Sigma 35mm F1.4 DG HSM Lens

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

89% Gold Award
The Sigma 35mm F1.4 manages the impressive trick of being substantially cheaper than the camera manufacturers' equivalents while matching or beating them optically.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 35mm focal length
  • 52.5mm equivalent focal length on APS-C cameras, 56mm equivalent focal length on Canon APS-C cameras
  • F1.4 maximum aperture; F16 minimum
  • Ring-type ultrasonic-type AF motor with full-time manual focusing
  • 67mm filters
  • 0.30m/11.81" minimum focus
  • Available in Canon EF, Nikon F (FX), Pentax KAF3, Sony Alpha, Sigma SA mounts

Product Description

The 35mm F1.4 DG HSM is the first in Sigma’s new line of ‘Art’ lenses which are aimed at enthusiast and professional photographers, and designed as a high-quality alternative to the camera manufacturers' equivalents. Optically it’s a truly excellent lens that’s at least as good as anything else in its class, and performs extremely well on both APS-C and full frame SLRs. With fast silent focusing and solid build, its lower price makes it a compelling alternative to the camera manufacturers' equivalents.

Specs

Principal specifications
Lens type Prime lens
Max Format size 35mm FF
Focal length 35 mm
Image stabilisation No
Lens mount Canon EF, Nikon F (FX), Pentax KAF3, Sony Alpha, Sigma SA
Aperture
Maximum aperture F1.4
Minimum aperture F16.0
Aperture ring No
Number of diaphragm blades 9
Aperture notes rounded
Optics
Elements 13
Groups 11
Special elements / coatings 4 SLD glass elements, 1 FLD glass element, 2 aspherical elements
Focus
Minimum focus 0.30 m (11.81)
Maximum magnification 0.19×
Autofocus Yes
Motor type Ring-type ultrasonic
Full time manual Yes
Focus method Internal
Distance scale Yes
DoF scale Yes
Physical
Weight 665 g (1.47 lb)
Diameter 77 mm (3.03)
Length 94 mm (3.7)
Materials Plastic barrel, metal mount
Sealing No
Filter thread 67 mm
Filter notes Does not rotate
Hood supplied Yes
Hood product code LH730-03

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Optical Quality
Build Quality
Autofocus
Ergonomics and Handling
Value
Gold Award
Gold Award
89 %
Overall Score

The Sigma 35mm F1.4 DG HSM is a truly excellent lens, that performs as well in the field as its superb lab test results suggest. With fast silent focusing and solid build, its lower price makes it a compelling alternative to the camera manufacturers' equivalents if you don't need weather-sealing.

Good For

Photographers looking for a top notch fast 35mm autofocus prime without breaking the bank

Not So Good For

Anyone who shoots a lot in damp or dusty conditions

User Reviews

4.27857 out of 5 stars
  • JDThomas, Jan 13, 2013 GMT:
    Great sharp lens.

    I can't really find any faults with this lens. It's fast, it's sharp, it relatively distortion free, it's well built, and it's a good all-around focal length for FX or DX. Problems: None whatsoever.

    Continue Reading

  • Joed700, Mar 13, 2013 GMT:
    Great Lens!

    I got his one for my D800 and it doesn't disappoint me. The image quality is equivalent or better than some of my top Nikon lenses (24-70mm f2.8; 50mm f1.8g..) In fact, it has less distortion than my 50mm according to Photozone. Images are sharp with nice bokeh even at f1.4. This is definitely a winner. BTW, did I forget to mention about the price? Is weather seal a must???? Problems: You might notice some purple fringing between f/1.4 - f/2.8 when shooting from a distance on objects ...

    Continue Reading

  • Joed700, Mar 13, 2013 GMT:
    Great Lens!

    I got his one for my D800 and it doesn't disappoint me. The image quality is equivalent or better than some of my top Nikon lenses (24-70mm f2.8; 50mm f1.8g..) In fact, it has less distortion than my 50mm according to Photozone. Images are sharp with nice bokeh even at f1.4. This is definitely a winner. BTW, did I forget to mention about the price? Is weather seal a must???? Problems: You might notice some purple fringing between f/1.4 - f/2.8 when shooting from a distance on objects ...

