Ricoh GR Compact Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

79% Gold Award
The Ricoh GR is a camera for a fairly specific niche - dedicated photographers wanting a fixed 28mm equivalent pocketable camera - but it satisfies the needs of that niche very well.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 16 MP APS-C CMOS sensor
  • 28mm F2.8 equivalent lens
  • ISO 100-25600
  • 1920 x 1080 (30, 25, 24 fps) MPEG-4 video
  • 3" fixed LCD with 1,230,000 dots
  • Continuous shooting up to 4 FPS
  • PSAM shooting modes plus time interval and bulb
  • Built-in pop-up flash and hot shoe
  • Optional optical viewfinder
  • Eye-Fi compatible

Product Description

The GR is the spiritual successor to the GR Digital series and features a 16MP APS-C sensor behind its 28mm equivalent, F2.8 lens. It's the first product to show signs of post-merger integration at Pentax-Ricoh, gaining the Pentax TAv exposure mode but retaining a host of traditional Ricoh features.

The Ricoh GR retains its predecessor's excellent and customizable user interface, making it a pleasure to use as a pocketable wide-angle photographers' camera. The JPEGs are occasionally a little muted but the Raw files, feature set and lens quality mean it's capable of outstanding results.

Specs

Body type
Body type Large sensor compact
Sensor
Max resolution 4928 x 3264
Other resolutions 4352 x 3264, 3264 x 3264, 3936 x 2608, 3488 x 2608, 2608 x 2608, 2912 x 1936, 2592 x 1936, 1936×1936, 1280 x 864, 1152 x 864, 864 x 864
Image ratio w:h 1:1, 4:3, 3:2
Effective pixels 16 megapixels
Sensor size APS-C (23.7 x 15.7 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
Image
ISO Auto, 100, 200, 400, 800, 1600, 3200, 6400, 12800, 16000, 25600
White balance presets 9
Custom white balance Yes
Image stabilization No
Uncompressed format RAW
Optics & Focus
Focal length (equiv.) 28 mm
Optical zoom 1×
Maximum aperture F2.8
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Multi-area
  • Selective single-point
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Live View
Digital zoom No
Manual focus Yes
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fixed
Screen size 3
Screen dots 1,230,000
Touch screen No
Screen type TFT LCD
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type Optical (optional)
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 300 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/4000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes No
Built-in flash Yes (Pop-up)
Flash range 5.40 m (at ISO 100)
External flash Yes (via hot-shoe)
Continuous drive 4.0 fps
Self-timer Yes
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Spot
Exposure compensation ±4 (at 1/3 EV steps)
AE Bracketing ±2 (3 frames at 1/3 EV, 1/2 EV steps)
WB Bracketing Yes (+/- 8 steps B-A axis or G-M axis)
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (30, 25, 24 fps), 1280 x 720 ( 60, 50, 30, 25, 24 fps), 640 x 480 (30, 25, 24 fps)
Format MPEG-4
Microphone Mono
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD, SDHC, SDXC
Storage included 54 MB
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes
Wireless Eye-Fi Connected
Physical
Environmentally sealed No
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description Lithium-Ion DB65 rechargeable battery
Battery Life (CIPA) 290
Weight (inc. batteries) 245 g (0.54 lb / 8.64 oz)
Dimensions 117 x 61 x 35 mm (4.61 x 2.4 x 1.38)
Other features
Timelapse recording Yes
GPS None

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other cameras in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Build quality
Ergonomics & handling
Features
Metering & focus accuracy
Image quality (raw)
Image quality (jpeg)
Low light / high ISO performance
Viewfinder / screen rating
Optics
Performance
Movie / video mode
Value
Gold Award
Gold Award
79 %
Overall Score

DSLR image quality finally comes to Ricoh's well-respected enthusiast compact. The GR retains its predecessor's excellent and customizable user interface, making it a pleasure to use as a pocketable wide-angle photographers' camera. The JPEGs are occasionally a little muted but the raw files, feature set, and lens quality mean it's capable of outstanding results.

Good For

High quality photography in a variety of conditions, if you're after something small, wide-angle and engaging to use.

