Sony Sonnar T* FE 35mm F2.8 ZA Lens (Full Frame E-Mount)

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Key Features

  • 35mm focal length
  • 52.5mm equivalent on APS-C cameras
  • F2.8 maximum aperture; F22 minimum
  • Linear motor autofocus
  • .35m/1.15' minimum focus
  • 49mm filter size (included hood is threaded for 40.5mm filters)
  • Compatible with Sony full frame E-mount and NEX cameras

Product Description

The FE 35mm F2.8 ZA is designed for Sony's A7 and A7R full frame mirrorless models, on which it offers a classic moderate wide angle field of view. It will also work on Sony's APS-C / NEX E-mount cameras, offering a 52.5mm-equivalent angle of view (although users of these cameras will likely be better served by the E 35mm F1.8 OSS). It uses a linear stepper motor for silent autofocus, and at just 120g / 4.3oz, is one of the smallest and lightest full frame lenses around. The lens exterior features dust and moisture resistant seals and an aluminum finish.

Specs

Principal specifications
Lens type Prime lens
Max Format size 35mm FF
Focal length 35 mm
Image stabilisation No
Lens mount Sony E (NEX)
Aperture
Maximum aperture F2.8
Minimum aperture F22.0
Aperture ring No
Number of diaphragm blades 7
Optics
Elements 7
Groups 5
Special elements / coatings 3 aspheric elements
Focus
Minimum focus 0.35 m (13.78)
Maximum magnification 0.12×
Autofocus Yes
Motor type Stepper motor
Full time manual Unknown
Focus method Internal
Distance scale No
DoF scale No
Physical
Weight 120 g (0.26 lb)
Diameter 62 mm (2.44)
Length 37 mm (1.46)
Materials Metal barrel, metal mount
Sealing Yes
Colour Black
Filter thread 49 mm
Filter notes Lens hood accepts 40.5mm filters
Hood supplied Yes
Hood product code ALC-SH129

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Are the new Sony full frame FE lenses compatible with existing NEX cameras?

I'm in the market for a premium lens for my NEX-6, and so am interested in whether I should be buying FE lenses instead now, so that if I ever decide to upgrade to full frame Sony mirrorless in the future (which I think I probably would like to do), I wouldn't have to buy (as many) new lenses again.

cdpinker asked
1 year ago

ANSWERS

Yes, FE E-Mount lenses are backwards-compatible with NEX E-Mount cameras. Continue Reading

Laura@GearShop answered
1 year ago

Can't see why not.  All it will do is to crop the centre of the lens down to the aps-c  image circle.  Much the same as the many ex-slr MF lenses have been doing since the NEX was knee high. Buying new apc-c image circle lenses from now on seems more than silly unless the buyer is intent forever sticking with aps-c format with the E mount. Continue Reading

Tom Caldwell answered
1 year ago

QUESTION

A7 aperture adjusts when autofocusing

I just picked up a used 35mm CZ to go with my A7. It's the first native FE lens I've used, and it's displaying what seems to be odd behavior... when I autofocus, the aperture stops down slightly and the image in the viewfinder changes brightness. This doesn't happen when I use AF lenses with the A7 via an LA-EA4 adapter. Here's a quick video showing the behavior . Is this expected behavior with a native FE lens on the A7? It's distracting, and I'd love to know if all is in order or if I have a malfunctioning setup on my hands. Thanks much!

downen asked
25 days ago

ANSWERS

yes, if you set a small aperture regarding current lighting, the camera re-open to focus. Continue Reading

le_alain answered
25 days ago

Yes and if you set Live View Setting to Setting Effect off on the menu the camera will always focus wide open (both AF and MF) and only stops down to set aperture for the exposure. Continue Reading

tn1krr answered
25 days ago

It's normal. NEX cameras do it as well. I don't know why the camera does it though. At what aperture did you set the camera during the test? Maybe if you set the aperture to say F4 or smaller, the camera goes wide open (F2.8) when focusing and then goes back to F4, and this is what you are observing. Of course this results in a different brightness in the viewfinder for a moment, while the camera compensates (you can turn this off though, do you know it?). Again, it's normal. Continue Reading

darkdirtydwarf answered
25 days ago

QUESTION

Sony 35mm 2.8 FE focus ring noise/grating sound?

Good afternoon, I've just received my 35 FE and their is a very slight grating noise when I turn the focus ring. You can't feel that there is anything obstructing the ring (It's still very smooth) but you can hear it all the same. It sounds like there is a hair or a small piece of grit or dirt under focus ring. It's very quiet grating noise and it's not constant. Should I be worried and take it back (Annoyingly it was purchased oversees via DigitalRev so it would be some rigmarole sending it to them) or just enjoy it? The 55 1.8 I have does does not experience the same problem.

10 months ago

ANSWERS

Immediately upon receiving the 55 1.8, I became paranoid that I had a bad copy of the 35 2.8 for this very reason.  There was a consistent -- but very faint and subtle -- clicking or grating noise when I spun the focus ring.  I returned my copy and ordered another.  The second copy produced a nearly identical noise.  I guess it's a characteristic of the lens's construction. It doesn't prevent or inhibit my use of the lens by any means and I exclusively use manual focus. Continue Reading

KilgoreTraut answered
10 months ago

Compared to the E 24mm my FE 35mm is less smooth (it is tighter) and you can slightly hear smooth metal surface rub against another metal surface. So I wouldnt say it is a grating noise but there is a sound when placing the ear near to the lens. The E 24mm is the best feeling zoom ring i have ever touch on the other hand. The New Otus doesn't even feel as nice. Continue Reading

spacemn answered
10 months ago

I have similar sound in mine (have to have it right next to my ear) - sounds like it might be from the lubricant/bearings used to create the right friction for the ring.  If the lens is more than a couple of inches from my ear, I don't hear anything.  The lens is working well and all operations are as smooth as silk, so will definitely be keeping my copy. David Continue Reading

djp58 answered
10 months ago

Warranty Information

View Sony's USA limited warranty for cameras and lenses. Register your Sony purchases here.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Sony dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.