Sigma 70-200mm f/2.8 APO EX DG HSM OS FLD Lens

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

79% Silver Award
The 70-200mm F2.8 OS HSM is a fine lens, that offers functionality and image quality close to the equivalents from Canon and Nikon at a distinctly lower price.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 70-200mm focal length
  • 105-300mm equivalent focal length on APS-C cameras, 112-320mm equivalent focal length on Canon APS-C cameras
  • F2.8 constant maximum aperture; F22 minimum
  • Ring-type ultrasonic-type AF motor with full-time manual focusing
  • Image stabilization, 4 stops claimed. Dual mode, normal and panning
  • 77mm filters
  • 1.40m/55.12" minimum focus
  • Available in Canon EF, Nikon F (FX), Pentax KAF3, Sony Alpha, Sigma SA mounts

Product Description

The 70-200mm F2.8 EX DG OS HSM is Sigma’s image-stabilized fast telezoom lens for both APS-C and full frame SLRs, designed to compete with Canon, Nikon and Sony equivalents at a lower price. Optically it can’t quite match the extraordinary clarity of its more expensive rivals, but it’s still very good indeed. The autofocus and image stabilization systems both work very well, and construction is of a high standard, although not weather-sealed. Overall it offers a fine option for budget-conscious buyers.

Specs

Principal specifications
Lens type Zoom lens
Max Format size 35mm FF
Focal length 70–200 mm
Image stabilisation Yes (4 stops claimed. Dual mode, normal and panning)
Lens mount Canon EF, Nikon F (FX), Pentax KAF3, Sigma SA Bayonet, Sony/Minolta Alpha
Aperture
Maximum aperture F2.8
Minimum aperture F22.0
Aperture ring No
Number of diaphragm blades 9
Aperture notes rounded blades
Optics
Elements 22
Groups 17
Special elements / coatings 2 FLD elements 3 SLD elements
Focus
Minimum focus 1.40 m (55.12)
Maximum magnification 0.13×
Autofocus Yes
Motor type Ring-type ultrasonic
Full time manual Yes
Focus method Internal
Distance scale Yes
DoF scale Yes
Focus distance limiter No
Physical
Weight 1430 g (3.15 lb)
Diameter 86 mm (3.4)
Length 197 mm (7.76)
Materials metal mount
Sealing No
Colour Black
Zoom method Rotary (internal)
Zoom lock No
Filter thread 77 mm
Filter notes does not rotate on focus
Hood supplied Yes
Tripod collar Yes

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other lenses in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Optical Quality
Build Quality
Autofocus
Image Stabilization
Ergonomics and Handling
Value
Silver Award
Silver Award
79 %
Overall Score

Sigma's latest image-stabilized fast telezoom offers a fine option for budget-conscious buyers, with a unique combination of features for the price. It can't quite match its Canon and Nikon equivalents, but then again it's not as expensive either.

Good For

Budget-aware buyers looking for an optically-stabilized fast telephoto lens.

Not So Good For

User Reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars
  • Marius Shanzer, Feb 25, 2013 GMT:
    Got What I Paid For

    The lens balances nicely with my D700 and focuses well. In a line-up that includes the Nikkor 14-24 & 24-70, this is the weak link. Pictures taken with it aren't in the same league for edge to edge sharpness. Luckily, I rarely need to use it. It's unfair to compare a $700 lens to the Nikon equivalent which now runs $2100-2400. The updated Sigma is also likely much better. As of 2010, the third party alternative was a Tamron which got excellent reviews for its optics but poor reviews for its ...

    Continue Reading

  • Don Richardson, Dec 17, 2012 GMT:
    Excellent choice

    I shoot with a Canon 60D and bought this lens mainly for shooting indoor Rodeo. It does an excellent job with the fast action of the Rodeo. My copy is very sharp and OS works like a charm. At more than haly the price of the new Canon and still lower than the older Canon 70-200 2.8 IS it's a real winner. Problems: None

    Continue Reading

  • DSLRShutterBug, Oct 11, 2012 GMT:
    Not a good choice for Nikon users, let me explain...

    Although physical build is spectacular its not a good option for Nikon Users imo....Produces extremely washed out images and very soft at 200mm (DpReview on this lens seems to agree with me too). See my full review about my experience with this lens: http://www.anthonymickealphotography.com/1/post/2012/10/sigma-70-200mm-f28-ex-dg-hsm-lens-nikon-version-a-review.html

    Continue Reading

  • nekrosoft13, Sep 10, 2012 GMT:
    Great lens, spotty Sigma QC

    Great telephoto, was lucky pick up a new copy rather cheap. Feels great, finally Sigma decided to drop the old finish. Optically its better then Mark I Canon, but worse then Mark II Canon. If you can Afford Canon 70-200 IS USM II go for that instead. OS is very reliable (so far) had to send it to Sigma once for AF repair because it stopped working (after 3 months of using it). That is one thing that you always have to keep in mind with third party lenses. Out of all the lenses I had, Sigma ...

    Continue Reading

Videos

Sigma 70-200mm F2.8 APO EX DG HSM OS Lens by DPReview

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Using FX lenses on DX body (Nikon D3200)?

