Pentax K-50 DSLR Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Key Features

  • 16.1MP APS-C CMOS sensor
  • 6 frames per second continuous shooting
  • 11-point AF system
  • ISO 100-12,800 expandable up to 51,200
  • 1080/30,24fps HD video (H.264/MPEG-4/MOV)
  • 3.0 inch LCD with 921,000 dots
  • 100% viewfinder and 4 optional focusing screens
  • Sensor-shift image stabilization
  • Pop-up flash with hotshoe
  • Fully weather-sealed, dustproof, and coldproof
  • Raw, JPEG, and Raw+JPEG with in-camera RAW processing
  • SD/SDHC/SDXC and Eye-Fi compatible

Product Description

The Pentax K-50 is the follow-up to the K-30, a mid-level DSLR with a 16MP sensor and PRIME M processor. Image processing has been improved on the K-50, with the promise of fewer 'jaggies' in images. Additionally, the K-50 has 100% field of view viewfinder, in-camera shake reduction, four optional interchangeable focusing screens, and a fast shutter with the ability to shoot at speeds up to 1/6000. The weather-resistant camera can be custom ordered in 120 possible color combinations, and is compatible with Eye-Fi SD Cards.

Specs

Body type
Body type Compact SLR
Sensor
Max resolution 4928 x 3264
Other resolutions 4224 x 2816, 3456 x 2304, 2688 x 1792
Image ratio w:h 3:2
Effective pixels 16 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 17 megapixels
Sensor size APS-C (23.7 x 15.7 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
Processor PRIME M
Image
ISO Auto, 100 to 51600, in 1, 1/2, 1/3 EV steps
White balance presets 9
Custom white balance Yes (3)
Image stabilization Sensor-shift
Uncompressed format RAW
JPEG quality levels Good, Better, Best
Optics & Focus
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Phase Detect
  • Multi-area
  • Center
  • Tracking
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Face Detection
  • Live View
Digital zoom No
Manual focus Yes
Number of focus points 11
Lens mount Pentax KAF2
Focal length multiplier 1.5×
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fixed
Screen size 3
Screen dots 921,000
Touch screen No
Screen type TFT LCD monitor with brightness/color adjustment and AR coating
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type Optical (pentaprism)
Viewfinder coverage 100%
Viewfinder magnification 0.92×
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 30 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/6000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes (Pop-up)
Flash range 12.00 m (at ISO 100)
External flash Yes (Hot-shoe, Wireless)
Flash modes Auto, On, Off, Red-eye, Slow Sync, Slow Sync+Redeye, Trailing Curtain Sync, Wireless
Continuous drive 6 fps
Self-timer Yes ( 2 or 12 seconds)
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Spot
Exposure compensation ±5 (at 1/3 EV, 1/2 EV steps)
AE Bracketing ±3 (3 frames at 1 EV steps)
WB Bracketing No
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (30,25,24 fps), 1280 x 720 (60,50,30,25,24 fps), 640 x 424 (30,25,24 fps)
Format MPEG-4, H.264
Microphone Mono
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI No
Wireless Eye-Fi Connected
Remote control Yes (optional, wired or wireless)
Physical
Environmentally sealed Yes (Weather and dust resistant)
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description D-LI109 lithium-ion rechargeable (4 x AA with optional adapter)
Battery Life (CIPA) 410
Weight (inc. batteries) 650 g (1.43 lb / 22.93 oz)
Dimensions 130 x 97 x 71 mm (5.12 x 3.82 x 2.8)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
Timelapse recording Yes (999 shots, 3 sec to 24 hr interval, time delay)
GPS Optional
GPS notes O-GPS1

Reviews

User Reviews

4.16667 out of 5 stars
  • cgarrard, Nov 9, 2013 GMT:
    First user review here? Kidding me!? :)

    I'm very surprised there aren't any user reviews here on DPR! My full review is on my blog, so here is my conclusion on what I like: (1) Build/design similar in quality and feel to the K20/10 DSLRS (2) Weather Sealed (kit comes with WR kit lens too) (3) Excellent optical finder- 100% accurate and bright/large (4) Dual customizable control ...

    Continue Reading

  • Bertie123, Feb 19, 2014 GMT:
    Great Camera - Tons of features

    I got this camera a couple of weeks ago, through Airmiles, and I must say, I love this camera so far.  I used to (and still) have the K-1000 and ME Super, that I used back in the 80's through to the mid to late 90's, that's when I got my 1st Digital point & shoot camera.  Since then I have had two point & shoot cameras, and loved using them.  It's only lately that I got the itch to get back into SLR photography, but the prices were way out of my league (given my current situation).  So Thank ...

    Continue Reading

  • Larry, Aug 3, 2014 GMT:
    Camera is fine except for one major problem, LCD screen turn off.

    This problem is consistent with K50, K30, and even K500.The annoying LCD screen will not turn off as your using the viewfinder to take a photo. This also takes up battery power. I have to recharge my battery far to early. I even bought a back up due to this problem. I do not use the LCD screen as its worthless in sunlight conditions. I have tried everything even the Pentax forum to get this camera to turn off the LCD. This is a Pentax problem they have not addressed to this date. Pentax forum ...

