Help

Sales Tax



DETERMINING APPLICABLE SALES TAX

If an item is subject to sales tax in the state to which the order is shipped, tax is generally calculated on the total selling price of each individual item. In accordance with tax state laws, the total selling price of an item will generally include item-level shipping and handling charges, item-level discounts, and an allocation of order-level shipping and handling charges and order-level discounts.

The amount of tax charged on your order will depend upon many factors including type of item purchased and destination of the shipment. Factors can change between the time you place an order and the time of credit card charge authorization, which could affect the calculation of sales tax. The amount appearing on your order as Estimated Tax may differ from the sales taxes ultimately charged.

The tax rate applied to your order will generally be the combined state and local rate for the address where your order was shipped. Therefore, the sales tax rate applied to your order may be different for an order shipped to your home address, versus an order for the very same items shipped to your work address.




ORDERS SUBJECT TO SALES TAX

DPReview Gearshop is owned and operated by Amazon.com LLC and all items sold on DPReview Gearshop are sold by Amazon.com LLC.

Items sold by Amazon.com LLC, or its subsidiaries, and shipped to destinations in the following states are subject to tax:

  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Connecticut
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Indiana
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Minnesota
  • Nevada
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Pennsylvania
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin



USING A TAX EXEMPTION FOR PURCHASES

If your non-profit, educational or research institution, small business, or similar organization is eligible to purchase with a tax exemption, you may be able to participate in the Amazon Tax Exemption Program (ATEP). Tax exemptions may be available to support purchasing, depending upon individual state laws.

With the Amazon Tax Exemption Program (ATEP), you may be eligible to use tax exemptions for future purchases from either Amazon.com LLC or Amazon Digital Services, Inc. If you are tax exempt with Amazon then you can also shop on Gearshop using your Amazon.com exempt customer account to make eligible exempt purchases.

In order to establish and maintain your ATEP enrollment, we require that you provide us with a valid tax exemption certificate for the state(s) where you are located, and that you update and maintain a current certificate, in accordance with the state laws and our Terms & Conditions.

Please see our Amazon Tax Exemption Program (ATEP) page for additional information.

Go to Amazon.com to learn more and apply online. After completing the process, you will see a message indicating that you’ve successfully uploaded your tax exemption information. To view your ATEP status, return to the Amazon Tax Exemption Program section of Your Account. Please allow three business days for Amazon to review your documentation.




HOW TO SUBMIT GSA SMARTPAY INFO

When using a GSA SmartPay purchase card to make a purchase on behalf of the Federal Government, we need to verify the purchase is made using a Centrally Billed Account (CBA) card that is marked "For Official Government Purchases Only

We'll also need to confirm the Bank Identification Number (BIN) on the card, which is typically the first four numbers in the sequence of the card number. The BIN is used to identify important information about the GSA SmartPay card and its user.

In order to verify this information, please send us: A completed Amazon Blanket Exemption Certificate for U.S. Government SmartPay, clearly identifying the name of the governmental agency, the cardholder, the credit card type, the issue date, the expiration date, the billing address and the BIN on the card.

You may send this information to us by fax at 206-266-2005 or as an e-mail attachment to tax-exempt@amazon.com

Please also be sure to include the following information, as it will assist us in expediting your request:

- Your order number and e-mail address If you need a refund for tax on items you've already purchased, we're only able to consider tax refund requests for orders placed within 1 year of your exemption certificate submission.


* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

AMZN-GSA
BLANKET EXEMPTION CERTIFICATE FOR U.S. GOVERNMENT
GSA SMARTPAY

I Hereby Certify that I am a Federal employee on official government business in the state of __________________ and that all purchases made from my Amazon account are paid directly by the Federal government agency I represent. I understand that falsification of this form to evade payment may be punishable by law.

Please note: All fields are required to be completed.
NAME OF U.S. GOVERNMENT AGENCY:
NAME ON CARD (as it appears on card):
EMAIL ADDRESS ON AMAZON ACCOUNT:
CREDIT CARD TYPE: Visa ___ MasterCard ___
CREDIT CARD BIN# (First Four numbers in the sequence of the card):
ISSUE DATE:
EXPIRATION DATE:
BILLING ADDRESS:
BILLING ZIP CODE:

This is to certify that I, the undersigned, am a representative of the department, Agency, or instrumentality of the United States government indicated above; that the purchase(s) will be paid directly by that governmental entity; and that these charges are incurred in the performance of my official duties as a representative or employee of that governmental entity.

SIGNATURE:
DATE:



EFFECT OF THE INTERNET TAX FREEDOM ACT

Companies selling over the Internet are subject to the same sales tax collection requirements as any other retailers. Remote sellers (including Internet retailers and catalog companies) are generally required to collect taxes where they have a physical selling presence. If they do not have any such presence, they are not required to collect sales taxes.

The Internet Tax Freedom Act (ITFA) has been renewed through November 1, 2014.

Please note, the ITFA was primarily intended to prevent state and local governments from imposing new or discriminatory taxes on Internet transactions and on Internet access. Despite the name of the Act, ITFA does not preclude state and local governments from imposing existing sales tax collection requirements on companies selling over the Internet.




SALES TAX IN ALASKA, COLORADO, OKLAHOMA, SOUTH CAROLINA, SOUTH DAKOTA AND VERMONT

We do not collect sales or use taxes in all states. For states imposing sales or use taxes, your purchase is subject to use tax unless it is specifically exempt from taxation. Your purchase is not exempt merely because it is made over the Internet or by other remote means. Many states require purchasers to file a sales/use tax return at the end of the year reporting all of the taxable purchases that were not taxed and to pay tax on those purchases. Details of how to file these returns may be found at the websites of your respective taxing authorities.

Colorado HB 1193, enacted in February 2010, required online retailers to provide a detailed purchase report to customers with more than $500 of annual Colorado purchases by January 31st and to provide a summary purchase report with the total amount of each customer's annual Colorado purchases to the Colorado Department of Revenue by March 31st. This law is currently the subject of a legal challenge brought by the Direct Marketing Association and others. In the meantime, the U.S. District Court has suspended enactment of the law while the legal challenge proceeds.

