Sigma 17-70mm 2.8-4 DC Macro OS HSM C Lens

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

80% Silver Award
Its combination of extended focal length range and faster aperture offers useful extra compositional flexibility compared to a standard kit lens, and the optics are overall better too.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 17-70mm focal length
  • F2.8-4 maximum aperture; F22-22 minimum
  • Image stabilization
  • 72mm filters
  • 0.22m/8.66" minimum focus
  • Compatible with APS-C format DSLRs
  • Compatible with Sigma's USB Dock

Product Description

The 17-70mm F2.8-4 DC Macro HSM OS was the first lens released in the 'Contemporary' category of Sigma’s lineup. Designed to be an ideal all-purpose lens for APS-C sized sensors, the Sigma 17-70mm F2.8-4 covers an effective focal range of 25-105mm. This standard zoom is also equipped with a Hyper Sonic Motor (HSM) and an Optical Stabilizer (OS). The construction of the 17-70mm comprises 16 elements of 14 groups, including two FLD glass elements which Sigma says have performance equal to fluorite, with one SLD (super low dispersion) element to reduce color aberrations. The 17-70mm F2.8-4 Macro DC HSM OS is compatible with the Sigma USB dock, which allows some aspects of its feature set to be customized by the user.

Specs

Principal specifications
Lens type Zoom lens
Max Format size APS-C / DX
Focal length 17–70 mm
Image stabilisation Yes (4 stops claimed)
Lens mount Canon EF, Nikon F (DX), Pentax KAF3, Sigma SA Bayonet, Sony/Minolta Alpha DT
Aperture
Maximum aperture F2.8 - F4.0
Minimum aperture F22.0
Aperture ring No
Number of diaphragm blades 7
Aperture notes rounded
Optics
Elements 16
Groups 14
Special elements / coatings 2 FLD ("F" Low Dispersion) glass elements, 1 SLD (Special Low Dispersion) glass element, 3 aspherical glass lenses including double sided aspherical lens
Focus
Minimum focus 0.22 m (8.66)
Maximum magnification 0.36×
Autofocus Yes
Motor type Micro-type ultrasonic
Full time manual No
Focus method Internal
Distance scale Yes
Physical
Weight 465 g (1.03 lb)
Diameter 79 mm (3.11)
Length 82 mm (3.23)
Materials Plastic barrel, metal mount
Zoom method Rotary (extending)
Filter thread 72 mm
Filter notes Does not rotate on focusing
Hood supplied Yes
Hood product code LH780-03
Tripod collar No

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other lenses in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Optical Quality
Build Quality
Autofocus
Image Stabilization
Ergonomics and Handling
Value
Silver Award
Silver Award
80 %
Overall Score

Sigma's latest 'C' badged 17-70mm F2.8-4 is an excellent upgrade option for SLR shooters who've outgrown their kit zooms, and are looking for better image quality and more creative flexibility. It offers a fine balance of zoom range and maximum aperture, while still being highly portable. Autofocus and image stabilisation both work well, but image quality at wideangle isn't the best.

Good For

Photographers looking for a high quality, general purpose zoom for everyday shooting.

Not So Good For

Wideangle or close-up shots

User Reviews

4.41667 out of 5 stars
  • Ken Roper, Apr 16, 2013 GMT:
    Sharp!

    I have been very pleased with the performance of this lens.  I've put it through paces with indoor and outdoor use and the images are sharp and crisp. So far, no problems and I'm quite pleased with the quality of images produced with my 7D and the lens.

    Continue Reading

  • Alan Ernst, Jun 30, 2013 GMT:
    Very good allround lens for travel and general purpose

    Sigma have done a commendable job on this lens. I am using it with my D5200. It is very consistent throughout the focal length and aperture range, i.e. good results wide open to f16 at all angles. Center sharpness is excellent with a little fall off towards the corners, which are still mostly good to very good except at the wide end where there is a more noticeable decline (from 17-35mm). Still better than all wide-angle zooms I have tried at that angle though. The shorter zoom range compared ...

