Sigma 70-300mm f/4-5.6 DG Macro Telephoto Zoom Lens

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Key Features

  • 70-300mm focal length
  • 105-450mm equivalent focal length on APS-C cameras, 112-480mm equivalent focal length on Canon APS-C cameras
  • F4-5.6 maximum aperture; F22-32 minimum
  • Micromotor-type AF motor without full-time manual focusing
  • 58mm filters
  • 0.95m/37.40" minimum focus
  • Available in Canon EF, Pentax KAF, Sony Alpha, Sigma SA, Nikon F (FX) mounts

Product Description

Sigma’s 70-300mm F4-5.6 DG Macro is a budget telephoto zoom lens. With a range that is useful for candid portraiture, capturing children playing in the backyard, amateur sports or even wildlife at the zoo, it’s great on vacation for capturing scenic details or even groups of flowers in a garden. The Sigma 70-300mm offers a 4X zoom ratio in a compact lens that is easily carried in your camera bag or left on the camera as you travel.

Specs

Principal specifications
Lens type Zoom lens
Max Format size 35mm FF
Focal length 70–300 mm
Image stabilisation No
Lens mount Canon EF, Nikon F (FX), Pentax KAF, Sigma SA Bayonet, Sony/Minolta Alpha
Aperture
Maximum aperture F4.0 - F5.6
Minimum aperture F22.0 - F32.0
Aperture ring No
Number of diaphragm blades 9
Optics
Elements 14
Groups 10
Special elements / coatings 1 SLD glass element
Focus
Minimum focus 0.95 m (37.4)
Maximum magnification 0.5×
Autofocus Yes
Motor type Micromotor
Full time manual No
Focus method Extending front
Focus notes Switch allows close-up focusing in the 200-300mm focal lengthrange
Distance scale Yes
DoF scale Yes
Physical
Weight 550 g (1.21 lb)
Diameter 77 mm (3.02)
Length 122 mm (4.8)
Materials Metal mount
Sealing No
Zoom method Rotary (extending)
Filter thread 58 mm
Filter notes rotates on focusing
Hood supplied Yes
Tripod collar No

Reviews

User Reviews

  • GlenPhoto, Jan 15, 2013 GMT:
    Sigma 70-300 F4-5.6 DG / Makro

    I used this lense a long time ago with the analog camera F90 (N90 in US) Nikon. And I was quiet happy with it. Now, with the new Nikon D800, I was very suprised about the quality, speed, autofocus, sharpness (even in the edges), also when the light conditions are poor.

    Continue Reading

  • Martin1666, Oct 30, 2012 GMT:
    Sigma 70-300mm DG

    I purchased this lens in frustration at my low end Canon lens not doing the job . I was surprised how good this lens is for the price i paid for it . It feels nice to use it focuses fast and it is sharp too so much better than the Canon lens i replaced . Problems: None

    Continue Reading

  • Ozyxy, Jun 30, 2014 GMT:
    Very soft at 200-300mm, slow but precise autofocus

    If your objective is to get a telephoto zoom for the lowest price possible then this lens is great for its price (I got it for about 110e or $140). The value you get is surely more than the price you pay for it. At 70-100mm this lens is sufficiently sharp for casual photography but at 200mm and 300mm its sharpness drops to unacceptable levels for me. However the biggest problem for me is its slow autofocus but it's nevertheless correct and precise. The color I get from this lens is worse ...

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Sigma 70-300 f/4-5.6 DG Macro manual aperture?

Does the lens above have manual aperture? I mean the little lever (or something like that) that you can push to adjust the aperture. I have one but I am not really sure how to find out, because I don't seem to see it anywhere. So I am asking you, professionals, I would like to buy extension tube for macro photography but I don't want to pay an arm and a leg for electrical models.

uTukan asked
2 days ago

ANSWERS

AFAIK all lenses that allow you to set the aperture on the lens do so using a ring. Your lens will have a ring for zooming and a ring for manual focusing.  If there is a third ring then that will be for adjusting the aperture and there will be aperture markings next to it. I think that it is extremely unlikely that your lens has an aperture ring but check it.  Very few modern lenses have an aperture ring except those made by companies like Zeiss, Leica, Samyang and a few others.  Old DSLR lenses have aperture rings. Continue Reading

Chris R-UK answered
1 day ago

It probably depends on the model those Sigma 70-300 zooms seem to have gone through a lot of incarnations. Mine is a Nikon mount D, rather than a DG (the G might well be significant) and has an aperture ring at the camera end -- you can see the aperture markings here. I would not try to use extension rings with a long zoom like this -- you'd need a lot of extension to get any worthwhile extra magnification and it's quite likely that IQ would fall to pieces by the time you get to 1:1. To the OP: Given your apparent level of experience I'd suggest using a decent close-up lens like a Raynox 150 or 250 instead. I'll post a couple of examples after lunch! Continue Reading

AlbertInFrance answered
1 day ago

Hello, as I wrote above, I have got the Nikon model without aperture ring, but I already solved out how to manually open the lever (more info above). Also thanks for the close-up lens, I am already ordering these close-up filters, can I combine them together? And if it is possible, are there some cheaper models? I looked up something on amazon, or dealextreme, but I am not sure if it won't totally loose all sharpness etc. It doesn't have to be perfect image quality since I am photography beginner, but I also don't want something that will look like from 90's camera. Sorry for possible grammar mistakes in all my text above, english isn't my native language and I just woke up, so my mind also isn't at it's best haha. Continue Reading

uTukan answered
1 day ago

Warranty Information

"Beginning July 1, 2013, all brand new Sigma Products purchased from authorized Sigma dealers are covered under the 1 year America warranty (North and South America) and U.S.A. extended warranties for a period of three (3) years against defects in manufacturing and workmanship only. Your warranty period begins the day you purchase your Sigma camera, lens and/or flash and runs for a total period of four years from that date (please refer to the warranty policy included with your product)."

Go to Sigma's warranty registration page for more information and to register your Sigma product. DPReview GearShop is an authorized Sigma dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.