Colorado:

Colorado HB 1193, enacted in February 2010, required online retailers to provide a detailed purchase report to customers with more than $500 of annual Colorado purchases by January 31st and to provide a summary purchase report with the total amount of each customer's annual Colorado purchases to the Colorado Department of Revenue by March 31st. This law is currently the subject of a legal challenge brought by the Direct Marketing Association and others. In the meantime, the U.S. District Court has suspended enactment of the law while the legal challenge proceeds.

Oklahoma:

For Oklahoma purchasers, the tax may be reported and paid on the Oklahoma individual income tax return [Form 511] or by filing a consumer use tax return [Form 21-1]. The referenced forms and corresponding instructions are available on the Oklahoma Tax Commission website, www.tax.ok.gov.We are required to provide the notice above for Oklahoma purchases based on Oklahoma law (HB 2359) enacted in June 2010.

South Carolina:

Please be aware that you may owe South Carolina Use Tax on your purchases. You may visit www.sctax.org to pay the use tax or you may report and pay the tax on your South Carolina Income Tax Form. We are required to provide this notice based on South Carolina law Section 12-36-2691(E)(1).

South Dakota:

For South Dakota purchasers, the tax may be reported and paid on the South Dakota use tax form. The use tax form and corresponding instructions are available on the South Dakota Department of Revenue website. We are required to provide the notice above for South Dakota purchases based on South Dakota law (SB 146) enacted in April 2011.

Vermont:

For Vermont purchasers, the tax may be reported and paid on the Vermont use tax form. The use tax form and corresponding instructions are available on the Vermont department of taxes website. We are required to provide the notice above for Vermont purchases based on Vermont law (H 436) enacted in May 2011.




Returns and Refunds



HOW CAN I DETERMINE IF MY PRODUCT NEEDS TO BE RETURNED?

Before returning an item that isn’t working properly, you might first want to check out the relevant product manual, GearShop detail page and/or DPReview forums for troubleshooting steps. For additional help, warranty information, or missing / replacement parts, please contact us or the product's manufacturer.




WHAT IS GEARSHOP’S RETURN POLICY?

We want you to be completely satisfied with every purchase you make on GearShop. This is why we offer a full refund—and even pay for return shipping—on most items you send back to us within 30 days of having received them.

To be eligible for a full refund, an item must:

  • Be in new condition
  • Be returned with all original packaging and accessories
  • Be unopened and still in its plastic wrap, if media (such as software)
  • Have a UPC or serial number, if a consumer electronics product

Please note that GearShop doesn't accept returns of:

  • Items that are classified as hazardous materials or use flammable liquids or gases (contact the manufacturer directly for service, warranty, return, and refund information)
  • Any product missing the serial number or UPC
  • Online subscriptions after they have been accessed
  • Gift cards (except as required by law)
  • Open software
  • Items with special shipping restrictions imposed by the U.S. Department of Transportation (as indicated on the product detail page)

However, if you have a non-returnable item that arrived damaged or defective, please contact us.




HOW DO I RETURN AN ITEM?

To return something you ordered on GearShop, all you’ll have to do is:

  1. Go to Your Account in the top right corner of any GearShop page (you will have to sign in first).
  2. Click the Return an Item option under ORDER INFORMATION.
  3. Click the RETURN AN ITEM button under NEW RETURNS.
  4. Find the order that contains the item(s) you want to return and press SELECT THIS ORDER.
  5. Choose the item(s) you wish to return by clicking the appropriate SELECT button(s), then press the CONTINUE button.
  6. Select the appropriate reason for your return from the dropdown menu and press the CONTINUE button.
  7. Verify that you have selected the right item(s), then press CONTINUE. Choose BACK to return to step 4.
  8. Click PRINT LABELS to print the return authorization and prepaid return shipping label. Each label will print on a separate page.
  9. Place the RETURN MERCHANDISE AUTHORIZATION LABEL in the package with your return.
  10. Affix the prepaid SHIPPING LABEL securely to the package and write your return address in the space provided. To avoid problems with drop off, be sure to remove any previously used labels that are still on the box.
  11. Take your return shipment to the nearest UPS drop off location.

Notes:

  • In order to ensure that the return and refund are processed correctly, please do not refuse the delivery of your item.
  • If you have any questions about the process described above or need to return a heavy or bulky item that was delivered by a specialty carrier (e.g., CEVA, ABF, Pilot), please contact us to speak with a member of our customer service team.



HOW AND WHEN WILL MY REFUND BE ISSUED?

Refunds are issued based on the payment method used at the time of purchase. You should receive your refund within 2 weeks of the carrier having received your item.

Payment Method Refund Method Refund Time (After Return Is Received)
Credit Card Refund 3-5 days
Promotional Code No Refund Issued N/A



CAN I CHECK THE STATUS OF MY REFUND?

Our customer service team will be happy to update you on the status of your return. Please contact us via phone or email for further assistance.




CAN I EXCHANGE OR REPLACE AN ITEM?

The conditions that apply to exchanges and replacements are the same as those applicable to returns. If you would like to exchange or replace something you purchased on GearShop, simply return the original item by following the steps in the “HOW DO I RETURN AN ITEM?" section above and place an order for the new item. Please do not hesitate to contact us for assistance exchanging or replacing an item you purchased from GearShop.




Privacy Policy



DPReview Gearshop knows that you care how we use and share information about you, and we appreciate your trust that we will do so carefully and sensibly. Please note that Amazon Services LLC operates this web site and is a subsidiary of Amazon.com, Inc. ("Amazon.com"). If you have an account on www.amazon.com or www.dpreview.com and a cookie from those sites, information gathered by DPReview Gearshop may be correlated with any personally identifiable information that Amazon.com or DPReview.com have and used by DPReview Gearshop, Amazon.com and DPReview.com to improve the services we offer. As a subsidiary of Amazon.com, DPReview Gearshop follows the same information practices as Amazon.com, and information we collect is subject to the Amazon.com Privacy Notice. By visiting the DPReview Gearshop site, you are accepting the practices described in the Amazon.com Privacy Notice.