    Continue Reading

  • vbourrut, May 6, 2013 GMT:
    Impressive lens !

    I never thought I'd buy a Sigma for my 5D Mark III, however after reading a lot of nice review about this 35mm, I decided to give it a chance. I am not disappointed, this is probably one of the finest lens I've ever owned ! It's really sharp, even at full aperture (despite a big vignetting though) but that point can easily be corrected in lightroom. It's a jewel for wedding photography, and street photography. The AF is fast, and accurate, even with subject in motion (I've tested it on a 5D ...

    Continue Reading

Videos

Loading the player ...

Other Videos About this Product

Sigma 35mm F1.4 DG HSM Lens by DPReview

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Which lens is best in this case?

Hey everyone, I'm kinda new to documentary photography, I own a Canon 550D , and I want to buy a new lens (since I only own the 18-55mm and a 55-250mm) to suit the field. So I've kinda narrowed my choices down to either the Canon EF-S 17-55mm F2.8 IS USM , or the Sigma 35mm F1.4 DG HSM . (1) Regarding the Sigma, I haven't dealt with fixed focus lenses before which makes me a little hesitant to lose the range, even though i seen that it has great reviews. Another factor is the fact that I have a cropped sensor, so I'm not really sure if I'll be using the lens to its full potential. (1) Regarding the Cannon, well it fits the range which I am already comfortable with (17-55mm) and offers me ...

SeifAllam asked
18 days ago

ANSWERS

Another option... When I was shooting with a Canon crop-body camera six years ago, I went with the Tamron 17-50 f/2.8 lens. Much less expensive than the Canon equivalent and includes a hood and a six year warranty. That's a great focal length range for street and street portraiture. I enjoyed using the lens a lot. ............ Brad Urban photoblog: http://www.citysnaps.net . Continue Reading

Brad Evans answered
18 days ago

at this stage in your photographic development, i'd suggest getting the simple canon f1.8 50mm.  it's an EF mount so will be good if u upgrade bodies.  it's plenty fast for the street and some street photogs recommend a prime so what u see is what you'll get.  the idea is that something catches your attention and seems photo-worthy...using a somewhat equivalent focal length to take the picture means less delay and fiddling.  of course, 50mm on a crop is a little long, but a 35mm costs a lot. Continue Reading

frank-in-toronto answered
18 days ago

To the OP:  "Documentary" photography has many definitions on this forum and it might be fun for you to look at some of the discussion threads about this.  I'm not going to ask what you mean by "documentary" but here are my lens suggestions, given what you seem to be considering: 1. .  I would not swap the Canon kit lens for another Canon or third-party lens in the same zoom (mid-)range which just happens to be faster, at least at some f-stops.   It does not really add to your capabilities. 2.  50mm is definitely too short for "documentary" photography.  I have found it a very awkward focal length on DX. 3.  Of the choices you present, a 35mm f1.4 or similar high speed lens yields a 'normal' field of view and would be preferred. 4.  However, 35mm is also not really wide enough for grab shots on DX.  If you can afford them, see what high-speed primes Canon manufactures or else consider Sigma 24mm 1.8 or 28mm 1.8 prime lenses.  These are maligned in lens reviews but do the job in the ... Continue Reading

PSCL1 answered
18 days ago

QUESTION

Street Photography and Landscape Prime

I bought a D610 not long ago and my goal is to have a nice small set of primes—as in two or three—because I like how my creativity works, when I'm limited like that. I'm planning on buying the Nikon 85mm f/1.8G, I already have the 50mm f/1.8G, but I plan to sell it, and now I need to be sure about what my second lens will be. So far I'm torn between two lenses: the Sigma 35mm f/1.4 Art and the Nikon 28mm f/1.8G . The Nikon is cheaper, the Sigma is sharper wide open, the Sigma also handles vignetting better, the Nikon is that little bit wider, which might make the difference for landscape photographs, the Sigma is heavier but better built, and so on... I've read too much technical information about each lens. I could really use some personal experiences and opinions about the lenses. Have I overlooked some key difference?