    Continue Reading

  • K E Hoffman, Oct 5, 2013 GMT:
    Initial Impressions Sigma 17-70mm f2.8-4 "C" on Sony a77

    I just got this lens so this is an early set of impressions... Note this is the Sony Version so there is no OS on lens. Pros: (1) I like the look. Clean monotone no bright color logos or even text reminds me of my old Sigma 24-135 FF I had years go, but smaller. (2) Every test I have seen says this thing is insanely sharp to the edged.

    Continue Reading

  • mononoke, Oct 22, 2013 GMT:
    Super versatile, quality instrument

    (1) Pros: well built, versatile, sharp at all focals/apertures, nice bokeh, spot-on focusing, price (2) no full time manual focus override, field curvature @ wide angle Bought it for our holiday. Having previously owned an original 17-70mm, I can safely say that this one is much better in every category plus a bit brighter at the long ...

    Continue Reading

Videos

Sigma 17-70mm f.2.8-4 Lens by DPReview

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Should i consider a used Sigma 17-70 f/2.8-4 C?!

Hello everyone! Well i was planning to buy the Sigma 17-50 f/2.8 for it has a constant 2.8 aperture and is a sharpe lens till i found a good deal on a barely used 17-70 for around 265$ Now i was thinking this lens is worst at 17mm and f/2.8 so i would consider it more a ( 24-70mm f/4) Lens, and i was thinking should i get this lens and is it worth it and is it a real upgrade for the kit lens, or should i wait for the 17-50!!!!

Keroles asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

I have both lenses.  I have the version of the 17-70mm prior to the latest "C" version.  I have it in Canon and Sigma mount.  I have the 17-50mm EX in Sigma mount that came as a kit lens for my SD1.  I am happy with both lenses, it's a bit of decision you have to make.  I will say that my 17-50mm is very sharp wide open. Continue Reading

1 month ago

The alleged poor performance at 17mm f/2.8 is something of an urban myth. This is one of my first shots with the lens and I think that it's pretty good. I'd grab it. The lower corners in this shot are close to DoF, so any softness is not all due to the lens characteristics. It performs better at f/4 and above, of course. Sigma 17-70mm. (17mm f/2.8) Sigma 17-70mm (17mm f/5.6) Continue Reading

WryCuda answered
1 month ago

I had the same question and bought both.  The 28-50 is up for sale on Ebay right now.   I found that I could tell no difference  in sharpness between them.   They both are excellent.   I chose the 17-70 for the extra range on the long end, the closer focus, the more compact size and the usb dock.   I think it is an excellent lens for the money. I also put my 18-200 Nikkor VR up for sale.  Mine was pretty sharp up to about 100mm and then started getting softer.   Replaced the long end with a Nikon 70-300 Vr. Goop luck on your decision! Continue Reading

tclardy answered
1 month ago

QUESTION

Enthusiast Looking to Upgrade Either Lens or Body

Hi all, First time posting here and I have been torn for weeks so I decided to try posting here. I have read dozens of reviews, articles and other forum posts and I am at a quandary. My current gear- Canon XSi which I have had and loved for 4+ years but am starting to feel its limitations in terms of ISO, processing power for continuous shooting RAW and FPS Tokina 11-16 f2.8, Canon 18-55 kit lens, Canon 55-250 kit lens I primarily use my camera in the outdoors on hiking and mountain climbing trips. It is often subjected to bad weather and getting wet, but this has not yet been an issue with my XSi. I am not really willing to sacrifice image quality to get a true weatherproof camera. I mostly shoot landscapes and action shots of climbers, so I spend most of my time at the extremes of my focal ranges. Low light is also often a critical issue for me when shooting on the move in at dawn and dusk. Because I am a climber who is also a photographer and not the other way around, I must keep ...

