Sony Alpha SLT-A65 DSLR Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

78% Gold Award
Overall then the Sony SLT-A65 is an exceptionally well specified camera not only considering its class, but the consumer-level DSLR field as a whole.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 24MP APS-C CMOS sensor
  • 10 frames per second continuous shooting
  • 15-point AF system
  • ISO 100-1600, expandable up to 25,600
  • 1080p HD video
  • 3.0 inch articulated LCD with 921,600 dots
  • Electronic OLED viewfinder with 2,400,000 dots
  • 1200-zone metering system
  • Pop-up built in flash and hotshoe
  • SD/SDHC/SDXC/MemoryStick Pro Duo card slot

Product Description

A beginner-friendlier model with class-leading sensor resolution, the Sony Alpha SLT-A65 is part of that manufacturer's line of translucent mirror system cameras, introduced alongside the higher-specified Sony Alpha A77. The A65 offers two of the more advanced model's key features, namely the 24MP APS-C CMOS sensor and excellent 2.4M-dot OLED finder at a significantly lower price. So rather than a stripped-down A77, the A65 is a solid competitor in the mid-range DSLR class. The A65's 10 frames per second continuous shooting at full resolution is nothing short of impressive, and useful features like Sony's excellent Sweep Panorama mode and Auto HDR are also included.

Specs

Body type
Body type Compact SLR
Sensor
Max resolution 6000 x 4000
Other resolutions 6000 x 3376, 4240 x 2832, 4240 x 2400, 3008 x 2000, 3008 x 1688
Image ratio w:h 3:2, 16:9
Effective pixels 24 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 25 megapixels
Sensor size APS-C (23.5 x 15.6 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
Processor Bionz
Image
ISO Auto, 100, 200, 400, 800, 1600, 3200, 6400, 12800, (25600 with boost)
White balance presets 8
Custom white balance Yes (1)
Image stabilization Sensor-shift
Uncompressed format RAW
JPEG quality levels Fine, Normal
Optics & Focus
Autofocus
  • Phase Detect
  • Multi-area
  • Selective single-point
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Face Detection
  • Live View
Digital zoom No
Manual focus Yes
Number of focus points 15
Lens mount Sony/Minolta Alpha
Focal length multiplier 1.5×
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fully articulated
Screen size 3
Screen dots 921,000
Touch screen No
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type Electronic
Viewfinder coverage 100%
Viewfinder magnification 1.1×
Viewfinder resolution 2,359,000
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 30 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/4000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes (Pop-up)
Flash range 10.00 m
External flash Yes (Hot-shoe, Wireless)
Flash modes Auto, On, Off, Red-Eye, Slow Sync, High Speed Sync, Rear Curtain, Fill-in, Wireless
Continuous drive 10 fps
Self-timer Yes (2 or 10 sec)
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Spot
Exposure compensation ±3 (at 1/3 EV steps)
AE Bracketing (3 frames at 1/3 EV, 1/2 EV, 2/3 EV steps)
WB Bracketing No
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (60, 24 fps), 1440 x 1080 (30fps), 640 x 424 (29.97 fps)
Format MPEG-4, AVCHD, H.264
Microphone Stereo
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC/Memory Stick Pro Duo/ Pro-HG Duo
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (Mini Type C)
Wireless Eye-Fi Connected
Remote control Yes (Optional)
Physical
Environmentally sealed No
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description Rechargeable NP-FM500H battery & charger
Weight (inc. batteries) 622 g (1.37 lb / 21.94 oz)
Dimensions 132 x 97 x 81 mm (5.2 x 3.82 x 3.19)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
GPS BuiltIn

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other cameras in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Build quality
Ergonomics & handling
Features
Metering & focus accuracy
Image quality (raw)
Image quality (jpeg)
Low light / high ISO performance
Viewfinder / screen rating
Performance
Movie / video mode
Value
Gold Award
Gold Award
78 %
Overall Score

The Sony SLT-A65 is an exceptionally well specified camera for its class. The 24MP CMOS sensor, the OLED EVF and the 10fps continuous mode are real stand-out features in the mid-level bracket of the market. Add the well thought-out ergonomics to that and you got yourself a camera that is a pleasure and fun to use in almost any shooting situation.

