Sigma 24-105mm F4.0 DG OS HSM Lens

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Key Features

  • 24-105mm focal length
  • 36-157.5mm equivalent focal length on APS-C cameras, 38.4-168mm equivalent focal length on Canon APS-C cameras
  • F4 constant maximum aperture; F22 minimum
  • Ultrasonic-type AF motor with full-time manual focusing
  • Image stabilization, 4 stops claimed (except for Sony version)
  • 82mm filters
  • 0.45m/17.7" minimum focus
  • Available in Canon EF, Sony Alpha, Sigma SA, Nikon F mounts

Product Description

The 24-105mm F4 DG OS HSM is a relatively wide-range standard zoom for full frame SLRs, and part of Sigma's line of high quality 'Art' lenses. It offers a useful wide angle to moderate telephoto zoom range, and includes a Hypersonic Motor for fast, silent focus. Optical Stabilisation is also available to combat camera shake. The lens can also be used on APS-C / DX format cameras, on which it will offer a 36-160mm equivalent angle of view. The Sony mount version does not have optical stabilization, as Sony's Alpha DSLRs provide in-camera stabilization.

Specs

Principal specifications
Lens type Zoom lens
Max Format size 35mm FF
Focal length 24–105 mm
Image stabilisation Yes
Lens mount Canon EF, Nikon F (FX), Sigma SA Bayonet, Sony/Minolta Alpha
Aperture
Maximum aperture F4.0
Minimum aperture F22.0
Number of diaphragm blades 9
Aperture notes Rounded diaphragm
Optics
Elements 19
Groups 14
Focus
Minimum focus 0.45 m (17.72)
Maximum magnification 0.22×
Autofocus Yes
Motor type Ring-type ultrasonic
Full time manual Yes
Focus method Internal
Distance scale Yes
DoF scale No
Physical
Weight 885 g (1.95 lb)
Diameter 89 mm (3.5)
Length 109 mm (4.29)
Zoom method Rotary (extending)
Filter thread 82 mm
Hood supplied Yes

Reviews

User Reviews

4.375 out of 5 stars
  • smobaek, Mar 19, 2014 GMT:
    Sigma 24-105 f4 Nikon mount on a Nikon D600

    Hello. I finally received the lens! So far I have not had a lot of time to try it out, but I thought my first impression might be of interest to some of you. Here goes: (1) Big, heavy and seems constructed like a tank (2) Perfectly recognized by my D600 (3) The zoom ring is very "hard" (to turn) (4) The auto-focus is fast and silent (compared to my Nikkor 180mm f2.8)

    Continue Reading

  • ucho808, May 9, 2014 GMT:
    Review on Sigma 24-105 f/4 'A' lens

    These are my impression of the lens as it was used with Canon 5D Mark II. Let's get the negatives out of the way--the zoom ring is fairly stiff as compared to a Canon L lens and I'm not in favor of the zoom ring placed toward the front glass and the focus ring on the back. And the other issues I have with is the fact that the lens has a double-barrel tubes, not weather sealed, and uses an 82mm filters. Now, to the positives, which are many--the build-quality on this lens is superb, it just ...

    Continue Reading

  • Mickeloni, Jun 25, 2014 GMT:
    Sigma 24-105mm F4 DG OS HSM

    I got the lens 2 months ago and tested it extensively with my D800 on a trip through Sri Lanka as standard lens. The extra zoom range compared to 24-70 is significant and especially for portraits and general street fotography a real advantage. Futher I used it as Sports lens to capture my kitesurf colleagues. The AF is extremely fast and precise, therfore the lens is just perfect for fast moving objects. Furthermore the OS does a great Job when Shooting e.g. from a boat/bus etc. The built ...

    Continue Reading

  • CanonShooter1958, Sep 5, 2014 GMT:
    Another hit from Sigma

    Only just bought this lens to compliment the 18-35 Sigma. So far I'm very impressed, there is some chromatic abberations in high contrast areas - bright skies where trees are present but LR5 soon resolves this issue, outstanding performance on my 70D and great as a walkaround GP lens but will also be using it professionally at weddings etc just for the flexibility of the zoom - 38-168 on FF not terribly wide but I have the 18-35 on my 7D for wider shots plus my 70-200 for longer FL shots.

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Do you have the Sigma 24-105mm?

Do you have a Lightroom profile for the Sigma 24-105mm?There's a bit of distortion at the moment.

28 days ago

ANSWERS

You are correct, just have to wait for.the next update from Adobe. Continue Reading

Felix Mak answered
28 days ago

Lightroom 5.6 has the profile for the sigma 24-105mm. Continue Reading

phlyfisher answered
28 days ago

Chris is right, the profile is already there, but it don't find the distortion difficult to correct manually if I need to. Continue Reading

jase answered
25 days ago

Warranty Information

"Beginning July 1, 2013, all brand new Sigma Products purchased from authorized Sigma dealers are covered under the 1 year America warranty (North and South America) and U.S.A. extended warranties for a period of three (3) years against defects in manufacturing and workmanship only. Your warranty period begins the day you purchase your Sigma camera, lens and/or flash and runs for a total period of four years from that date (please refer to the warranty policy included with your product)."

Go to Sigma's warranty registration page for more information and to register your Sigma product. DPReview GearShop is an authorized Sigma dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.