Tamron SP 70-200mm F/2.8 Di VC USD Lens

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Key Features

  • 70-200mm focal length
  • 105-300mm equivalent focal length on APS-C cameras, 112-320mm equivalent focal length on Canon APS-C cameras
  • Ultrasonic-type AF motor with full-time manual focusing
  • Image stabilization
  • 1.30m/51.18" minimum focus
  • Available in Canon EF, Canon EF-S, Nikon F (FX), Nikon F (DX), Sony Alpha mounts

Product Description

The Tamron SP 70-200mm F/2.8 Di VC USD is a fast telephoto zoom lens that features optical image stabilization and an ultrasonic-type autofocus motor. Designed for both full frame and APS-C cameras, it's billed as the smallest in its class. It features moisture-resistant construction, and has a circular aperture diaphragm for pleasing rendition of out-of-focus backgrounds.

Specs

Principal specifications
Lens type Zoom lens
Max Format size 35mm FF
Focal length 70–200 mm
Image stabilisation Yes
Lens mount Canon EF, Nikon F (FX), Sony/Minolta Alpha
Aperture
Maximum aperture F2.8
Minimum aperture F32.0
Aperture ring No
Number of diaphragm blades 9
Aperture notes rounded
Optics
Elements 23
Groups 17
Focus
Minimum focus 1.30 m (51.18)
Maximum magnification 0.13×
Autofocus Yes
Motor type Ultrasonic
Full time manual Yes
Focus method Internal
Distance scale Yes
Physical
Weight 1470 g (3.24 lb)
Diameter 86 mm (3.39)
Length 197 mm (7.76)
Sealing Yes
Colour Black
Zoom method Rotary (internal)
Power zoom No
Zoom lock Unknown
Filter thread 77 mm
Hood supplied Yes
Tripod collar Yes

Reviews

User Reviews

4.79167 out of 5 stars
  • Varuas, May 4, 2013 GMT:
    Preliminary assessment of the Tamron 70-200mm f/2.8 VC

    I received this lens yesterday, so had chance to shoot mostly test shots. My previous experience with the lens in this class was Sigma 70-200mm f/2.8 OS. Assessment so far: Pros: (1) Great sharpness wide open across large area -- larger area than the Sigma (2) AF is fast and spot on -- similar to the Sigma (3) VC is fantastic and just works -- better than the Sigma

    Continue Reading

  • Pet Photos, Jun 1, 2013 GMT:
    Great Lens

    I bought my Tamron SP 70-200mm 2.8 lens several weeks ago. My main purpose was for shooting action shots at dog agility trials. In recent years, these trials are being held indoors, and that presents some issues. For this type of photography, you are shooting in low light, but need to use at least a 1/1000 sec and f2.8. The Tamron is certainly up to the task. I managed to have over two thousand shots, spread over 3 days. This lens came highly recommended by my local dealer, and they were ...

    Continue Reading

  • Stefan Cretu, Dec 17, 2013 GMT:
    Exceptional optical quality

    An lens with exceptional optical quality is super sharp at 2.8. Focus is almost instant and without noise. Very good in low light. Colours are very good with a good contrast.VC does its job very well. Some examples of photos you can see here http://www.csdany.com/Private/Tamron-70200-VC-with-Nikon-D70/n-mvr3Z/i-MhnVDwX

    Continue Reading

  • Yannick KREMPP, Jan 3, 2014 GMT:
    Absolutely fantastic

    After reading all the reviews I finally settled my choice on this lens instead of the twice as expensive Canon equivalent. I was a bit worried about its autofocus behavior, especially since this lens was meant to be used with a Canon 60D, so without MFA. Well, what can I say ? I'm just amazed of the quality this piece of glass delivers and it's worth every penny it costs. No worried about autofocus, it's tack sharp and reactive enough to take action series. Some samples: 200mm @ f/2,8 - 1/500 ...

    Continue Reading

Videos

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Best 70-200 Lens

I am interested in buying a Tamron 70-200mm lens however I cannot decide which one to buy. Price matters to me which is why I am stuck on what to do (and not looking at the Canon branded version). I am deciding between the Tamron SP 70-200mm f/2.8 Di VC USD Zoom Lens for Canon ($1499.00) and the Tamron 70-200mm f/2.8 Di LD (IF) Macro AF Lens for Canon EOS DSLR Cameras ($769.00) The differences between them are the autofocus, image stabilizer (VC) and the over look and feel of the lens. I am wondering if it is worth double the price for the upgrade. I will be using the lens mainly for indoor sports games. Thanks in advance. P.S. I am shooting with a Canon Rebel T2i.

10 months ago

ANSWERS

If you are using it for indoor sports, it is worth the price difference. The AF on the older Tamron is quite slow and would be frustrating for indoor sports. Have you considered either of the Sigma 70-200s? They are also inexpensive and have a nicer AF motor. I would check those out too! Also, if you're doing sports, look for a used Canon 70-200 2.8 nonIs which is cheaper than the VC tamron and very fast and sharp. For sports you won't need the IS much. Continue Reading

diness answered
10 months ago

The improved VC version also has improved optics which is the more important selling point. VC isn't what you're looking for when you're shooting indoor sports as it's more for when your shutter speed is less than the reciprocal of the focal length. You're most likely be using 1/1000 or 1/500. Continue Reading

currydubs answered
10 months ago

Try posting in the third party lens forum. Continue Reading

Bronze Age Man answered
10 months ago

QUESTION

Full Frame: F2.8 vs. F4?

