Sony Cyber-shot DSC-RX1 Compact Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

79% Gold Award
Our impressions of the image quality are as positive as those about using the camera - the pictures are sharp, colorful and have the pleasant softness that a fast lens can give on a full frame camera.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 24.3MP full frame CMOS sensor
  • 5 frames per second continuous shooting
  • Fixed 35mm F/2 lens
  • ISO 100-25,600
  • 1080/24p HD video (MPEG-4/AVCHD) with manual control and stereo input
  • 3.0 inch LCD with 1,230,000 dots
  • Optional electronic and optical viewfinder accessories
  • Raw and Raw + JPEG shooting
  • Built-in flash with hotshoe
  • Five customizable buttons
  • SD/SDHC/SDXC/Memory Stick Pro Duo card slot

Product Description

The Sony Cyber-shot DSC-RX1 has the impressive distinction of being the first full frame fixed lens camera to enter the market. That sizable 24.3MP sensor is paired with a 35mm F2 lens outfitted with a dedicated aperture ring. A high resolution 1.23 million dot display is provided, as is an accessory hot shoe able to accept both the FDA-V1K optical viewfinder and FDA-EV1MK electronic viewfinder accessories. A dedicated button stops and starts 1080 HD video recording. Overall, The RX1 is styled similarly to its Sony Cyber-shot DSC-RX100 sibling, employing a control layout with lots of useful dials, including a ring on the lens that sets minimum focus distance and a focus mode dial on the front panel. There are five customizable buttons for the photographer to set as he or she sees fit.

Specs

Body type
Body type Large sensor compact
Sensor
Max resolution 6000 x 4000
Other resolutions 6000 x 3376, 3936 x 2624, 3936 x 2216, 2640 x 1760, 2640 x 1488
Image ratio w:h 3:2, 16:9
Effective pixels 24 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 25 megapixels
Sensor size Full frame (35.8 x 23.8 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
Image
ISO Auto, 100, 200, 400, 800, 1600, 3200, 6400, 12800, 25600
White balance presets 9
Custom white balance Yes (1)
Image stabilization No
Uncompressed format RAW
Optics & Focus
Focal length (equiv.) 35 mm
Optical zoom 1×
Maximum aperture F2.0 - F22.0
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Multi-area
  • Center
  • Selective single-point
  • Tracking
  • Single
  • Face Detection
Digital zoom Yes (14x)
Manual focus Yes
Normal focus range 25 cm (9.84)
Number of focus points 25
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fixed
Screen size 3
Screen dots 1,229,000
Touch screen No
Screen type Xtra FineTFT LCD
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type None
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 30 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/4000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes (Pop-up)
Flash range 6.00 m
External flash Yes (via hot-shoe)
Flash modes Auto, On, Off, Slow Sync
Continuous drive 5 fps
Self-timer Yes (2 or 10 sec)
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Spot
Exposure compensation ±3 (at 1/3 EV steps)
AE Bracketing (3 frames at 1/3 EV, 2/3 EV steps)
WB Bracketing No
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (60, 50, 25, 24 fps), 1440 x 1080 (30, 25 fps), 1280 x 720 (30 fps), 640 x 480 (30, 25 fps)
Format MPEG-4, AVCHD
Videography notes AVCHD: 28M PS (1920×1080, 60p/50p), 24M FX (1920×1080, 60i/50i), 17M FH (1920×1080, 60i/50i), 24M FX (1920×1080, 24p/25p), 17M FH (1920×1080, 24p/25p)
Microphone Stereo
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC, Memory Stick Duo/Pro Duo/Pro-HG Duo
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (Mini)
Wireless Eye-Fi Connected
Remote control No
Physical
Environmentally sealed No
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description Lithium-Ion NP-BX1 battery
Battery Life (CIPA) 270
Weight (inc. batteries) 482 g (1.06 lb / 17.00 oz)
Dimensions 113 x 65 x 70 mm (4.45 x 2.56 x 2.76)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
Timelapse recording No
GPS None

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other cameras in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Build quality
Ergonomics & handling
Features
Metering & focus accuracy
Image quality (raw)
Image quality (jpeg)
Low light / high ISO performance
Viewfinder / screen rating
Optics
Performance
Movie / video mode
Value
Gold Award
Gold Award
79 %
Overall Score

The RX1 is a small camera capable of astonishing image quality. Its handling marries classic camera ergonomics with a couple of cyber-shot quirks but it's still a lovely camera to shoot with. If a fixed 35mm lens will fulfill any of your shooting requirements, then there's nothing to touch the RX1.

Good For

The best image quality of any carry-able camera.

Not So Good For

Fast action or anyone looking for flexibility. Video shooters.

User Reviews

4.60833 out of 5 stars
  • becasabot, Feb 12, 2013 GMT:
    Best camera ever (for people like me)

    There are some prerequisites for this camera: 1- You should be OK with a fixed 35 mm. 2- You should be in need of a small camera 3- You should not expect same AF performance compared to a DSLR (not good for action) 4- You should be enjoying a slower paced photography instead of a machine gun style Once you check all those 4 boxes, this is a perfect, incredible and best thing ever created. The manufacturing quality, the image quality, the lens character, the software, the customizability, the ...

    Continue Reading

  • edbowman, Feb 9, 2013 GMT:
    edbow

    This is a real quality camera. I just love to use it. the controls are relatively simple and the lens is of the highest quality. It is a real pleasure to use and has something of the feel and quality of the Leica about it, but much cheaper. Problems: bit slow on focussing

    Continue Reading

  • R370, Jan 17, 2013 GMT:
    Stunning!