Frequently Asked Questions



GEARLIST

What is a GearList?

GearList is way for you to provide GearShop with information about the photography equipment you own so your experience on the site can be a personalized one. This information can be easily imported from your DPReview GearList (if you have one) or entered manually in a matter of minutes. To start building your GearList, simply click here or on the "GearList" link at the top of any GearShop page.

Why should I build a GearList?

There are two primary reasons for adding items to your GearList:

  • Once you create a GearList, you will be able to more easily find listings of items available on GearShop that are compatible with the products you already own
  • Populating a GearList makes it possible to see updates on GearShop pertaining to the equipment you own (e.g., so you can know when firmware/software updates are released, new compatible products become available, and updated models are announced), as well as personalized deals on items you may be interested in purchasing.

Does creating a GearList require a DPReview account?

No. Anyone who logs in to GearShop--whether using a DPReview or Amazon.com account--can create a GearList. That being said, setting up a DPReview account takes only a few seconds and will also enable you to contribute to the forums, galleries and challenges at DPReview.com.

Will changes I make to my GearList on GearShop be reflected on my DPReview GearList (and vice versa)?

Yes, they will.

Can I add products to my GearList that do not appear on GearShop?

Absolutely. The GearShop and DPReview teams are working together closely to maintain a massive database of photography equipment -- from products discontinued years ago to the technology that is just now hitting the market. We recognize, however, that there may be a few items here and there that we have missed given the sheer number of cameras, lenses and accessories that have been released over the years. If there is an item you would like to add to your GearList that you cannot find by searching our database, please enter its name into the appropriate box at the bottom of the GearList item entry page and press "Add to GearList".

Is it possible to remove items from my GearList?

Yes; this can be done from the "Gearlist" page, which you can get to by clicking here or on the "GearList" link at the top of any GearShop page.

What does GearShop do with the information you provide us?

DPReview Gearshop knows that you care how we use and share information about you, and we appreciate your trust that we will do so carefully and sensibly. We take your privacy very seriously and will only share information about you with third parties when we think it will enhance your experience on DPReview GearShop. Please see our Privacy Policy for additional details about our privacy policies.




AWARDS AND BADGES

What are Gold and Silver Awards?

The DPReview team gives Gold and Silver Awards to products they feel deserve special recognition because of how well they perform relative to the other items in the same category on a number of dimensions (e.g., image quality, body/viewfinder/screen, handling & controls, features, speed, value) at the time of review.

There is no direct link between the overall DPReview score and the awards, which are not given automatically to cameras reaching a certain threshold. For example, a camera can get an award even if another camera with a higher overall score didn't.

For more information on DPReview's scoring/rating system, please see this DPReview page.

What does "Tried & Tested" mean?

A blue wrench icon will appear in the upper right-hand corner of the product image for any item that has successfully undergone a hands-on review by the DPReview editorial staff. Some of these items will also be listed under "Tried & Tested" on the GearShop homepage.

What is unique about products categorized under "Stuff We Love"?

Every so often, the DPReview team comes across interesting products that they feel are deserving of special attention. This badge gives them the opportunity to call out a product that they enjoy using, but haven't given a full review. On GearShop, these items are marked with a small green heart icon and some will be periodically featured on the site's homepage.

If an item doesn't have any badge, does that mean I shouldn't buy it?

Not necessarily; any item without a badge is simply one that has been selected for the store, but will not undergo any hands-on testing by DPReview. Our product selection has been carefully chosen by photography specialists, and we think there's something for every enthusiast here.




PRODUCT PAGES

Why can’t I see a 360-degree view of the product in which I'm interested?

The GearShop team is trying to generate 360-degree views for as many cameras and lenses available on the site as possible. There are a variety of reasons that a 360-degree view may not be available for a particular product (e.g., the manufacturer may not have been able to provide a sample unit, there is an overwhelming number of products currently in the queue to be photographed). If there are any item(s) you are interested in seeing more views of, please contact us with this information so we can look into whether it is possible for us to provide additional angles of the product.

What is a "Compatible Product"?

"Compatible Products" are offerings that we think pair particularly well with a given item on GearShop. For example, if you are viewing a particular camera's product page, the "Compatible Products" section may contain a number of lenses that complement this item, excellent bags into which it can fit and/or external flashes that can be used to get great results out of it.

If a product I am interested in is not listed as a "Compatible Product" for something I own, does that mean the two are incompatible?

Not necessarily. While the GearShop team is trying to map as many products to one another as possible, ultimately our goal is to help you find the ones that will help you get the most out of any product we carry. Accordingly, there may be items on our site that are compatible with each other and not listed as such. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you would like one of our customer service representatives to look into the compatibility of something we offer with another item in our selection or a piece of gear you already have.

Are the product videos being created for GearShop influenced by the manufacturers of the items that appear in them?

No. The GearShop product videos are meant to provide an engaging way for customers to learn about the highlights of items they may be interested in purchasing. Just as manufacturers sometimes provide product samples we use in reviewing their offerings, they may provide demo units for us to use in shooting these segments--but that is the extent of their involvement. Not only are all scripts written by DPReview editors, but photography equipment makers do not participate in shooting or editing the product videos we create.

Why haven't you created a video about __________?

If we could, we'd make a GearShop video about every single product on the site. Unfortunately, there simply aren’t enough hours in the day for this to happen. That being said, please contact us if you think there is a particular product we should feature in a video.




REBATES

What are rebates?

GearShop is always trying to offer our customers the best deals we possibly can. In many cases, it is possible to save a great deal of money -- or even get certain products for free -- simply by adding multiple items to your cart, then checking out. This is why we created a tool to make it as easy as possible for our customers to discover, understand and take advantage of these types of promotions that may be available for the specific items they are interested in purchasing. Please note that, unless otherwise specified, discounts described as “instant savings” and “selected rebates” are offered by us—the retailer—while mail-in rebates we mention in the overview section of certain product pages are extended to you by manufacturers.

How do I view the instant rebates for which a camera I’m interested in is eligible?