Not So Good For

User Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
  • cgarrard, Oct 6, 2013 GMT:
    The Best GR Yet

    I've had the fortunate experience of using a GR on loan from it's parent company for well over a month now. I've owned every digital GR Ricoh has made, and consider them the best fixed lens compact camera's on the market (despite the older models having smaller sensors than some competitors). The family tree of GR's extends back to the film era where several GR models grew a very loyal following. They were known for being a pocketable compact camera that had more user control than cameras ...

    Continue Reading

  • bartovsky, Dec 18, 2013 GMT:
    GRecommended!

    This is my pleasant surprise of 2013! In my analogue past I have used great (comparable style, compact fixed lens) cameras like Yashica T4/T5, Contax T2/G2 and the Konica Hexar...and I have always been looking for a digital version.. Last years I have photographed with Canon S90, Samsung EX1, Fujifilm X10 and a Oly E-PM2, but none of them come close to the performance of the Ricoh GR. The sharpness, colours, resolution, settings, sturdyness/feeling, compactness...it is all simply great. The ...

    Continue Reading

  • Paul Czar..., Jan 7, 2014 GMT:
    Ricoh GR = Oerfect Camera

    I used this camera extensively for last three months travelling around the world. My conclusion is - I don't need anymore DSLR or MFT cameras. All were superseded by this RICOH GR. Small, fast, unobtrusive and making perfect quality images in most circumstances. This is really Gold Reward camera - pity it wasn't even mentioned in  DPReview poll.

    Continue Reading

  • mcDonald, Jan 25, 2014 GMT:
    the best camera for street photogaphy

    I had a Fuji x100. After a year a bought a Ricoh GR and I fell in love with this camera, because it's easier to use and customize than Fuji. The SNAP is fantastic and change the parameters (shutter speed, aperture and focus) is very fast. For me the best camera.

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

GW-3 replacement rubber hood: any ideas?

I wasn't too keen on the little rubber hood that came with the GW-3 wide angle adapter to begin with - but I've now managed to lose it anyway! Probably because of its poor design it simply fell off at some point when I removed the adapter. I don't see an official replacement for sale anywhere - but perhaps there is a better option anyway - perhaps a generic 62mm screw in petal hood? Does anyone on this forum know of a suitable solution? Obviously any third-party hood will need to remain outside the angle of view. Thanks in advance, Chris

2 months ago

ANSWERS

Hello Chris Thank you for starting this thread with a very useful question . I , like you , hate this petal hood . Almost as much as I hate the fact that one cannot reorder the lens cap for this GW-3 . I am in the opposite situtation as you. I still have the hood but not the cap anymore. and the cap is very difficult to replace as most standards lens caps of the same diameter do not fit because of how the glass is shaped ( so it would scratch the lens) . It took me forever to get one I think the GW3 is very good but this petal hood is awful. It has to stay in place otherwise it will show in the picture and no I do not know of a replacement hopefully someone will Harold Continue Reading

Harold66 answered
2 months ago

I suspect the rubber hood is designed to act as a shock-absorber otherwise the plastic GH-3 adapter would take the brunt of any knock and suffer damage from the weight of the lens if it was a solid hood being used instead. mazzeri.com Continue Reading

anthony mazzeri answered
1 month ago

anthony, isn't it for flare? i thought that was the purpose..shock against what? i assume this lens is prone to flare much more so than the GR, which already is a considerable challenge... Continue Reading

rondom answered
1 month ago

QUESTION

College camera buying advice?

Hi everyone, I wanted to bounce my thoughts off some people and see what I got back. I'm looking into buying a new camera in the 500-800 dollar range. I was looking at a new smartphone, but it finally hit me that I don't care enough, my current one is one of my least glitchy devices right now, and buying something new would only throw that away. So I repurposed the fund to a device I might actually get productive use out of. I'm looking to take entirely too many pictures for fun, just becoming a bit of a shutterfly for a couple years and build a new skill through excessive experience. I thought this could make a great complement to my writing skills if I ever wanted to make a run as a journalist like I've been considering. My only photography experience is occasionally clicking away with my phone's camera, a little bit of disposable Walmart cameras as a little kid, and I think a cheap Canon point and shoot that I still thought took terrible pictures, I've seen better out of my ...

