Samsung NX30 Mirrorless Camera Kit with 18-55mm F3.5-5.6 OIS Lens (Black)

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Key Features

  • 20.3MP APS-C CMOS sensor
  • Hybrid phase/contrast detect AF
  • Up to 9 fps contintuous shooting
  • ISO 100-25600
  • 3-inch articulating AMOLED touchscreen with 1,036,000 dots
  • Electronic viewfinder with 2,359,000 dots
  • 1080/30fps HD video (H.264/MPEG-4)
  • Uncompressed output via HDMI
  • Built- in Wi-Fi
  • Bundled with Adobe Lightroom
  • JPEG, RAW, RAW+JPEG capture
  • SD/SDHC/SDXC memory

Product Description

The Samsung NX30 is a midrange mirrorless camera that features a 20.3MP CMOS sensor and the company's latest DRIMeIV processor. It supports the same NX-mount lenses as its predecessor (the NX20). The NX30 has a Hybrid AF system that combines on-chip phase detection with more traditional contrast detection. Photos can be composed on a fully articulating 3-inch AMOLED display or a unique pull-out, tilting electronic viewfinder. The NX30 has numerous Wi-Fi functions, and now includes NFC for 'tap and go' photo sharing.

First Impressions

While both cameras have SLR-style bodies and fully articulating displays, the NX30 has little else in common with the NX20 that came before it. It's taller and wider, though thinner, thanks to a refined grip design. This grip - along with the thumb rest on the rear - make the NX30 more comfortable to hold. As you'll see later, the NX30 also comes with a new power zoom 16-50mm kit lens.

Perhaps the most significant design change is the NX30's new pull-out, tilting electronic viewfinder. In order to tilt the EVF, you must pull it away from the camera body (from our experience with a pre-production camera we found it a bit too easy to accidentally push back in). Once that's done, the viewfinder can tilt upward as much 80 degrees, similar to the EVF on the Panasonic GX7. In terms of resolution, the NX30's EVF has 2.36 million dots.

The video features on the NX30 are competitive with higher-end mirrorless cameras. It can record movies at 1080/60p with stereo sound and dual (optical + electronic) image stabilization. The camera sports a mic input, and manual audio level adjustment. Enthusiasts will be pleased to know that the NX30 can output uncompressed video over HDMI at 30p.

Read the entire Samsung NX30 First Impressions Review on dpreview.com

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Samsung NX30 Histogram operation

Greetings, When in Manual mode, does the NX30 histogram change as shutter speed is changed?  Example, aperture is f8 and shutter speed is 1/125th for a correct exposure.  If the speed is changed to 1/15th, will the histogram move to the right indicating over exposure?  The manual I downloaded is very vague on this.  Thanks, Dom

DomNY asked
10 days ago

ANSWERS

It does on the NX10 and that applies to legacy lenses via an adapter as well as native NX lenses.  It is highly unlikely the implementation would change from model to model but perhaps someone with an NX30 can confirm. Continue Reading

Coldamus answered
10 days ago

Does anyone who owns this camera ever use  the histogram in manual mode?  Does it work the way I questioned in the thread starter? Thanks, Dom Continue Reading

DomNY answered
10 days ago

I'll try to check on mine ASAP. I already shot in manual but without the histogram (using just the blinking overexposed highlights and the "real" preview, it works like a charm). I'll repost as soon as I have checked. Continue Reading

Iznogoud answered
10 days ago

QUESTION

a question for nx30 owners

hi I have a question for the nx30 owners on here. I went to the photography show in the NEC yesterday and had a play with the nx30 but when I composed with the live view screen and then looked through the viewfinder all is fine but when I stopped looking through viewfinder the screen would not switch back on again, i could only use the viewfinder, to get the camera rear screen to operate again I found I had to turn off camera and turn on again for the rear screen to work. is this normal? or was the camera set wrong in the menu system? I thought as soon as the sensor no longer detects your eye over the eyepiece it would switch back to live view? other than this I was impressed with the camera and certainly the response from it which seemed superb

mrggt asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

No, that is not normal at all.  Make sure nothing is blocking the eye sensor.  There is also an option in the menu to turn viewfinder on or off, or if you use "iFn Plus" you can set one of a couple different buttons to act as an EVF on/off button (press i-Fn and the programmed button). Eric Continue Reading

viking79 answered
1 month ago

aha I didn't think that was right but the staff on didn't give me the impression they ne much but I certainly hadn't any fingers or anything over the sensor, Im now wondering if it was where everyone was playing with the cameras and pushing buttons that may have caused them to malfunction a little? I went to have a real look at the new 16-50 lenses but alas they was only behind a screen and couldn't be used :-( along with the new flash Continue Reading

mrggt answered
1 month ago

I was at the show and really impressed with the camera. I did buy one from Cameraworld. You have make sure you haven't got your hand in the way of the viewfinder when touching the large screen. Especially if you're right handed. Continue Reading

Pete Silver answered
1 month ago

QUESTION

Does Metz 44 AF-1 do HSS with NX30 ?

Hi, i have the nx300 and the Metz 44 AF-1 flash for Samsung. I think about exchanging the nx300 by nx30, because the nx30 can do high sync speed flash (=HSS), that means for example Flash with 1/1000 shutter speed in the HSS mode ( i do now know if this mode does automatically kick in in  TTL mode or you have to switch camera and/or flash to a special HSS-TTL mode ). Officially HSS of Nx30 works only with the new Samsung SEF-580A flash because Samsung only publishes the spec for Samsung products, but maybe also with the newest Metz flashes. Did someone test if Flash with 1/1000 shutter speed works with the Metz 44 (for-Samsung-version) and the Nx30 ?

Mr.NoFlash asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

Metz Responded to my email: So it sounds like 44 AF-1 will at some point receive a firmware update, but they aren't guaranteeing any release date for it :) Eric Continue Reading

viking79 answered
1 month ago

Thanks, Eric. So I will not replace my Nx300 this year. What I do next year is another question, depending what NX cameras and flashes appear within the next 18 months. The SEF-580-A flash seems a bit head-heavy - i may wait until the price comes down. Continue Reading

Mr.NoFlash answered
1 month ago

No slave support in 44 AF-1, when I press the slave button it doesn't do anything, and manual says no slave support for Samsung. The menus on the camera are weird, I think you have to actually attach the flash to configure the slave settings, then you might be able to take it off again? Not sure, the NX30 book says to look in the (SEF580A) manual, which I can't seem to find anywhere yet. I sent an email to Metz through the contact form asking if they plan to add support for it via firmware update to the flash or anything.  Doubt I hear back, but worth a shot. Eric Continue Reading

viking79 answered
1 month ago

Have your own question?

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.