If it possible to save more money by purchasing a camera/kit along with any other product(s), you will see the number of rebates available for that camera/kit anywhere this item is displayed on the GearShop site. Clicking the "VIEW" button next to this info will take you directly to a page where you can easily see how to qualify for attractive rebates by buying items together.

How do I use the rebate tool?

To use the rebate tool, first choose an item in the "CAMERA" section, if necessary (an option may be selected by default). If the body/kit is eligible for any savings as a standalone purchase, the savings breakdown on the upper right-hand side of the screen will reflect this.

One or more additional categories will appear below the "CAMERA" section. Simply scroll to whichever one(s) you're interested in or click the corresponding link(s) on the navigation bar on the right (just below the savings breakdown) to quickly navigate among the different options.

Depending on the rules of the promotion(s) available, it may be possible to select multiple items from any given category and/or items from more than one category. When product images are greyed out, it means those are no longer selectable because of the choices you have already made (this will occur once you have picked items from the maximum number of categories and/or the maximum number of items within any given category).

Once you have selected all the items you wish to purchase, adding them to your cart is as easy as clicking the gold button just below “Total Price" in the “SELECTED ITEMS" box.

If you need assistance using the rebate tool, you can contact GearShop Customer Service via phone, chat, or e-mail by clicking here or the "Contact Us" link under "Help" on any GearShop page.

Will you let me know if purchases I make on GearShop qualify for mail-in rebates?

We will make every effort to provide info about mail-in rebates available for the cameras, lenses and accessories sold on GearShop within the “Overview" section of our product pages. If you believe there is an active mail-in rebate for an item on GearShop, but it is not appearing on the relevant product page, please contact us and we will be happy to look into why this may be the case.




GENERAL

Now that GearShop exists, can I still trust that DPReview content is unbiased?

Yes, absolutely. DPReview's mission is to provide the most authoritative reviews of, the fastest, fullest news reports about, and the most comprehensive database of consumer digital cameras in the world, and to provide an open, active forum and useful tools for our community. Underlying this is our desire to lead our visitors through the maze of specification and hyperbole to the right camera for them, offering not only expert (and user) opinion, but the tools necessary to allow them to reach their own conclusions. We believe in original content, unbiased content with as much detail as we can provide.

GearShop's success will enable DPReview to provide our loyal community with even more news, reviews and tools to connect with one another than we are able to today. We believe that GearShop will only be a success if it customers can trust the information on it as they do the content on DPReview. It should come as no surprise, then, that we have brought on a separate group of individuals to operate GearShop. While this team may communicate with our editorial staff from time-to-time, it will only be to discuss how unbiased DPReview content can be used to make the GearShop customer experience the best it can possibly be.

Why do I see references to Amazon.com on the site?

DPReview is the world's most popular dedicated enthusiast digital photography site. To ensure that we can continue concentrating on what we do best -- maintaining the most comprehensive and authoritative source of information for digital camera community -- we asked Amazon to help us out by handling our secure payments and shipping our orders given how strong they are in both of those areas. For GearShop customers who have invested time in inputting credit card and address book information into their Amazon.com accounts and would prefer to avoid re-entering this information, we also made it possible—but not a requirement—to log in to our store using an Amazon.com user name and password. For additional details, please see our Conditions of Use.

Does GearShop ship internationally?

At this time, all GearShop is only able to ship to valid U.S. postal street addresses; however, the site is accessible for browsing from outside the U.S.




Conditions of Use



Last updated: March 31st, 2013

Welcome to gearshop.dpreview.com. Amazon Services LLC and its affiliates (“DPReview Gearshop”) provide website features to you subject to the following conditions. If you visit or shop at gearshop.dpreview.com, you accept these conditions. Please read them carefully. In addition, when you use any current or future DPReview Gearshop service or business, you also will be subject to the guidelines, terms and agreements (“Terms”) applicable to such service or business. If these conditions are inconsistent with such Terms, such Terms will control.




PRIVACY

Please review our Privacy Policy, which also governs your visit to gearshop.dpreview.com, to understand our practices.




ELECTRONIC COMMUNICATIONS

When you visit gearshop.dpreview.com or send e-mails to us, you are communicating with us electronically. You consent to receive communications from us electronically. We will communicate with you by e-mail or by posting notices on this site. You agree that all agreements, notices, disclosures and other communications that we provide to you electronically satisfy any legal requirement that such communications be in writing.




COPYRIGHT

All content included on this site, such as text, graphics, logos, button icons, images, audio, data compilations, and software, is the property of DPReview Gearshop or its content suppliers and protected by United States and international copyright laws. The compilation of all content on this site is the exclusive property of DPReview Gearshop and protected by U.S. and international copyright laws. All software used on this site is the property of DPReview Gearshop or its software suppliers and protected by United States and international copyright laws.




TRADEMARKS

DPREVIEW and other DPReview Gearshop graphics, logos, page headers, button icons, scripts, and service names are trademarks, registered trademarks or trade dress of DPReview Gearshop in the U.S. and/or other countries. DPReview Gearshop’s trademarks and trade dress may not be used in connection with any product or service that is not DPReview Gearshop's, in any manner that is likely to cause confusion among customers, or in any manner that disparages or discredits DPReview Gearshop. All other trademarks not owned by DPReview Gearshop that appear on this site are the property of their respective owners, who may or may not be affiliated with, connected to, or sponsored by DPReview Gearshop.




LICENSE AND SITE ACCESS

DPReview Gearshop grants you a limited license to access and make personal use of this site and not to download (other than page caching) or modify it, or any portion of it, except with express written consent of DPReview Gearshop. This license does not include any resale or commercial use of this site or its contents; any collection and use of any product listings, descriptions, or prices; any derivative use of this site or its contents; any downloading or copying of account information for the benefit of another merchant; or any use of data mining, robots, or similar data gathering and extraction tools. This site or any portion of this site may not be reproduced, duplicated, copied, sold, resold, visited, or otherwise exploited for any commercial purpose without express written consent of DPReview Gearshop. You may not frame or utilize framing techniques to enclose any trademark, logo, or other proprietary information (including images, text, page layout, or form) of DPReview Gearshop without express written consent. You may not use any meta tags or any other "hidden text" utilizing DPReview Gearshop name or trademarks without the express written consent of DPReview Gearshop. Any unauthorized use terminates the permission or license granted by DPReview Gearshop. You are granted a limited, revocable, and nonexclusive right to create a hyperlink to the home page of gearshop.dpreview.com so long as the link does not portray DPReview Gearshop, or its products or services in a false, misleading, derogatory, or otherwise offensive matter. You may not use any DPReview Gearshop logo or other proprietary graphic or trademark as part of the link without express written permission.




