Sigma 150-500mm f/5-6.3 AF APO DG OS HSM Lens

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Key Features

  • 150-500mm focal length
  • 225-750mm equivalent focal length on APS-C cameras, 240-800mm equivalent focal length on Canon APS-C cameras
  • F5-6.3 maximum aperture; F22-28 minimum
  • Ring-type ultrasonic-type AF motor with full-time manual focusing
  • Image stabilization, 4 stops claimed
  • 86mm filters
  • 2.20m/86.61" minimum focus
  • Available in Canon EF, Pentax KAF3, Sony Alpha, Sigma SA, Nikon F (FX) mounts

Product Description

The enormous Sigma APO 150-500mm F5-6.3 DG HSM is an ultra telephoto zoom lens designed for use on full-frame and APS-C Digital SLRs. Featuring a HSM focus motor with full-time manual focusing and Sigma's Optical Stabilization this lens contains three SLD (Special Low Dispersion) elements. On an APS-C DSLR this lens covers an effective focal length range of 225-750mm.

Specs

Principal specifications
Lens type Zoom lens
Max Format size 35mm FF
Focal length 150–500 mm
Image stabilisation Yes (4 stops claimed)
Lens mount Canon EF, Nikon F (FX), Pentax KAF3, Sigma SA Bayonet, Sony/Minolta Alpha
Aperture
Maximum aperture F5.0 - F6.3
Minimum aperture F22.0 - F28.0
Aperture ring No
Number of diaphragm blades 9
Optics
Elements 21
Groups 15
Special elements / coatings 3 SLD glass elements
Focus
Minimum focus 2.20 m (86.61)
Maximum magnification 0.19×
Autofocus Yes
Motor type Ring-type ultrasonic
Full time manual Yes
Focus method Rear
Distance scale Yes
DoF scale No
Physical
Weight 1780 g (3.92 lb)
Diameter 95 mm (3.73)
Length 252 mm (9.92)
Sealing No
Zoom method Rotary (extending)
Filter thread 86 mm
Filter notes Does not rotate on focusing
Hood supplied Yes
Tripod collar Yes
Optional accessories 1.4x EX DG APO Tele Converter 2x EX DG APO Tele Converter

Reviews

User Reviews

4.13393 out of 5 stars
  • Teru Kage, Jan 23, 2013 GMT:
    Good performance/price ratio

    Review of the Nikon mount version. I've had this lens for 3 years and use it mostly for birds and lunar photography and it's given me some very satisfying photos. It performs pretty well for the price that you pay for it. OS generally gives 2~3 stops of leeway and HSM is accurate (but can't compete with AF-S). The f/6.3 max at 500mm requires more light, but then you need to take into consideration that f/4 tele lenses cost at least 3 times as much as what you pay for the Sigma. Plus, I shoot ...

    Continue Reading

  • rakkasan69, May 15, 2012 GMT:
    Lots of reach for the small budget

    I have had this lens now through 2 airshow seasons and it has been a workhorse. I use this lens mostly for airshows and wildlife and birds. It has worked perfectly with no issues at all. The reach is incredible and produced solid shots one after another. I shoot handheld and the OS comes in handy for that reason alone. Turn off the OS when panning and shooting pictures of fighter jets going 600MPH. I am a large 6 foot 1 male and 200 pounds, this lens will wear me out by the very ...

    Continue Reading

  • ipimpianti, Feb 28, 2012 GMT:
    ottima qualità-prezzo alto consumo batterie

    è circa un anno che uso questo obbiettivo con ottimi risultati, la stabilizzatore funziona benissimo e non serve quasi il cavalletto, anche se l'obbiettivo è abbastanza pesante, la messa a fuoco è sufficientemente veloce e precisa. Unica pecca dell'obbiettivo è l'alto consumo delle batterie, che durano relativamente poco con lo stabilizzatore d'immagine attivo

    Continue Reading

  • shootmenow, May 13, 2011 GMT:
    Great Lens with a few niggling issues

    I used this lens for about 18 months with a Nikon D90 and had some pretty good results particularly for wildlife. It manages to lock on to fast moving wildlife pretty quickly and together with the stabliser produces some sharp images. It does take a bit of practice to get used to the weight of the lens+camera when you not using it with a tripod, as I usually do. My main issue, and I still haven't confirmed if it's the lens or the camera is this. Randomly the display on the D90 starts flashing ...