This is about zooms: 16-35, 24-70, and 70-200. Canon is unique in offering both F2.8 and F4 versions. Nikon only has F2.8. Sony FE (the new A7 models) are only F4. But there are differences: 1) While the 70-200 has IS for both apertures, the F4 has for the 16-35 and the 24-70. For low light stills, IS may provide 2-4 F-stops more light with a slower shutter speed (although with more motion blur of a moving subject) while the F2.8 is just one F-stop faster. For low light stills, F4 IS would seem to be preferable. 2) F2.8 will produce a slightly shorter DOF. It is the same difference as using the same F2.8 lens on an APS-C (e.g. 7D) vs. full frame: F4 full-frame DOF = F2.8 APS-C DOF. Does that really matter, especially at lower focal lengths which generally have a long DOF? 3) A lens or camera isn't very useful unless you have it with you. The two 16-35s are about the same weight (the new Tamron 15-30 F2.8 VC is nearly double), the F4 24-70 IS is about 1/2 pound lighter, but the F4 ...

DavidNJ100 asked
2 months ago

ANSWERS

Answer: Review your own research, compare your needs to the data you have gathered, and make a decision. Continue Reading

Rick Knepper answered
2 months ago

David, You have some good questions, but I'll just say this first: I'm never short of amazed how much money I see being spent on things that so often make so little difference and so often purely on the quest to have "the best". I have seen insane amounts of money spent on gear that first gets used only to take pictures of ducks and squirrels, and then ends up on Craigslist with the description "Mint condition! Only used three times!" I don't see this just every so often... I see it a LOT! Now, with that brief editorial out of the way, I'll address a few of your issues. First, the 70-200 lenses. Yes, you are correct that IS can help 2-4 stops for still subjects. You are also correct that moving subjects will blur at low shutter speeds. So what does that mean for you? Well, if you shoot still subjects and that extra stop of bokeh is not worth a cool thousand, then the f4 might be good for you. We actually own both the f2.8 and f4 IS versions. Wedding photographers probably end up ... Continue Reading

2 months ago

Agreed, those are the three that we all want. As for the weight of the 70-200 2.8 IS II, it rarely comes off of my camera because I absolutely love shooting with it. The weight is only an excuse mostly for those that can't have it. Continue Reading

Blessed answered
2 months ago

QUESTION

Tamron 70-200 vc vs Nikon 70-200 f4 on D7100?

Ok, so I am tearing my hair apart trying to decide between the Tamron VC, which is an excellent lens and the Nikon f4, which, well, is also an excellent lens! I am not a pro and I have a D7100. I shoot more portraits than nature. Looking to take some good shots of my 10 month old son to compile a photobook of sorts, but also need a good telephoto lens for outdoors. I also shoot indoors from time to time (mostly pics of my son) so was leaning towards the tamron. But at the same time the appeal of the lightweight nikon f4 is irresistible for outdoors. Heard its tack sharp with a great IQ. So looks like it boils down to ease of use (lightweight) vs. speed. Really need some inputs to help me make a clear decision. I have two questions for you guys: 1. Is the tamron really clumsy to carry for 2-3 hours trips/walks? 2. Is there any noticeable difference in bokeh at f4 vs f2.8 and ranges around 105-135mm?

ShaaKaaL asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

"It's many stops better than not having a lens with you"! You summed it up for me, that's my main concern! Thanks for the reply and yeah, those pictures are fantastic! Very sharp! I expect the Tammy to behave the same. Continue Reading

ShaaKaaL answered
1 month ago

You have it about right :) I had the Sigma 50-150 and oh boy is it good ! Now then ..... :) Given the choice over..... I would go for the Nikon. The simple fact is... it did not get used very often. It is a simple case of I did not want to carry it around ! Ok you lose a stop of light and a stop of DOF but the fact is that its many stops better than not having a lens with you at all :) As for bokeh the Sigmas are also superb. Of course there is a difference between F2.8 and F4 but it can hardly be described as huge. I do not have the Nikon so I have no idea about the Bokeh quality on that. Sharpness seems to be on a par with the Sigma though ! You can look here at bokeh quality. The First pic ! This is from the 50-150 but I expect the 70-200 would be as good and very much the same. http://www.dpreview.com/forums/thread/3618195#forum-post-54340274 Continue Reading

Westmill answered
1 month ago

WARRANTY


Tamron USA, Inc. Six-Year Limited Warranty (Six-Year Limited Warranty Valid in USA Only)

Only Tamron lenses imported officially by Tamron USA, Inc. and distributed by authorized Tamron USA, Inc. dealers carry a Six-Year Limited USA warranty.
DPReview GearShop is an authorized Tamron dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.