YOUR ACCOUNT

If you use this site, you are responsible for maintaining the confidentiality of your account and password and for restricting access to your computer, and you agree to accept responsibility for all activities that occur under your account or password. DPReview Gearshop does sell products for children, but it sells them to adults, who can purchase with a credit card. If you are under 18, you may use gearshop.dpreview.com only with involvement of a parent or guardian. DPReview Gearshop reserves the right to refuse service, terminate accounts, remove or edit content, or cancel orders in its sole discretion.




REVIEWS, COMMENTS, COMMUNICATIONS, AND OTHER CONTENT

Visitors may post reviews, comments, and other content; send communications and submit suggestions, ideas, comments, questions, or other information, so long as the content is not illegal, obscene, threatening, defamatory, invasive of privacy, infringing of intellectual property rights, or otherwise injurious to third parties or objectionable and does not consist of or contain software viruses, political campaigning, commercial solicitation, chain letters, mass mailings, or any form of "spam." You may not use a false e-mail address, impersonate any person or entity, or otherwise mislead as to the origin of content. DPReview Gearshop reserves the right (but not the obligation) to remove or edit such content, but does not regularly review posted content.

You represent and warrant that you own or otherwise control all of the rights to the content that you post or upload; that such content is accurate; that use of such content you supply does not violate these Terms and will not cause injury to any person or entity. More specifically, you are entirely responsible for each individual item of content that you post, email or otherwise make available via DPReview Gearshop. You understand that we do not control, and are not responsible for, third party content made available through DPReview Gearshop.

We have the right but not the obligation to monitor and edit or remove any activity or content in connection with DPReview Gearshop. We take no responsibility and assume no liability for any content on DPReview Gearshop posted by you or any third party.

We acknowledge that, as between you and us, copyright and ownership of any uploaded image, forum posting, or other copyrightable content in connection with DPReview Gearshop remains yours. With respect to content you submit or make available for inclusion, and designate as Publicly Accessible for viewing or use on DPReview Gearshop, you grant us a license to use, distribute, reproduce, modify, adapt, publicly perform and publicly display such content on DPReview Gearshop for the purposes of providing promotional or display activities. This license exists only for as long as your content remains on DPReview Gearshop. For your content that you post on DPReview Gearshop and designate for Private Access Only, the license grant to us referenced earlier in this paragraph shall not apply. For the purposes of these Terms, (a) "Publicly Accessible" shall mean all areas of DPReview Gearshop intended to be accessible to the general public, including (but not limited to): forum posts, images hosted in galleries and/or submitted to challenges, information marked as public in your user profile, blog posts and other articles; and (b) "Private Access Only" shall mean any images hosted in the DPReview Gearshop galleries that you have marked as 'private' using the permissions settings, any information in your DPReview Gearshop profile marked as 'private', and the content of private messages between DPReview Gearshop members.




COPYRIGHT COMPLAINTS

DPReview Gearshop respects the intellectual property of others. If you believe that your work has been copied in a way that constitutes copyright infringement, please follow our Notice and Procedure for Making Claims of Copyright Infringement.




TITLE; RISK OF LOSS

Amazon.com LLC sells all items purchased via DPReview Gearshop for delivery to a U.S. address, APO/FPO address, or to a U.S. territory or protectorate. Amazon Export Sales, Inc. sells all items that are purchased by customers for delivery to an international address. For deliveries to international addresses, the customer must prepay a deposit for any estimated import taxes, customs duties and fees. All purchases are made pursuant to a shipment contract. This means that the risk of loss and title for such items pass to you upon our delivery to the carrier. The recipient of an international shipment is the importer.




PRODUCT DESCRIPTIONS

DPReview Gearshop attempts to be as accurate as possible. However, DPReview Gearshop does not warrant that product descriptions or other content of this site are accurate, complete, reliable, current, or error-free. If a product offered by DPReview Gearshop itself is not as described, your sole remedy is to return it in unused condition.




PRICING

Except where noted otherwise, the List Price displayed for products on our website represents the full retail price listed on the product itself, suggested by the manufacturer or supplier, or estimated in accordance with standard industry practice; or the estimated retail value for a comparably featured item offered elsewhere. The List Price is a comparative price estimate and may or may not represent the prevailing price in every area on any particular day.

With respect to items sold by DPReview Gearshop, we cannot confirm the price of an item until you order; however, we do NOT charge your credit card until after your order has entered the shipping process. Despite our best efforts, a small number of the items in our catalog may be mispriced. If an item's correct price is higher than our stated price, we will, at our discretion, either contact you for instructions before shipping or cancel your order and notify you of such cancellation.




OTHER BUSINESSES

We provide links to the sites of affiliated companies and certain other businesses. We are not responsible for examining or evaluating, and we do not warrant the offerings of, any of these businesses or individuals or the content of their Web sites. DPReview Gearshop does not assume any responsibility or liability for the actions, product, and content of all these and any other third parties. You should carefully review their privacy statements and other conditions of use.




DISCLAIMER OF WARRANTIES AND LIMITATION OF LIABILITY

THIS SITE IS PROVIDED BY DPREVIEW ON AN "AS IS" AND "AS AVAILABLE" BASIS. DPREVIEW MAKES NO REPRESENTATIONS OR WARRANTIES OF ANY KIND, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, AS TO THE OPERATION OF THIS SITE OR THE INFORMATION, CONTENT, MATERIALS, OR PRODUCTS INCLUDED ON THIS SITE. YOU EXPRESSLY AGREE THAT YOUR USE OF THIS SITE IS AT YOUR SOLE RISK.

