Sony FE 70-200mm F4 G OIS Lens (Full Frame E-Mount)

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Key Features

  • 70-200mm focal length
  • 105-300mm equivalent on APS-C cameras
  • F4 maximum aperture; F22 minimum
  • Linear motor autofocus
  • OSS image stabilization
  • 1m / 39.37" minimum focus
  • 72mm filter size
  • Compatible with Sony full frame E-mount and NEX cameras

Product Description

The FE 70-200mm F4 G OSS is a premium telephoto zooms that's designed for use on Sony's full frame A7 and A7R. It will also work on E-Mount / NEX cameras with APS-C sensors, on which it will offer a 105-300mm equivalent zoom range. It uses a linear motor for silent autofocus, and includes 'Optical Steady Shot' image stabilisation. The minimum focus distance is 1.0m at 70mm, increasing to 1.5m at the 200mm position.

Specs

Principal specifications
Lens type Zoom lens
Max Format size 35mm FF
Focal length 70–200 mm
Image stabilisation Yes (Optical SteadyShot)
Lens mount Sony E (NEX)
Aperture
Maximum aperture F4.0
Aperture ring No
Number of diaphragm blades 9
Focus
Minimum focus 1.00 m (39.37)
Maximum magnification 0.13×
Autofocus Yes
Motor type Stepper motor
Full time manual Unknown
Focus method Internal
Distance scale No
DoF scale No
Physical
Weight 840 g (1.85 lb)
Diameter 80 mm (3.15)
Length 175 mm (6.89)
Materials All-metal construction
Sealing Yes
Colour Black
Zoom method Rotary (internal)
Power zoom No
Zoom lock No
Filter thread 72 mm
Hood supplied Yes
Tripod collar Yes

Reviews

User Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 13floorphoto, Oct 18, 2014 GMT:
    Initial Impression - So far so good

    I purchased the Sony Alpha A7 several months ago and immediately purchased the FE 70-200 f/4 to go along with it. I have been and still am a dedicated m43 (Olympus E-M1) shooter and purely out of GAS, I decided to dive into the Full Frame world. This focal length range filled a hole in my collection of prime lenses and is highly regarded by my peers. As a portrait and concert photographer, this FE lens truly surprised me not only in build quality but in IQ as well. I have expressed my ...

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Sony A6000 w/ Sony 70-200mm F4 G

Hello everyone, Am really interested in a good quality glass for my A6000 for shooting birds and some animals in parks. Image Stabilization is a must and it seems only option for the moment is the 70-200 F4 G recently released. The quality of the 18-200mm just isn't good enough. Has anyone seen any review of the lens on this body or any thoughts / photos to share?

EviLCuLT30 asked
6 months ago

ANSWERS

I just ordered my A6000 and have Sony 70-200mm F4 and Zeiss 24-70mm lens on the way.  I can't wait to test this out next week. Continue Reading

JoePhoto76 answered
3 months ago

I just picked mine up today and only had about 15 minutes with some birds at a pond.  My first impressions are that this will be a very fun combo.  I haven't completely figured out the A6000 yet as I just got it as well but they seem very well matched and about as fast as anything I have shot before. Once I have a bit more time with it I can elaborate but the A6000 definitely focuses the lens much faster than my A7R. Continue Reading

Nas79 answered
4 months ago

I am very happy with the A6000 + FE 70-200 combo. I use this combo mainly for birding/animals. Here are some of my photos: http://www.dpreview.com/forums/thread/3672563 The A6000's APS-C 1.5 crop factor = up to 300mm magnification considered by some the minimum for birding. However if you are close enough to your subjects the fast FPS/AF and OSS is very effective. For birding I use A6000 settings posted by zackiedawg here : http://www.dpreview.com/forums/post/53573659 and have saved these to my memory bank. I had to get over the initial size and weight of the FE 70-200 ( being accustomed to Emount lenses only), However after a few hours of usage has fast become a favorite combo.Note: The white color of this lens actually proved to be beneficial under the hot sun ( cooler to the touch). I wasn't expecting that. Continue Reading

LBJ2 answered
3 months ago

QUESTION

Tele-Zoom Lens Advise wanted for Sony a7r

So far i do own the Samyang 14mm and Sony 24-70mm lens for my new Sony a7r. Now I am looking at adding another - longer - zoom to my collection and have been looking at the following lenses: 1. SAL 70-200mm G2, f2.8 with Sony adapter 2. Sony FE 70-200mm G, f4 (3. SAL70-400mm, f4-5.6 with Sony adapter) As I like to shoot landscapes as well as fashion, I would be interested to learn if anyone has compared lenses 1 & 2 above on the a7r and how much difference the wider aperture of the A-Mount lens makes. The third option mentioned above is more a consideration due to its added flexibility and I would be interested to hear about any experience with the lens. I know that there are also Tamron and Sigma lenses for the A-Mount available in the 70-200mm zoom range but am a little hesitant to consider the same due to the adapter. if anyone has any experience with a combo using these brands, highly appreciated as well. Thanks for any feedback in advance.

kridpics asked
2 months ago

ANSWERS

I too am hoping that someone releases a 2.8 FE lens natively. If it's under $1500 easy buy compared to the current 70-200/4 If tamron decides to adapt their newest 70-200/2.8 to FE mount with VC, it's going to sell a ton. Continue Reading

Wang Hung answered
2 months ago

Got me the 4/70-200 mm lens for my A7. This was my obvious choice because I got a good, rather compact and light weight lens with decent auto focus. No need for an adapter and by cranking up the ISO one step I have the f/2.8 equivalent without the extra weight. Happy with the lens. Slightly more DOF at the maximum f/4 so here the 2.8 lens wins if narrow DOF is important. Price: seems like the 4/70-200 is getting what we pay for. Get the lens that fits your own shooting style. What is important to you and which lens covers your own needs? Which lens do you really want? Continue Reading

Trollmann answered
2 months ago

examples of A7+70-400mm is my flickr (including BIF examples). Its a workable combination. I never used the sigma 70-200mm myself but I know a person (personally) from this forum who bought it to use it on both A99 and A7r. He said it worked very well with A7r and especially as it has OS unlike the Sony version and its a very sharp lens. If I were to buy a 70-200mm/2.8 it'd be the sigma as I have seen very sharp examples plus it has OS which is useful. Also I will be able to use it both on A7 and my A77m2. But if I only had e-mount i'd buy 70-200mm f/4 Continue Reading

nandbytes answered
2 months ago

QUESTION

Will a7+FE70-200f/4 fit into 7 million dollars home?

Quick question: Will a7+FE70-200 f/4 fit into 7 million dollars home? How's the fit? Will the height of the lens + camera combo affect the velcro on the flap? Cheers,

Angrymagpie asked
2 months ago

ANSWERS

Probably not unless you have flood insurance. Continue Reading

rla1022 answered
2 months ago

If you refer to the bag, it is waaayyyyy too large. Continue Reading

blue_skies answered
2 months ago

Ah that's unfortunate. I bought a 7 million dollars home for my a7 + 35mm combo. Was playing with the idea of getting either the 24-70mm, the 55mm, the or 70-200mm zoom. Leaning towards 70-200mm but I really don't like the idea of carrying around multiple lenses. And I already find the 7 million dollars home a bit on the large side. I guess I'd either have to live with carrying two lenses or ditch the 70-200 idea. Thanks for the replies! Continue Reading

Angrymagpie answered
2 months ago

Warranty Information

View Sony's USA limited warranty for cameras and lenses. Register your Sony purchases here.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Sony dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.