Sony 30mm f/3.5 Macro Lens (NEX E Mount)

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Key Features

  • 30mm focal length
  • 45mm equivalent focal length on APS-C cameras
  • F3.5 maximum aperture; F22 minimum
  • 49mm filters
  • 0.10m/3.74" minimum focus
  • Sony E mount for NEX interchangeable lens cameras

Product Description

The Sony E 30mm F3.5 macro (or SEL30M35) is the company's fourth lens for NEX cameras. Billed as the world's lightest macro for interchangeable lens cameras capable of life-size 1:1 magnification, it uses internal focusing to achieve a minimum working distance of less than an inch from the front of the lens. Its effective focal length of 45mm makes it a handy 'standard' prime lens as well.

Specs

Principal specifications
Lens type Prime lens
Max Format size APS-C / DX
Focal length 30 mm
Image stabilisation No
Lens mount Sony E (NEX)
Aperture
Maximum aperture F3.5
Minimum aperture F22.0
Aperture ring No
Number of diaphragm blades 6
Optics
Elements 7
Groups 6
Special elements / coatings 3 aspherical elements; 1 ED glass element
Focus
Minimum focus 0.10 m (3.74)
Maximum magnification 1×
Autofocus Yes
Motor type Stepper motor
Full time manual Yes
Focus method Internal
Distance scale No
DoF scale No
Physical
Weight 138 g (0.30 lb)
Diameter 62 mm (2.44)
Length 56 mm (2.19)
Materials Metal barrel, metal mount
Colour Silver
Filter thread 49 mm
Hood supplied Yes
Tripod collar No

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Would you recommend the SEL30M35 Macro?

Hi all I am considering the Sony 30mm E mount Macro. I don't take pics of bugs but more like textures, stones, flowers, decay and old objects. The kit and the 35mm E mount lenses do not take me quite close enough. I looked for samples for the macro but see surprisingly few. I know I could get a old manual lens but the SEL30 is quite reasonably priced and probably light too compared to legacy glass. I am not bothered by the close working distance. Anyone here have one and that could recommend it? Cheers

Manju69 asked
10 months ago

ANSWERS

I take literally tens of thousands of flower photos every year. Mostly closeups. So the focal length is exactly what I want because it gives more depth of field. Not as good as compact cameras but okay for a bigger sensor. Before I knew about focus peaking I was rather disappointed with the flower photos using this lens on my NEX7. I even offered to sell the camera and two lenses. That was in September 2012. Something wasn't right about what the camera and lens were focussing on. I would get part of the flower sharp but always parts fuzzy. Taking heaps of photos of the same flower didn't solve the focussing problem. The Sony 30mm macro lens is rather light and cheaply made. It doesn't inspire confidence in that lens. The small opening and lens hood seemed like a toy lens. I came to use the kit 18-55 more, even for flowers. It took me 3 different kit lenses to get a decent one because they were soft on the left. Unbelievable to me and I yearned for Zeiss lenses so the photos would be ... Continue Reading

OvinceZ answered
10 months ago

Yes, I would. The lens is a very good macro lens. It is underrated because it has a slowish aperture, produces soft edges and has a short focal length, and therefore would neither be a preferred prime lens nor a versatile macro lens (think insects). But it is a great macro lens for product phorography and uses such as you indicate. Continue Reading

blue_skies answered
10 months ago

I think the biggest problem with this lens is people don't know how to use it. Its not a conventional macro lens. Its best when used unconventionally . Its light - no need for a tripod. Its short  at 30mm It works best in AF mode Its not very good with flash as you will be too close - I have a ring light but don't like the 'donut light reflection' you see on your subject It is very sharp in the centre  (which is what you are going to use with macro anyway) It is not that brilliant at anything other than macro although its OK at portraits. If you use it for what its intended - macro - its brilliant. Please bear in mind that this statement is coming from someone who loves macro and has shot many many macro lenses on various camera bodies - from 30mm up to 180mm. :-D Continue Reading

Sonyshine answered
10 months ago

QUESTION

SEL30M35: Useful for general purpose?

I've been sitting on a bit over $200 in Sony Rewards points for years. I just got a NEX-5R, and figured I could use the points to get a news lens. Most of the lenses I want are either sold out or outrageously overpriced compared to what I can get elsewhere, but they do have a decent price on the SEL30M35. My main macro use is photographing living rodents, so the length will be a bit of a pain, but they're tame, so it should be useable. I'm wondering if it's also useable as a general-use prime. I don't have a lot of money for lenses and also need something good for basic portraits and videoing comedy acts in a bar from the front row. Is the lens also good for that?

9 months ago

ANSWERS

Not really a perfect general purpose lens but quite OK. See my review for details: http://fiberstrobe.blogspot.de/2013/10/review-of-sony-sel30m35-30mm-f35-macro.html Cheers Marcell Continue Reading

Nikolausz answered
9 months ago

Continue Reading

DLeeT answered
9 months ago

Pressed the wrong key. If you don't mind manual focus you might consider the Canon FD 50/3.5 macro. I haven't checked lately, but even if you need the adapter, you should be under a 100 USD for an excellent condition lens. Samples below. Lee Continue Reading

DLeeT answered
9 months ago

QUESTION

Experiences with the Sony e-mount 30mm macro?

Hey, Does anybody here have any experiences with the NEX 30 mm macro lens? Since that's the only e-mount macro at the moment would you recommend it or to get a converter and use some other brand or the a-mount? Thank you. Check my photos: http://reimanevalainen.blogspot.jp/

Reima asked
1 year ago

ANSWERS

It depends what you want to photograph: food? terrific. Insects? not so much. I have one and it is easily my favorite E mount lens. Continue Reading

travisgreen answered
1 year ago

I want to take photos of anything but food... :( Continue Reading

Reima answered
1 year ago

I bought one recently at a discount. It's now one of my favorites as well. great daytime walkaround lens and it comes with a very nifty lens shade as well. At 30mm it's a dual purpose prime ie street and macro in one! Pity it's not a f1.8 or else it's one I'll have it permanently on my Nex 6. Continue Reading

clail answered
1 year ago

Warranty Information

View Sony's USA limited warranty for cameras and lenses. Register your Sony purchases here.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Sony dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.