TO THE FULL EXTENT PERMISSIBLE BY APPLICABLE LAW, DPREVIEW DISCLAIMS ALL WARRANTIES, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING, BUT NOT LIMITED TO, IMPLIED WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY AND FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE. DPREVIEW DOES NOT WARRANT THAT THIS SITE, ITS SERVERS, OR E-MAIL SENT FROM DPREVIEW ARE FREE OF VIRUSES OR OTHER HARMFUL COMPONENTS. DPREVIEW WILL NOT BE LIABLE FOR ANY DAMAGES OF ANY KIND ARISING FROM THE USE OF THIS SITE, INCLUDING, BUT NOT LIMITED TO DIRECT, INDIRECT, INCIDENTAL, PUNITIVE, AND CONSEQUENTIAL DAMAGES.

CERTAIN STATE LAWS DO NOT ALLOW LIMITATIONS ON IMPLIED WARRANTIES OR THE EXCLUSION OR LIMITATION OF CERTAIN DAMAGES. IF THESE LAWS APPLY TO YOU, SOME OR ALL OF THE ABOVE DISCLAIMERS, EXCLUSIONS, OR LIMITATIONS MAY NOT APPLY TO YOU, AND YOU MIGHT HAVE ADDITIONAL RIGHTS.




APPLICABLE LAW

By visiting gearshop.dpreview.com, you agree that the Federal Arbitration Act, applicable federal law, and the laws of the state of Washington, without regard to principles of conflict of laws, will govern these Conditions of Use and any dispute of any sort that might arise between you and DPReview Gearshop.




DISPUTES

Any dispute or claim relating in any way to your visit to gearshop.dpreview.com or to products or services sold or distributed by DPReview Gearshop or through gearshop.dpreview.com will be resolved by binding arbitration, rather than in court, except that you may assert claims in small claims court if your claims qualify. The Federal Arbitration Act and federal arbitration law apply to this agreement.

There is no judge or jury in arbitration, and court review of an arbitration award is limited. However, an arbitrator can award on an individual basis the same damages and relief as a court (including injunctive and declaratory relief or statutory damages), and must follow the terms of these Conditions of Use as a court would.

To begin an arbitration proceeding, you must send a letter requesting arbitration and describing your claim to our registered agent Corporation Service Company, 300 Deschutes Way SW, Suite 304, Tumwater, WA 98051. The arbitration will be conducted by the American Arbitration Association (AAA) under its rules, including the AAA’s Supplementary Procedures for Consumer-Related Disputes. The AAA’s rules are available at www.adr.org or by calling 1-800-778-7879. Payment of all filing, administration and arbitrator fees will be governed by the AAA’s rules. We will reimburse those fees for claims totaling less than $10,000 unless the arbitrator determines the claims are frivolous. Likewise, DPReview Gearshop will not seek attorneys’ fees and costs in arbitration unless the arbitrator determines the claims are frivolous. You may choose to have the arbitration conducted by telephone, based on written submissions, or in person in the county where you live or at another mutually agreed location.

We each agree that any dispute resolution proceedings will be conducted only on an individual basis and not in a class, consolidated or representative action. If for any reason a claim proceeds in court rather than in arbitration we each waive any right to a jury trial. We also both agree that you or we may bring suit in court to enjoin infringement or other misuse of intellectual property rights.




SITE POLICIES, MODIFICATION, AND SEVERABILITY

Please review our other policies posted on this site. These policies also govern your visit to gearshop.dpreview.com. We reserve the right to make changes to our site, policies, and these Conditions of Use at any time. If any of these conditions shall be deemed invalid, void, or for any reason unenforceable, that condition shall be deemed severable and shall not affect the validity and enforceability of any remaining condition.




OUR ADDRESS

DPReview Gearshop
P.O. Box 81226
Seattle, WA 98108-1226
http://gearshop.dpreview.com




NOTICE AND PROCEDURE FOR MAKING CLAIMS OF COPYRIGHT INFRINGEMENT

If you believe that your work has been copied in a way that constitutes copyright infringement, please provide DPReview Gearshop Copyright Agent the written information specified below. Please note that this procedure is exclusively for notifying DPReview Gearshop that your copyrighted material has been infringed.

  • An electronic or physical signature of the person authorized to act on behalf of the owner of the copyright interest;
  • A description of the copyrighted work that you claim has been infringed upon;
  • A description of where the material that you claim is infringing is located on the site, including the auction ID number, if applicable;
  • Your address, telephone number, and e-mail address;
  • A statement by you that you have a good-faith belief that the disputed use is not authorized by the copyright owner, its agent, or the law;
  • A statement by you, made under penalty of perjury, that the above information in your notice is accurate and that you are the copyright owner or authorized to act on the copyright owner's behalf.

DPReview Gearshop Copyright Agent for notice of claims of copyright infringement on its site can be reached as follows:

Copyright Agent

DPReview Gearshop Legal Department
P.O. Box 81226
Seattle, WA 98108

phone: (206) 266-4064
fax: (206) 266-7010
e-mail: copyright@amazon.com

Courier Address

Copyright Agent
DPReview Gearshop Legal Department
410 Terry Ave. N.
Seattle, WA 98109-5120
USA



About Us



ABOUT DPREVIEW

Digital Photography Review (dpreview.com) is the world’s number one destination for unbiased, in-depth reviews and news coverage of digital cameras, lenses and accessories, and home to one of the largest discussion forums on the internet.

Since 1998, DPReview’s unwavering dedication to consistent, repeatable testing has helped millions of photographers find their way through the forest of specifications, marketing speak and technical jargon and choose the right camera for their needs and budget.




ABOUT DPREVIEW GEARSHOP

DPReview GearShop is a new retail store that utilizes DPReview's comprehensive testing and research to give customers the confidence that they’re making the right choice when buying cameras, lenses and photography accessories online. The selection has been designed for photographers, by photographers, and every product in the store has been approved for inclusion by the DPReview editorial staff. We live and breathe digital photography and we will only recommend products we would buy ourselves or recommend to our own friends and family. And if we list products we wouldn’t buy ourselves, we’ll tell you. We aim to have the most honest product descriptions you’ve ever seen from a photo retailer.

