Sigma 8-16mm f/4.5-5.6 DC HSM FLD Lens

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Stuff We Love
Despite its small form-factor and unassuming design, this lens has the honour of being the widest rectilinear zoom lens designed for cropped-sensor DSLR cameras.”

Key Features

  • 8-16mm focal length
  • 12-24mm equivalent focal length on APS-C cameras, 12.8-25.6mm equivalent focal length on Canon APS-C cameras
  • F4.5-5.6 maximum aperture; F22-22 minimum
  • Ring-type ultrasonic-type AF motor with full-time manual focusing
  • 0.24m/9.45" minimum focus
  • Available in Canon EF, Pentax KAF3, Sony Alpha, Sigma SA, Nikon F (DX) mounts

Product Description

The Sigma 8-16mm F4.5-5.6 DC HSM is the widest-angle rectilinear lens yet made for APS-C DSLRs. Essentially an equivalent of the company's full-frame 12-24mm F4.5-5.6 II DG HSM, this APS-C only lens features a disorientatingly-wide angle of view of 121-degrees for exaggerated perspectives. It has a built-in petal shaped hood, HSM focusing with full-time manual override, and a minimum focus of 24cm.

Specs

Principal specifications
Lens type Zoom lens
Max Format size APS-C / DX
Focal length 8–16 mm
Image stabilisation No
Lens mount Canon EF, Nikon F (DX), Pentax KAF3, Sigma SA Bayonet, Sony/Minolta Alpha DT
Aperture
Maximum aperture F4.5 - F5.6
Minimum aperture F22.0
Aperture ring No
Number of diaphragm blades 7
Optics
Elements 15
Groups 11
Special elements / coatings Four FLD glass elements 1 SLD glass element 2 glass mold aspherical elements 1 hybrid aspherical element
Focus
Minimum focus 0.24 m (9.45)
Maximum magnification 0.13×
Autofocus Yes
Motor type Ring-type ultrasonic
Full time manual Yes
Focus method Internal
Distance scale Yes
DoF scale No
Physical
Weight 555 g (1.22 lb)
Diameter 75 mm (2.95)
Length 106 mm (4.16)
Sealing No
Zoom method Rotary (internal)
Power zoom No
Filter notes Filters cannot be attached to this lens
Hood supplied Yes
Hood product code Built-in
Tripod collar No
Other
Notes For Pentax mount, AF will not function with DSLR cameras that do not support HSM.

Reviews

User Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
  • Joan Ferva, Feb 19, 2013 GMT:
    addictive...

    I never thought this might become my day-to-day lens,not on my canon. But there it is, mounted day and night, so sharp and bright as a Canon L series could be. Sturdy, heavy and more versatile than I ever expected. Problems: No filters allowed. This lens goes to the limit before having vignette. Not for a full frame (I don't have a full frame, though :D)

    Continue Reading

  • VikingPhotographer, Dec 24, 2012 GMT:
    Super Wide Angle Zoom

    For a Zoom and for a wideangle overalll this i very good, in close focus not that good, I am very happy with this zoom ;)

    Continue Reading

  • solstice, Dec 14, 2012 GMT:
    amazing lens

    Resolution is astonishing. colors are vivid. No flares. Multi coating is efficient. Worth the price. Put you in a composer mood. Problems: no problems at all.

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Sigma 8-16mm on D5300. Does it work properly?

Hi Folks, In my initial research before buying a D5300, I note with some concern that Nikon seem to have done something in the firmware, and some Sigma lenses don't function properly on this body. Anyone know about the 8-16mm ultrawide? I've probably had mine for a couple of years now so it would certainly have been pre D5300 release. Does this lens suffer from any issues (non functioning AF in live view?). TIA

Big Ga asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

No problem. The new Tokina 11-24 and 12-28 also work perfectly. Slightly better choices, in my opinion. Continue Reading

Steve Bingham answered
1 month ago

Hi Steve, I'm interested in the 8-16 too. Why, do you think, the Tokina's are better? Theo Continue Reading

Theo_J answered
1 month ago

Hi Steve. Presume it's a typo and you mean the new Tokina 11-16? I'd be interested in your thoughts as well. I'm checking out the Sigma 8-16, Nikon 10-24 and Tokina 11-16 myself. THe Sigma has the extra 2mm on the wide, the Nikon a good range and the Tokina is faster. I'm not sure I need f2.8 for landscapes and interiors but it would be nice to have if IQ and build is as good. I can only get to handle the Nikon locally so any comments would be helpful. Thanks John p.s. I'm using a D7100. Continue Reading

JohnNewman answered
1 month ago

QUESTION

Feedback on SIGMA 8-16mm for A77

Looking to do some interior design/architecture photography and I've settled on the SIGMA 8-16mm for my new A77. This will be my first ultra-wide lens and since distortion is expected I wonder what should I look for to ensure I have a good copy?  There seem to be a number of owners who have reported their copy being of inferior quality once they zoom out past 12mm or having poor sharpness, but I doubt I would be able to tell the difference until I learn how to use this focal length on the APS-C.  Just want to make sure I don't mistake the characteristics of this type of lens for poor quality. Thanks!