Good For

Feature-lovers and photographers on a budget who want maximum pixel count

Not So Good For

Traditionalists and pixel peepers

User Reviews

  • Gmanmi, Feb 27, 2013 GMT:
    Excellent mid-range SLR/SLT

    Its been a year since I got the Sony SLT-A65, and I have really enjoyed using the camera. I moved up from a compact camera the Canon S90. After many weeks of research online, the shortlist came down to the Canon 60D and the SLT-A65. I was a little unsure of the Sony DSLR lineup but now I am really comfortable with a full Sony system. The main advantages of the A65 that I see are: Full time live view Fast autofocus (depending on lens) 24 MP resolution that allows for cropping Availability ...

    Continue Reading

  • Digiman69, Dec 7, 2012 GMT:
    A65 great all around DSLR

    Great EVF what you see is what you get, immediate feedback to manual override. Light body but good ergonomics. Fast enough AF and great speed 10fps when needed. (very usable 8fps with continuous focus) Noisy at all iso much more than my A850 but stay up to iso800 and setting the right jpg customization you'll get great shots enjoying in camera HDR, Sweep Panorama, Peak Focus for MF. Don't undervaluate in camera stabilization, the translucent technology does mean higher noise but even no ...

    Continue Reading

  • vlad2304, Nov 4, 2012 GMT:
    Big dissapointment

    I was looking to buy Sony SLT-A65 since its anouncement but sold it with loss after 3-4 weeks of using. Main reason is bad performance after ISO exceeds 1200-1600. In real life it means that if you are using zoom lens at 300 mm in conditions other than bright sunny day you have to raise ISO and shutter speed and as result get noisy pics. The only thing that I liked is great EVF. Problems: Noisy pictures at ISO higher than 1200.

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Opinions on the Minolta AF 100-400mm F4.5-6.7 APO lens!

Is this Minolta AF 100-400mm F4.5-6.7 APO zoom good at 400mm? Dyxum site ratings are pretty positive about it, but does anyone here have personal experience of it? Currently I have Tamron 70-300USD with my A65 and A37. I will consider it seriously for active (but amateur) nature photography. This my teleconverter experience was not quite the kind of success I had hoped for ;) With Pentax I had Sigma 170-500 APO, and with Nikon I had Sigma 150-500. Nice lenses, but sharp enough only at about <420mm (f/8)...If Minolta 100-400 APO able to almost the same (400mm), then I would be happy. Minolta's smaller size is a plus, as I'm mostly "handheld" shooter. regards, Ari

Ari Aikomus asked
2 months ago

ANSWERS

It is a great lens for a great price!  I would buy it if I were you.  I own the lens and have not found it to be soft.  It is easy to handle, about like the Tamron 70-300. I think that most of the people that report it as being soft do not own the lens and are just repeating old rumors.  The other cause for the lens being reported as soft could be that some shooters have not developed the skill set necessary for a handheld 400mm lens. If you need a real sharp lens you will need a real sharp prime, and not a mediocre one. Continue Reading

eastriding4310 answered
2 months ago

I should add that (1) I also owned the Sony/Minolta 500mm reflex for a looooong time and gave it up in favor of the 100-400 APO. I am very happy with that change. (2) I bought the Sony 70-400G and sent it back when I could not see significant improvement from my Sigma 400 APO macro. A little better, but not nearly enough for the price. A used one for $1000-1200 might tempt me, now that the Sigma is showing its age. (3) I lust after the Tamron 150-600. I will undoubtedly buy one and hope it's a keeper. If I were you I would wait for it to be available before buying any of the other choices, unless you have an immediate need. Continue Reading

ChuckB answered
2 months ago

Reports from Dyxum.com are certainly positive. Continue Reading

dlkeller answered
2 months ago

QUESTION

Sigma 70-200 with LA-EA2

I know that Sigma reverse engineer the a mount and has problems with newer SLT bodies like A65, A77 etc with the 70-200 (or many lenses). They need a chip upgrade to work the AF when newer bodies are released. Is this true for LA-EA2 as well (I am intending to use with a 5R) ? For example if I use a slightly older copy of 70-200 that has not the chip upgrade, will it work with LA-EA2? Thanks in advance.

