Tamron SP AF17-50mm F/2.8 Di II LD Aspherical (IF) Lens

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Key Features

  • 17-50mm focal length
  • 25.5-75mm equivalent focal length on APS-C cameras, 27.2-80mm equivalent focal length on Canon APS-C cameras
  • F2.8 constant maximum aperture; F32 minimum
  • Micromotor-type AF motor without full-time manual focusing
  • 67mm filters
  • 0.27m/10.63" minimum focus
  • Available in Canon EF, Pentax KAF, Sony Alpha, Nikon F (DX) mounts

Product Description

The Tamron SP AF 17-50mm F/2.8 XR Di II LD Aspherical (IF) is a good value fast standard zoom lens for APS-C cameras, offering a constant aperture of F2.8 and covering an effective focal length range of 26-75mm. Optical construction comprises 16 elements in 13 groups, and at its minimum focus distance the 17-50mm gives a maximum reproduction ratio of 1:4.5 - not 'true' macro, but usefully close nonetheless. Tamron also makes a newer image-stabilised version of this lens for Canon and Nikon cameras.

Specs

Principal specifications
Lens type Zoom lens
Max Format size APS-C / DX
Focal length 17–50 mm
Image stabilisation No
Lens mount Canon EF, Pentax KAF, Sony Alpha, Nikon F (DX)
Aperture
Maximum aperture F2.8
Minimum aperture F32.0
Aperture ring No
Number of diaphragm blades 7
Aperture notes circular aperture
Optics
Elements 16
Groups 13
Special elements / coatings 2 hybrid aspherical elements 1 LD (Low Dispersion) glass element 1 XR (Extra Refractive) element
Focus
Minimum focus 0.27 m (10.63)
Maximum magnification 0.22×
Autofocus Yes
Motor type Micromotor
Full time manual Unknown
Focus method Internal
Distance scale Yes
DoF scale Yes
Physical
Weight 430 g (0.95 lb)
Diameter 74 mm (2.91)
Length 82 mm (3.22)
Colour Black
Zoom method Rotary (extending)
Zoom lock Yes
Filter thread 67 mm
Hood supplied Yes
Hood product code flower shaped hood
Tripod collar No

Reviews

User Reviews

3.91667 out of 5 stars
  • Meowr, Jan 27, 2013 GMT:
    Excellent Bang for Buck

    When I bought this lense, I was still considering buying other lenses to compliment it, but soon realised that short of buying exotic primes or ultra-wide angle lenses, this lense covered almost all my photography needs.It is a very good alternative to the 17-55 lenses in Nikon and Canon's repertoire at about a third of the price, and it produces stunning results for the price. It's very sharp across the frame when stopped down to about f/5.6 but even at f2.8 it produces very sharp images in ...

    Continue Reading

  • Doru Motoru, Nov 5, 2012 GMT:
    Great lenses

    I say this is the sharpest zoom, and probably the sharpest LENS I have ever tested, at least when at f4 or lower. Contrast and bokeh are nice too, even at 2.8, it fits perfect with K-5, autofocus works fine and quite fast and, yes, it's noisy, but no one died so far because of this. One more thing...it costs about 40% of Sigma 17-50mm, f/2.8 Problems: Plastic body looks cheap...

    Continue Reading

  • Sergeg, Sep 17, 2012 GMT:
    Tamron SP AF 17-50mm F/2.8 XR Di II LD Aspherical (IF)

    This is a solid performer with good contrast and color rendition, resolution is impressive wide open and by f4 is outstanding. Focus speed and noise are more than acceptable. The most impressive characteristic I noticed straight away, is the superb control of flare, or almost totally absent at wider apertures when shooting into the sun. This is quite exceptional compared to any lenses I have used and very desirable for landscape work. Problems: I don't know if it is just my copy, but I have ...

    Continue Reading

  • DAVID MANZE, Sep 4, 2012 GMT:
    Great Optically FF at apertures F5.6 or above at under 3 mtrs

    Great Optically Problems: Quirky AF problem under 3 mtrs at F5.6 or above

    Continue Reading

Videos

Loading the player ...

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

A-Mount Tamron 17-50 or Sigma 17-70, which 1 is a good deal for my A58?

I need a replacement of kit lens for my A58 and I found Tamron A16 SP AF 17-50 mm F/2.8 Di II LD Aspherical (IF) which is not " XR " at around $375, where as Sigma 17-70 is around $500 and might not available in my country, I may have to pay 20 to 50 bucks extra for shipping, total $550. (1) Which one is a better deal? (2) Also what is the difference between XR and non XR tamrom lenses? I know they use VC for image stabilization.

