Pentax K-500 DSLR Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Key Features

  • 16.3MP APS-C CMOS sensor
  • 6 frames per second continuous shooting
  • 11-point AF system
  • 77 segment metering system
  • ISO 100-12,800 expandable up to 51,200
  • 1080/30, 24fps HD video (H.264/MOV/MPEG-4)
  • 3.0 inch LCD with 921,000 dots
  • 100% viewfinder + 4 optional focusing screens
  • Sensor-shift image stabilization
  • Pop-up flash with hotshoe
  • Raw, JPEG, and Raw+JPEG with in-camera RAW processing
  • SD/SDHC/SDXC memory and Eye-Fi Compatible

Product Description

The Pentax K-500 is essentially a stripped-down version of the K-50, lacking the weather-sealed body and electronic level of that model. The K-500 also includes AA batteries instead of a lithium-ion battery, though the latter can be purchased. It can shoot continuously at up to 6 frames per second, has a maximum shutter speed of 1/6000th of a second and can capture video at 1080p30.

Specs

Body type
Body type Compact SLR
Sensor
Max resolution 4928 x 3264
Other resolutions 4224 x 2816, 3456 x 2304, 2688 x 1792
Image ratio w:h 3:2
Effective pixels 16 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 17 megapixels
Sensor size APS-C (23.7 x 15.7 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
Processor PRIME M
Image
ISO Auto, 100 to 51600, in 1, 1/2, 1/3 EV steps
White balance presets 9
Custom white balance Yes (3)
Image stabilization Sensor-shift
Uncompressed format RAW
JPEG quality levels Good, Better, Best
Optics & Focus
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Phase Detect
  • Multi-area
  • Center
  • Tracking
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Face Detection
  • Live View
Digital zoom No
Manual focus Yes
Number of focus points 11
Lens mount Pentax KAF2
Focal length multiplier 1.5×
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fixed
Screen size 3
Screen dots 921,000
Touch screen No
Screen type TFT LCD monitor with brightness/color adjustment and AR coating
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type Optical (pentaprism)
Viewfinder coverage 100%
Viewfinder magnification 0.92×
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 30 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/6000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes (Pop-up)
Flash range 12.00 m (at ISO 100)
External flash Yes (Hot-shoe, Wireless)
Flash modes Auto, On, Off, Red-eye, Slow Sync, Slow Sync+Redeye, Trailing Curtain Sync, Wireless
Continuous drive 6 fps
Self-timer Yes ( 2 or 12 seconds)
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Spot
Exposure compensation ±5 (at 1/3 EV, 1/2 EV steps)
AE Bracketing ±3 (3 frames at 1 EV steps)
WB Bracketing No
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (30,25,24 fps), 1280 x 720 (60,50,30,25,24 fps), 640 x 424 (30,25,24 fps)
Format MPEG-4, H.264
Microphone Mono
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI No
Wireless Eye-Fi Connected
Remote control Yes (optional, wired or wireless)
Physical
Environmentally sealed No
Battery AA
Battery description 4 x AA batteries (optional D-LI109 lithium ion battery) battery
Battery Life (CIPA) 710
Weight (inc. batteries) 646 g (1.42 lb / 22.79 oz)
Dimensions 130 x 97 x 71 mm (5.12 x 3.82 x 2.8)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
Timelapse recording Yes (999 shots, 3 sec to 24 hr interval, time delay)
GPS Optional
GPS notes O-GPS1

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

K50 and K500 metering sensor

Hi, according to the specs the K50 and K500 have a 77 point metering sensor. Is it still that faulty unit, that make Pttl so amusing or did they replace it? THX for your replies Albert

fotobert asked
3 months ago

ANSWERS

It' the same 77 segment one as used in the K-30.  P-TTL works OK (Sigma 610) and consistently but bounce flash definitely needs -1.5EV EC to match direct flash. Continue Reading

Brad99 answered
3 months ago

Hi Brad, THX for your reply. As you might guess, I am not really happy with Pttl. I often use my flash(es) bounced or wireless with or without umbrella / softbox. In these configurations it is often trial an error to get a precise exposure. Tuning up / down the flash exposure sometimes has no effect, changing the aperture has (!), mostly f/5.6 or f/8 work, f/2.8 or f/4 often causes overexposure. I working more and ore with full manual control instead. Other users have found the new 86k metering module to be more consitent (Andrew, where are you?). I was hoping, that an improved77-segment-module is used in the new cameras. Have a nice day Albert Continue Reading

fotobert answered
3 months ago

K3 metering is reported to be very accurate. Continue Reading

ozdean answered
3 months ago

QUESTION

Pentax K-50 with 18-55 WR or Pentax K-500 with 18-55 & 50-200?

