Sony 35mm f/1.8 Lens (NEX E-Mount)

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Key Features

  • 35mm focal length
  • 52.5mm equivalent focal length on APS-C cameras
  • F1.8 maximum aperture; F22 minimum
  • Image stabilization, OSS
  • 49mm filters
  • 0.30m/11.81" minimum focus
  • Sony E mount for NEX interchangeable lens cameras

Product Description

High performance and a compact design make the SEL-35F18 prime lens an ideal second lens that's easy to carry around while capturing the action. It's perfect for a wide variety of photos, including snapshots while strolling, night shots (thanks to the bright maximum aperture) and portraits with beautifully defocused backgrounds. Newly-designed optics reduces spherical aberration and coma for sharp images even when shooting wide open. Combined with built-in Optical SteadyShot image stabilization, your photos and videos will be crisp, clear and blur-free.

Specs

Principal specifications
Lens type Prime lens
Max Format size APS-C / DX
Focal length 35 mm
Image stabilisation Yes (OSS)
Lens mount Sony E (NEX)
Aperture
Maximum aperture F1.8
Minimum aperture F22.0
Number of diaphragm blades 7
Aperture notes Circular aperture
Focus
Minimum focus 0.30 m (11.81)
Maximum magnification 0.15×
Autofocus Yes
Motor type Stepper motor
Full time manual Unknown
Focus method Internal
Physical
Weight 155 g (0.34 lb)
Diameter 63 mm (2.48)
Length 45 mm (1.77)
Filter thread 49 mm
Hood supplied Yes

Reviews

User Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
  • salla30, Feb 13, 2014 GMT:
    A new lease of life for my NEX 5N

    Just took delivery of the SEL 35F18 lens. It's my first lens purchase, and I am bowled over by the difference over the Kit Lens 18-55mm - I was a bit worried about the fixed FL, but I went out for a walk with my son locally yesterday and took some indoor pics and really never felt the need to reach for my RX100ii (my usual walk about camera). I'm very happy I went for the 35mm FL option and not the twice-the-price Zeiss 24mm option - I think the wider angle would have been a bit too ...

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Lens sabbatical

I am thinking about taking a sabbatical from all my lenses except one and shoot it backwards and forwards until I master that focal length. I'm guessing there's a majority out there who will think that's the dumbest idea ever, but to the rest that don't think so, I've decided that of my lens collection the two candidates are the Sigma 19 and the SEL 35. Some will say it's a personal choice and I don't disagree, but I do want to hear your opinion of what you would do. For me, I can say that I feel more comfortable with the SEL 35mm, but that actually works in the favor of the Sigma 19mm as it would force me to learn a focal length I've never really felt comfortable with. As I was researching this I came across Sam Abell who is known to favor the 28mm focal length and was facinated with his work which has me thinking the 19mm. On the other hand, there is a plethora of famous photographers who made careers out of the 50mm focal length which has me thinking the 35mm. So, if you were to ...

Tom2572 asked
1 year ago

ANSWERS

I'd go with the Sigma 19, simply because it'll be more of a challenge. The wide angle will require a lot more attention to composition and, if you're a "street shooter," you'll have to get up close and personal with your subjects and therefore develop your people shooting skills/comfort level quite a bit. Continue Reading

cptrios answered
1 year ago

SEL35, without doubt. Continue Reading

EinsteinsGhost answered
1 year ago

35mm for a good all around lens. 19mm for wide angle Continue Reading

davect01 answered
1 year ago

QUESTION

Samyang 8mm f/2.8 Fisheye as a first lens: big mistake or fun way to start?

i bought the NEX F-3 with kit lens 18-55mm last year and i instantly fell in love, it being my first camera that wasn't a point and shoot. a year later, i am now thinking about buying a new lens. basically i'm leaning towards the Samyang 8mm f/2.8 Fisheye lens, but if the cons outweigh the pros i would get the Sony SEL 35mm f/1.8 i am aware that you can't really compare a fisheye lens to others lenses, and that much of the decision to buy a fisheye will depend on whether you like the perspective it brings, but i'm still trying to weigh the pros and cons, and those two lenses are the ones that fit my budget - given the UK's import tax, the best i could find was the Samyang for £220 ($340) and the SEL35F18 for £330 ($513). from reading a few reviews and user comments, this is what i have found so far: Samyang pros: very well built, great depth of field, good quality pictures, sharp and great contrast, and its pretty cheap, so its great value for money + it looks kind of 'retro' ;) Sam ...

Yann33 asked
1 year ago

ANSWERS

Fisheye is good practice for composition, and rewarding when you get it right. I wouldn't recommend it as a first lens, but the Samyang definitely deserves a position in every NEX shooters' camera bag. Here's another one with the fisheye, no correction: Continue Reading

kev777zero answered
1 year ago

My NEX is also my first camera upgrade from a P&S and I am a learner now. If I were you and have that budget of around $500 I would go for 35/1.8 and learn more with such a nice prime lens and it's possibilities as a good walk around prime. I will consider fish eye only second or third option as it will be not used regulary and cannot compared to the usability, versatility and learning experience of a good prime though I too like the fish eye photos and it's perspective. Continue Reading

JayDreamer answered
1 year ago

The Samyang 8mm fisheye is a great lens but i find it fairly challenging/difficult for shooting. The only use for the 8mm is for extremely tight scenes, e.g. indoors, cathedrals, outdoor close ups of buildings etc. Of course, it can be great fun to experiment with a fisheye but in my opinion it is not the first choice when it comes to street street photography. I don't have the SEL35mm but from what I have seen, the famous and cheaper SEL50mm has a superb bokeh, definitely superior compared with the 35mm. This is certainly a matter of personal preference, but my very personal favourite lens for street and landscape photography is the Sigma 19mm. Very sharp, very nice contrasts and afocal length that perfectly suits my way of doing photography. -- www.flicker.com/davidsphotoblog777 Continue Reading

ottonis answered
1 year ago

QUESTION

Sony a6000 for Fuji X100s?

I currently have the A6000 with SEL 35 1.8 lens, but I am lusting over the Fuji X100s. Should I trade in my Sony? how does the Fuji compare in terms of image quality? Will I regret getting a camera for its looks? Thanks

bldm asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

The Fuji has a wider angle lens; is that important? It has a fixed lens, although you can get wide(ish) and tele(ish) adapters; is this important? It will sync flash at any speed; is this important? AFAIK there are no major differences in measurable IQ. Fuji users tend to rave over the quality of in-camera JPEGs. Dunno. I never have, but it's all a matter of what's important to you. You're welcome! Continue Reading

AlbertInFrance answered
1 month ago

If looks are most important to you and you especially like faux retro, then get the X100S. If other things matter, then you better list what those other things are that matter before anyone can tell you what to do. Continue Reading

quezra answered
1 month ago

I also love the looks of the X100 series but I never understood buying one because of it... You will mostly be looking at the back of the camera (how to take photos 101 :P), the ones that will enjoy the good design are the ones you are photographing. Would you be willing to sacrifice the lightning fast AF of the A6000 for the good-enough one in the X100s? Would you be willing to sacrifice resolution (24x16), ability to articulate LCD, connectivity, burst rate... These are all questions only yourself knows what you need and how much you want a pretty camera. :) Continue Reading

Rhawi Dantas answered
1 month ago

Warranty Information

View Sony's USA limited warranty for cameras and lenses. Register your Sony purchases here.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Sony dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.