Sony SLT-A58 DSLR Camera Kit with 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 Lens

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Key Features

  • 20.1MP CMOS sensor
  • 15-point AF system with 3 cross sensors
  • ISO 100-16000 expandable to 25600
  • 2.7 inch vari-angle LCD with 460,000 dots
  • SVGA (800 x 600 pixel) OLED electronic viewfinder
  • 1080/60i/24p AVCHD or 1080/30p MP4 HD video recording
  • 5 frames per second continuous shooting
  • Auto Object Tracking mode dramatically increases the in-focus rate
  • Auto Object Framing crops and balances composition based on scene recognition
  • In-camera image stabilization
  • Multi-frame noise reduction combines six images to give the equivalent noise reduction of two addition steps of ISO sensitivity

Product Description

The Sony Alpha SLT-A58 is a mid-range SLT camera with a newly-developed 20MP sensor. The A58 will replace both the A37 and A57 models, helping to simplify the company's lineup. The A58 builds on the A57's feature set and gains an SVGA (800x600 pixel) OLED viewfinder, rather than its predecessors' LCDs. It also boasts a new lock-on focus mode and Auto Object Framing mode - an extension of the auto portrait mode in the A57.

Specs

Body type
Body type Compact SLR
Sensor
Max resolution 5456 x 3632
Effective pixels 20 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 20 megapixels
Sensor type CMOS
Image
ISO Auto, 100, 200, 400, 800, 1600, 3200, 6400, 12800, 16000 (25600 with boost)
White balance presets 9
Custom white balance Yes (1)
Image stabilization Optical
Image stabilization notes SteadyShot INSIDE
Uncompressed format RAW
Optics & Focus
Autofocus
  • Phase Detect
  • Multi-area
  • Selective single-point
  • Tracking
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Face Detection
  • Live View
Manual focus Yes
Number of focus points 15
Lens mount Sony/Minolta Alpha
Focal length multiplier 1.5×
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fully articulated
Screen size 2.7
Screen dots 460,000
Touch screen No
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type Electronic
Viewfinder coverage 100%
Viewfinder resolution 1,440,000
Photography features
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes (Pop-up)
Flash range 10.00 m (@ ISO 100)
External flash Yes (Hot-shoe, Wireless)
Continuous drive 5 fps
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Spot
WB Bracketing Yes (3 frames, H/L selectable)
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080
Format MPEG-4, AVCHD, H.264
Videography notes 50i or 25p in PAL countries
Microphone Stereo
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC/Memory Stick Pro Duo/ Pro-HG Duo
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (Mini Type C)
Wireless Eye-Fi Connected
Remote control Yes (Optional)
Physical
Environmentally sealed No
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description Rechargeable NP-FM500H battery & charger
Battery Life (CIPA) 690
Weight (inc. batteries) 492 g (1.08 lb / 17.35 oz)
Dimensions 129 x 95 x 78 mm (5.08 x 3.74 x 3.07)
Other features
GPS None

Reviews

User Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
  • DigitalDon59, Nov 25, 2013 GMT:
    Liked the tilted viewfinder, not its RAW format

    I loved using the ability to use the tilted viewfinder. Got some awesome results at recent car shows. One of the quirks of the camera was the location of the movie button. I had a few instants where I had hit the button while changing settings on the camera. I located the disable button in the menu and it was not an issue after that was turned off. The other issue I had was the RAW format was not compatible to my PhotoShop CS5 software. It required an additional conversion to a DNG file ...

    Continue Reading

  • Vikas Rana, Nov 28, 2013 GMT:
    A nice camera to start with!

    (1) The A/F and lock-on focus are quick and very useful both in still as well as video. (2) OLED EVF is smaller than A65/A77 but still more than good enough at this price. Far accurate than A57. LCD & EVF is vice-versa from A57.. (3) I've not tested the battery back-up ...

    Continue Reading

  • yndesai, Nov 29, 2013 GMT:
    I got what I wanted.

    My clear need was bird photography with fast autofocus and some reach. I did some hands-on on a borrowed A58. Wanted IBIS for using 50F18. There are many other reasons and my feelings about this camera. My rating are explained : Kids / pets : Quick autofocus (just some hunting in low light) Action / sports : Well its just 4fps but that can be good for school games with 8fps only jpg mode it bits others in class. Landscapes / scenery: excellent (Just remember to shoot RAW) Portraits : great ...

    Continue Reading

Videos

Loading the player ...

Sony SLT-A58 DSLR Camera Kit by DPReview

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Why Alpha become 'white' now?

