Sony Alpha a5000 Mirrorless Camera Kit with 16-50mm F3.5-5.6 PZ Lens

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Key Features

  • 20.1 MP APS-C CMOS sensor
  • ISO 100-16000 selectable in 1 EV steps, Auto (100-3200)
  • Full HD 1080/60i/24p video AVCHD / MP4 (MPEG-4 AVC (H.264))
  • Up to 3.5 FPS continuous shooting
  • Built-in pop-up flash
  • 3-inch 180-degree tilting LCD with 460,800 dots
  • Raw and Raw + JPEG shooting
  • Focus peaking
  • Compatible with Sony NEX E-Mount lenses and Sony/Minolta/Konica Minolta Maxxum A-mount lenses via optional LA-EA1/LA-EA2 adapter
  • Built-in Wi-Fi and NFC
  • SD/SDHC/SDXC/Memory Stick Pro Duo Memory

Product Description

The Sony a5000 is Sony’s smallest and lightest interchangeable lens camera to date. Included in its compact body is a 20MP APS-C image sensor and a convenient built-in flash. The LCD can tilt 180 degrees – ideal for self-portraits – and a zoom lever on the body of the camera for easier one-handed operation. There is also intelligent a new Auto Object Framing mode, which helps the user compose more aesthetically pleasing photos. Built-in wireless sharing with one-touch NFC connectivity lets you upload to Facebook and more, directly from the camera.

Specs

Body type
Body type Rangefinder-style mirrorless
Sensor
Max resolution 5456 x 3632
Other resolutions 5456 x 3064, 3872 x 2576, 3872 x 2176, 2736 x 1824, 2736 x 1536
Image ratio w:h 3:2, 16:9
Effective pixels 20 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 20 megapixels
Sensor size APS-C (23.2 x 15.4 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
Processor Bionz X
Image
ISO Auto, 100 - 16000
White balance presets 9
Custom white balance Yes
Image stabilization No
Uncompressed format RAW
JPEG quality levels Fine, standard
Optics & Focus
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Multi-area
  • Center
  • Selective single-point
  • Tracking
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Face Detection
  • Live View
Digital zoom Yes (2X)
Manual focus Yes
Number of focus points 25
Lens mount Sony E (NEX)
Focal length multiplier 1.5×
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Tilting
Screen size 3
Screen dots 460,800
Touch screen No
Screen type TFT LCD with 180 upward tilt
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type None
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 30 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/4000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes
Flash range 4.00 m (at ISO 100)
External flash No
Flash modes Flash off, Autoflash, Fill-flash, Rear Sync., Slow Sync., Red-eye reduction
Continuous drive 4 fps
Self-timer Yes (2 or 10 secs, custom)
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Spot
Exposure compensation ±3 (at 1/3 EV steps)
AE Bracketing ±3 (3 frames at 1/3 EV, 2/3 EV, 1 EV, 2 EV steps)
WB Bracketing Yes (3-shot)
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (60i/24p), 1440 x 1080 (25 fps), 640 x 480 (25 fps)
Format MPEG-4, AVCHD
Microphone Stereo
Speaker None
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC/Memory Stick Pro Duo
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (micro HDMI)
Wireless Built-In
Wireless notes 802.11 b/g/n with NFC
Remote control Yes (via smartphone)
Physical
Environmentally sealed No
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description NP-FW50 lithium-ion battery and USB charger
Battery Life (CIPA) 420
Weight (inc. batteries) 269 g (0.59 lb / 9.49 oz)
Dimensions 110 x 63 x 36 mm (4.33 x 2.48 x 1.42)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
Timelapse recording Yes (requires downloadable app)
GPS None

Reviews

User Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
  • Denis of Whidbey Island, Jul 10, 2014 GMT:
    Lotta bang for the buck

    With excellent image quality in a compact camera, I'm favorably impressed with my first day shooting the a5000. I chose this to replace my first gen DSC-RX100. That camera has served pretty well, but there are times with the 1" sensor just can't give me what I need. I'm a pro and use a D800 as my primary camera, D7100 converted to IR for fine art stuff. But I don't always have them with me, so it's important to carry something good enough to get opportunistic shots I can sell in galleries or ...

    Continue Reading

  • kenwoodpm1, Jul 28, 2014 GMT:
    Best Camera I've ever had !!!!!

    I will start by saying that im not a pro photographer, this camera has impressed me alot for the size, looks and features. The only problem that i encounter is that it lacks alittle bit of speed in dark seens and sometimes on the sun the pictures come out kind of bright but there is ways to adjust the brightness before taking pictures. other than that, the pictures that this camera takes are unbelievable. i would say that this is a great buy for the amount of money that i pay for. I would ...

    Continue Reading

  • kelt0004, Aug 10, 2014 GMT:
    A great camera.

    I am not a pro photographer but over the last 15 years have owned a bunch of point and shoot digital cameras.  In the last few years I have been shooting event with my iPhone to much disappointment.  Although it is incredibly handy, my Wife and I needed something that could better document our lives and work. The Sony Alpha a5000 is a great performer.  The E 3.5-5.6/PZ 16-50 OSS lens a sufficiently quick with enough speed to catch our kids running around.  There are times when I wished it ...

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Is a5k a good upgrade to f3?

