Sigma 10-20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC HSM Lens

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

77% Tried & Tested
Optically the lens is a solid if not outstanding performer, build quality is up to Sigma's usual standards, and the focusing is indeed fast, silent and accurate.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 10-20mm focal length
  • 15-30mm equivalent focal length on APS-C cameras, 20-40mm equivalent focal length on Four Thirds / Micro Four Thirds cameras, 16-32mm equivalent focal length on Canon APS-C cameras
  • F4-5.6 maximum aperture; F22-32 minimum
  • Ring-type ultrasonic-type AF motor with full-time manual focusing
  • 77mm filters
  • 0.24m/9.45" minimum focus
  • Available in Canon EF, Four Thirds, Pentax KAF, Sony Alpha, Sigma SA, Nikon F (DX) mounts

Product Description

The 10-20mm F4-5.6 is the cheaper of two Sigma lenses covering the ultra-wide angle range for APS-C SLRs (the other offers an F3.5 constant maximum aperture). It’s a solidly-made lens with fast, silent autofocus, and available in versions to fit every SLR on the market. It’s probably better suited to landscape work than architecture, due to fairly strong barrel distortion at wide angle.

Specs

Principal specifications
Lens type Zoom lens
Max Format size APS-C / DX
Focal length 10–20 mm
Image stabilisation No
Lens mount Canon EF, Nikon F (DX), Pentax KAF, Pentax KAF3, Sigma SA Bayonet, Sony/Minolta Alpha DT
Aperture
Maximum aperture F4.0 - F5.6
Minimum aperture F22.0 - F32.0
Aperture ring No
Number of diaphragm blades 6
Aperture notes rounded blades
Optics
Elements 14
Groups 10
Special elements / coatings 3 SLD glass elements 2 hybrid aspherical elements 1 glass mold aspherical element
Focus
Minimum focus 0.24 m (9.45)
Maximum magnification 0.15×
Autofocus Yes
Motor type Ring-type ultrasonic
Full time manual Yes
Focus method Internal
Distance scale Yes
DoF scale Yes
Physical
Weight 470 g (1.04 lb)
Diameter 84 mm (3.29)
Length 81 mm (3.19)
Materials metal mount
Colour Black
Zoom method Rotary (extending)
Filter thread 77 mm
Filter notes does not rotate on focus
Hood supplied Yes

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other lenses in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Build Quality
Ergonomics and Handling
Features
Image Quality
Value
Tried & Tested
Tried & Tested
77 %
Overall Score

Overall the Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC HSM is a solid, well-built lens with good operational characteristics, which justifies its popularity with generally decent imaging results. While its long-running unique selling point of being the only third-party 10mm zoom has now disappeared, and it faces strong competition from Tamron's 10-24mm, the different characteristics of the two lenses means it's still a good option for APS-C users looking for the widest of ultra-wideangle zooms.

Good For

Cropped sensor shooters looking for an affordable, well-built super wide angle zoom lens.

Not So Good For

People who are picky about barrel distortion, or shoot in a lot of low-light environments.

User Reviews

4.3125 out of 5 stars
  • mr vigo, Jan 6, 2013 GMT:
    Great-sharp-quite-nice price

    acteally its my amazing lense i found it most great lense than canon its a nice price & perfect lense & beauty color altogh its from big company in lense made the lense is the 2d place after Tokina

    Continue Reading

  • Jose Rocha, Nov 23, 2011 GMT:
    My quick review

    This lens could be better for the price I paid at the time (€510). I like this lens a lot for the professional feel, colors and of cours the wide angle. Optically my copy has a flaw and unfortunately I noticed it too late. Pros: - Good (not great) sharpness at most of the frame. My copy is decentered and doesn't give justice to it, but the sharpest side of the frame is good at f/5.6. I normally use it at f/8 or f/11 and the sharpness improves significally. - Like my Nikkor 35mm f/1.8, this ...

    Continue Reading

  • fastHID, Nov 4, 2011 GMT:
    a great wide angle zoom

    After reading plenty of reviews, I bought this lens for HDR landscape photos on my Canon 60D and it indeed is a fine lens. Feels very solid, autofocus is very fast, zoom is smooth, manual focus very smooth too. Have done some great interior shots, minimal distortion and only on the wide end. Great lens for the money too. No regrets. After months of outdoors use, no dust at all internally. Fits the body well too. Problems: none.

    Continue Reading

  • whyukon, Aug 13, 2011 GMT:
    A top pick

    I carefully researched and read all the reviews of available super-wide zooms before settling on this one. There is a lot of choice now, and each lens seems to have its own strengths and weaknesses. However, in my opinion, this lens is still a standout. The construction quality of this lens is far beyond what one would expect for a lens of this price. It feels incredibly solid, like the high-quality prime lenses of many years ago. Both the zoom and the focusing ring are very ...

