Tamron AF 70-200mm f/2.8 Di LD IF Macro Lens

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

88% Tried & Tested
If we look solely at the studio optical tests, it is a resounding success, as the technical quality of the images this lens can produce is superb throughout most of the range, matching or even outperforming the much more expensive Canon 70-200mm F2.8 L IS USM.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 70-200mm focal length
  • 105-300mm equivalent focal length on APS-C cameras, 112-320mm equivalent focal length on Canon APS-C cameras
  • F2.8 constant maximum aperture; F32 minimum
  • Micromotor-type AF motor without full-time manual focusing
  • 77mm filters
  • 0.95m/37.40" minimum focus
  • Available in Canon EF, Pentax KAF, Sony Alpha, Nikon F (FX) mounts

Product Description

Tamron's SP 70-200mm F2.8 Di LD (IF) is a fast standard telephoto zoom, offering a constant maximum aperture of F2.8, making is useful for low-light handheld work, and for portraiture and event photography. Measuring just 7.6 inches long and weighing only 1.1kg (40.6 oz.) the SP 70-200mm is one of the more portable zooms of its type, and offers truly excellent image quality for the price. The sacrifice is that this lens does not include Tamron's VC image stabilization (although Pentax and Sony DSLR users don't need to worry about that) and focus is both slow and noisy. Also, Nikon users should be aware that this lens will only autofocus on camera bodies with built-in focus motors. The newer Tamron SP 70-200mm F/2.8 Di VC USD offers significant improvements all round, but this original non-stabilzed version remains excellent value.

Specs

Principal specifications
Lens type Zoom lens
Max Format size 35mm FF
Focal length 70–200 mm
Image stabilisation No
Lens mount Canon EF, Pentax KAF, Sony/Minolta Alpha, Nikon F (FX)
Aperture
Maximum aperture F2.8
Minimum aperture F32.0
Aperture ring No
Number of diaphragm blades 9
Aperture notes rounded blades
Optics
Elements 19
Groups 16
Special elements / coatings 3 LD elements
Focus
Minimum focus 0.95 m (37.4)
Maximum magnification 0.32×
Autofocus Yes
Motor type Micromotor
Full time manual No
Focus method Internal
Focus notes manual focus clutch
Distance scale Yes
DoF scale Yes
Physical
Weight 1330 g (2.93 lb)
Diameter 90 mm (3.52)
Length 194 mm (7.65)
Materials Plastic and metal barrel, metal mount
Sealing No
Colour Black
Zoom method Rotary (internal)
Filter thread 77 mm
Filter notes Does not rotate on focus
Hood supplied Yes
Tripod collar Yes
Other
Notes Nikon, Pentax and Sony mounts

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other lenses in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Build Quality
Ergonomics and Handling
Features
Image Quality
Value
Tried & Tested
Tried & Tested
88 %
Overall Score

The optical quality of this lens is genuinely superb. What we have here is a flawed gem, a lens which fully capable of delivering excellent images, but also frustratingly capable of missing focus on that once-in-a-lifetime shot, either through misfocus or simply being too slow.

Good For

Low light shooters on a budget.

Not So Good For

Photographers who depend on very fast autofocus.

User Reviews

4.08333 out of 5 stars
  • Kifananyi, Oct 5, 2012 GMT:
    If it Wasn't for that AF...

    I bought mine new 3 years ago while on a trip to India. It cost me the equivalent of $850. At that time my longest lens was a Sigma 55-200mm/f4-5.6. Pros: For the price (compared to the equivalent Canon zooms), its a very good deal Its painted black and does not stand out unlike Canon's 70-200s Its quite well made - not up to Canon L standards but still very sturdy. The focus ring is wide, grippy and well damped. Comes with a nice black padded pouch that resists dirt very well (this is very ...

    Continue Reading

  • hikenhi, Apr 16, 2012 GMT:
    A good lens for the money.

    This was my first digital telephoto zoom that I purchased to add to my available assortment of digital lenses to compliment my Pentax DSLRs. It’s a great lens for the active subjects, but not so much social ones. For $720 new, you can’t complain when you consider attributes like; f2.8, internal zoom design, macro capability, the same 77mm filter as all of my other digital lenses at the time, and an unheard of 6-year manufactures warranty. However there are definitely some things that I ...

    Continue Reading

  • tralain, Mar 17, 2013 GMT:
    Wonderful optics, slow focus

    This lens produces truly beautiful images - if you can get the image in focus. This isn't an issue with slow or static objects, but action and moving subjects can challenge this lens and shots get missed. For much of my use, which has been portraits, it is a wonderful performer, matching the much more expensive optics in this class of lens. If you need fast and quiet focus I'd consider the newer version of this lens or another make. I also agree with other comments that its manual/auto ...

    Continue Reading

  • Omer Demirbilek, May 10, 2014 GMT:
    My experiences with Tamron SP AF 70-200mm F/2.8 Di LD (IF) MACRO

    I is an excellent lens.  I would not be happy more than I am now for anything else.  I used to Canon and Nikon 2.8 lenses and this Tamron is optically as good as they are or better than them.

    Continue Reading

Videos

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Where to buy Tamron 70-200 2.8 Tripod Mount?

