Panasonic Lumix G Vario 7-14mm F4 ASPH Lens (Micro Four Thirds Mount)

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

78% Silver Award
For a lens that's so wide and so small, its image quality is very impressive indeed.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 7-14mm focal length
  • 14-28mm equivalent focal length on Micro Four Thirds cameras
  • F4.0 constant maximum aperture; F22 minimum
  • Image stabilization, via camera body where available
  • 0.25m/9.84" minimum focus
  • Micro Four Thirds mount for Micro Four Thirds interchangeable lens cameras

Product Description

The 7-14mm F4 ASPH is an ultra-wideangle zoom for the Micro Four Thirds system, and offers a compelling combination of small size and extreme angle of view. Image quality is very good indeed, and autofocus is fast and silent. However the bulbous front element means that the lens doesn’t accept filters. The Olympus M.Zuiko Digital ED 9-18mm 1:4.0-5.6 offers a cheaper – but less wide – alternative with broadly similar image quality.

Specs

Principal specifications
Lens type Zoom lens
Max Format size FourThirds
Focal length 7–14 mm
Image stabilisation Yes (via camera body where available)
Lens mount Micro Four Thirds
Aperture
Maximum aperture F4.0
Minimum aperture F22.0
Aperture ring No
Number of diaphragm blades 7
Aperture notes rounded blades
Optics
Elements 16
Groups 12
Special elements / coatings 4 ED glass elements 2 aspherical elements
Focus
Minimum focus 0.25 m (9.84)
Maximum magnification 0.08×
Autofocus Yes
Motor type Micromotor
Full time manual Yes
Focus method Internal
Distance scale No
DoF scale No
Physical
Weight 300 g (0.66 lb)
Diameter 70 mm (2.76)
Length 83 mm (3.27)
Colour Black
Zoom method Rotary (internal)
Filter notes no filter thread
Hood supplied Yes
Hood product code built-in hood
Tripod collar No

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other lenses in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Optical Quality
Build Quality
Autofocus
Ergonomics and Handling
Value
Silver Award
Silver Award
78 %
Overall Score

Panasonic has produced an ultra-wide zoom for Micro Four Thirds that is a technological tour de force. Compact and with excellent image quality, it's a superb lens if you can afford the high price.

Good For

Landscape or travel photographers looking for a highly portable ultrawide zooms

Not So Good For

Budget-conscious buyers or habitual filter users

User Reviews

4.61429 out of 5 stars
  • regardlese, Jan 26, 2013 GMT:
    the best

    the best zoom for panasonic GH2

    Continue Reading

  • Esa Tuunanen, Dec 26, 2012 GMT:
    Very good if you can afford it.

    One of the first released m4/3 lenses but despite of that definitely in top of the m4/3 lenses in features and performance. Shorter flange back distance of mirrorless mount allows lot less extreme retrofocus design than for 4/3 DSLRs and makes size lot smaller than any similar ultra wide SLR zoom lens. That makes it nice small to carry in general landscape/nature photography package. For size and ambitious field of view optical performance is very good though lossy software cover up of ...

    Continue Reading

  • vasilopulo, Oct 3, 2012 GMT:
    Useless with Olympus OM EM-5

    Good, sharp lens. But it doesn`t work with Olympus OM EM-5 or any other Olympus. Some reflections appears when you try to take picture in this combination having any bright thing in or near of the frame. The reflections as sharp as you can see all parts of the window for example and it can appear on any part of the frame. I was very disappointed. Nobody has told me about this problem and i suppose that nobody knows about it. I tried to to ask Olympus and Pansonic offices about this problem, ...

    Continue Reading

  • anecolove, Mar 29, 2011 GMT:
    Spectacular ultra wide angle for M43

    This ultra wide angle has the same specification as its 4/3 counterpart, but is far more compact and small, which is the benefit of the mirrorless system. 7mm is a very creative focal length which gives impressive results. In addtion, the iimage quality is very high, on par with the excellent 4/3 7-14. Focus is also instant on Panasonic cameras. Build quality is also of very high standards, though it's not made of metal, it feels sturdy in your hands. The only downside of this lens is that ...

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Considering Panasonic 7-14mm, but...

Hi all, If not for the purple flare, I would have already purchased this wonderful lens. Landscape photography is my main passion and I love to shoot sunrise/sunset pictures with long exposures. Currently im using the Olympus 11-22mm lens for that job. I know the flaring occurs when shooting into bright light sources. However, I mainly shoot my sunrise/sunset shots when the sun is rising and still under the horizon: see here for examples . My question is: will flaring occur under these conditions? Thanks and all thoughts are appreciated!

Eugg1 asked
1 year ago

ANSWERS

I use my 7-14 a great deal. All these issues get blown out of proportion. It's a super wide lens with great performance. Looking for a perfect lens is a mug's game. Buy, use enjoy. Anyone who looks for perfection in every way in a lens is doomed to a life of camera unhappiness. I read some tw*t the other day saying he wouldn't buy a Panasonic because the swiveling screen could be broken off. There are plenty of reasons to no to buy a Panasonic, I'm sure but that's not one. Ditto purple fringing. Plus, if you want the angle of view of a 7mm without it being a fisheye, what else will you buy? Continue Reading

bluelemmy answered
1 year ago

the sun has to be directly in the frame or just outside it. If it's just about to rise or behind a mountain, you will be fine. Continue Reading

Surefoot answered
1 year ago

Continue Reading

yotes answered
1 year ago

QUESTION

Any benefit to getting a Pany Body if I have an Oly E-PL5?