Vikas Rana asked
6 months ago

ANSWERS

The Tamron is a very good lens and is a fixed f2.8 at all focal lengths. It is pretty sharp and balanced perfectly on my A65 and should be the same on your A58. I believe "XR" refers to "ED" glass or something similar to that. The focus on the Tamron is slower than the Sigma and a little more noisier. This might be an issue for videos. Also, the Sigma has a slightly longer range and could be more suitable for you. I was able to get good portraits with the Tamron at 70/f2.8. Vikas Rana wrote: I need a replacement of kit lens for my A58 and I found Tamron A16 SP AF 17-50 mm F/2.8 Di II LD Aspherical (IF) which is not " XR " at around $375, where as Sigma 17-70 is around $500 and might not available in my country, I may have to pay 20 to 50 bucks extra for shipping, total $550. (1) Which one is a better deal? (2) Also what is the difference between XR and non XR tamrom lenses? I know they use VC for image stabilization. Continue Reading

NPPhoto answered
6 months ago

I just found :- XR - extra refractive index on tamron I am looking for:- (1) Great Image Quality (2) Wide Aperture (only 2.8 is in my budget) (3) Replacement for my kit lens I don't care for A/F noise or speed, but need AF Regards Continue Reading

Vikas Rana answered
6 months ago

I could not be happier with my Sigma 17-70 "c" The old version was pretty good. But they have really improved the lens this time. Aand I like the clean look and compact size.. I would compare the bench tests.. on both http://slrgear.com/reviews/showproduct.php/product/1297/cat/23 http://slrgear.com/reviews/showproduct.php/product/1560/cat/31 The Sigma seems to be consistent and sharp across the range even wide open. No Crazy corners where at one range the corners go to pot... DPR hits if for soft edges that don't sharpen up with Fstop increases at 17mm But its soft edges are better than a lot of lenses improved edges.. I wrote my review of the lens after a couple of days here is my thoughts related to Sony use and a link to the DPR USER review I did for the lens in general. http://www.dpreview.com/forums/post/52277816 Continue Reading

K E Hoffman answered
6 months ago

QUESTION

Weather proof

I have a tamron 17-50 and the Nikon D7100. I know that the D7100 is fully weather resistant, more than the D800, but will that pair hold on extreme weather? I'm not sure how durable is the 17-50, so will heavy rain or snow ruin it?

Bharel asked
1 year ago

ANSWERS

Bharel wrote: I have a tamron 17-50 and the Nikon D7100. I know that the D7100 is fully weather resistant, more than the D800, but will that pair hold on extreme weather? I'm not sure how durable is the 17-50, so will heavy rain or snow ruin it? I'm not familiar w/ Nikon, but even assuming bother body and lens are weather sealed, they aren't for taking pictures in extreme weather/strom or even rain.  The fully rugged body like D4 or 1D series pn Canon are ment to take more extreme temperature, still not rain.  At a minimum I would get a rain cover, they are expensive usually less than $100.  Even plastic bag will protect your gear better than shooting unprotected in the rain.  Generally when the manufacturor said weatherproof it just mean it will take some sprinkling.  If you felt that you have to take cover yourself that is pretty much mean your gear need extra protection also. Continue Reading

Freeman-Jo answered
1 year ago

As far as I know, the Tammy is not weather sealed.... so it does not matter a whole lot if the d7100 is. Continue Reading

pixelless answered
1 year ago

The Tamon 17-50 is definitely not weather sealed.  Learned that the hard way on a boat in the middle of the Caribbean. :-| Continue Reading

Rudy_from_Canada answered
1 year ago

QUESTION

photo tint problem with tamron lens

Hi, I own a 60D and use a tamron 17-50mm f2.8. For some reason, when I take pictures of people indoors, they have a yellow tint to them. This does not happen with my 50mm f1.8, so I was wondering if anyone else had this problem and if they know how to fix it Thanks

Quakka asked
15 days ago

ANSWERS

manual white balance works. thanks! Continue Reading

Quakka answered
13 days ago

Does your problem happen with the same scene but different lenses, or did you notice the problem at different locations? You can correct for this by doing a manual white balance. Not only this will correct for the color of the light, it also will correct for any color imparted by the lens. Continue Reading

Mark Scott Abeln answered
15 days ago

it happens only with this lens and at a lot of indoor scenes. I tried changing the color temperature manually to correct for white balance, but its difficult to remove the tint. I do not know how to accurately adjust the magenta green on the camera, so I left that alone. Continue Reading

Quakka answered
15 days ago

WARRANTY


Tamron USA, Inc. Six-Year Limited Warranty (Six-Year Limited Warranty Valid in USA Only)

Only Tamron lenses imported officially by Tamron USA, Inc. and distributed by authorized Tamron USA, Inc. dealers carry a Six-Year Limited USA warranty.
DPReview GearShop is an authorized Tamron dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.