Most of the products you see on DPReview GearShop will carry one of three badges:

  • Gold and Silver Winners – Products that have been awarded a Gold or Silver award in a dpreview.com in-depth review
  • Tried & Tested – Gear we’ve tried, tested and used and approved for inclusion, but have not yet published a full in-depth review of.
  • Stuff We Love – Accessories and other products that we think are cool, fun or interesting enough to include in our selection, but which have not yet been subjected to any formal ‘testing’.

You’ll also find some products without a badge. These include a selection of system accessories from the major hardware manufacturers and newly released product that we’ve yet to get our hands on. Once we’ve tried / reviewed new products they’ll either get a badge or they will be delisted if we’re not confident recommending them.

But GearShop is about much more than a carefully curated selection. The store is run by a small team of true photo enthusiasts dedicated to finding the very best products and to ensuring that product pages have the most comprehensive information anywhere on the web. Combining original DPReview content with 360° views of products, sample images and exclusive video content, our product pages cut through the usual marketing speak and sales materials and present honest, factual information to shoppers. The GearList feature allows us to give you personalized recommendations and product news, and the store also offers free 2-Day shipping on all purchases.

We’re incredibly excited about GearShop, but this is only the start. Our vision is to recreate the personal service and encyclopedic knowledge you’d experience in a good bricks and mortar camera store. Over the coming months and years the GearShop team aims to build the best online photo specialty store in the world, and you can be part of that process. We want to hear what you hate about online camera shopping today and about how we can make a better store for tomorrow. Your feedback is incredibly valuable, and by helping us make a successful store you’ll be helping support the future of DPReview.




A MESSAGE FROM THE DPREVIEW EDITORS

We’ve worked hard over the last 14 years to earn our reputation for unbiased, objective assessment of digital photography equipment, and the small fee we receive from every GearShop sale will help us to fund future growth and to review more cameras and lenses, more quickly. It will reduce our reliance on selling advertising and allow us to continue to refuse to accept more intrusive adverts.

From day one, however, we want to make one thing crystal-clear: the existence of a DPReview-branded store and our involvement in the product selection process does not in any way affect the tenets and principles that guide our work on our site. We will remain 100% independent. GearShop is staffed and managed by a totally different team, and our involvement is restricted to product assessment and selection approval, and to the sharing of content from our site to the new store.

We retain full control over the products we choose to write about and to review, and over what we say about them. We are not involved in any negotiations with suppliers, and we have absolute veto over what goes onto the site or into the store. We will not, ever, sell our credibility.




DPREVIEW GEARSHOP’S PLEDGE TO YOU

  • We will only sell products tested, approved or recommended by the DPReview editorial staff, and we will not shy away from telling you about a product’s weaknesses as well as its strengths.
  • We won’t sell you things that we wouldn't recommend to our friends or use ourselves.
  • DPReview will retain 100% editorial independence. Our writers will not be thinking about selling cameras, just as they currently don’t think about selling advertising.
  • DPReview editorial staff will have no involvement in the day-to-day running of the store.
  • Neither GearShop staff nor their suppliers will have any influence over DPReview reviews or other content.
  • We will remove products from the store immediately if we feel we can no longer recommend them, based on our own experience, and/or customer feedback.
  • And if something we sell gets consistently negative feedback, we'll pull it from the selection.
  • We will always present you with our own content where possible, over manufacturer supplied words, pictures and videos.



Contact Us

Need advice or assistance with an order?

Call Us

Contact GearShop Customer Service at 1-877-253-4579.

Calls within the US are free.

If you are outside the US, please e-mail us.

E-mail Us

Feel free to email us anytime. Also consider posting to the GearShop forum on DPReview if you think others might benefit from a response to your question (assuming it doesn't require you provide any personal info, of course)!

Send Us an E-mail

We look forward to learning how we can improve your experience.

Shipping Info



SHIPPING LOCATIONS AND TIMES

The table below summarizes the shipping charges and delivery estimates that apply to GearShop orders—on a per-shipment basis—depending on delivery destination and selected shipping speed:

Destination Service Level
Two-Day One-Day Expedited
Shipping Speed (Business Days) Within 2 Within 1 1 to 3
Contiguous US Street FREE $9.99 N/A
Contiguous US PO Box N/A N/A FREE
Alaska and Hawaii Street N/A N/A FREE
Alaska and Hawaii PO Box N/A N/A FREE

Most GearShop orders shipped to U.S. street addresses in the contiguous 48 states are eligible for free two-day shipping, meaning they will generally arrive within 2 business days of their ship date. Shipments to Alaska, Hawaii, and PO boxes will generally arrive within 1 - 3 business days of the ship date. At this time, GearShop does not ship to destinations outside of the 48 contiguous states, Alaska and Hawaii.

Delivery upgrades to one-day are available for $9.99 to many locations for most items. In some instances, products from different categories may need to be separated into multiple shipments. You will be able to see on the checkout page if the products you have selected will be subject to an additional fee for these multiple shipments.

GearShop reserves the right to discontinue any shipping promotion at its discretion.

Select items may be subject to longer shipping times, which will be indicated on the product detail page. Deliveries of items containing hazardous or flammable materials, for example, may take longer due to legally mandated shipping requirements. In the event of service interruptions or failures caused by events beyond the control of GearShop, packages will be delivered as fast as possible, but may take longer than the estimates above.

Please contact GearShop customer service if you have questions about which rates will apply to your order.




ORDER STATUS

After you have placed an order, you can check its status in Your Account.




UNDELIVERABLE PACKAGES

When the carrier returns an undeliverable package to us, we issue a full refund. We are unable to re-ship orders that are returned to us as undeliverable. If you would still like to purchase items that were undeliverable, you are welcome to place a new order if the product is still available for purchase.

The U.S. Postal Service does not deliver to some addresses. If you have a PO box address, it's best to use that for your orders. All orders with "PO Box" in the address are automatically shipped via U.S. Mail.