They are the same price and the lenses are kit lenses. Thanks.

bertwert asked
3 months ago

ANSWERS

Actually the Pentax K-50 with 18-55 WR is 560 CAD and the Pentax K-500 with 18-55 & 50-200 is 500 CAD. Which is better? Is the lack of visible focus points in the finder important? Is the lack of electronic level important? Would the Pentax K-50 with 18-55 WR be better if I was shooting skiers? I would also appreciate if anyone finds a cheaper price for the Pentax K-50 with 18-55 WR. THANKS Continue Reading

bertwert answered
3 months ago

I have neither both, but a K-r and a K-5II Iqual IQ both, K-50 seems to last more as it is weather sealed(ruged) If you focuse subjet on center of the frame and recompose, not important. I have it, but never need it Only if you plan to shoot under wet conditions Continue Reading

waxwaine answered
3 months ago

K50 Continue Reading

ozdean answered
3 months ago

QUESTION

help in choosing a camera

I have been looking up cameras to choose from.  This will be my first dslr. I want to try and get the best value.  Out of these few which one would be the best if I could get them around a similar price. pentax k5 pentax k50 pentax k500 nikon d5200 nikon d3200

koalathunder asked
3 months ago

ANSWERS

We do get a lot of questions like this and it is not always easy to answer. It is my opinion that before buying any of them, you have to handle the cameras. Often the best specified camera does not feel right in your hands. Try them out, which will narrow your choices further. I will then say, "Buy the one that feels best to you". Continue Reading

Footski answered
3 months ago

The problem with answering you is that they are all good cameras. The only one I personally don't like is the D3200 because it lacks features which are standard on all other manufacturer's entry level DSLRs. Some of the Pentax models have weather sealing ( which is not an OK to rush out in a dust storm or high gale - it just means they're more resistant to normal rain levels than a non-sealed DSLR ). I would not put too much emphasis on this - in my experience most people simply do not photograph much in poor weather. However it's a factor for some people. Some Pentax models have a pentaprism viewfinder ( as opposed to the cheaper penta-mirror used on other entry level DSLRs ). These tend to be brighter. I've used both and while there is a difference, I would again not call it a major deciding factor. Pentax equipment can be harder to find, so keep that in mind. The biggest factor apart from those points would be that the handling and feel of each is different. This is important as ... Continue Reading

darklamp answered
3 months ago

The Pentax K-50 makes for an amazing value, and I tend to strongly recommend it for anyone who's looking for a mid-range DSLR. But is a DSLR really what you want, or need? If you don't plan on shooting in low-light (be it indoors or just very early or very late in the day), there's almost no advantage to an interchangeable-lens camera whatsoever. Just get a high-end compact camera, like the Sony Cyber-shot DSC-RX100, or its improved and more expensive version, the RX100 II. If you do, but won't shoot sports, a mirrorless interchangeable-lens camera (from now on - MILC) may suit you better than a DSLR. They are smaller and lighter, and so are the lenses available for them, though the selection is not as broad as the availability of lenses for Nikon and Canon (though the mirrorless systems, especially the Micro Four Thirds mount and Fujifilm's X-mount, are catching up, and are pretty much on par with Pentax - while MFT may have already surpassed it). Some of the newer ones are ... Continue Reading

Ido S answered
3 months ago

Warranty Information

"RICOH IMAGING products originally distributed by RICOH IMAGING CORPORATION, 633 17th Street, Suite 2600, Denver, Colorado 80202, have a limited One-Year Warranty starting from the date of purchase. This limited warranty covers any defects in original factory materials and workmanship. If your RICOH IMAGING product malfunctions due to such a defect within this one-year period, RICOH IMAGING CORPORATION will repair it at no charge within a reasonable amount of time. This warranty does not cover any damage caused to the product, including, but not limited to: impact, moisture, liquid, sand, excessive temperature, battery leakage, chemical corrosion, mishandling, operation contrary to operating instructions, tampering, modification, or servicing by an unauthorized repair shop.RICOH IMAGING shall not be liable for any consequential or incidental damages, such as memory cards, batteries, travel expenses, loss of time, etc. This warranty only applies to RICOH IMAGING photographic equipment originally distributed in the United States by RICOH IMAGING CORPORATION, 633 17th Street, Suite 2600, Denver, Colorado 80202".

Go to Ricoh's warranty page for more information and to register your Ricoh product. DPReview GearShop is an authorized Ricoh dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.