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Need help buying the right telephoto zoom lens for my Canon 600D

I'm looking for the right lens for my Canon 600D for shooting occasional wildlife, birds and other objects at a distance. After going through a number of forums and looking for help online I've narrowed down to the Canon 100-400 mm f/4.5-5.6 L IS lens. However I'm now confused if I should just go get it or decide on other brands like Sigma, Tamron, Tokina who have lenses with really respectable specs like the Sigma 150-500 / 50 -500 which would save me some money. I live in India and go very often to the forests for the wildlife and it should be noted that the animal movements are almost always early in the mornings or late evenings so light is an important factor.

paresh3776 asked
3 months ago

ANSWERS

I have owned the Canon 100-400mm for about 5 years and it is my favourite lens. There are not many alternatives. If you want a zoom for general purpose wildlife then following are your alternatives: (1) Canon 70-200mm f2.8 L IS with 1.4x and 2x converters. Really the only low light option if you want a zoom and and if 200mm is close enough (2) Canon 70-300 f4-5.6 L IS. (Note that this is the "L" version of this lens, not the much cheaper non-L version.) Better image quality (IQ) than the 100-400mm and a more effective IS, but 100mm shorter and the same maximum aperture. (3) Sigma 120-400mm and 150-500mm. Cheaper than ... Continue Reading

Chris R-UK answered
3 months ago

Another option I have to mention, is the Sigma 120-300mm f/2.8. You should be able to find a good deal on the older version, which has identical optics, but inferior build quality (though such a big lens is probably well-built anyway). Continue Reading

Ido S answered
3 months ago

Hey Chris thanks for your informative reply. I see that you've recommended the 70 - 300 L series. My original choice was the 100 - 400 L series and considering the concerns I would have with weight of the Sigma 50 - 500 looks like the one I should go and get is the Canon 100 - 400 L series. And if image quality is going to be vastly superior to those from the lesser Sigmas then I think I'll be going for the Canon. Also the solution for the low light problem would have to be the monopod with the above lens. A prime lens wont be of much help if the subject appears too close. (In India the excursions into the forest are always in a jeep, so you might have a tiger pop out within 10 feet of your vehicle). Thanks once again. Continue Reading

paresh3776 answered
3 months ago

QUESTION

Sigma 150-500mm f5-6.3 APO DG OS HSM for Nikon

I notice in the specs and reviews that the Sigma 150-500mm f5-6.3 APO DG OS HSM for Nikon lens is compatable with full-frame and APS-C Digital SLRs. Does this mean it is compatable with the nikon d7000? Also is the nikon d7000 a full-frame or APS-C Digital SLR. I am fairly new to all the tech talk, and getting confused with all the termonology!!

George UK asked
2 months ago

ANSWERS

It is compatible you just get a narrower field of veiw (more magnification with DX bodies) - but the 50-500 version is better. Continue Reading

Adeadram answered
2 months ago

The Nikon d7000 is not full-frame. It is an APS-C Digital SLR. I have one. No experience with the lens but it should be compatible with D7000 given the specs cited. Continue Reading

Uncle Bill answered
2 months ago

Have the d7000 and sigma 150-500. Works fine, but slightly soft above 400mm. Crop at 400 gives you 600 "equivalent". Continue Reading

Billstek answered
2 months ago

QUESTION

Facing difficulty with Sigma 150-500 on Canon 7D

Hi I have been using Sigma 150-500 on my Canon 7D for last 3 years or so. Suddenly, it has started showing communication error 01, while on the manual mode, and when the focal length goes above 200mm. I do not face the same problem if I am shooting on Av Mode. I have tried to clean the lens contact points, but the problem is persisting. I used the Lens on manual mode with Canon 600D, and it worked well. On the other hand, all my other lenses, including Tamron 18-270 work absolutely fine on Canon 7D. Please help. Thank you Ashish Mantri

3 months ago

ANSWERS

Did you update the firmware in the 7D ? Continue Reading

Rahto answered
3 months ago

NO, have not updated the firmware recently. It was updated to 2.0.3 about a year ago or so. Continue Reading

Urban Yayawar answered
3 months ago

Sounds like the lens may need a trip to Sigma. Their EX lenses have a 4 year warranty. But, I don't think the 150-500 is an EX lens, so I'm not sure of what its warranty period is. Either way, it is probably worth it to get it working properly again. Continue Reading

TTMartin answered
3 months ago

Warranty Information

"Beginning July 1, 2013, all brand new Sigma Products purchased from authorized Sigma dealers are covered under the 1 year America warranty (North and South America) and U.S.A. extended warranties for a period of three (3) years against defects in manufacturing and workmanship only. Your warranty period begins the day you purchase your Sigma camera, lens and/or flash and runs for a total period of four years from that date (please refer to the warranty policy included with your product)."

Go to Sigma's warranty registration page for more information and to register your Sigma product. DPReview GearShop is an authorized Sigma dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.