Hi all, I recently picked up the Panasonic 7-14mm wide.  I'm getting really bad CA and fringing using it on my Oly body. If I got a Panasonic GX1 body and shot with Pany lenses on it would I see an improvement with CA? I shoot in RAW and I'm not sure if the Panasonic in body CA correction happens before the RAW data is written or if it only applies to in camera produced JPGs. Here's an example: - Jeremy

uberjer asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

Yes, the correction actually happens even before the light hits the sensor, because the Panasonic bodies have built-in filters that remove more of the problematic light (right at the edge of viewable) than the Olympus ones. The good news is that you don't have to get a new body. See this thread: http://www.dpreview.com/forums/post/51390321 Continue Reading

Ulric answered
1 month ago

If you can afford the lens, you can afford an inexpensive Panasonic body to get the best out of it. yes, you will see less purple fringing on Panasonic cameras, and the purple flare will just be regular less obnoxious-looking flare. I'd recommend the G5 if you can find one cheap. Not that they are very deluxe cameras, but the G5 has a better sensor than the GX1, plus a viewfinder. Continue Reading

sigala1 answered
1 month ago

The Panasonic bodies have a stronger UV filter than the Oly's, which will give improved results in this regard. A 2A UV filter can compensate for this on Oly bodies, but since the 7-14 doesn't take filters. . . one could adapt a gel filter holder on the back of the 7-14 if post correction efforts disappoint. I prefer Oly's paradigm, and haven't gotten around to doing anything to the 7-14 (but I also don't use it much at the moment, there's also flaring and ghosting to contend with due to nature of the front element). But I'd find a way to make the images usable when I did use it, with LR's LaCA/LoCA tools. Removed the purple fringing with CA checkbox and eyedropper (also raised shadows a bit - couldn't stop myself [g]) After the eyedropper use, pulled back a little on blue saturation. A Panny body give you less trouble, but if you really prefer the Oly. . . well, for whatever that's worth. Hope it helps. Continue Reading

Bob Tullis answered
1 month ago

QUESTION

Panasonic 7-14mm and E-PL1?? Any users?

Hi all, I have an OM-D and an E-PL1. I'm considering to buy the Panasonic 7-14mm. I know there is the purple flare problem on the OM-D, however how does this lens work with the E-PL1? Is there also purple flaring with this combination? Any thoughts/experiences? Thanks!

Eugg1 asked
10 months ago

ANSWERS

Eugg1 wrote: I have an OM-D and an E-PL1. I'm considering to buy the Panasonic 7-14mm. I know there is the purple flare problem on the OM-D, however how does this lens work with the E-PL1? Is there also purple flaring with this combination? Any thoughts/experiences? I've tried it a little bit. Yes, you can get flare and purple fringing, but I find it easy to eliminate the fringing in ACR. The E-PL1's limited dynamic range can cause a problem if you're using it on a sunny day; best to bracket & use some sort of HDR to prevent noisy shadows; the exposure can get fooled if you have the sun or a lot of bright clouds in the picture. I guess that's true for any lens, but the 7-14 can get a LOT of sky into a shot. Over all, I prefer to use this lens on my GH2. Here's one sample. The camera was pointed almost straight up towards the vine leaves. I didn't have to correct any fringing in this shot but you can see the flare along a line radiating towards the 11:00 position. Sterling -- Lens Grit Continue Reading

10 months ago

SterlingBjorndahl wrote: Eugg1 wrote: I have an OM-D and an E-PL1. I'm considering to buy the Panasonic 7-14mm. I know there is the purple flare problem on the OM-D, however how does this lens work with the E-PL1? Is there also purple flaring with this combination? Any thoughts/experiences? I've tried it a little bit. Yes, you can get flare and purple fringing, but I find it easy to eliminate the fringing in ACR. The E-PL1's limited dynamic range can cause a problem if you're using it on a sunny day; best to bracket & use some sort of HDR to prevent noisy shadows; the exposure can get fooled if you have the sun or a lot of bright clouds in the picture. I guess that's true for any lens, but the 7-14 can get a LOT of sky into a shot. Over all, I prefer to use this lens on my GH2. Here's one sample. The camera was pointed almost straight up towards the vine leaves. I didn't have to correct any fringing in this shot but you can see the flare along a line radiating towards the 11:00 ... Continue Reading

rob_adam answered
9 months ago

Use a Panasonic body with Panasonic lenses and everything will be fine. Don't purposely shoot into a light source is also a good idea. Continue Reading

ryan2007 answered
10 months ago

Warranty Information

"If your product does not work properly because of a defect in materials or workmanship, Panasonic Consumer Electronics Company or Panasonic Puerto Rico, Inc. (collectively referred to as “the warrantor”) will, for the length of the period indicated on the chart below, which starts with the date of original purchase (“warranty period”), at its option either (a) repair your product with new or refurbished parts, or (b) replace it with a new or refurbished product. The decision to repair or replace will be made by the warrantor."

PRODUCT OR PART NAME PARTS LABOR
DIGITAL STILL CAMERA 1 (ONE) YEAR 1 (ONE) YEAR
CCD 6 (SIX) MONTHS 90 (NINETY) DAYS
RECHARGEABLE BATTERY PACK (IN EXCHANGE FOR DEFECTIVE BATTERY PACK) 90 (NINETY) DAYS NOT APPLICABLE


Go to Panasonic's warranty page for more information or register your product here. DPReview GearShop is an authorized Panasonic dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.