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Pentax K-50 vs Samsung NX2000

I've done a lot of research and both the K-50 and the NX2000 will give me what I want as far as performance. I'm leaning toward the Samsung because it's smaller, lighter and cheaper. The only thing that makes me go back and think about the K-50 is the matter or weather sealing. I hope to take this camera into the backcountry fairly often, that's why I started looking at mirrorless, reduced bulk and weight but I need something that will hold up even if the weather doesn't. I'm not sure if I'll want to shoot in rain or not but I need to make sure that the NX2000 wouldn't get wet whether I'm shooting with it or it's put away somewhere. So my question is, will the NX2000 hold up in the backcountry and if I wanted to shoot in wet weather and is there an easy way to protect the camera or should I spend the extra $350 and take the added weight and bulk of the pentax?

OwenT asked
19 days ago

ANSWERS

. Continue Reading

OwenT answered
19 days ago

. Continue Reading

OwenT answered
19 days ago

Just as a point of reference, I've never had a camera break due to abuse. I'm not gentle with my cameras, and several are not weathersealed. That said, the two cameras are in a different class from each other. The K-50 is a pro-level body with a nice viewfinder, flash, IBIS, and useful controls. The NX2000 is a bottom-of-the-barrel entry-level. The Pentax is a camera I'd enjoy owning and using. The NX2000, I'd just be frustrated with. There are many nice mirrorless and, increasingly, nicer, non-ILC cameras on the market. Was the Samsung chosen just on price? What lenses are you planning to use? If you plan to just use the lens that comes with it, I'd strongly consider a Sony RX100 over the NX2000. If you plan to get more lenses, I'd consider some of the MFT bodies, and Pentax for better lens selection and better ergonomics. Continue Reading

Alphoid answered
19 days ago

QUESTION

K30 or K50 ??

I would like to have one camera with a optical VF, the Pentax series seems to has the brightest OVF in the price range I am interested in. I am vacillating between the K30 and K50 ( rechargeable AA's ) anyone with any suggestions/tips please respond. I intend to use it primarily with a Sigma 50mm F2.8 macro Thank you, Ziji

Zeegee asked
19 days ago

ANSWERS

You make a very good point Jeff, Pentax/Hoya/Ricoh fluctuating prices is disgraceful but will not fool most of us.  The practice of hiking up prices only to offer subsequent "reductions" (yoyoing) is soon to be made illegal in the UK. If I see a fairly priced new lens, I am likely to buy it, if not, I buy used and save myself a fortune.  Lenses tend to outlast cameras so I am confident in this policy - the vast majority of my lenses are used and work perfectly. Continue Reading

ronniemac answered
18 days ago

K5 is excellent. Continue Reading

ozdean answered
19 days ago

Both are identical with different looks. K-30 has bold looks vs K-50's traditional look. Go with whichever is cheaper in your country. Continue Reading

RonakG answered
19 days ago

QUESTION

K-500 and old lens compatible

I had a K110D years ago and it worked okay with manual A, M and K type lenses. I think I had to set some custom function to allow use of the aperture ring on the lens. Does the K500 still allow this function? Does the focus peak feature work with manual lenses? I'm not sure what is happening to the K-50/500 with the K-S1 out now, but I see the K-500 is $399. Might be a good time to get back into an SLR again. BTW, I now have a Nikon J1. I like the compact size but it struggles with noise at higher ISO and to use manual functions requires a lot of menu diving.

Simon97 asked
22 days ago

ANSWERS

Yes they still work...... :-) Continue Reading

robbo d answered
22 days ago

WHAT'S IN THE BOX?

  • USB Cable I-USB7
  • Battery Charger Kit K-BC109(A)
  • Strap O-ST132
  • Eyecup FR
  • Software CD-ROM S-SW138
  • Li-Ion Battery D-LI109
  • AC Plug Cord D-C02J
  • Hotshoe Cover FK
  • Body Mount Cover

Warranty Information

"RICOH IMAGING products originally distributed by RICOH IMAGING CORPORATION, 633 17th Street, Suite 2600, Denver, Colorado 80202, have a limited One-Year Warranty starting from the date of purchase. This limited warranty covers any defects in original factory materials and workmanship. If your RICOH IMAGING product malfunctions due to such a defect within this one-year period, RICOH IMAGING CORPORATION will repair it at no charge within a reasonable amount of time. This warranty does not cover any damage caused to the product, including, but not limited to: impact, moisture, liquid, sand, excessive temperature, battery leakage, chemical corrosion, mishandling, operation contrary to operating instructions, tampering, modification, or servicing by an unauthorized repair shop.RICOH IMAGING shall not be liable for any consequential or incidental damages, such as memory cards, batteries, travel expenses, loss of time, etc. This warranty only applies to RICOH IMAGING photographic equipment originally distributed in the United States by RICOH IMAGING CORPORATION, 633 17th Street, Suite 2600, Denver, Colorado 80202".

Go to Ricoh's warranty page for more information and to register your Ricoh product. DPReview GearShop is an authorized Ricoh dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.