Sigma 18-35mm F1.8 DC HSM Lens

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

86% Gold Award
The 18-35mm isn't just sharp for a fast zoom; in terms of outright image quality, it's a match for many fast primes, even when shot wide open.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 18-35mm focal length
  • 27-52.5mm equivalent focal length on APS-C cameras
  • F1.8 maximum aperture; F16 minimum
  • Ring-type ultrasonic-type AF motor with full-time manual focusing
  • 72mm filter size
  • 0.28 m / 11.02" minimum focus
  • Available in Canon EF (EF-S), Sony Alpha (DT), Nikon F (DX) mounts

Product Description

The Sigma 18-35mm F1.8 DC HSM Art lens for APS-C DSLRs is the world's first constant F1.8 zoom. The lens, designed specifically for APS-C sized sensors, covers a 27-52.5mm equivalent range, and is currently available for Canon, Nikon and Sony Alpha mounts. The 18-35mm offers the light-gathering and depth-of-field equivalent of a constant F2.7 on full-frame, which may under-cut the need for some photographers to change formats. The use of Thermally Composite Material (TSC) reduces size and weight but increases the lens durability. It is compatible with the Sigma USB dock for further customization. A 9-blade rounded diaphragm also creates beautiful background blur, and SLD glass compensates for aberrations and curvature. formats. Front and rear lens caps and lens hood are included with the lens.

Specs

Principal specifications
Lens type Zoom lens
Max Format size APS-C / DX
Focal length 18–35 mm
Image stabilisation No
Lens mount Canon EF, Nikon F (DX), Pentax KAF, Sony Alpha, Sigma SA
Aperture
Maximum aperture F1.8
Minimum aperture F16.0
Number of diaphragm blades 9
Aperture notes Rounded diaphragm
Optics
Elements 17
Groups 12
Special elements / coatings 5 SLD glass elements, 4 glassmold aspherical elements
Focus
Minimum focus 0.28 m (11.02)
Maximum magnification 0.23×
Autofocus Yes
Motor type Ring-type ultrasonic
Full time manual Yes
Focus method Internal
Distance scale Yes
DoF scale No
Physical
Weight 810 g (1.79 lb)
Diameter 78 mm (3.07)
Length 121 mm (4.76)
Zoom method Rotary (internal)
Filter thread 72 mm
Hood supplied Yes
Hood product code LH780-03

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other lenses in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Optical Quality
Build Quality
Autofocus
Ergonomics and Handling
Value
Gold Award
Gold Award
86 %
Overall Score

The Sigma 18-35mm F1.8 DC HSM is an extraordinary lens, offering prime-level image quality in the fastest zoom ever made for SLRs. Its 28-50mm equivalent range is a little limiting though, and inconsistent autofocus means that it can be difficult to make the most of the excellent optics when shooting at large apertures.

Good For

Enthusiast APS-C users looking for the very best image quality available from a normal zoom, and willing to spend a bit of time setting up autofocus micro-adjustments or using live view focusing for the sharpest results.

Not So Good For

Photographers who like to travel light, or need a wide-ranging zoom.

User Reviews

4.85 out of 5 stars
  • David Naylor, Jul 23, 2013 GMT:
    Impressive!

    I'm usually a slow upgrader, waiting until at least a year after release, but with the Sigma 18-35mm f/1.8 I just went for it. First impressions: wow! This lens ... (1) ... is an APS-C equivalent to a full-frame 29-56mm f/2.8 lens (same shallow DOF and same light gathering ability). (2) ... can replace a collection of primes. (3) ... has better ...

    Continue Reading

  • davidgp, Sep 1, 2013 GMT:
    Sharp, Accurate, Fast Aperture, Great Colors & Contrast, Well-built...

    It is just what everyone else has said about it: sharp, accurate, fast aperture, well-built, great colors and contrast. I've also been very pleased with the focusing accuracy; it is infinitely better than my nifty-fifty. Focusing speed is decent, not lightening fast. Yes, it's heavy.  Feels fine on my Rebel (front heavy but not too front heavy) but it certainly takes some getting used too.  The weight seems appropriate for the very solid feel of the lens. CA is noticeable on the edges of the ...