JayDreamer asked
9 months ago

ANSWERS

Just got my LA-EA2 + Sigma 70-200mm EX DG OS HSM. AF is faaaast!!!! This has turned into a beast, but the propotion of the 5R with huge lens is lovely :D Just took a shot to my nearest object. More tests coming!!! (Cropped and PPed a small bit) Continue Reading

JayDreamer answered
9 months ago

I was just going to ask almost the same question about my Sigma 85mm. I didn't worry about the compatibility with the SLT cameras because I was using it with an A580 and A700 but I did just get an A58 and, as I'd feared, it doesn't auto focus with that. Does anyone know if it would AF with the NEX5N and an LA-EA2 (which I don't have but have been considering)? Thank you. Continue Reading

JaneB answered
9 months ago

QUESTION

Nikon d5200 or Sony a77

Ok I'm having sleepless nights thinking on what to do. I currently own a Sony a350 which I like and find it easy to use. I got it 4 years ago and it came with two kit lens, 18-55 & 75-300. I have also bought a Minolta 18-55, a Sony SAL1118 11-18mm wide angle lens, camera grip and a Sony flash. Anyway I'm looking to upgrade and doing my research I'm hearing great things about the Nikon d5200. On tthe Sony range the a65 is in similar price with the a77 being closer spec (so I'm told!) so to cut a long story short, should I sell all my old camera equipment to fund a transfer to the Nikon or just stick with Sony and reuse my old lens plus other equipment where possible?? any advise would be greatly appreciated:-)

Jellydog83 asked
8 months ago

ANSWERS

I started with an A350 and moved up to an A77 about 9 months ago. If you find the A350 easy to use the learning curve will be pretty quick with the A77. One of the main differences being that they kind of moved everything to the right side of the camera so that you can pretty much operate it with one hand. The menu system will be familiar and you already have a base of lenses so you could get the body only, though I highly recommend getting it with the 16-50mm f/2.8 kit because you save about $200 on that lens when purchased with the A77 body. With that you wouldn't need your 18-55mm lenses at all. 11-18mm, 16-50mm, and 75-300mm would be pretty decent coverage with those lenses and all you might need is a 35mm prime to round it out. Your flash should still work and depending where you buy an A77, a lot of kits have also included the grip for free (you can use the A350 battery in the A77 as well). Either camera will be a major upgrade from the A350. The main pluses of the D5200 over ... Continue Reading

thebustos answered
8 months ago

Thanks for the advise. Tried both Sony's and Nikon this weekend in the local camera store. The Sony set up was pretty much what I am used to at the min but the Nikon worked wonderfully too. Think I'm going to wait and see if the rumours about Sony upgrading the a77 are true before I make my decision and after weighing everything up I'm still edging closer to sticking with Sony. It'll be interesting to see what upgrades sony have in store (if the rumours are true) thanks again Continue Reading

Jellydog83 answered
8 months ago

If the lenses are worth something (75-300 mm seems not too good but the others are decent lenses) I would not change the ship. Pity Sony left the dSLR and went the SLT way with half of stop light loss. The Sony sensors are good sensors so you will get good results up to half a stop down of Nikon D5200 (e.g. while Nikon can get f/5.6 and 1/400 s at one ISO setting you get f/5.6 and 1/300 s with Sony SLT). Continue Reading

baloo_buc answered
8 months ago

WHAT'S IN THE BOX?

  • Sony a65 camera body
  • Lens kits includes either DT 18-135mm f/3.5-6.3 or DT 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 lens
  • Battery Charger (BC-VM10)
  • Rechargable Battery (NP-FM500H)
  • Shoulder Strap
  • Body Cap
  • USB Cable
  • CD-ROM

Compatible Products

Warranty Information

View Sony's USA limited warranty for cameras and lenses. Register your Sony purchases here.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Sony dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.