Sigma 8-16mm f/4.5-5.6 DC HSM FLD Lens

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Stuff We Love
Despite its small form-factor and unassuming design, this lens has the honour of being the widest rectilinear zoom lens designed for cropped-sensor DSLR cameras.”

Key Features

  • 8-16mm focal length
  • 12-24mm equivalent focal length on APS-C cameras, 12.8-25.6mm equivalent focal length on Canon APS-C cameras
  • F4.5-5.6 maximum aperture; F22-22 minimum
  • Ring-type ultrasonic-type AF motor with full-time manual focusing
  • 0.24m/9.45" minimum focus
  • Available in Canon EF, Pentax KAF3, Sony Alpha, Sigma SA, Nikon F (DX) mounts

Product Description

The Sigma 8-16mm F4.5-5.6 DC HSM is the widest-angle rectilinear lens yet made for APS-C DSLRs. Essentially an equivalent of the company's full-frame 12-24mm F4.5-5.6 II DG HSM, this APS-C only lens features a disorientatingly-wide angle of view of 121-degrees for exaggerated perspectives. It has a built-in petal shaped hood, HSM focusing with full-time manual override, and a minimum focus of 24cm.

Reviews

User Reviews

4.38889 out of 5 stars
  • Joan Ferva, Feb 19, 2013 GMT:
    addictive...

    I never thought this might become my day-to-day lens,not on my canon. But there it is, mounted day and night, so sharp and bright as a Canon L series could be. Sturdy, heavy and more versatile than I ever expected. Problems: No filters allowed. This lens goes to the limit before having vignette. Not for a full frame (I don't have a full frame, though :D)

    Continue Reading

  • VikingPhotographer, Dec 24, 2012 GMT:
    Super Wide Angle Zoom

    For a Zoom and for a wideangle overalll this i very good, in close focus not that good, I am very happy with this zoom ;)

    Continue Reading

  • solstice, Dec 14, 2012 GMT:
    amazing lens

    Resolution is astonishing. colors are vivid. No flares. Multi coating is efficient. Worth the price. Put you in a composer mood. Problems: no problems at all.

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Feedback on SIGMA 8-16mm for A77

Looking to do some interior design/architecture photography and I've settled on the SIGMA 8-16mm for my new A77. This will be my first ultra-wide lens and since distortion is expected I wonder what should I look for to ensure I have a good copy?  There seem to be a number of owners who have reported their copy being of inferior quality once they zoom out past 12mm or having poor sharpness, but I doubt I would be able to tell the difference until I learn how to use this focal length on the APS-C.  Just want to make sure I don't mistake the characteristics of this type of lens for poor quality. Thanks!

alextardif asked
10 months ago

ANSWERS

For interior work this lens is superb, and using the ACR lens correction gets rid of quite a lot of the distortion, automatically. The only downfall that I have with the lens is that if you focus at about 3 feet in front of the lens everything is in focus, if I want to emphasize a subject with a little blurring, I end up by applying a white mask layer and then revealing the subject ( other methods are available ). It works well on landscapes, and using the 'panorama' mode 360 shots are a breeze. A slight downside is the fact that you cannot use any form of ND or other filter, as far as image quality is concerned I have used it on the  A 77 - 99 and 900, and the only faults that I have seen are as a result of bad technique. By the way I looked at your website and love the images. Continue Reading

Dsnoir answered
10 months ago

Good to hear, lack of shallow depth of field is not a problem for me, in fact for the types of shots I'm looking to make with this lens I want the deepest DOF possible, so that should work out great. Thanks for the feedback on photos, funny thing is I just put the site up last weekend and haven't even had a chance to create pages or post all of my favorite shots yet, it's more of a test project for now. Right now I'm waiting for the LR5 bug to be fixed - I stopped uploading after realizing the sharpening/noise reduction was not being applied on exports... the shot of the girls is pretty much RAW. Cheers! Continue Reading

alextardif answered
10 months ago

Dsnoir Good to hear, lack of shallow depth of field is not a problem for me, in fact for the types of shots I'm looking to make with this lens I want the deepest DOF possible, so that should work out great. Thanks for the feedback on photos, funny thing is I just put the site up last weekend and haven't even had a chance to create pages or post all of my favorite shots yet, it's more of a test project for now. Right now I'm waiting for the LR5 bug to be fixed - I stopped uploading after realizing the sharpening/noise reduction was not being applied on exports... the shot of the kids is pretty much RAW. Cheers! Continue Reading

alextardif answered
10 months ago

Have your own question?

Warranty Information

"Beginning July 1, 2013, all brand new Sigma Products purchased from authorized Sigma dealers are covered under the 1 year America warranty (North and South America) and U.S.A. extended warranties for a period of three (3) years against defects in manufacturing and workmanship only. Your warranty period begins the day you purchase your Sigma camera, lens and/or flash and runs for a total period of four years from that date (please refer to the warranty policy included with your product)."

Go to Sigma's warranty registration page for more information and to register your Sigma product. DPReview GearShop is an authorized Sigma dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.