    Continue Reading

  • VafaB, Oct 22, 2013 GMT:
    Nikon D7100 with Sigma 18-35 f1.8

    Lens is amazing, would be nice to see a bit more range. so far it has been on the D7100 since I got it last week. Focus is fast and hasn't had target issues. No issues with that on mine.  I like the size however it has a bit of weight to it, not used to that with my f1.8 primes. Will be trying it for video; with the zoom and steady f stop I think it will work out nicely.

    Continue Reading

  • whyukon, Dec 30, 2013 GMT:
    It is what it is

    This lens is most of everything that everyone says about it: it is heavy, it has a limited range, it does occasionally misfocus, and it is indeed SHARP and FAST.  You've all read the reviews, so I'll just add my personal experience and perspective. I got this lens because I wanted a professional-quality lens to add to my mostly mundane set of consumer-grade lenses for my Canon EOS 60D.  My consumer-grade lenses consist of a set of three zooms/superzooms/telezooms, the Canon nifty-fifty 1.8, ...

    Continue Reading

Videos

Loading the player ...

Sigma 18-35mm F1.8 DC HSM Lens by DPReview

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Canon 70D with Sigma lens...

Looking for feedback...is anyone using the Sigma 18-35mm f/1.8 DC HS on their Canon 70D? If so, do you like it? How would you rate this lens?

1 month ago

ANSWERS

I don't have it but it gets good rating for a somewhat unique large aperture zoom.  But I think the Sigma 30mm 1.4 (original) is a better value for low light shots, that's around $200 (used) Continue Reading

beagle1 answered
1 month ago

QUESTION

Sigma 18-35mm F1.8 lens conversion

Hi, Has anyone had the Sigma 18-35mm F1.8 converted to Micro Fourthirds mount? If so how is it? Cheers, Levon.

iceypix asked
7 months ago

ANSWERS

QUESTION

Is the new RayFlash universal Ringflash adapter Sigma-compatible?

I'm wondering, whether I could use this newly introduced RayFlash universal Ringflash adapter on the Sigma DP3M (possibly also DP1/2M, and also an old DP-series-cam), when supposedly using it in combination with the Sigma EF 610 DG Super flash. Would it also likely work on the SD1(M) when the new 18-35mm 1.8-lens is attached, in combination with that same EF 610 DG Super flash? I just haven't any clue whatsoever, which is why I'd happy, if someone here (or wherever really...) could tell me or at least attempt taking an educated guess on this matter. Thank you so much in advance for your truly valued and assumedly helpful replies ;-)

7 months ago

ANSWERS

I don't think there's any way to tell without trying, but it looks very promising.   I may see if I can fine one at a local photography shop and see how it fits. Continue Reading

7 months ago

mike earussi wrote: Or you could use this one instead (it's a bit cheaper): http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00DRJ72HK/ref=ox_sc_sfl_title_1?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=ADJ0O3Y18KZMO and probably just as likely to work. Why?  The other one has adjustments to fit multiple flashes and bodies, the one you listed is specific to a Canon flash and a set of Canon bodies... Just looking at it I am almost certain it would not work on an SD-1 with an EF flash. Continue Reading

7 months ago

Thanks for the link, but this Amazon-thing looks nowhere near as refined and, if you like: high-end, as the original RayFlash. But thanks. Continue Reading

FoveonPureView answered
7 months ago

Warranty Information

"Beginning July 1, 2013, all brand new Sigma Products purchased from authorized Sigma dealers are covered under the 1 year America warranty (North and South America) and U.S.A. extended warranties for a period of three (3) years against defects in manufacturing and workmanship only. Your warranty period begins the day you purchase your Sigma camera, lens and/or flash and runs for a total period of four years from that date (please refer to the warranty policy included with your product)."

Go to Sigma's warranty registration page for more information and to register your Sigma product. DPReview GearShop is an authorized Sigma dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.