Kornum asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

I absolutely love, LOVE my 28 1.8G. I think it is a superb all-round wide angle with a unique image signature. Really nice crisp detail for landscapes, and up close it has a definite 3D look (cliche I know but it's there!) and smooth bokeh. I've never had any problems with field curvature shooting landscapes with it. The curvature is there if you look for it (I did some tests), but in normal use it has never caused me to lose a shot or even been at all noticeable. I therefore don't agree that it requires you to work at it to get used to the field curvature, such as it is. I had the Sigma for a while - it is definitely noticeably sharper at close range. For landscapes it was closer to a draw. It has a different look, more literal, less romantic. Continue Reading

thelenspainter answered
1 month ago

To the OP:  I think 28 is more of a landscape lens than 35, given contemporary aesthetics and the fact you can crop down and still have many megapixels in the image.   Why would you sell the 50?  You won't get much for it and, on FF IMO it is incomparably versatile.  Since the Sigma is more expensive, you won't need cash from the 50 if you buy the 28.  I shot film for decades with a 28 and 85 high speed pair OR just went out with the 50.  Worked great for my approach. Continue Reading

PSCL1 answered
1 month ago

The Nikon 28 has a stronger field curvature signature, something you have to get used to and learn to handle. The Sigma feels like a sturdier, higher quality lens - though isn't weather-sealed either. For landscapes its fairly equal, if you get to know the 28 really well you can get great results with possibly slightly higher sharpness at long range, the Sigma is very good at landscape range, but truly phenomenal at closer range - silly sharp - which may or may not help for street, depending on how you like to shoot. The Sigma handles flare less well than the Nikon. For an all-rounder I think the Sigma is better, I have some great sharp landscapes shot with it, and whilst I may pick up a Zeiss 21 2.8 distagon for the wider angles and microcontrast, the Sigma has been stellar so far. Continue Reading

RichyjV answered
1 month ago

QUESTION

A77, is this lens worth it?

Hi all, I have an A77 and a Minolta 50mm f1.7 and am tempted by the Sigma 35mm f1.4 Art lens. is it enough of an improvement to justify the purchase? Does it noticeably outperform the 16-50 SSM Sony lens even? My local store does not stock one otherwise I'd test it myself. Opinions appreciated, thanks!

eagle_cfc asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

This is URL of one of the threads in which I posted  images that I tool in Beijing a few months ago with the A99 + Sigma 35mm F1.4 ART lens. These are unprocessed straight from the camera. http://www.dpreview.com/forums/thread/3635880 GaryG Continue Reading

BigGG answered
1 month ago

I know the Minolta 50/1.7 gets a lot of love around here. And it can definitely produce decent results. But it's nothing special when compared to other primes. I own one, and haven't specifically upgraded to a different prime, because I don't need super low light too often. But I so use my 50 macro far more often than my 50/1.7. So for my use 2-3 times per year for such a lens, I'll stick to the 1.7. But if I was using it more often, I'd definitely upgrade. Most primes are an upgrade over the 50/1.7. It's a question of how big an upgrade, at what price. Continue Reading

havoc315 answered
1 month ago

Yes, the sigma is good. No, I won't recommend it since you don't shoot FF. Get the Sony 35 f1.8. It's cheaper, smaller and lighter, focuses much closer and gets automatic vignetting, distortion and chromatic aberration correction. Continue Reading

Seeky answered
1 month ago

Warranty Information

"Beginning July 1, 2013, all brand new Sigma Products purchased from authorized Sigma dealers are covered under the 1 year America warranty (North and South America) and U.S.A. extended warranties for a period of three (3) years against defects in manufacturing and workmanship only. Your warranty period begins the day you purchase your Sigma camera, lens and/or flash and runs for a total period of four years from that date (please refer to the warranty policy included with your product)."

Go to Sigma's warranty registration page for more information and to register your Sigma product. DPReview GearShop is an authorized Sigma dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.