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

From D5000 to D610 or D810, what will fit me better?

I have been shooting with my first DSLR (D5000) since 2009. I am not a pro, just use the camera on my business travels and with my Family (mostly my kid nowadays). My lenses are 35mm 1.8G, Sigma 10-20 and Tamron 90mm f2.8. I believe only the Tamron supports full frame. I believe going to D7100 will not add much since D5000 is already a great camera and the next step would be going to full frame. My budget is around 3.5k (after selling a CAM recorder from Canon) for the body and 1 or 2 lenses. If I go to D810 I will probably get the 50mm f1.8G. If I go with D610 I would probably get either the 28-70mm f2.8 or the 50mm f1.8G + Nikkor 18-35mm. Thanks!

rpabech asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

Based on your lens choices and what you shoot I will go for D610. D610 files will be a lot easier to manage than D810. Continue Reading

amobi answered
29 days ago

My requirement specs seem similar to yours: Mostly kids (4 and 1.5 years old), some nature and landscapes. I do own and use by now: D5000 and D600. Lenses: 18-105(dx), Sigma 35Art and Tamron 70-200/2.8 There's what i think: Update to an D7100. The sensor is a huge step forwards plus: You dont have to touch your lenses. If you do a mayor upgrade now, you will miss too many shots, *because you are fiddling with your gear*. Believe me, i know exactly what i'm talking about. Changing lenses and esp. zoom ranges takes a learning curve. You probably don't have that time. D7100 is a plug and play update. It will enhance everything while the impact to you and your gear is not that big. If you want to sink more money, in addition take your family to paris and see how well it works. -Armin PS: http://www.dpreview.com/forums/post/54067239 Continue Reading

Armin Hermann answered
29 days ago

I hesitate a little to jump in because I've never shot with a D800 (or 800e or 810). But I've shot with a D610 and a Df (and now own the Df). But my general feeling is that you shouldn't get the 810 unless you KNOW you want that camera and know WHY you want that camera - I sort of feel the same way about the D4s and Df too. If you want one and know why you want it, it might be the right choice for you, but if you don't, I think the D610 is a pretty great all-around full frame sweet spot to start off with. The D610 is very similar to the D810 in terms of imaging characteristics but it's a bit more forgiving of both the photographer and the lenses one might stick in front of it by virtue of being 24mp rather than 36mp. The AF isn't quite as good, but I find it more than wonderful as I'd guess you would too coming from the D5000. And 24mp is still a LOT of detail - probably already more than the vast majority of us can really benefit from - and the dynamic range and low light ... Continue Reading

Ray Sachs answered
29 days ago

QUESTION

Lens for real estate photography

I am in need of a lens for my Canon 70D. Ultimately I would like a Sigma 10-20mm, but also in need of a general all purpose lens. I've also considered something like the Sigma 17-70mm so I can get F4 across that focal range. The only lens I have now is the Canon 50mm 1.8. Would the 17mm be adequate to at least get started? I don't have the money for both.

rweaver85 asked
4 months ago

ANSWERS

17mm will generally be enough for most rooms apart from very small bathrooms, etc where you can't "back up' enough, but it is dependant on the client. Generally there's two schools of thought the clients falls in to: a) The photos should be as good as they possibly can be to wow the client and get them to view the property. This is generally for upper-end properties that have a good level of fit and finish, are nicely decorated/furnished, etc... These are the clients where your 17mm might not be acceptable as they want the super wide wow-factor to feel like the person viewing the photo is immersed in the room. The client being wowed by how nice the house looks books an appointment to view. or b) The photos are there just to give enough of an indication as to the general space and layout of the house to get the customer interested in viewing it in person, they don't want to give too much away, they'd rather the bad points be addressed in person by the agent who can steer the ... Continue Reading

RhysM answered
4 months ago

The sigma 10-20 is your best bet. Continue Reading

Richard Weisgrau answered
4 months ago

My goal is to get a 17mm TS-E lens. Continue Reading

rweaver85 answered
4 months ago

QUESTION

Using a Nikon Mount Sigma 10-20mm f4-5.6 on Sony a7R?

Hi guys! First post here, but I've been looking around the forums for a while. Just wondering, would a crop frame lens such as the Sigma 10-20mm on a Sony a7R with adaptor, perform just as well as it would on a Nikon D7000 with a crop frame sensor? Thanks!

Silas C asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

Warranty Information

"Beginning July 1, 2013, all brand new Sigma Products purchased from authorized Sigma dealers are covered under the 1 year America warranty (North and South America) and U.S.A. extended warranties for a period of three (3) years against defects in manufacturing and workmanship only. Your warranty period begins the day you purchase your Sigma camera, lens and/or flash and runs for a total period of four years from that date (please refer to the warranty policy included with your product)."

Go to Sigma's warranty registration page for more information and to register your Sigma product. DPReview GearShop is an authorized Sigma dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.