Sony Cyber-shot DSC-WX300 Compact Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Key Features

  • 18.2MP CMOS sensor
  • 25-500mm equivalent F3.5-6.5 lens (20x optical zoom)
  • ISO 80-3200 (expandable to 12800)
  • AVCHD 1080/60i with dual record of stills and movies
  • 3" LCD with 460,000 dots
  • Up to 10 FPS continuous shooting (max. 10 shots)
  • Built-in Wi-Fi
  • SDHC or Memory Stick Duo
  • SteadyShot Optical Image Stabilizer
  • Intelligent Sweep Panorama mode up to 360°

Product Description

The Sony Cyber-shot DSC-WX300 is a tiny zoom compact with a 25-500mm (equivalent) zoom lens, built around an 18MP BSI-CMOS sensor. According to Sony, the WX300 is the smallest and lightest camera of its type (at the time of announcement). It also has built-in Wi-Fi with an Android and iOS compatible app, allowing you to share your images and videos to social media.

Specs

Body type
Body type Compact
Sensor
Max resolution 4896 x 3672
Image ratio w:h 4:3, 16:9
Effective pixels 18 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 21 megapixels
Sensor size 1/2.3" (6.17 x 4.55 mm)
Sensor type BSI-CMOS
Image
ISO Auto, 80, 100, 200, 400, 800, 1600, 3200
Custom white balance Yes (One Push Set)
Image stabilization Optical
Image stabilization notes Optical SteadyShot with 2-way Active Mode
Uncompressed format Unknown
Optics & Focus
Focal length (equiv.) 25–500 mm
Optical zoom 20×
Maximum aperture F3.5 - F6.5
Autofocus
  • Multi-area
  • Center
  • Tracking
  • Single
  • Face Detection
Digital zoom Yes (40x)
Normal focus range 5 cm (1.97)
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fixed
Screen size 3
Screen dots 460,000
Touch screen No
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type None
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 4 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/1600 sec
Built-in flash Yes
Flash range 4.30 m
Continuous drive 10 fps
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Spot
Exposure compensation ±2 (at 1/3 EV steps)
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (60, 50 fps)
Format AVCHD
Microphone Stereo
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/ SDHC/SDXC, Memory Stick Pro Duo/ Pro-HG Duo
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
Wireless Built-In
Physical
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description NP-BX1
Weight (inc. batteries) 166 g (0.37 lb / 5.86 oz)
Dimensions 96 x 55 x 25 mm (3.78 x 2.16 x 0.98)
Other features
GPS None

Reviews

User Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
  • Eversharp, May 2, 2013 GMT:
    Amazing Little Camera!

    Normal long shot of Living Room With in-camera "Illustration" edit. In-camera "Watercolor" edit. Long Shot of Bedroom 20X zoom of one pillow. "Intelligent Digital Zoom" of the same pillow. This camera never ceases to amaze me in just a couple days.  Sony has made picture taking fun again.  I am amazed at the clarity of the images I am getting from a small sensor camera.  This will surprise you!

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

New WX350 max ISO 12,800 versus 3200 for prior WX300

Given new WX350 same sensor sizes, probably same optics as prior WX300 model, but a newer processor, is this leap in maximum ISO really possible / useful? Hard to imagine this tiny sensor can do anything like 12,800 ISO. (ISO spec for new WX350 of 12,800 from B&H Photo website). Comments and opinions are very welcome. Thanks, Larry

LSHorwitz1 asked
5 months ago

ANSWERS

I guess it can do it, probably by just pushing the max ISO from before with some processing afterwards by the new chip. But I wouldnt expect any quality out of it, I have the HX50v and even at native base ISO it's already pretty nasty with colour blocking when viewing at 100%. At normal 10x15 size or webformats it's OK after resizing but even then going above 800 is not really nice. I would expect the WX350/HX60 to perform the same, just with even crappier results at the top ISO setting. Continue Reading

NickRX100 answered
5 months ago

My HX30 with a 18 mp sensor has the ISO range "up to" 12,800. Its real ISO range is up to ISO 3200, and everything above that is a multi-frame noise reduction equivalent that requires "processing" after a shot (no burst modes) It will be interesting to see if the Bionz X results in a noticeable high ISO improvement. Continue Reading

notime answered
5 months ago

I agree, and my HX20 does the same thing. I am not especially optimistic though, given the need for a really stationary subject and a steady grip on the camera to achieve any payoff in multiple image combining, this method has seldom really worked well for me in practice. I also know how difficult my a77 and Nex-7 struggle with their much bigger sensors to get any type of usable images even at ISO 6400, and I have to doubt much will be gained here by pushing the ISO up by 2 stops, from 3200 to 12,800 in this new WX350 model. Funny that no real claims are being made in this area by Sony despite the drastic change in specs. Larry Continue Reading

LSHorwitz1 answered
5 months ago

QUESTION

First camera: X100S, hear me out please.

