality.

Specs

Principal specifications
Lens type Zoom lens
Max Format size FourThirds
Focal length 7–14 mm
Image stabilisation Yes (via camera body where available)
Lens mount Micro Four Thirds
Aperture
Maximum aperture F4.0
Minimum aperture F22.0
Aperture ring No
Number of diaphragm blades 7
Aperture notes rounded blades
Optics
Elements 16
Groups 12
Special elements / coatings 4 ED glass elements 2 aspherical elements
Focus
Minimum focus 0.25 m (9.84)
Maximum magnification 0.08×
Autofocus Yes
Motor type Micromotor
Full time manual Yes
Focus method Internal
Distance scale No
DoF scale No
Physical
Weight 300 g (0.66 lb)
Diameter 70 mm (2.76)
Length 83 mm (3.27)
Colour Black
Zoom method Rotary (internal)
Filter notes no filter thread
Hood supplied Yes
Hood product code built-in hood
Tripod collar No

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other lenses in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Optical Quality
Build Quality
Autofocus
Ergonomics and Handling
Value
Silver Award
Silver Award
78 %
Overall Score

Panasonic has produced an ultra-wide zoom for Micro Four Thirds that is a technological tour de force. Compact and with excellent image quality, it's a superb lens if you can afford the high price.

Good For

Landscape or travel photographers looking for a highly portable ultrawide zooms

Not So Good For

User Reviews

4.42857 out of 5 stars
  • regardlese, Jan 26, 2013 GMT:
    the best

    the best zoom for panasonic GH2

    Continue Reading

  • Esa Tuunanen, Dec 26, 2012 GMT:
    Very good if you can afford it.

    One of the first released m4/3 lenses but despite of that definitely in top of the m4/3 lenses in features and performance. Shorter flange back distance of mirrorless mount allows lot less extreme retrofocus design than for 4/3 DSLRs and makes size lot smaller than any similar ultra wide SLR zoom lens. That makes it nice small to carry in general landscape/nature photography package. For size and ambitious field of view optical performance is very good though lossy software cover up of ...

    Continue Reading

  • vasilopulo, Oct 3, 2012 GMT:
    Useless with Olympus OM EM-5

    Good, sharp lens. But it doesn`t work with Olympus OM EM-5 or any other Olympus. Some reflections appears when you try to take picture in this combination having any bright thing in or near of the frame. The reflections as sharp as you can see all parts of the window for example and it can appear on any part of the frame. I was very disappointed. Nobody has told me about this problem and i suppose that nobody knows about it. I tried to to ask Olympus and Pansonic offices about this problem, ...

    Continue Reading

  • anecolove, Mar 29, 2011 GMT:
    Spectacular ultra wide angle for M43

    This ultra wide angle has the same specification as its 4/3 counterpart, but is far more compact and small, which is the benefit of the mirrorless system. 7mm is a very creative focal length which gives impressive results. In addtion, the iimage quality is very high, on par with the excellent 4/3 7-14. Focus is also instant on Panasonic cameras. Build quality is also of very high standards, though it's not made of metal, it feels sturdy in your hands. The only downside of this lens is that ...

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Any benefit to getting a Pany Body if I have an Oly E-PL5?

Hi all, I recently picked up the Panasonic 7-14mm wide.  I'm getting really bad CA and fringing using it on my Oly body. If I got a Panasonic GX1 body and shot with Pany lenses on it would I see an improvement with CA? I shoot in RAW and I'm not sure if the Panasonic in body CA correction happens before the RAW data is written or if it only applies to in camera produced JPGs. Here's an example: - Jeremy

uberjer asked
9 months ago

ANSWERS

Yes, the correction actually happens even before the light hits the sensor, because the Panasonic bodies have built-in filters that remove more of the problematic light (right at the edge of viewable) than the Olympus ones. The good news is that you don't have to get a new body. See this thread: http://www.dpreview.com/forums/post/51390321 Continue Reading

Ulric answered
9 months ago

If you can afford the lens, you can afford an inexpensive Panasonic body to get the best out of it. yes, you will see less purple fringing on Panasonic cameras, and the purple flare will just be regular less obnoxious-looking flare. I'd recommend the G5 if you can find one cheap. Not that they are very deluxe cameras, but the G5 has a better sensor than the GX1, plus a viewfinder. Continue Reading

sigala1 answered
9 months ago

The Panasonic bodies have a stronger UV filter than the Oly's, which will give improved results in this regard. A 2A UV filter can compensate for this on Oly bodies, but since the 7-14 doesn't take filters. . . one could adapt a gel filter holder on the back of the 7-14 if post correction efforts disappoint. I prefer Oly's paradigm, and haven't gotten around to doing anything to the 7-14 (but I also don't use it much at the moment, there's also flaring and ghosting to contend with due to nature of the front element). But I'd find a way to make the images usable when I did use it, with LR's LaCA/LoCA tools. Removed the purple fringing with CA checkbox and eyedropper (also raised shadows a bit - couldn't stop myself [g]) After the eyedropper use, pulled back a little on blue saturation. A Panny body give you less trouble, but if you really prefer the Oly. . . well, for whatever that's worth. Hope it helps. Continue Reading