Today I saw the picture of a58 and notice the color of logo alpha is white before its orange, that I even saw in a99, why Sony changing its brand color? I think the warm orange alpha logo is very appealing, any idea about it guys? Regards Afzal Khan

ak1981 asked
1 year ago

ANSWERS

Stflbn wrote: Honestly, why does it matter. Would you honestly not buy one because it doesn't have an orange logo? Things change and this effects the camera in absolutely no way. people also worry about waaaaaay to minor of details. Teach by example. Continue Reading

Kriekira answered
1 year ago

It does seem odd that sony changed the alpha logo to white.  The orange was always its signature color. also the lens mount have changed from metal to plastic.  So I suspect that its to try lowering any unnecessary cost. a white logo should be cheaper than colored, and plastic mount cheaper than metal. Continue Reading

holyfan answered
1 year ago

I think some of the friends who replied, having a fun. Laugh makes you healthy! I asked this question not for white VS orange, actually I feel the logo, trademark, colors of any brand is their identity which creates an impact in our mind. Frequent changes are not good in my view. Brands like Nike, Adidas, and McDonald always work hard for their logo. when I saw the white alpha logo at first glance I though is it color faded or what happen with alpha trademark, when A99 contains white I though it’s for full frame machines only but when A58 contains it that doesn’t make sense, I think for a long term vision Sony should stick on orange or if they change it to white create a campaign around it so consumers relate with it easily. For some people here my view would be not justifiable, sorry guys for that. *My English is not good. Apology! Regards Afzal Khan Continue Reading

ak1981 answered
1 year ago

QUESTION

A58 'quiet shutter'

Hello to everyone.....my first post! I have just purchased a SonyA58, one of the things that interested me was that it has a 'quiet shutter'.....at least that is what I read in many reviews and on some forums I know that 'quiet' is subjective and certainly can't be compared to a x100 with 'sounds off', but I'm still a bit disappointed with the level of shutter noise. I thought there was a way to quiet it or deactivate it in the menu, but I can't find it....maybe i'm missing something. I did turn off the autofocus confirmations sound. My last DSLR was a F3, so its certainly been awhile. Thanks for any help. Gary

qhs232 asked
6 months ago

ANSWERS

I think it refers to the first curtain shutter setting, which is probably on by default.  Go into menus turn it off then take a shot(you will hear the difference).  Hope you like your new camera,brian Continue Reading

brian14478 answered
6 months ago

After the first curtain is turn-on, the shutter sound from a58 and a57 sound similar but a65 sound longer and louder. There is no option to mute the shutter sound. Continue Reading

Photoviewer answered
6 months ago

Quiet is relative indeed. I believe, it's a comparison in DSRL world. As a58 does not have mirror clack, it's noticeably quieter than Canon or Nikon counterparts. I shoot a99 during performances and it's significantly quieter than canonikon pro bodies, unless switched to slower "silent" mode. Continue Reading

jackgreen answered
6 months ago

QUESTION

SLT-A58 review... when?

Hello, I'm looking for a new camera because my old alpha-390 is TOO much noisy!!! SLT-A57 or SLT-A58? Is A58 better in high ISO performance than A57? ...so I'm waiting for a deep review on dpreview. Thanks, Fabio

fabioitaly asked
11 months ago

ANSWERS

I have been through many modern Sony DSLR/SLT bodies, and believe I have developed a good instinct towards each camera. In the case of A58, here is my assessment: 1) It has excellent sensor, as clean as the A57 but higher resolution, so this camera is good for natural photography. 2) It has nest to no buffer at miserable 5 FPS burst (if you can call that burst), so obviously no one is going to buy it for sports shooting, despite its good ISO performance, and auto ISO in full manual exposure. 3) Its EVF is vastly better then the one in A37/57, slightly smaller but you will get use to. I rather trade smaller size to superior EVF experience. 4) EVF lag and slide show is very evident, so obviously the display processing power is not at same league as A99. 5) LCD is actually useable, for things like composition and focus check. Sure the one in A57 is nice, but this one is fully useable (unlike A37). 6) AF system is same as A37/57/65, so there is no performance difference (aside from ... Continue Reading

11 months ago

havoc315 wrote: Dxomark scored the a58 rather poorly for low light performance. I believe they scored it below the a57. There have been people claiming better low light performance on the a58. My take is that with more megapixels, the a58 suffers more noise than the a57. But if you shoot jpeg, the a58 has slightly better software for bringing out the shadows with less noise. There is little to no correlation between megapixels and noise for a given output size in practise. But yeah-- according to objective benchmark testing by dxomark, the a58 is a downgrade in low light. According to the SNR measurements, they are within 0.06 EV, well within the margin of measuring error of 0.33 EV. And what those numbers don't reflect is less amp glow and other visual artifacts from electronic noise. From which the A58 seems to suffer less at higher ISO's, if the IR RAW samples are indicative. Continue Reading

TrojMacReady answered
11 months ago

Well soon one would hope. As for your questions...well tbh I would expect the a58 to have better ISO performance, it has a newer sensor and a few of the stuff flying round in the forum indicates this may be true, but Ive not really looked into it deeply. But regardless it HAS got the advantage of 20MP and the ISO performance by the looks of it is atleast as good at the a57, if that helps. Continue Reading

dka91 answered
11 months ago

WHAT'S IN THE BOX?

  • Sony a58 camera body
  • SAL DT 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 lens
  • Battery Charger (BC-VM10)
  • Rechargeable Battery (NP-FM500H)
  • Eyepiece Cup
  • Shoulder Strap
  • Body Cap
  • CD-ROM

Warranty Information

View Sony's USA limited warranty for cameras and lenses. Register your Sony purchases here.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Sony dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.