Pentax K-50 DSLR Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Key Features

  • 16.1MP APS-C CMOS sensor
  • 6 frames per second continuous shooting
  • 11-point AF system
  • ISO 100-12,800 expandable up to 51,200
  • 1080/30,24fps HD video (H.264/MPEG-4/MOV)
  • 3.0 inch LCD with 921,000 dots
  • 100% viewfinder and 4 optional focusing screens
  • Sensor-shift image stabilization
  • Pop-up flash with hotshoe
  • Fully weather-sealed, dustproof, and coldproof
  • Raw, JPEG, and Raw+JPEG with in-camera RAW processing
  • SD/SDHC/SDXC and Eye-Fi compatible

Product Description

The Pentax K-50 is the follow-up to the K-30, a mid-level DSLR with a 16MP sensor and PRIME M processor. Image processing has been improved on the K-50, with the promise of fewer 'jaggies' in images. Additionally, the K-50 has 100% field of view viewfinder, in-camera shake reduction, four optional interchangeable focusing screens, and a fast shutter with the ability to shoot at speeds up to 1/6000. The weather-resistant camera can be custom ordered in 120 possible color combinations, and is compatible with Eye-Fi SD Cards.

Specs

Body type
Body type Compact SLR
Sensor
Max resolution 4928 x 3264
Other resolutions 4224 x 2816, 3456 x 2304, 2688 x 1792
Image ratio w:h 3:2
Effective pixels 16 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 17 megapixels
Sensor size APS-C (23.7 x 15.7 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
Processor PRIME M
Image
ISO Auto, 100 to 51600, in 1, 1/2, 1/3 EV steps
White balance presets 9
Custom white balance Yes (3)
Image stabilization Sensor-shift
Uncompressed format RAW
JPEG quality levels Good, Better, Best
Optics & Focus
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Phase Detect
  • Multi-area
  • Center
  • Tracking
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Face Detection
  • Live View
Digital zoom No
Manual focus Yes
Number of focus points 11
Lens mount Pentax KAF2
Focal length multiplier 1.5×
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fixed
Screen size 3
Screen dots 921,000
Touch screen No
Screen type TFT LCD monitor with brightness/color adjustment and AR coating
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type Optical (pentaprism)
Viewfinder coverage 100%
Viewfinder magnification 0.92×
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 30 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/6000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes (Pop-up)
Flash range 12.00 m (at ISO 100)
External flash Yes (Hot-shoe, Wireless)
Flash modes Auto, On, Off, Red-eye, Slow Sync, Slow Sync+Redeye, Trailing Curtain Sync, Wireless
Continuous drive 6 fps
Self-timer Yes ( 2 or 12 seconds)
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Spot
Exposure compensation ±5 (at 1/3 EV, 1/2 EV steps)
AE Bracketing ±3 (3 frames at 1 EV steps)
WB Bracketing No
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (30,25,24 fps), 1280 x 720 (60,50,30,25,24 fps), 640 x 424 (30,25,24 fps)
Format MPEG-4, H.264
Microphone Mono
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI No
Wireless Eye-Fi Connected
Remote control Yes (optional, wired or wireless)
Physical
Environmentally sealed Yes (Weather and dust resistant)
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description D-LI109 lithium-ion rechargeable (4 x AA with optional adapter)
Battery Life (CIPA) 410
Weight (inc. batteries) 650 g (1.43 lb / 22.93 oz)
Dimensions 130 x 97 x 71 mm (5.12 x 3.82 x 2.8)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
Timelapse recording Yes (999 shots, 3 sec to 24 hr interval, time delay)
GPS Optional
GPS notes O-GPS1

Reviews

User Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
  • cgarrard, Nov 9, 2013 GMT:
    First user review here? Kidding me!? :)

    I'm very surprised there aren't any user reviews here on DPR! My full review is on my blog, so here is my conclusion on what I like: (1) Build/design similar in quality and feel to the K20/10 DSLRS (2) Weather Sealed (kit comes with WR kit lens too) (3) Excellent optical finder- 100% accurate and bright/large (4) Dual customizable control ...

    Continue Reading

  • Bertie123, Feb 19, 2014 GMT:
    Great Camera - Tons of features

    I got this camera a couple of weeks ago, through Airmiles, and I must say, I love this camera so far.  I used to (and still) have the K-1000 and ME Super, that I used back in the 80's through to the mid to late 90's, that's when I got my 1st Digital point & shoot camera.  Since then I have had two point & shoot cameras, and loved using them.  It's only lately that I got the itch to get back into SLR photography, but the prices were way out of my league (given my current situation).  So Thank ...

