Sony 20mm f/2.8 Lens (NEX E Mount)

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Key Features

  • 20mm focal length
  • 30mm equivalent focal length on APS-C cameras
  • F2.8 maximum aperture; F22 minimum
  • 49mm filters
  • 0.20m/7.87" minimum focus
  • Sony E mount for NEX interchangeable lens cameras

Product Description

The Sony E 20mm F2.8 is a moderately wide-angle pancake prime lens for the company's NEX cameras. The moderately-fast E-mount pancake will offer a 30mm equivalent field of view and adds another compact lens option for NEX shooters.

Specs

Principal specifications
Lens type Prime lens
Max Format size APS-C / DX
Focal length 20 mm
Lens mount Sony E (NEX)
Aperture
Maximum aperture F2.8
Minimum aperture F22.0
Number of diaphragm blades 7
Aperture notes Circular Aperture
Optics
Elements 6
Groups 6
Focus
Minimum focus 0.20 m (7.87)
Autofocus Yes
Motor type Stepper motor
Full time manual Unknown
Distance scale No
DoF scale No
Physical
Weight 69 g (0.15 lb)
Diameter 63 mm (2.48)
Length 20 mm (0.79)
Colour Black
Filter thread 49 mm
Tripod collar No

Reviews

User Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
  • darkdirtydwarf, Mar 6, 2014 GMT:
    Sony E 20mm F2.8: the lens I always wanted on my NEX camera!

    I've been looking for a better solution to the 16mm pancake to take images of my son at home or on the go when size does matter but quality doesn't hurt. I had the chance to get the SEL20F28 for a good price and pulled the trigger. This lens is available since such a long time that there is not much I can add to the reviews out there from a technical perspective, so I'll try to add my personal feelings to this lens. As I said, technically everything has already been written: it's a good lens, ...

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Zeiss Touit

Has anyone here experience of both the Touit 32/1,8 and the Sony 35/1,8? Is the Zeiss glass much sharper? how about autofocus preformance? Which is fastest an most accurate? Any opinion about the Sony 20/2,8? Especially compared to the Zeiis 24/1,8? Apart from the brightness? I´m about to by a Nex7 or a Nex6 that is very cheap in Sweden right now and want to get good glass. Thanks!

CarlAAsen asked
3 months ago

ANSWERS

Matthew Durr had a great comparative review of the Sony 35 and Touit 32 here: http://matthewdurrphotography.com/2013/07/02/lens-review-zeiss-touit-32mm-f1-8/ Diglloyd did one as well with some great comparative pics, though it's a pay site. The conclusion is that the Touit has a clear advantage in image quality (sharpness and contrast), primarily at larger apertures. The Sony 35mm apparently has better autofocus, however. The Touit 32mm autofocus is slow, although not insanely slow. But it's an unforgiving lens, you often can't trust the autofocus because the depth of field is shallow (when wide open) and I find the AF will often focus on someone's forehead rather than their eye. Not sure whether this is also an issue with the 35mm. The 35mm also has OSS, so it's much better for video, and the bokeh from the 35mm is nicer than the Touit (not that the Touit's bokeh is bad). Meanwhile, the 32mm is the sharpest e-mount lens there is, other than perhaps the new Zeiss 55mm full-frame. I ... Continue Reading

MrT-Man answered
2 months ago

I wonder whether it makes sense to throw the SEL35F28Z into the match. You don't save much in money with respect to the Touit and no stabilizer as well, if I'm not wrong; but it's lighter and smaller in spite of being FF. Questions are about IQ (it might be really good on a APS-C, especially for people concerned with borders and corners) and autofocus. It has some minor features such as being dust and moisture resistant - sure, for this to be effective it has to be paired with a similar design in the camera and no current NEX Sony camera body is ... but who knows for the new cameras in 2014? Whay do you think? *** edited to add: of course, you lose 1+1/3 EV of max aperture. Continue Reading

stoppingdown answered
2 months ago

I had similar findings with my second copy of Touit, first had a strange motor noise when camera held facing down and corner performance wasn't great... Tried two more copies that were excellent and faster focusing... Heres a summary... http://www.dpreview.com/forums/thread/3502515?page=5 Continue Reading

Section10 answered
2 months ago

QUESTION

Sony E 20mm F2.8 Adobe lens profile

Does anyone have an Adobe RAW profile they have made for this lens (E20mm F2.8) that they are willing to share? Thanks

robfitsy asked
6 months ago

ANSWERS

Try the free Adobe Lens Profile Downloader. It has a few in there already. Continue Reading

paulcraig answered
6 months ago

I had a look last night, and I didn't see any for the *E* 20mm. Could you tell me where to look? Continue Reading

robfitsy answered
6 months ago

robfitsy wrote: I had a look last night, and I didn't see any for the *E* 20mm. Could you tell me where to look? None yet but it's coming soon, I'd like it too. Andrew Continue Reading

andrewD2 answered
6 months ago

QUESTION

New lens advice Sony 20mm f/2.8 SEL20F28

I currently use the Sony NEX6 with the Tamaron 18-200 lens. I am looking to purchase a more compact lens to use for landscape and day to day shots. I am thinking about getting the Sony 20mm f/2.8 lens. Any comments or suggestions? Thanks!

fargodog asked
2 months ago

ANSWERS

It's a nice lens for most situations, I would reccomend it as it's good on the 16MP sensor of the NEX-6 and couldn't be smaller. If you don't mind a bit more bulk I would also consider the cheaper Sigma 19mm 2.8. But get the new ART version then which has improved AF speed. Optically from what I read they are quite comparable in terms of sharpness, the Sony has a little less CA though. Continue Reading

Zeisschen answered
2 months ago

I have the 20mm and like it. A few images here: http://www.ipernity.com/doc/326249/22020851 Continue Reading

TonyCu answered
2 months ago

Great choice... Very small and light, sharp and flexible. I love it. Continue Reading

j0sh answered
2 months ago

Warranty Information

View Sony's USA limited warranty for cameras and lenses. Register your Sony purchases here.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Sony dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.