alextardif asked
1 year ago

ANSWERS

For interior work this lens is superb, and using the ACR lens correction gets rid of quite a lot of the distortion, automatically. The only downfall that I have with the lens is that if you focus at about 3 feet in front of the lens everything is in focus, if I want to emphasize a subject with a little blurring, I end up by applying a white mask layer and then revealing the subject ( other methods are available ). It works well on landscapes, and using the 'panorama' mode 360 shots are a breeze. A slight downside is the fact that you cannot use any form of ND or other filter, as far as image quality is concerned I have used it on the  A 77 - 99 and 900, and the only faults that I have seen are as a result of bad technique. By the way I looked at your website and love the images. Continue Reading

Dsnoir answered
1 year ago

Good to hear, lack of shallow depth of field is not a problem for me, in fact for the types of shots I'm looking to make with this lens I want the deepest DOF possible, so that should work out great. Thanks for the feedback on photos, funny thing is I just put the site up last weekend and haven't even had a chance to create pages or post all of my favorite shots yet, it's more of a test project for now. Right now I'm waiting for the LR5 bug to be fixed - I stopped uploading after realizing the sharpening/noise reduction was not being applied on exports... the shot of the girls is pretty much RAW. Cheers! Continue Reading

alextardif answered
1 year ago

Good to hear, lack of shallow depth of field is not a problem for me, in fact for the types of shots I'm looking to make with this lens I want the deepest DOF possible, so that should work out great. Thanks for the feedback on photos, funny thing is I just put the site up last weekend and haven't even had a chance to create pages or post all of my favorite shots yet, it's more of a test project for now. Right now I'm waiting for the LR5 bug to be fixed - I stopped uploading after realizing the sharpening/noise reduction was not being applied on exports... the shot of the kids is pretty much RAW. Cheers! Continue Reading

alextardif answered
1 year ago

QUESTION

Need advise for an equipment upgrade

I have the following problem: I tend to use HDR on 2/3 of my photos but my Sony Alpha 57 does only have a “baby” exposure bracketing function able to do +/- 0.7EV. When I bought the camera I did not know that my photography would go down this path but as it happened I definitely need a camera with better exposure bracketing. And a better low light performance would be awesome as well even though it is not the driver. So, looking at the Sony products I think that there are basically two choices for me now: 1. Sony Alpha 99 2. Sony Alpha 7R If I decide for the Sony Alpha 99 I will not be able to use my beloved Sigma 8-16mm lens anymore and if I decide for the Sony Alpha 7R I would need to use adaptors reducing the photo quality. Both choices are not really those that I want to take… Checking with a camera store here in London, the guy I talked to quiet frankly said: Change system to Canon or Nikon now! What a lovely dilemma I am in… I would appreciate suggestions from more experienced ...

kridpics asked
3 months ago

ANSWERS

The A-mount to E-mount adapters don't have a glass element in them so they shouldn't degrade IQ at all. However the image circle on your APS-C lenses isn't big enough to cover a full frame sensor. So you can use them on the A7r or A99, but you'll get a cropped image. With the A7r it'll be a 15MP image and with the A99 it'll be a 10MP image. If you simply need more bracketing options the A77 has the same ones as the A99 and you can use all your lenses on it. If you're trying to do HDR auto bracketing is useful, but you'll get better results shooting manually. With setting effects on you can shoot however many pictures you want to combine later and see what parts of the picture are under or overexposed before you take the shot. Shooting manually you can be more precise, and that will be true with any camera you end up getting. -- Good luck and happy shooting! Continue Reading

thebustos answered
3 months ago

FWW, you can get more bracketing out of your camera: shooting in manual. Continue Reading

trekkeruss answered
3 months ago

Doesn't A77 offer what you want in terms of HDR? It shares a lot of features with A99. But A77ii seems to have all of it including focus limiters etc. Your results are good :) So I think you are on the right track at least from a manual point of view. I will just say it again Sony adapters DO NOT degrade quality. I'd say A7r is a landscape photographers wet dream lol (especially if you are hiking to remote locations like me to get the perfect nature shot uninterrupted by tourists and crowds). That coupled with a carl zeiss 16-35 will give some of the best results. sony FE55mm is one of the sharpest lenses out there and sony FE35 is also one of best 35mm tested. The reason I am saying all this is because I feel your camera shop sales person just gave you some blind advice. People are quick to knock Sony without realising its offerings. At the same time nikon have tilt shift lenses for example that sony lack. But again with an adapter you can use nikon tilt shift lenses on A7 or A7r. ... Continue Reading

nandbytes answered
3 months ago

Warranty Information

"Beginning July 1, 2013, all brand new Sigma Products purchased from authorized Sigma dealers are covered under the 1 year America warranty (North and South America) and U.S.A. extended warranties for a period of three (3) years against defects in manufacturing and workmanship only. Your warranty period begins the day you purchase your Sigma camera, lens and/or flash and runs for a total period of four years from that date (please refer to the warranty policy included with your product)."

Go to Sigma's warranty registration page for more information and to register your Sigma product. DPReview GearShop is an authorized Sigma dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.