Tamron SP AF17-50mm F/2.8 Di II LD Aspherical (IF) Lens

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Key Features

  • 17-50mm focal length
  • 25.5-75mm equivalent focal length on APS-C cameras, 27.2-80mm equivalent focal length on Canon APS-C cameras
  • F2.8 constant maximum aperture; F32 minimum
  • Micromotor-type AF motor without full-time manual focusing
  • 67mm filters
  • 0.27m/10.63" minimum focus
  • Available in Canon EF, Pentax KAF, Sony Alpha, Nikon F (DX) mounts

Product Description

The Tamron SP AF 17-50mm F/2.8 XR Di II LD Aspherical (IF) is a good value fast standard zoom lens for APS-C cameras, offering a constant aperture of F2.8 and covering an effective focal length range of 26-75mm. Optical construction comprises 16 elements in 13 groups, and at its minimum focus distance the 17-50mm gives a maximum reproduction ratio of 1:4.5 - not 'true' macro, but usefully close nonetheless. Tamron also makes a newer image-stabilised version of this lens for Canon and Nikon cameras.

Reviews

User Reviews

  • Meowr, Jan 27, 2013 GMT:
    Excellent Bang for Buck

    When I bought this lense, I was still considering buying other lenses to compliment it, but soon realised that short of buying exotic primes or ultra-wide angle lenses, this lense covered almost all my photography needs.It is a very good alternative to the 17-55 lenses in Nikon and Canon's repertoire at about a third of the price, and it produces stunning results for the price. It's very sharp across the frame when stopped down to about f/5.6 but even at f2.8 it produces very sharp images in ...

    Continue Reading

  • Doru Motoru, Nov 5, 2012 GMT:
    Great lenses

    I say this is the sharpest zoom, and probably the sharpest LENS I have ever tested, at least when at f4 or lower. Contrast and bokeh are nice too, even at 2.8, it fits perfect with K-5, autofocus works fine and quite fast and, yes, it's noisy, but no one died so far because of this. One more thing...it costs about 40% of Sigma 17-50mm, f/2.8 Problems: Plastic body looks cheap...

    Continue Reading

  • Sergeg, Sep 17, 2012 GMT:
    Tamron SP AF 17-50mm F/2.8 XR Di II LD Aspherical (IF)

    This is a solid performer with good contrast and color rendition, resolution is impressive wide open and by f4 is outstanding. Focus speed and noise are more than acceptable. The most impressive characteristic I noticed straight away, is the superb control of flare, or almost totally absent at wider apertures when shooting into the sun. This is quite exceptional compared to any lenses I have used and very desirable for landscape work. Problems: I don't know if it is just my copy, but I have ...

    Continue Reading

  • DAVID MANZE, Sep 4, 2012 GMT:
    Great Optically FF at apertures F5.6 or above at under 3 mtrs

    Great Optically Problems: Quirky AF problem under 3 mtrs at F5.6 or above

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

first time Sony user….

i am  along time Canon user, I shoot with a EOS T2i,  but I find it bulky to use while traveling …I ordered the a6000 with kit lens and should be receiving it today.   All the comments posted are making me nervous as did I jump the gun too fast on ordering a new product. I will be using it also for taking photos of my grandchildren. i am sure it will be a learning curve.  Any suggestions to make the transition easier ? thanks, this is my first post on this forum.

LightTime asked
18 hours ago

ANSWERS

Browse through the help guide. Even if you don't remember exactly how when annoyed/confused about something you'll remember it's changeable so you can look it up later. Also take off the clunky in camera guide off its button and put something useful there. I found taking lock on AF off the center button was more useful than the default but YMMV. Play around and enjoy the customization Here is the guide https://www.google.com/url?q=http://download.sony-europe.com/pub/manuals/consumer/ILCE6000_HG_EN.pdf&sa=U&ei=lgRZU-jpKMPgsAT_iIKYDQ&ved=0CBEQFjAC&usg=AFQjCNGkLmAGMaxBupAVCnyUiin00892YA Continue Reading

ryan92084 answered
17 hours ago

i would not listen to most posts here. Most complaints are due to user error. If you spend time learning the camera then i doubt you'll have a problem. By all accounts the tracking AF is very good, which will be good for kids, as long as you understand how it works and how to best make use of it. Continue Reading

bryanchicken answered
17 hours ago

QUESTION

photo tint problem with tamron lens

Hi, I own a 60D and use a tamron 17-50mm f2.8. For some reason, when I take pictures of people indoors, they have a yellow tint to them. This does not happen with my 50mm f1.8, so I was wondering if anyone else had this problem and if they know how to fix it Thanks

Quakka asked
17 days ago

ANSWERS

manual white balance works. thanks! Continue Reading

Quakka answered
15 days ago

Does your problem happen with the same scene but different lenses, or did you notice the problem at different locations? You can correct for this by doing a manual white balance. Not only this will correct for the color of the light, it also will correct for any color imparted by the lens. Continue Reading

Mark Scott Abeln answered
17 days ago

it happens only with this lens and at a lot of indoor scenes. I tried changing the color temperature manually to correct for white balance, but its difficult to remove the tint. I do not know how to accurately adjust the magenta green on the camera, so I left that alone. Continue Reading

Quakka answered
17 days ago

QUESTION

Weather proof

I have a tamron 17-50 and the Nikon D7100. I know that the D7100 is fully weather resistant, more than the D800, but will that pair hold on extreme weather? I'm not sure how durable is the 17-50, so will heavy rain or snow ruin it?

Bharel asked
1 year ago

ANSWERS

Bharel wrote: I have a tamron 17-50 and the Nikon D7100. I know that the D7100 is fully weather resistant, more than the D800, but will that pair hold on extreme weather? I'm not sure how durable is the 17-50, so will heavy rain or snow ruin it? I'm not familiar w/ Nikon, but even assuming bother body and lens are weather sealed, they aren't for taking pictures in extreme weather/strom or even rain.  The fully rugged body like D4 or 1D series pn Canon are ment to take more extreme temperature, still not rain.  At a minimum I would get a rain cover, they are expensive usually less than $100.  Even plastic bag will protect your gear better than shooting unprotected in the rain.  Generally when the manufacturor said weatherproof it just mean it will take some sprinkling.  If you felt that you have to take cover yourself that is pretty much mean your gear need extra protection also. Continue Reading

Freeman-Jo answered
1 year ago

As far as I know, the Tammy is not weather sealed.... so it does not matter a whole lot if the d7100 is. Continue Reading

pixelless answered
1 year ago

The Tamon 17-50 is definitely not weather sealed.  Learned that the hard way on a boat in the middle of the Caribbean. :-| Continue Reading

Rudy_from_Canada answered
1 year ago

Have your own question?

WARRANTY


Tamron USA, Inc. Six-Year Limited Warranty (Six-Year Limited Warranty Valid in USA Only)

Only Tamron lenses imported officially by Tamron USA, Inc. and distributed by authorized Tamron USA, Inc. dealers carry a Six-Year Limited USA warranty.
DPReview GearShop is an authorized Tamron dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.