I've NEX-F3, is Alpha 5000 a good upgrade? My main problem with F3 is slow SD card record times. Does A5K use UHS-I? How fast can it write to the card? I also want more megapixels and a smaller camera. ANd I hate F3's menu system. Does a5k has the A7/a6k menu system? Is it true that a5000 has a smaller APS-C sensor than F3? 1.55x crop instead of 1.5x? My F3 has 900k pixel screen resolution whereas the a5k has 400k pixels... would this be a problem? I don't consider A6k an upgrade to f3 because it's larger, so I consider it a different class of camera. I might get a6k too, but it's also more expensive. No matter whether I get a6k or not, I will still want the a5k for its small size.

Ozyxy asked
6 days ago

ANSWERS

There is rumoured to be an A5100 coming soon which will be more like an A6000 without the EVF. If the rumour is true, that would be a significant upgrade from the F3. Continue Reading

D Cox answered
6 days ago

I hope it will be smaller than a6000! I wonder whether the 20 megapixels of a5000 show any real difference. Can someone post a picture taken with a5000 and a Sigma 19mm f/2.8, Sigma 30mm f/2.8 or Sigma 60mm f/2.8 lens? Continue Reading

Ozyxy answered
6 days ago

The more seldom you upgrade and the bigger the upgrade the more likely it will be worth it to you. F3 is 2 years old. Not much has happened. after 5 years you start seeing material differences, and mostly if you also take a step up in segment. Continue Reading

Aasmund G answered
6 days ago

QUESTION

Help choosing between Sony RX-100 II or Sony A5000

Hi all - thank you in advance for reading! Some background: I am very much an amateur/novice/beginner who loves taking photos of my family, friends, and travels and would like to learn more about photography. Right now I have a Canon s100, I've wanted to upgrade for some time - I generally think the camera takes great pictures but in low light it has been pretty awful recently. Then the shutter-release button stopped working two weeks ago, I was told this would be about $200 to fix, which is not worth it to me, so I started my quest to research a new camera . . . . Right now, I think it is between the Sony RX-100 II and the Sony a5000. I don't know that I would buy additional lenses if I bought the a5000 (but it might be nice to have this option in the future?). Image Quality is definitely most important to me. I don't want anything too much bigger than the a5000.  I'd like to learn more about using the manual settings, etc but the automatic setting is my go to. I've read a lot ...

jamaes6 asked
7 days ago

ANSWERS

"in this price range". The RX-100 II is a pricy camera for what it is. Over $650.00 USD? For less than half you could get one of the Nikon 1 series cameras which will do fine with 8x10" prints, have better AF and interchangeable lenses; or a refurbished Canon GX-1 if you really don't want an ICL camera for a lot less. I would look around a little bit more.  I just have a problem paying that kind of money for a fixed lens camera. TEdolph Continue Reading

tedolf answered
6 days ago

do not buy an interchangeable lens camera.  The kit lens that comes with the Sony a5000 is not very good; not as good as the fixed lens that comes with the RX-100 II. I think you really have to define "image quality" first before you make a decision.  How large are you printing?  How much low light capability do you need? etc. If you are printing 8x10" or smaller, or are just displaying on digital output and/or shooting in relatively good light you will not see any quality difference between these two cameras. The a5000 will give you more control over DOF, but only if you buy something faster than the kit lens. Tedolph Continue Reading

tedolf answered
6 days ago

Thank you tedolf! I would rarely print over 8x10.  Regarding low light - I just really want a real improvement from the Canon s100.  I don't think I would buy the faster kit lens for the a5000 anytime soon, so it looks like the RX-100 II should be the camera for me between these two.  I just want to make sure I am making the right choice generally - is the RX-100 II the best camera in this price range and for what I am looking for? Continue Reading

jamaes6 answered
6 days ago

QUESTION

FAQ, tutorials and other newbie help?

Hello, I looked around to see if there were some links or stickies that have collected tutorial and other info for beginners but didn't see anything. Do you have that here? I just graduated from a Canon a70 to a Sony ICLE a5000 and I'm feeling a little overwhelmed by what I don't know. Excited, but very overwhelmed with all the components of photography.  My goal is just to take better pictures and to learn how to use at least some of what I will be able to do with my new camera.  So, where to begin?  Good education links that don't overload, tutorials, resources.... anything would be useful "Take lots of pictures and get out of Auto mode" has been the advice given me so far. Cheers Alia

AliaMTB asked
7 days ago

ANSWERS

I think these tutorials are excellent http://www.cambridgeincolour.com/learn-photography-concepts.htm Continue Reading

7 days ago

Links for lots of ideas - http://www.dpreview.com/forums/thread/3130399 http://www.dpreview.com/forums/thread/3181688 http://www.dpreview.com/forums/thread/3564071 http://www.dpreview.com/forums/thread/3598789 http://www.dpreview.com/forums/thread/3633269 Kelly Cook Continue Reading

KCook answered
7 days ago

What about making some stickies? Many other forums I belong to have stickies for the beginners, FAQs, etc? Yes I know I'm new here and don't know how things are done, here. :-) Continue Reading

AliaMTB answered
7 days ago

Warranty Information

View Sony's USA limited warranty for cameras and lenses. Register your Sony purchases here.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Sony dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.