Tamron SP 70-200mm F/2.8 Di VC USD Lens

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Key Features

  • 70-200mm focal length
  • 105-300mm equivalent focal length on APS-C cameras, 112-320mm equivalent focal length on Canon APS-C cameras
  • Ultrasonic-type AF motor with full-time manual focusing
  • Image stabilization
  • 1.30m/51.18" minimum focus
  • Available in Canon EF, Canon EF-S, Nikon F (FX), Nikon F (DX), Sony Alpha mounts

Product Description

The Tamron SP 70-200mm F/2.8 Di VC USD is a fast telephoto zoom lens that features optical image stabilization and an ultrasonic-type autofocus motor. Designed for both full frame and APS-C cameras, it's billed as the smallest in its class. It features moisture-resistant construction, and has a circular aperture diaphragm for pleasing rendition of out-of-focus backgrounds.

Specs

Principal specifications
Lens type Zoom lens
Max Format size 35mm FF
Focal length 70–200 mm
Image stabilisation Yes
Lens mount Canon EF, Nikon F (FX), Sony/Minolta Alpha
Aperture
Maximum aperture F2.8
Minimum aperture F32.0
Aperture ring No
Number of diaphragm blades 9
Aperture notes rounded
Optics
Elements 23
Groups 17
Focus
Minimum focus 1.30 m (51.18)
Maximum magnification 0.13×
Autofocus Yes
Motor type Ultrasonic
Full time manual Yes
Focus method Internal
Distance scale Yes
Physical
Weight 1470 g (3.24 lb)
Diameter 86 mm (3.39)
Length 197 mm (7.76)
Sealing Yes
Colour Black
Zoom method Rotary (internal)
Power zoom No
Zoom lock Unknown
Filter thread 77 mm
Hood supplied Yes
Tripod collar Yes

Reviews

User Reviews

4.79167 out of 5 stars
  • Varuas, May 4, 2013 GMT:
    Preliminary assessment of the Tamron 70-200mm f/2.8 VC

    I received this lens yesterday, so had chance to shoot mostly test shots. My previous experience with the lens in this class was Sigma 70-200mm f/2.8 OS. Assessment so far: Pros: (1) Great sharpness wide open across large area -- larger area than the Sigma (2) AF is fast and spot on -- similar to the Sigma (3) VC is fantastic and just works -- better than the Sigma

    Continue Reading

  • Pet Photos, Jun 1, 2013 GMT:
    Great Lens

    I bought my Tamron SP 70-200mm 2.8 lens several weeks ago. My main purpose was for shooting action shots at dog agility trials. In recent years, these trials are being held indoors, and that presents some issues. For this type of photography, you are shooting in low light, but need to use at least a 1/1000 sec and f2.8. The Tamron is certainly up to the task. I managed to have over two thousand shots, spread over 3 days. This lens came highly recommended by my local dealer, and they were ...

    Continue Reading

  • Stefan Cretu, Dec 17, 2013 GMT:
    Exceptional optical quality

    An lens with exceptional optical quality is super sharp at 2.8. Focus is almost instant and without noise. Very good in low light. Colours are very good with a good contrast.VC does its job very well. Some examples of photos you can see here http://www.csdany.com/Private/Tamron-70200-VC-with-Nikon-D70/n-mvr3Z/i-MhnVDwX

    Continue Reading

  • Yannick KREMPP, Jan 3, 2014 GMT:
    Absolutely fantastic

    After reading all the reviews I finally settled my choice on this lens instead of the twice as expensive Canon equivalent. I was a bit worried about its autofocus behavior, especially since this lens was meant to be used with a Canon 60D, so without MFA. Well, what can I say ? I'm just amazed of the quality this piece of glass delivers and it's worth every penny it costs. No worried about autofocus, it's tack sharp and reactive enough to take action series. Some samples: 200mm @ f/2,8 - 1/500 ...

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Best 70-200 Lens

I am interested in buying a Tamron 70-200mm lens however I cannot decide which one to buy. Price matters to me which is why I am stuck on what to do (and not looking at the Canon branded version). I am deciding between the Tamron SP 70-200mm f/2.8 Di VC USD Zoom Lens for Canon ($1499.00) and the Tamron 70-200mm f/2.8 Di LD (IF) Macro AF Lens for Canon EOS DSLR Cameras ($769.00) The differences between them are the autofocus, image stabilizer (VC) and the over look and feel of the lens. I am wondering if it is worth double the price for the upgrade. I will be using the lens mainly for indoor sports games. Thanks in advance. P.S. I am shooting with a Canon Rebel T2i.

5 months ago

ANSWERS

If you are using it for indoor sports, it is worth the price difference. The AF on the older Tamron is quite slow and would be frustrating for indoor sports. Have you considered either of the Sigma 70-200s? They are also inexpensive and have a nicer AF motor. I would check those out too! Also, if you're doing sports, look for a used Canon 70-200 2.8 nonIs which is cheaper than the VC tamron and very fast and sharp. For sports you won't need the IS much. Continue Reading

diness answered
5 months ago

The improved VC version also has improved optics which is the more important selling point. VC isn't what you're looking for when you're shooting indoor sports as it's more for when your shutter speed is less than the reciprocal of the focal length. You're most likely be using 1/1000 or 1/500. Continue Reading

currydubs answered
5 months ago

Try posting in the third party lens forum. Continue Reading

Bronze Age Man answered
5 months ago

QUESTION

Tamron SP 70-200MM F/2.8 Di VC USD with 2x teleconverter

Hi Everyone, I am wondering if any of you had experience with the Tamron lens and Tamron SP 2X pro converter or the Tamron AF 2x converter. I am looking to buy this combo for my D7000 which I have been using for over 2 years, I am just starting to get into viewing birds and wildlife. I don't own any 70-200mm 2.8 at the moment, I have tried the Tamron lens and was impressed by the fast and quiet AF. Budget is main reason why I am not looking at the vr ii and TC 2x. Please let me know your thoughts, thanks in advance.

Wareagle254 asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

I'm looking at the same combo. I already have the Tamron 70-200 f2.8.....amazing lens. I have it paired with my D5200 and the pics I'm able to get with it are great. If for nothing else I completely recommend the lens itself. If you do happen to pull the trigger on the lens/converter combo please let me know how it works out. Continue Reading

3Archers answered
21 days ago

WARRANTY


Tamron USA, Inc. Six-Year Limited Warranty (Six-Year Limited Warranty Valid in USA Only)

Only Tamron lenses imported officially by Tamron USA, Inc. and distributed by authorized Tamron USA, Inc. dealers carry a Six-Year Limited USA warranty.
DPReview GearShop is an authorized Tamron dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.