Sigma 17-70mm 2.8-4 DC Macro OS HSM C Lens

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

80% Silver Award
Its combination of extended focal length range and faster aperture offers useful extra compositional flexibility compared to a standard kit lens, and the optics are overall better too.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 17-70mm focal length
  • F2.8-4 maximum aperture; F22-22 minimum
  • Image stabilization
  • 72mm filters
  • 0.22m/8.66" minimum focus
  • Compatible with APS-C format DSLRs
  • Compatible with Sigma's USB Dock

Product Description

The 17-70mm F2.8-4 DC Macro HSM OS was the first lens released in the 'Contemporary' category of Sigma’s lineup. Designed to be an ideal all-purpose lens for APS-C sized sensors, the Sigma 17-70mm F2.8-4 covers an effective focal range of 25-105mm. This standard zoom is also equipped with a Hyper Sonic Motor (HSM) and an Optical Stabilizer (OS). The construction of the 17-70mm comprises 16 elements of 14 groups, including two FLD glass elements which Sigma says have performance equal to fluorite, with one SLD (super low dispersion) element to reduce color aberrations. The 17-70mm F2.8-4 Macro DC HSM OS is compatible with the Sigma USB dock, which allows some aspects of its feature set to be customized by the user.

Specs

Principal specifications
Lens type Zoom lens
Max Format size APS-C / DX
Focal length 17–70 mm
Image stabilisation Yes (4 stops claimed)
Lens mount Canon EF, Nikon F (DX), Pentax KAF3, Sony Alpha, Sigma SA
Aperture
Maximum aperture F2.8 - F4.0
Minimum aperture F22.0
Aperture ring No
Number of diaphragm blades 7
Aperture notes rounded
Optics
Elements 16
Groups 14
Special elements / coatings 2 FLD ("F" Low Dispersion) glass elements, 1 SLD (Special Low Dispersion) glass element, 3 aspherical glass lenses including double sided aspherical lens
Focus
Minimum focus 0.22 m (8.66)
Maximum magnification 0.36×
Autofocus Yes
Motor type Micro-type ultrasonic
Full time manual No
Focus method Internal
Distance scale Yes
Physical
Weight 465 g (1.03 lb)
Diameter 79 mm (3.11)
Length 82 mm (3.23)
Materials Plastic barrel, metal mount
Zoom method Rotary (extending)
Filter thread 72 mm
Filter notes Does not rotate on focusing
Hood supplied Yes
Hood product code LH780-03
Tripod collar No

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other lenses in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Optical Quality
Build Quality
Autofocus
Image Stabilization
Ergonomics and Handling
Value
Silver Award
Silver Award
80 %
Overall Score

Sigma's latest 'C' badged 17-70mm F2.8-4 is an excellent upgrade option for SLR shooters who've outgrown their kit zooms, and are looking for better image quality and more creative flexibility. It offers a fine balance of zoom range and maximum aperture, while still being highly portable. Autofocus and image stabilisation both work well, but image quality at wideangle isn't the best.

Good For

Photographers looking for a high quality, general purpose zoom for everyday shooting.

Not So Good For

Wideangle or close-up shots

User Reviews

4.33333 out of 5 stars
  • Ken Roper, Apr 16, 2013 GMT:
    Sharp!

    I have been very pleased with the performance of this lens.  I've put it through paces with indoor and outdoor use and the images are sharp and crisp. So far, no problems and I'm quite pleased with the quality of images produced with my 7D and the lens.

    Continue Reading

  • Alan Ernst, Jun 30, 2013 GMT:
    Very good allround lens for travel and general purpose

    Sigma have done a commendable job on this lens. I am using it with my D5200. It is very consistent throughout the focal length and aperture range, i.e. good results wide open to f16 at all angles. Center sharpness is excellent with a little fall off towards the corners, which are still mostly good to very good except at the wide end where there is a more noticeable decline (from 17-35mm). Still better than all wide-angle zooms I have tried at that angle though. The shorter zoom range compared ...

    Continue Reading

  • K E Hoffman, Oct 5, 2013 GMT:
    Initial Impressions Sigma 17-70mm f2.8-4 "C" on Sony a77

    I just got this lens so this is an early set of impressions... Note this is the Sony Version so there is no OS on lens. Pros: (1) I like the look. Clean monotone no bright color logos or even text reminds me of my old Sigma 24-135 FF I had years go, but smaller. (2) Every test I have seen says this thing is insanely sharp to the edged.

    Continue Reading

  • mononoke, Oct 22, 2013 GMT:
    Super versatile, quality instrument

    (1) Pros: well built, versatile, sharp at all focals/apertures, nice bokeh, spot-on focusing, price (2) no full time manual focus override, field curvature @ wide angle Bought it for our holiday. Having previously owned an original 17-70mm, I can safely say that this one is much better in every category plus a bit brighter at the long ...

    Continue Reading

Videos

Loading the player ...