If the order is being shipped to a prison, there may be delivery restrictions associated with the items or shippers. These restrictions are determined by the penitentiary and may vary. Most of our carriers make three attempts to deliver a package.

Packages that contain more than $1299 in merchandise will always require a signature.




SHIPPING CONSOLIDATION

When possible, we try to combine multiple orders into the same shipment. This helps us reduce the number of packages that we need to send to you. We may consolidate your shipments if your order(s) meets the following criteria:

  • If you place multiple orders within a close time frame
  • If all orders require shipment to the same address
  • If the orders all come from the same customer account
  • If all items are located at our fulfillment center at the same time
  • If your order does not contain any items containing hazardous or flammable materials

If these criteria are met, your shipment may be consolidated. You will receive multiple packing slips at once, enough for one slip per order in the shipment.

If you need to return more than one item from a consolidated shipment, you may put all items in the same box, as long as you include all necessary return merchandise authorization labels.

There are some cases when we won't be able to combine shipments. For instance, we may not be able to combine the following types of orders:

  • Orders that can't be shipped from the same fulfillment center to meet your promised delivery date
  • Orders shipping from different fulfillment centers
  • Orders being shipped to different addresses
  • Orders containing items containing hazardous materials



CHARGING YOUR CREDIT CARD

We will not charge your credit card for any items until after they enter the shipping process. You will receive an e-mail notification once we have charged your credit card.




Promotions and Deals



PROMOTIONAL CODES

Promotional codes can be redeemed only at the time you place an order. To redeem a promotional code:

  1. Follow the deal instructions or go to the promotion's help page to review Terms and Conditions.
  2. Enter the claim code on the Review and Place Order page during checkout.

Verify that a promotion code was successfully applied by reviewing your Order Confirmation e-mail or by going to Your Account.

Notes:

  • If for some reason you don't place an order at that time, the promotion will remain on your account until it is used or until the promotion expires.
  • If the total cost of the items you are purchasing exceeds the amount of the promotion, you will be prompted on the order form to provide your credit card information for the remaining balance.
  • If you cancel or return items purchased using a promotion code, the value of the promotion won't be returned to you.
  • Promotion codes may not be applied toward sales tax or additional shipping costs.
  • If you received a concession promotion from GearShop Customer Service via e-mail, that promotion was automatically placed on your account and will appear on the Review and Place Order page before you complete your order.

Promotional Code Terms & Conditions

When redeeming a promotion code advertised on our website, please click the applicable link on the product detail page to read specific promotion details. These terms and conditions apply to those promotions where you must redeem a promotion code as part of the offer:

  • The promotion code is valid for a limited time only. GearShop reserves the right to modify or cancel it at any time.
  • Each promotion code can be used only once, unless otherwise specified.
  • Each promotion code applies only to qualifying items.
  • The promotion is subject to all restrictions set forth in the offer.
  • If the promotion has a minimum purchase requirement, taxes and shipping / handling charges do not apply toward the minimum purchase amount.
  • The promotion applies only to orders shipped to the same address.
  • The promotion code is not transferrable and may not be resold.
  • If you return items purchased using a promotion code, we will subtract the value of the promotion code from your return credit.
  • Promotion codes may not necessarily be combined with other offers.
  • Limit one promotion code per customer unless otherwise specified.
  • Void where prohibited.
  • If you violate any of the Terms and Conditions, the promotion will be invalid, and the promotional code discount will not apply.



FREE PRODUCT OFFERS

Take advantage of promotions that offer a free product with a qualifying purchase by adding the free product and the qualifying items to your Cart and, if necessary, entering the claim code. To claim a free product offer:

  1. Add the free product and the qualifying items to your Shopping Cart, either from their respective product detail pages or the GearShop rebate tool.
  2. If necessary, enter the claim code exactly as it appears in the promotion details, or use your mouse to copy and paste the claim code into the order form.

Notes:

  • If you entered the claim code previously and did not complete your purchase, you may not have to enter the same code again.
  • Free products are available only while supplies last. We cannot offer rain checks for promotional items that run out of stock.




MULTIPLE ITEM DISCOUNTS

Some promotions on GearShop offer a discount when you purchase multiple qualifying items. To use multiple item discounts, do one of the following:

  • After selecting the items in GearShop's rebate tool, click Add to Cart.
  • Use the Add to Cart button on the product information page of each qualifying item to add them to your cart.

The amount of the promotion discount will be reflected on the final order checkout page and will be allocated proportionally to all promotion items in the Cart.

Multiple Item Discount Terms & Conditions

  • The promotion is valid for a limited time only. GearShop reserves the right to cancel it at any time.
  • If you do not purchase the qualifying items added to your Shopping Cart when the promotion is in effect, the discount will not apply.
  • The promotion applies only to qualifying items displaying the offer message on their product information pages.
  • Unless the promotion indicates otherwise, it applies to the lowest-priced qualifying item and may not be combined with other offers.
  • All qualifying items must be purchased in one order and shipped to a single address.
  • If you return any of the promotion items, we will subtract your discount from your return credit.
  • Shipping and handling charges apply to all products, including promoted items.
  • This promotion may not necessarily be combined with other offers, including promotional certificates.
  • Offer good while supplies last.
  • Void where prohibited.
  • If you remove any of the promotion items from your Cart or violate any of the Terms and Conditions, the promotion will be invalid, and the discount will not apply.



MAIL-IN REBATES

You can claim a mail-in rebate by printing the rebate form, filing out the required information, and mailing the rebate in to the specified address. To claim a mail-in rebate:

  1. Click the link in the Overview section of the qualifying item's product information page.
  2. Print the rebate form.
  3. Fill out the required information.
  4. Mail the rebates to the specified address.

Note: Most Mail-In offers require that you send in the original or a copy of the UPC barcode; be sure to keep the item's packaging until the rebate arrives.

If you need a receipt to enclose with the form, print an invoice for your order by clicking the Your Account link at the top of our site, finding the relevant order in your order history, and then pressing the View Order button.




  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.