Devin2785 asked
5 months ago

ANSWERS

I'm not sure about the Sigma lenses that you mention, but maybe the Canon SL1 (100D) camera would be a good upgrade for you since it's relatively light.  It has gotten great reviews.  The Canon 70D would be better in terms of image quality etc., but then it's a size & weight issue that you'd have to decide.  You could consider one or more of the Canon STM lenses, if you thought you might like to take some video pictures too. Continue Reading

Digirame answered
5 months ago

Hello, a lot to answer here, so I'm doing it inline so as to not miss anything.  :) A lot of different uses here.  Low light+landscape usually calls for 35mm format cameras, but they are pricey (5d, 6d, 1d lines).  An original 5D could be affordable, well built, and give you fantastic image quality, but no sensor shake cleaner, etc....  You also have to consider the weight of the thing. There are travel tripods that are small and light enough to use for star/night shots that you could take with you. A better choice would be the Sigma 17-50 f2.8 OS, fantastic lens.  The 18-35 f1.8 is simply amazing but no OS, costly, and an even more limited range.  Super zooms are going to cost you in terms of image quality and they won't be significantly better than your kit lens in lower light situations, with perhaps the exception of the inclusion of a stabilizer.  It's hard to beat the combo you are using for light weight/performance.  The newer kit lens has better image quality than the one ... Continue Reading

Keith Z Leonard answered
4 months ago

1) What is your price range? 2) How much do you care about weight? The best ways to address your issues via DSLR  are expensive and heavy. Everything else will be a compromise. Continue Reading

Oilman answered
4 months ago

QUESTION

What to upgrade, Lens or Flash, Nikon or Sigma?!?!

Hello everyone, i'm just getting my first entry-level DSLR Nikon 3300, and i'm thinking to do an upgrade but i'm pretty confused as i'm limited to budget on which to get first, new Lens or new Speedlight flash As well i'm confused about brands to get, like i do like Sigma products like the Sigma Lens 17-7- f/2.8-4 or the 17-50 f/2.8 and also for the flash i like the Sigma EF-610 DG ST They seem very good value compared to Nikon products, should i consider Sigma for my next upgrade or save more for Nikon products?

Keroles asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

In which case your built-in flash will be fine. Yes, one day you may discover you want to progress to something more powerful (or more flattering than on-camera flash) OR, you may find you like using available light and need a faster aperture OR, you may find the high ISO capabilities are sufficient For which a flash won't help you. You'll need a tripod. Whatever happens remember 99% of photography is about your ability , and most limitations can be overcome with patience, practice and perseverance rather than throwing money at the problem. Continue Reading

Doss answered
1 month ago

I'm pretty confused Keroles. Why do you want to upgrade if you're only 'just getting' your first DSLR? I assume it comes with a lens (the kit lens?). If so, stick with it until you find the limitations (if any) for your needs. To ask this question suggests you have a desire to spend money with no understanding why you need to spend it (a bad combination! Serving only the marketing people!!!) Save your money and spend time mastering what you have instead. Then the day will come when you know if you need a new lens or a new flash. Until then, happy learning :) Yes, for future reference, Sigma generally make good lenses. Continue Reading

Doss answered
1 month ago

Well i've been actually playing with some camera (mostly not mine) like the Nikon P520 and Canon T3 and been learning some stuff from the internet And actually what i feel that i'm limited for is low light photography that's why i feel that the kit lens and the pop up flash will not do so much That's why i'm thinking about wide aperture lenses or speedlight flash!!!! Continue Reading

Keroles answered
1 month ago

Warranty Information

"Beginning July 1, 2013, all brand new Sigma Products purchased from authorized Sigma dealers are covered under the 1 year America warranty (North and South America) and U.S.A. extended warranties for a period of three (3) years against defects in manufacturing and workmanship only. Your warranty period begins the day you purchase your Sigma camera, lens and/or flash and runs for a total period of four years from that date (please refer to the warranty policy included with your product)."

Go to Sigma's warranty registration page for more information and to register your Sigma product. DPReview GearShop is an authorized Sigma dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.