Hi all, I have a problem with deciding upon which lense to buy to be compatible with my Nikon D3200. Will one of those work properly with this camera? * Sigma 70-200mm f/2.8 APO EX DG HSM OS FLD * Tamron SP 70-200MM F/2.8 DI VC USD. I want to invest to the quality lenses as in soon future I am planning to buy professional camera, but for now I have no budget to buy both - lense & body itself. I am interested in mainly travel, landscape shooting and shooting details (nature, people, sport). My budget is up to 1 000,-€. Thanks a lot to all of you for every advice & help!

Peter Huray asked
3 months ago

ANSWERS

I agree with everything PSCL1 wrote above but, the 80-200 f2.8, while a great lens and on my list to purchase, requires in in-body focusing motor which your d3200 does not have. If you bought it, it would be manual focus only. Continue Reading

BrettDR answered
3 months ago

Don't forget to look at the Nikon 70-200/4, it is close to that price range. Continue Reading

MikeyLikesNikon answered
3 months ago

I would suggest the Nikon 70-200 f4 rather than the f2.8 lens. it will be lighter and better balanced for the D3200. If on a tight budget then the Nikon 70-300 VR is also a good option. between 70 and 200 it is very good. Continue Reading

romfordbluenose answered
3 months ago

QUESTION

A77II compatibility with Sigma APO 70-200mm F2.8 EX DG OS HSM

Hi, I was wondering if any of the lucky A77II owners could confirm its compatibility with the Sigma APO 70-200mm F2.8 EX DG OS HSM lens? (1) Would the lens need any firmware upgrade or some other special treatment to work with the A77II? (2) Will I be able to use the focus peaking feature? Also, I hope I should not expect any problems with my other lens, Sony DT 16-50mm F2.8 SSM, which I got a few months ago? (Well, they sell it together with the A77II, but maybe it's a newer revision?) Thanks for any help. I'm really excited for the new A77II, I expect it to be quite an upgrade over my A35 :)

moorglade asked
6 months ago

ANSWERS

OK, to answer my own question: both of the lenses work with the A77II with no issues. Continue Reading

moorglade answered
6 months ago

Thank you for the follow up. Continue Reading

romicva answered
6 months ago

Indeed, they do. Just avoid the temptation to hold the A77II body with both hands when the Sigma APO 70-200mm F2.8 is attached to it, always support the lens with one hand! Not that the A77II is fragile, but... Continue Reading

Hephaestus answered
6 months ago

QUESTION

Sigma 70-200 f/2.8 for ice hockey on Canon. AF fast enough?

At dpreview most of the user reviews tend to rate this lens highly on Canon but not so well on Nikon.  Fortunatley I'm a Canon shooter, currently with a 60D and getting a 7D MkII shortly. I'm also looking to get a 70-200mm f/2.8 lens for shooting ice hockey.  Will the Sigma 70-200 have fast enough zoom and autofocus for this sport? Currently my only lens that goes over 70mm is the Sigma 50-500.  I find that its AF is fast enough to get the action easily, but it's too slow to zoom to keep up with the movement and too heavy to hand-hold for the length of time required.

BastardSheep asked
2 months ago

ANSWERS

Oddly from my observation Canon owners seem to have better luck with Canon, and Nikon owners better luck with Tamron. Perhaps it's no coincidence that Sigma develops for Canon first, and Tamron for Nikon. I own the Sigma 70-200, and have had it for about 2 years. I first used it on my 60D, and now 6D. I've been very happy with it, and consider it one of my sharpest lenses. The AF is very accurate, and I found the sharpness to be very good at 2.8, and amazing at 4 up to 8. I've seen some that are a bit soft at 70, but all of them are at their sharpest at 200. The Tamron's AF is faster if you consider end to end demos on youtube without focusing on anything an accurate demonstration. As I've said before, typically you're not focusing on your naval, the moon, your naval, the moon etc. For AI accuracy and following a subject, or one shot focus at a similar range (such as a pass) it's fast and accurate. The Tamron is also an excellent lens - I own one and may own more. I am cancelling my ... Continue Reading

victorian squid answered
2 months ago

Disclaimer... I am a hockey guy. Like concert shooting, it is important to anticipate where the performers will be to get the shot you want. Also, they are lots is isolation shots away from the puck that don't require the fastest AF. Just saying. Continue Reading

grannygear answered
2 months ago

It comes in several versions but has had the equivalent of USM for a long time now. Continue Reading

fishywisht answered
2 months ago

Warranty Information

"Beginning July 1, 2013, all brand new Sigma Products purchased from authorized Sigma dealers are covered under the 1 year America warranty (North and South America) and U.S.A. extended warranties for a period of three (3) years against defects in manufacturing and workmanship only. Your warranty period begins the day you purchase your Sigma camera, lens and/or flash and runs for a total period of four years from that date (please refer to the warranty policy included with your product)."

Go to Sigma's warranty registration page for more information and to register your Sigma product. DPReview GearShop is an authorized Sigma dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.