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

K50 and K500 metering sensor

Hi, according to the specs the K50 and K500 have a 77 point metering sensor. Is it still that faulty unit, that make Pttl so amusing or did they replace it? THX for your replies Albert

fotobert asked
1 day ago

ANSWERS

It' the same 77 segment one as used in the K-30.  P-TTL works OK (Sigma 610) and consistently but bounce flash definitely needs -1.5EV EC to match direct flash. Continue Reading

Brad99 answered
1 day ago

Hi Brad, THX for your reply. As you might guess, I am not really happy with Pttl. I often use my flash(es) bounced or wireless with or without umbrella / softbox. In these configurations it is often trial an error to get a precise exposure. Tuning up / down the flash exposure sometimes has no effect, changing the aperture has (!), mostly f/5.6 or f/8 work, f/2.8 or f/4 often causes overexposure. I working more and ore with full manual control instead. Other users have found the new 86k metering module to be more consitent (Andrew, where are you?). I was hoping, that an improved77-segment-module is used in the new cameras. Have a nice day Albert Continue Reading

fotobert answered
1 day ago

K3 metering is reported to be very accurate. Continue Reading

ozdean answered
1 day ago

QUESTION

Pentax K-50 , Nikon D5200 or Rebel t4i

I'm looking for a good beginner dslr for Landscape , hdr , night (stars) , aurora , kids ,sports I've come down to these three cameras for the price i would like to invest My choices are Pentax K-50 with 18-135mmWR Nikon D5200 Double lense kit (18-55wr and 55 -300mm ED) Canon rebel T4i Double lense kit (EF-S18-55mm EF-s55-250mm) I know that the Pentax as only 16 megapixel but i don't plan to print out big picture I will get the camera in Japan so the price will be almost the same Thank you

Angrygazel asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

They're all good. The determining factor is going to be which one you like the look and feel of the most rather than any technical specs. Another potential factor is if you have any friends you can borrow gear from :-) Continue Reading

Philip Kendall answered
1 month ago

You can get used to any camera if you have to, but one that suits you naturally is best.  Unfortunately we all have different preferences: I own and prefer Pentax but I can use Nikon quite happily; I've never got on with Canon.  My brother owns and uses Nikon and is happy with Pentax but not Canon.  My son uses Canon and likes it (and he's OK with our Pentax and Nikon).  So even in one family there's no helpful generalisation. Continue Reading

1 month ago

None of those zoom lenses will be a top choice for night (stars) or aurora.  Typically fixed focal length lenses are picked for that, these lenses are commonly referred to as "primes".  If you do all of your shopping in Japan, then likely you can easily pick up any prime you want.  Or at least take a look at these lenses while you are there, in USA stores primes can be a little hard to find. Kelly Cook Continue Reading

KCook answered
1 month ago

QUESTION

Differences between K-50 and K-500

My daughter is looking for her first DSLR and has a eye on the K-500. I looked up the differences to the K-50 on the german Pentax homepage and found: lack of weather sealing no electronic horizon no DOF preview When comparing the different homepages of Pentax / Ricoh, the german page says it has a focus confirmation in the viewfinder, the UK and US page has no information about this. The german homepage leaves out the DOF preview, the US page says it has. I would appreciate, if someone can help me. THX Albert

fotobert asked
14 days ago

ANSWERS

The K50 has focus confirmation in the viewfinder.   The K500 does not.   If I remember correctly the dpreview article pointed this out along with the comment that lack of focus confirmation is a terrible handicap.    I agree with that. I have the K30, almost identical to the K50.   Very nice camera.   My K5ii is a bit better, but some days I just don't feel like carrying all that weight.  The K30 is nice for that. Continue Reading

OpticsEngineer answered
14 days ago

One thing it (K500) doesn't do is illuminate the AF points in the viewfinder.  That is a reason enough to go for the K50 for me.  WR ain't so bad to have either. Cheers. Continue Reading

Petroglyph answered
14 days ago

+1 Continue Reading

DAVID MANZE answered
14 days ago

WHAT'S IN THE BOX?

  • USB Cable I-USB7
  • Battery Charger Kit K-BC109(A)
  • Strap O-ST132
  • Eyecup FR
  • Software CD-ROM S-SW138
  • Li-Ion Battery D-LI109
  • AC Plug Cord D-C02J
  • Hotshoe Cover FK
  • Body Mount Cover

Warranty Information

"RICOH IMAGING products originally distributed by RICOH IMAGING CORPORATION, 633 17th Street, Suite 2600, Denver, Colorado 80202, have a limited One-Year Warranty starting from the date of purchase. This limited warranty covers any defects in original factory materials and workmanship. If your RICOH IMAGING product malfunctions due to such a defect within this one-year period, RICOH IMAGING CORPORATION will repair it at no charge within a reasonable amount of time. This warranty does not cover any damage caused to the product, including, but not limited to: impact, moisture, liquid, sand, excessive temperature, battery leakage, chemical corrosion, mishandling, operation contrary to operating instructions, tampering, modification, or servicing by an unauthorized repair shop.RICOH IMAGING shall not be liable for any consequential or incidental damages, such as memory cards, batteries, travel expenses, loss of time, etc. This warranty only applies to RICOH IMAGING photographic equipment originally distributed in the United States by RICOH IMAGING CORPORATION, 633 17th Street, Suite 2600, Denver, Colorado 80202".

Go to Ricoh's warranty page for more information and to register your Ricoh product. DPReview GearShop is an authorized Ricoh dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.