Sigma 17-70mm f.2.8-4 Lens by DPReview

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

will it work well on nikon d3200 body?

i cannot find nikon d3200 in this lens support list on www.sigmaphoto.com. Please someone reply me because i want to buy this len for my nikon d3200 during this week.

simleap asked
4 months ago

ANSWERS

Sure does. To good affect as well. AF works A1 too. I recommend it. Continue Reading

MJC3200 answered
3 months ago

QUESTION

Sigma 17-70mm f2.8-4 OS HSM C vs Canon 17-40mm f4 L USM

Hi Everyone, Can anyone advice me which one should I buy, I will be using the lens for event photography, group and tight shots, and some landscape. We all know that Canon 'L' lens are superb in terms of quality, but the features / qualities of the new Sigma is pretty attractive, it is a new model, wide aperture up to f2.8, optically stabilized, and most of all, better price. What about the widest focal point of both lenses, as per the specs, Canon is showing wider angle of view than Sigma at it's widest focal point, 17mm. Cheers, Pidong Marcos

2 months ago

ANSWERS

I choose the Sigma 17-70 f2.8-4 OS HSM C lens for the extra 30mm and 2.8 on the wide end. Don't know which it the sharper but I really like and have had no problems with it. I use it for events at Taylor County Extension office mainly. The Canon 17-40mm just isn't long enough in many cases. Continue Reading

Don Richardson answered
2 months ago

I just wish someone would make a 15 or 17-85 f2.8-4  with stablization. I had a Canon 15-85 and loved it but it was just to slow for events but I really miss the 85mm. The extra 15mm helped in the size rooms I usually work. Continue Reading

Don Richardson answered
2 months ago

The Sigma is a crop-sensor, APS-C, lens, whereas the 17-40L is a full-frame lens. The L lens is designed to be a good wide-angle, almost ultra-wide, lens on FF cameras, whereas the Sigma is a good all-around lens that extends from wide angle to tele. The L lens is really a bit short to be an all-around lens, but the shortness at the long end is not a fatal flaw (you can always crop shots taken at the long end). The L lens has superb build quality, the Sigma has decent build quality. The L is slightly longer, but surprisingly, the Sigma weights more. The Sigma extends when zooming--I dislike this feature--the L does not.  The movement is all enclosed. The L has very good IQ on crop-sensor cameras, but it isn't excellent.  The Sigma is very close to the L lens.  The main differences are that the Sigma has more distortion and greater vignetting. For me, unless I planned to move up to full-frame soon I'd pick the Sigma. On an APS-C camera, I'd pick the Sigma 17-50 2.8 (a lovely lens ... Continue Reading

gatorowl answered
2 months ago

QUESTION

Repair my Lens or buy a new one?

I have a 40D with 17-85 USM lens. The lens is playing up now with hunting and not being able to focus. The question, should I repair it or purchase a Sigma 17-70 2.8/4 DC? What is the view/opinion here please? Thank you in advance. Regards.

Tail wind asked
6 months ago

ANSWERS

Tail wind wrote: I have a 40D with 17-85 USM lens. The lens is playing up now with hunting and not being able to focus. I have this lens. One of the failure points that is well documented is the AF ribbon breaking. My guess here. The question, should I repair it or purchase a Sigma 17-70 2.8/4 DC? At $500, the Sigma 17-70 is a bargain. It will eat the 17-85 for breakfast and poop out its back-cap. Great optics, size and macro capabilities (such as they are) to boot. At $580 (price at adorama/B&H) the 17-50 is mind-numbingly good with fixed aperture but without the range of the former. Figure possibly half that (tops) for a repair - but you won't know until you send it in. This is the part in the movie where the person faced with the terminally ill loved one: a) works 2 shifts and sells the engagement ring their grandmother gave them to hire a gifted surgeon to perform a miracle or b) takes a pillow and quietly smothers them putting them out of their misery and goes off to live ... Continue Reading

victorian squid answered
6 months ago

Tail wind wrote: I have a 40D with 17-85 USM lens. The lens is playing up now with hunting and not being able to focus. The question, should I repair it or purchase a Sigma 17-70 2.8/4 DC? What is the view/opinion here please? Thank you in advance. Regards. do you have another lens to test? It could also be the body. Possible culprit: the AF sensor in the bottom of the mirror box, dust in it. Try blowing with a rocket blower. Continue Reading

photonius answered
6 months ago

photonius wrote: Tail wind wrote: I have a 40D with 17-85 USM lens. The lens is playing up now with hunting and not being able to focus. The question, should I repair it or purchase a Sigma 17-70 2.8/4 DC? What is the view/opinion here please? Thank you in advance. Regards. do you have another lens to test? It could also be the body. Possible culprit: the AF sensor in the bottom of the mirror box, dust in it. Try blowing with a rocket blower. I have tried the lens in my 1000d body and experienced the same problem. The 18-55 lens came with the 1000d works fine on the 40D. Continue Reading

Tail wind answered
6 months ago

Warranty Information

"Beginning July 1, 2013, all brand new Sigma Products purchased from authorized Sigma dealers are covered under the 1 year America warranty (North and South America) and U.S.A. extended warranties for a period of three (3) years against defects in manufacturing and workmanship only. Your warranty period begins the day you purchase your Sigma camera, lens and/or flash and runs for a total period of four years from that date (please refer to the warranty policy included with your product)."

Go to Sigma's warranty registration page for more information and to register your Sigma product. DPReview GearShop is an authorized Sigma dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.