Bob Tullis answered
9 months ago

QUESTION

Panny 7-14mm Purple Flare on EM-1/ EPL5

Hi after some time using the Panny 7-14 Ive now noticed purple flare appearing around very bright elements in the scene - ie bright windows in a dark hall. Is there any fix for this and does the same thing happen with Panasonic bodies? Does the same thing happen with the Oly 9-18mm or is it unique to the 7-14?

6 months ago

ANSWERS

Hi Richard. No, regrettably, I don't have much more to report on the subject, the reason being that neither I or anyone else are (AFAIK) in a position to directly compare the effect of the two filters in side-by-side tests. Possibly, I will have that opportunity in the not so distant future (by getting a piece of 2E from someone in order to compare with the 2A I already have) but I am not sure about that yet. What is known from the specs is that the 2E is stronger than the 2A although not by much. The difference is that the 2E places the cut-point about 10 nm higher in the spectrum. What we also know is that the 2A appears to be sufficient to eliminate the flare more or less completely. So the question is if the 2E provides anything in return for its obvious (but perhaps marginal) disadvantage of taking away more light. It could be that it removes the flare even better and/or is even more effective against purple fringing (which is another area where these filters help). The only ... Continue Reading

Anders W answered
6 months ago

Yes 2A is almost impossible to find. 2E will at least work just as good as 2A. You will lose a tiny bit more light because 2E is stronger and pictures might look a tiny bit warmer too but easily corrected. On the plus side 2E might even work a little better for this purpose too, but nobody has tested that, but it will perform equal at least. BTW I use 2A inserted in my PM2 Filter in Pen Continue Reading

secretworld answered
6 months ago

this is a "feature" of using the Panasonic 7-14mm F/4 on Olympus bodies, there are many threads about the "purple blob."  No it doesn't happen on Panasonic bodies. Continue Reading

Olydude answered
6 months ago

QUESTION

Panasonic 7-14mm low light focusing

I own the 7-14 and an Oly EP5.  I use it mainly for shooting in dim lit wedding receptions and dim blue hour wide angle couple portraits.  I am having a hell of a hard time locking focus with this combination.  I own a few Oly and Panasonic lenses and this one is by far the worst. Will switching to a Panasonic body (GX7) make this lens focus better in low light?

agc1976 asked
5 days ago

ANSWERS

PDAF would be of no help when it comes to getting the AF to lock in poor light. The PDAF system of the E-M1 is more vulnerable to low light than its CDAF system and it makes very limited use of PDAF at all in AF-S, which is what the OP is presumably using in the scenarios he mentions. Continue Reading

Anders W answered
5 days ago

I can't compare them, but I have no trouble quickly nailing focus with my GX7 in dimly lit wedding receptions. http://www.jacquescornell.photography/jabbar_and_nigina/h5ac571e#h5ac571e This image looks bright only because of two off-camera flashes. The venue was actually fairly dim, yielding an ambient exposure of something like ISO 3200 f4 1/15. AF doesn't really slow down until about ISO 3200 f2 1/15. Continue Reading

Jacques Cornell answered
5 days ago

Since nobody has replied to you up to now, let me try an answer (hoping that it's not too stupid). In the menu of my OM-D, there is a setting that says "AF Illuminat." On/Off. When it's turned On, there is a short red (or green) light that points to the subject and helps the camera to focus. Could it be turned Off on your EP5? If so, does it help when it's turned On? Continue Reading

5 days ago

Warranty Information

"If your product does not work properly because of a defect in materials or workmanship, Panasonic Consumer Electronics Company or Panasonic Puerto Rico, Inc. (collectively referred to as “the warrantor”) will, for the length of the period indicated on the chart below, which starts with the date of original purchase (“warranty period”), at its option either (a) repair your product with new or refurbished parts, or (b) replace it with a new or refurbished product. The decision to repair or replace will be made by the warrantor."

PRODUCT OR PART NAME PARTS LABOR
DIGITAL STILL CAMERA 1 (ONE) YEAR 1 (ONE) YEAR
CCD 6 (SIX) MONTHS 90 (NINETY) DAYS
RECHARGEABLE BATTERY PACK (IN EXCHANGE FOR DEFECTIVE BATTERY PACK) 90 (NINETY) DAYS NOT APPLICABLE


Go to Panasonic's warranty page for more information or register your product here. DPReview GearShop is an authorized Panasonic dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.