Tamron SP AF 2x Pro Teleconverter

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Key Features

  • Available in Canon EF, Nikon F (FX) mounts

Product Description

Extend your vision with SP teleconverter performance. The Tamron SP designation is reserved for products developed with special emphasis on extraordinary photographic performance.

Specs

Principal specifications
Lens type Teleconverter
Max Format size 35mm FF
Lens mount Canon EF, Nikon F (FX)
Optics
Elements 7
Groups 4
Focus
Full time manual N/A
Physical
Weight 184 g (0.41 lb)
Diameter 69 mm (2.7)
Length 44 mm (1.71)

Reviews

User Reviews

2.0 out of 5 stars
  • Parry Johnson, Oct 17, 2014 GMT:
    Not a great 2X teleconverter

    To start off, I had an older Tamron AF 2X (7 element) teleconverter, not the current one pictured, so I'm hoping that Tamron improved the quality of this unit.  Mine was purchased around 2002 new for $200. At that time, I used it mainly with film cameras, but as digital camera resolution increased, the limits of this teleconverter began to show.  It was okay with my Nikkor 80-200 f2.8D (N) lens and a Fuji S2 and Nikon D70S and D200, but was always soft with my D300, D300S and Fuji S5. ...

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

D800 autofocus problems with 2x teleconverter

I have a Nikon D800 and having no luck with focus when using a 2x teleconverter. I've tried both Sigma and Tamron 2x teleconverters on the following lenses. Sigma 70-200 2.8 (non OS version), Tamron 70-200 2.8 VC version, Sigma 120-300 2.8 (non OS version), Sigma 150mm 2.8 macro (non OS version). It will never lock focus, it just pumps back and forth forever hunting. They all work fine without the 2x. My older D300 worked fine with all of these combinations. Any suggestions?

DHNPhoto asked
9 months ago

ANSWERS

I had an issue with my Sigma 180mm macro lens and it transpired it was the lens software which Sigma said could not be made compatible with the d800 on the older lenses. might be worth giving them a call, Sigma UK were very helpful to me. Continue Reading

WIMorrison answered
9 months ago

It is not rare for there to be an AF issue using some independent lenses etc on recent camera bodies. Usually the solution is to get the independent lenses re chipped with new electronics. Some older items cannot be re chipped. My similar Nikon lenses and converters autofocus fine. Continue Reading

Leonard Shepherd answered
9 months ago

QUESTION

Which 2x converter works with Nikon 85mm f/1.8G?

Hi, I am using a D7100. I would like to find a 2x converter that is working with 85mm f/1.8G (to have light backup solution to 70-200). Nikon TC-xx and Sigma are not mounting. I have a Tamron 2x MC7 (equivalent to Kenko 2x MC7 DG), which is working well with 70-200 and 17-55. With 85mm, autofocus is not working (even in very bright light), image is correct when focussing by hand (better than a crop). Does someone know a working one, may be a Kenko DGX? Thank for your help

Le Marcel asked
11 months ago

ANSWERS

The question is to know what converter is working with AF, not what would the quality of a combinaison that you have never tried. Purpose is to have in a pocket a converter in case of. I clearly know that I will get a better result with my 70-200 2.8 VRII, but not the same weight to carry in case of. Continue Reading

Le Marcel answered
11 months ago

The Kenko should work. But you could also just get a different lens. Sounds strange? Maybe not THAT strange. The Kenko is 43.5x68mm, and weighs 192 grams. Not all that small (it is a 2x TC after all). Its price is $250. The Nikkor AF-S 55-200mm f4-5.6 VR is 73x100mm, it weighs 335 grams, and also costs $250. Personally I'd make a bit of room for the 55-200mm VR, which optically is surprisingly capable, as light back up solution to your 70-200mm. Just another option. Continue Reading

brightcolours answered
11 months ago

The 55~200 VR is a much better solution than a 2x t.c. IMO. Good call. Continue Reading

slimandy answered
11 months ago

WARRANTY


Tamron USA, Inc. Six-Year Limited Warranty (Six-Year Limited Warranty Valid in USA Only)

Only Tamron lenses imported officially by Tamron USA, Inc. and distributed by authorized Tamron USA, Inc. dealers carry a Six-Year Limited USA warranty.
DPReview GearShop is an authorized Tamron dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.