modulusshift asked
2 months ago

ANSWERS

One of the best voor video is the Panasonic FZ1000, takes also 4K video, but this is a large camera. For a pocket camera the Sony RX100 Mk III is very good. Rudi Continue Reading

Rudi Maes answered
2 months ago

It sounds like you are on the right track./ RX100 III gives you what you need, a very capable camera with small size and decent video. The main issue with such a small camera is ergonomics - is it comfortable to hold and use? Continue Reading

Acrill answered
2 months ago

A used RX10? Continue Reading

Limburger answered
2 months ago

QUESTION

Ricoh GR - able to operate while USB charging?

Hi All, Wondering is the Ricoh GR able to operate/shoot while USB charging the battery? thinking to use the battery bank (for cellphone) to charge the camera while using the camera. Please advice. It will be handy when in few days hiking with no power point available, and still want to be ready for any photograph action/moment while charging.

zhihao asked
5 months ago

ANSWERS

Zhihao, I think that there should be no problem with the GR on a properly made external power source - Ricoh made a mains power source for earlier cameras that used basically the same battery and all Ricoh cameras have a little rubber plug that can be removed to allow a power cord to pass through and the battery door to be closed.  This oem mains charger was designed to fit inside the normal battery position and provide continuous power to the cameras that took DB60 and successor battery types.   Even the GXR has this removable little plug and to my knowledge no oem mains power adapter was ever made for that model. I am not advising but it the the output of the battery bank is the same as the GR oem charger unit supplied with the camera ie: 5.0 V 1000 mA and the input plug is the same shape and wiring then it should be compatible. Others may have actually tried something similar to what you propose and may be able to answer with more assurance. A word of caution - cheap USB mains ... Continue Reading

Tom Caldwell answered
5 months ago

Sorry, no. When the USB cable is connected to charger (or a PC), the camera will not operate - if you connect it while it's on, the lens will retract and the camera will power off (or in the case of PC connection, stay awake for PC access but camera buttons won't work). What's more it seems it cannot be charged from battery banks, at least not the ones I got handy (even though they supply up to 2.1A). If you'd need to do something like all-night star trails pictures where even a full battery isn't enough you'd need to get the ac adapter (Ricoh AC-5) and some ac power source, or cannibalize it and connect the battery adapter part to some battery that can deliver 3.8V and 1.5A or so (the ac adapter is spec'd 1.7A). I don't think it'd be worth it for such a hike though, just get a spare battery or two. By the way, the AC-4 adapter used with GRD and GRD2 does not fit (as it's shaped like a DB-60), but it is possible to shave two pieces of plastic off to make it fit and then it works ... Continue Reading

Tapani Tarvainen answered
5 months ago

Correction: found one that works, with just 1A power. So, the advice is to test the battery bank you've got, it might or might not work. Continue Reading

Tapani Tarvainen answered
5 months ago

Warranty Information

"RICOH IMAGING products originally distributed by RICOH IMAGING CORPORATION, 633 17th Street, Suite 2600, Denver, Colorado 80202, have a limited One-Year Warranty starting from the date of purchase. This limited warranty covers any defects in original factory materials and workmanship. If your RICOH IMAGING product malfunctions due to such a defect within this one-year period, RICOH IMAGING CORPORATION will repair it at no charge within a reasonable amount of time. This warranty does not cover any damage caused to the product, including, but not limited to: impact, moisture, liquid, sand, excessive temperature, battery leakage, chemical corrosion, mishandling, operation contrary to operating instructions, tampering, modification, or servicing by an unauthorized repair shop.RICOH IMAGING shall not be liable for any consequential or incidental damages, such as memory cards, batteries, travel expenses, loss of time, etc. This warranty only applies to RICOH IMAGING photographic equipment originally distributed in the United States by RICOH IMAGING CORPORATION, 633 17th Street, Suite 2600, Denver, Colorado 80202".

Go to Ricoh's warranty page for more information and to register your Ricoh product. DPReview GearShop is an authorized Ricoh dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.