I'm buying this used, sadly the seller does not have this... where can I buy it? Ebay isn't showing me anything nor google... :\

ChrisAdv asked
1 year ago

ANSWERS

I removed the collar from my Tamron 70-200 f2.8 lens and measured its diameter. It is 72mm. You could buy this from eBay cheaply. Almost certainly it will fit. http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/72mm-Camera-Lens-Tripod-Mount-Ring-Micro-Lens-Collar-F-Canon-EF100mm-F2-8-USM-/370616830744?pt=UK_Photography_CameraLenses_Lens_caps_hoods_adaptors_ET&hash=item564a7c0b18 Continue Reading

Kyogle answered
1 year ago

Buy directly from Tamron and get one you know will fit (and is brand new).  John Continue Reading

John Hermanson answered
1 year ago

folks, am in a similar predicament. Do we know if the Canon tripod collar fits the Tamron lens? Cant seem to find it on the tamron site either. Continue Reading

Prat answered
5 months ago

QUESTION

Best 70-200 Lens

I am interested in buying a Tamron 70-200mm lens however I cannot decide which one to buy. Price matters to me which is why I am stuck on what to do (and not looking at the Canon branded version). I am deciding between the Tamron SP 70-200mm f/2.8 Di VC USD Zoom Lens for Canon ($1499.00) and the Tamron 70-200mm f/2.8 Di LD (IF) Macro AF Lens for Canon EOS DSLR Cameras ($769.00) The differences between them are the autofocus, image stabilizer (VC) and the over look and feel of the lens. I am wondering if it is worth double the price for the upgrade. I will be using the lens mainly for indoor sports games. Thanks in advance. P.S. I am shooting with a Canon Rebel T2i.

8 months ago

ANSWERS

If you are using it for indoor sports, it is worth the price difference. The AF on the older Tamron is quite slow and would be frustrating for indoor sports. Have you considered either of the Sigma 70-200s? They are also inexpensive and have a nicer AF motor. I would check those out too! Also, if you're doing sports, look for a used Canon 70-200 2.8 nonIs which is cheaper than the VC tamron and very fast and sharp. For sports you won't need the IS much. Continue Reading

diness answered
8 months ago

The improved VC version also has improved optics which is the more important selling point. VC isn't what you're looking for when you're shooting indoor sports as it's more for when your shutter speed is less than the reciprocal of the focal length. You're most likely be using 1/1000 or 1/500. Continue Reading

currydubs answered
8 months ago

Try posting in the third party lens forum. Continue Reading

Bronze Age Man answered
8 months ago

QUESTION

K5II/s and Tamron 70-200mm

Since moving to m4/3, I'm using my K5 only with Tamron 70-200/2.8. It's a fantastic combo when AF hits the target, however the consistency of the AF is rather disappointing, especially when shooting at f2.8-3.5 in non-perfect lighting conditions. I do know that the K5II AF is a major step forward compared to K5, however I would like to ask the owners of the K5II/s and Tamron 70-200mm about their experience and if they see a noticeable improvement over K5 with this particular lens. Do you think it'll be worth to upgrade for me? Thanks.

il_alexk asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

I have a K5 II and the Tammy 70-200mm which I used for shooting high school sports for the yearbook and school newspaper. Low light was sometimes and issue, considering the amount of lighting in high school stadiums and gyms, but I had no problems with AF. I do use spot AF and follow what ever ball is being played. I've moved on to the K3 which is helping with low light - but I still have the K5 II as my backup camera. The Tamron 70-200 is my most used lens and has been sharp over the 3 years that I have owned it. When a photo is out of focus, I usually find that I caught someone else in my "spot" instead of the ball carrier. Continue Reading

Nfrw answered
1 month ago

I use the Tamron 70-200mm f/2.8 on the K-7 (similar AF to the original K-5) and K-5 IIs. There is a noticeable difference between how the K-7's AF performs with this lens and how the K-5 IIs performs. My "keeper rate" with the K-7 and Tamron 70-200mm is much lower than my keeper rate with the K-5 IIs. After extensive use (both for personal stuff and for clients), I now only use the 70-200mm with the K-5 IIs. Continue Reading

JJJPhoto answered
1 month ago

I wonder if maybe there is something with either your lens or camera. I tested my Tamron with my K10, K-01, K5IIs, as well as a K3 I owned for a short time. This is how it worked: K10D - Works fine, but is slower on this body, as most lenses are K-01 - The Tamron has real problems on this camera, and I really can only manual focus this lens. Numerous reasons/ideas on why this is so on forums. K-5IIs - Locked on very fast, in dark conditions. Did not test in LiveView, and I have loaned it out, so I cannot test at this time. K-3 - Locked on very fast. Lenses can be finicky. I know that in testing my DA* 16-50 on the K-3, it would not focus lock, but worked on the K-01 and K10D just great. Continue Reading

Daedbird answered
1 month ago

WARRANTY


Tamron USA, Inc. Six-Year Limited Warranty (Six-Year Limited Warranty Valid in USA Only)

Only Tamron lenses imported officially by Tamron USA, Inc. and distributed by authorized Tamron USA, Inc. dealers carry a Six-Year Limited USA warranty.
DPReview GearShop is an authorized Tamron dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.