Hi there, Recently went to Tokyo and got to make pictures with my Sony WX300 and an 5D Mk II (not mine). Seeing the images from the latter one, there is no going back to my Sony compact camera. I am new to photography and I want to buy the Fujifilm X100S. Im in my last year of study (thank God) and in february I go to work on a cruisehip for 4 months. Places I will visit: San Diego, Mexico, Costa Rica, Panama Canal, Caribbean Islands, Miami, Quebec, Montreal, Newfoundland.My job onboard will be as an Maritime Officer (that means on the bridge, deck and in the engine room). I want a compact camera that I can slip in my uniform trousers or boiler suit (wont take it too much into the engine room because of the conditions there) so I can take pictures during work ours (either for school project or just for fun). As for the free time: there will be alot to see i reckon. Lot of people, ships and city's to photograph. After the summer I will be done with school and will be away from home ...

Thomas1988 asked
6 months ago

ANSWERS

To be honest from what it sounds like your needs are, I wouldn't recommend the x100s.  That's not to say that it's not a fine camera, it is, but it's not really pocketable and you may find the 35mm FoV limiting,  I would actually suggest you take a look at the Sony RX100, it's got a larger sensor then your compact, it's certainly pocketable, and it has a zoom.  You might not get the type of images that you would get from the 5d or the x100s, but it'll be a step up from your compact. Continue Reading

JYPfoto answered
6 months ago

Both are APSC cameras, both with 18mm focal lenght, the Ricoh is really pocketable, the X100 has the better IQ. The Ricoh is my new "always in my pocket cam". Continue Reading

helmus answered
6 months ago

Many of us (perhaps those over 40) started with a basic camera, black-and-white film, and a single lens. Along the lines of a Canon AE-1 and a standard 50mm, with which we learned shutter speed, aperture, ISO, composition, etc. One way to look at the x100s is the modern equivalent. You don’t get distractions from a zoom choice and you will learn the basics, plus the digital components of histogram, noise, etc. Combined with post-processing (today’s darkroom), there will be more than enough to do without more “versatile” systems, esp. on such a short time frame. Will you miss some shots along the way? Of course. There’s a reason interchangeable lens systems are so popular. But from a learning perspective, I think there is a world of potential. Judging the differences between telephotos or zooms, such as field of view and perspective, will be much easier if you have a single solid standard of comparison. An added bonus is that you really like the camera. This will encourage you to use ... Continue Reading

virginiajwolf answered
6 months ago

QUESTION

WX-350 Background Defocus mode

Does WX-350 has a background defocus mode like WX-300 ? It contain only superior auto, intelligent auto etc. Why they remove that feature from the upgraded model ? is their any way to get that feature ? because i am planning to buy WX-350 because it is new model compared to WX-300 also i love that mode for shooting portraits.

3 months ago

ANSWERS

In the WX300, background defocus works, but not like people probably expect.  It takes two pictures, one in-focus and the other out of focus, then combines them.     The most in-focus part of the in-focus picture is kept, and the out of focus part is replaced by portions of the really out of focus picture. Sounds pretty good.  The problem is that the when you enable this mode on the WX300, a message comes up on the screen that says you must position your target to be 0.3 meters from the camera.   If you do that, it all works pretty well.   But if you don't, you just get a fuzzy picture. 0.3 meters away is too close for a good portrait.  You get geometric distorions of a face.  Big nose, small ears, etc. Background defocus works fine for things like the ornamment on a car hood, or a flower.  But ultimately I think it was not as flexible as users wanted and I would guess it generated a fair number of customer complaints.   I know I was disappointed with it when I first tried using it ... Continue Reading

OpticsEngineer answered
3 months ago

I know how the WX300 will produce the BGdefocus effect, I just want to know whether that mode is available in WX350(the upgraded model of WX300). I didn't find any mode in the dial. Is their any internal setting for that ?? [ sory for ma bad english] Continue Reading

Sarath S Nair answered
3 months ago

The websites that I have looked at (bandhphoto, imagng resource) say that background defocus is still available on the WX350.   But from pictures of the mode dial it appears to have been taken off as you say.    I would guess this function was moved to the Scene menu but I do not know.     I have to say the icon they chose for the background defocus function on the mode dial of the WX300 was poor... persons head with mountain behind it.... considering that most photos of a person look odd when taken from only 30 cm away.   A flower and a mountain behind it would have been more appropriate. I find that often, when I try to use background defocus, I simply get a message "cannot perform background defocus"    That happens when nothing is near the 30 cm focus distance, or everything is near the 30 cm distance. Continue Reading

OpticsEngineer answered
3 months ago

Warranty Information

View Sony's USA limited warranty for cameras and lenses. Register your Sony purchases here.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Sony dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.