    After a long phase of thinking this purchase over and over, I have decided to buy a RX1. I was in between a Fujifilm X100S - that is announced to come to stores in March - and a RX1. The price difference is huge. This didn't make the decision easier. However, I wanted to have a travel set-up that can substitute my Nikon D700 that I mostly use with a stunning Nikon 50mm 1.4 lens. Because of the size of the sensor of the RX1, this was really the only choice. When I unpacked the camera I was ...

    Continue Reading

  • burnymeister, Jan 7, 2013 GMT:
    Best Compact Camera? Yes and No

    I eagerly awaited this small wonder-camera and enjoyed using it (with the optional EVF) immensely. The 35mm lens is a dream and the EVF is a break-through in that technology - even better than Olympus' EVF finally. At f/2 the camera / lens are the best compact pair money can buy right now. It's when you start using the camera for other things that the camera becomes a bit less interesting. I own the excellent RX100 and when I started using the RX1 for landscapes and at f/5.6 and higher I just ...

    Continue Reading

Videos

Loading the player ...

Other Videos About this Product

Sony DSC-RX1 by DPReview

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Need some help from you guys【Gear】

Got some trouble choosing pocketable high-end camera.Which is more pleasant to use in real life , RX1 or X100S ? OR should i go for bigger cameras,say,OM-D E-P5 +17 1.8 or Fuji X-E2 + 27 2.8? I REALLY hope this camera could last for several years.

ZedWay asked
2 months ago

ANSWERS

... you should go for something smaller. In my opinion, anyway. GM1 ... 12-32 ... Panny 20 1.7 ... Yummy ... http://kimletkeman.blogspot.ca/2014/02/panasonic-gm1-review-part-1-arrival.html Continue Reading

Kim Letkeman answered
2 months ago

Well I have or have used most of those cameras quite extensively. My current arsenal is a RX1, E-M1 and frequent use of an X100s. They are all very different, though none of them are actually pocketable. Not even close, actually. And the X100s is bigger than the E-P5...as is the RX1. So, when you say 'go for a bigger camera' you actually mean the RX1, X100s and X-E2. The only game in town for an interchangeable lens camera is the GM1. Perhaps it is the Sony RX100 II is more suitable? Anyways, this is the greatest link in history for comparing camera sizes: Camera Size Comparison Image quality is a non-issue...I'm guessing they all outstrip your ability. If they didn't, you wouldn't be asking this question. As for pleasant to use...hmmmm. The X100s and is the hardest to use, at least for me. I find it takes more for me to remember what is what and where it is. It does feel nice in the hand, though, and looks cool. I like it better than the X-E1 (no experience with the X-E2), though ... Continue Reading

Dave Sanders answered
2 months ago

on the GM1 isn't the 1/500 second mechanical shutter speed a compromise and serious limitation.? also the slow flash sync? and diminutive size does not lend itself to steady handholding technique for IQ? i read on this forum a peep who owned GM1 said to  just shoot it one handed like a cell phone.  I think not.  ;) regards. Continue Reading

Len_Gee answered
2 months ago

QUESTION

18200--Wonderfully Versatile--Share Yours

Finally got a warm day outside. Took a walk with my 6 through my local town and, not knowing what I would encounter, slapped the 18200 on there. I really can't get enough of this lens. I remember being so scared to spend that much but in the end, its certainly won me over. I cant remember seeing a thread dedicated to this lens so maybe this could be it? How versatile has your 18200 been? (These are all original silver 18200 btw.) From Macro To Sports To Wide Angle To Portraits To Nature To a Grocery Store Every time I start to dabble in the mindset of a D7100 or an X100S or RX1, I think its this lens that keeps me sticking around. Fixed focal lengths or large cameras just don't do it for me. This lens helps keep me a Nexer.

Tommygun45 asked
11 months ago

ANSWERS

NEX 5N with SEL 18-200 and birds of prey Continue Reading

Joachim Wulfers answered
11 months ago

This should be a good thread. I agree, this is a nice versatile lens. This is one I took this am in Bhaktapur Kathmandu.  Golden hour hear really is something quite spectacular - it truly is golden - and I think all the dust hanging in the air has adds to the quality. The second shot I've posted before, but had to do it again as I think it is a cracker. This monkey was at Angkor Wat and after taking this shot, came right up and put its face inside the lens hood. Then its little hands had a feel of the camera. What did I do - stayed still of course as you would if you saw the size of their teeth. I've mentioned before I think I got a slightly decentred copy but I can work around this in most cases. Continue Reading

vajrasattva answered
11 months ago

Ok, if this thread gets revived :-) here is mine of today: Landscape with the 18200 Continue Reading

Dirk W answered
10 months ago

QUESTION

How do you check shutter count for RX1?

I tried to search for how to check the shutter count for RX1, but I couldn't find anything working. Some suggested extracting EXIF info would do, but all I got a bunch of irrelevant meta data. I just got myself a new RX1 and I want to make sure if this is brand-new.

rx1234 asked
9 months ago

ANSWERS

Why would you think they would send you a used one for? Just curious? I am sure it was probably tested at the QC level and then reset. Continue Reading

cosmonaut answered
9 months ago

I did a lot of searching on this question.  If there is a way to do this, I couldn't find it.  Hopefully someone else has a better answer. Continue Reading

newellj answered
9 months ago

Only way I know is to check the file number. Continue Reading

Hughesnet answered
9 months ago

Warranty Information

View Sony's USA limited warranty for cameras and lenses. Register your Sony purchases here.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Sony dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.