Sony Alpha a5000 Mirrorless Camera Kit with 16-50mm F3.5-5.6 PZ Lens

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Key Features

  • 20.1 MP APS-C CMOS sensor
  • ISO 100-16000 selectable in 1 EV steps, Auto (100-3200)
  • Full HD 1080/60i/24p video AVCHD / MP4 (MPEG-4 AVC (H.264))
  • Up to 3.5 FPS continuous shooting
  • Built-in pop-up flash
  • 3-inch 180-degree tilting LCD with 460,800 dots
  • Raw and Raw + JPEG shooting
  • Focus peaking
  • Compatible with Sony NEX E-Mount lenses and Sony/Minolta/Konica Minolta Maxxum A-mount lenses via optional LA-EA1/LA-EA2 adapter
  • Built-in Wi-Fi and NFC
  • SD/SDHC/SDXC/Memory Stick Pro Duo Memory

Product Description

The Sony a5000 is Sony’s smallest and lightest interchangeable lens camera to date. Included in its compact body is a 20MP APS-C image sensor and a convenient built-in flash. The LCD can tilt 180 degrees – ideal for self-portraits – and a zoom lever on the body of the camera for easier one-handed operation. There is also intelligent a new Auto Object Framing mode, which helps the user compose more aesthetically pleasing photos. Built-in wireless sharing with one-touch NFC connectivity lets you upload to Facebook and more, directly from the camera.

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

NEX5T ,NEX6 or A5000?

I'm considering buying a mirrorless camera, as I will need a camera for school projects and vacations, I do not need the versatility that a DSLR gives me, so I would rather have a fairly compact camera. The NEX6 was my first goto, as it included the pancake 16-50 lens, which the NEX5 at that time didn't include. However now that the NEX5T includes it, I have been considering getting that camera instead. But now that the A5000 has been released, I am again questioning which purchase to go for. I love the built in flash in the NEX6, and the A5000 seems to include it as well, I'm not a fan of carrying it on the side, as I would have to with the NEX5T. Which camera would you choose? Jacob

jacobtc asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

They're all perfectly capable cameras, but there is nothing you have said that makes one a better choice that the others beyond your own desire for a built-in flash and a cost. I would suggest that a viewfinder is a great benefit. I find operating a camera using an LCD tedious at best. Continue Reading

darklamp answered
1 month ago

What about the A6000? -- Good luck and happy shooting! Continue Reading

thebustos answered
1 month ago

The A6000 is about 300USD more expensive than the NEX6 in Germany :S Continue Reading

jacobtc answered
1 month ago

QUESTION

Best NEX/Alpha for beginner?

Hey! I'm a point-and-shoot guy who'd like to get into the world of mirrorless. There's a shop near me that's selling an open-box NEX-5R (with the 18-55mm) and a new NEX-3N (with the 16-50mm) at the same price, about $350. Google tells me these are decent prices! Should I jump on one of these, or should I wait for the a5000/a6000 and pick up one of those? Are the differences between the models going to be something a beginner notices? I want to do general-purpose and low-light/concert photos for the most part. I've read a ton of reviews and previews but I figure this is the place I'll get the informed answer.

Syntactic asked
2 months ago

ANSWERS

The 5R or the A6000 should do fine, it will depend on if you really want the EVF, me, I wouldn't buy a camera without one ever again. The main thing is to get something that does a good job with auto, and enough manual features to take control as you learn the why's and how 's and both do that, but the A6000 has more buttons and dials to keep the advanced user happy, so it should serve you well for a good number of years. Continue Reading

Lightshow answered
2 months ago

Basics You are getting Nex 5r for $350. A6000 will come for $800. I would say get the Nex 5x and go for more lenses for the remaining money. As you are from point and shoot, so even basic mirrorless would be a very big change for you. Learn to shoot in Aperture mode, develop good composition skills and then go for advanced cameras. Having said that A6000 AF is miles ahead of Nex 5 and Nex 3. If you want to shoot fast moving subjects , go for A6000 Continue Reading

Abhayks answered
2 months ago

The Nex-5r actually has pdaf in some situations. Not saying it's as good as the A6000 but it can be fast doing af in my experience. If you're in the USA, $350 for that Nex-5r is a very good deal. $350 for the Nex-3n isn't. You can get it new for $300. Or the A3000 for $300. Continue Reading

semifast answered
2 months ago

Have your own question?

Warranty Information

View Sony's USA limited warranty for cameras and lenses. Register your Sony purchases here.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Sony dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.